This matter was discussed at length. We need to pressure the all Political parties  to get this thing done. We need to keep this issue alive. Gerhard the last time you said you were looking into it. Have you abandoned this issue too? Did you asked the PPP how much they put into the budget to digitalize these records before next year? I bet my bottom $ if the Blackman want their African ancestral Records to be digitalized the PPP would not waste anytime doing it.The  PPP only good to use coolie people to vote fuh dem den kick deh backside like trash by the roadside.

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/search?searching=true&type=blogs_topics&queryString=New+Amsterdam+Archives

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

This matter was discussed at length. We need to pressure the all Political parties  to get this thing done. We need to keep this issue alive. Gerhard the last time you said you were looking into it. Have you abandoned this issue too? Did you asked the PPP how much they put into the budget to digitalize these records before next year? I bet my bottom $ if the Blackman want their African ancestral Records to be digitalized the PPP would not waste anytime doing it.The  PPP only good to use coolie people to vote fuh dem den kick deh backside like trash by the roadside.

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/search?searching=true&type=blogs_topics&queryString=New+Amsterdam+Archives

Is there even an archive for the Africans...?

Im not pessimistic... was just wonderring if there would be  any  discrepancies in last names...

maybe we can do what ghengis khan did, track his descendants by dna,with astonishing success.

Originally Posted by alena06:
Originally Posted by Sunil:

I think the Indian Gov is starting to digitalize some records from certain ports.

Have they published anything?  I read that some of the ports were in Calcutta, Madras and later Bombay.

Also BK is a good source and very knowledgeable about the topic. she may be able to give you tips. You can find her on Nuff's site... 

Sometime ago a group based in Queens was involved in an effort to digitalize the information but was stalled for some unknown reason by the then Minister of Culture....I communicated with present Minister of Culture  who stated that someone from the history dept of the University of Guyana restarted the effort to digitalise.....

For general info, there were over three hundred ships which sailed from India between 1838 and 1917.....I know twenty two of them sailed from Madras ( Chennai ) from 1848   to 1860.....

There is a section of the British museum or public library which might have copies of the ships' records.....the actual records are in Guyana but someone who visited recently mentioned that they were  not maintained and many pages were missing .....

I think the Indian Gov is starting to digitalize some records from certain ports.

Have they published anything?  I read that some of the ports were in Calcutta, Madras and later Bombay.

There was an effort started about five years ago  by several Guyanese Indians who were active with an Indian based organisation here in New York, but so far nothing has been reported.....In the meantime a monument was built in Calcutta in memory of those who left the port in Calcutta for the then British Guiana.....those whose ancestors sailed from Madras ( Chennai )  felt slighted.....

Alena....I am not too sure about any of our ancestors sailing from Bombay as there are no verifiable records available at this time....

Originally Posted by Churchill:

There was an effort started about five years ago  by several Guyanese Indians who were active with an Indian based organisation here in New York, but so far nothing has been reported.....In the meantime a monument was built in Calcutta in memory of those who left the port in Calcutta for the then British Guiana.....those whose ancestors sailed from Madras ( Chennai )  felt slighted.....

Alena....I am not too sure about any of our ancestors sailing from Bombay as there are no verifiable records available at this time....

Thanks for the information, would you happened to know the name of the Monument?