Originally Posted by ksazma:

This is terrorism to me.

A non-believer has no chance according to this verse.

read the whole chapter and try to understand it. That was during a particular battle and not any open ended invocation. How come this frightens you and this doesn't?

You are scraping the barrel. Please answer the 109 Murderous Verses.

Kali is demigod. Yuji does not pray to or worship demigods.

Nah. You are a Brahmin and you just prove that even Brahmins can be idiots.

Answer the 109 Murderous verses quoted here then you will have some credibility.

There is nothing to answer there. That is all nonsense posted by someone who does not care for the Qur'an. There is no verse in the Qur'an without context (contrary to the claim made by your cut and paste bilge), background or purpose. Go read the Qur'an for yourself and then come back and ask your own questions. I speak about the Bible all the time and before I did, I actually read it as well as took lessons about it.

So explain the Sharia law in Nigeria where a female who had sex out of wedlock was stoned to death. This long before Boko Haram and ordered by a Sharia court.

Look at Pakistan and Saudi Arabia and once again the religion is used to commit barbarity.

Do Muslims protest in large numbers about how the religion is being used?  We tend to hear more about "its not me, don't blame me". 

Now when Christians order the death of some one, based on the bible, we can chat.

Actually this stoning to death thing is not something new from the Qur'an. It is an old Jewish law and Muslims just adopted it since there was no new law abrogating it. What new the Qur'an has regarding adultery is that the man should confine her to her house. But the threshold is that there must be four witnesses to her adultery before she is proven guilty. What Muslims do and what the Qur'an states/teaches are two different things.

Hmmm, hmmmm, hmmmmm..... may I interject?

When I was growing up I was warned: never argue about politics and religion.

I ignored the warning about politics at my peril.

But I ent getting involved in no argument bout religion, period.

Suffice to say that I have copies of the Gita, Ramayana, Upanishads, Holy Bible and Holy Qur'an, all of which I read bit by bit.

I don't intend to find fault with any of them because they are by and large allegories, not to be understood literally.

Also, their contents reflect the era when they were written and I cannot judge them by modern-day standards.

That's all I'll say on this topic.

I don't intend to find fault with any of them because they are by and large allegories, not to be understood literally.

Also, their contents reflect the era when they were written

Very astute observation Gilly. I don't think Yuji has quite grasped this about the scriptures or poetry or Shakespeare.

Yugi with "all due respect" as the late Haji Ballie( you know him) loved  to say, you are behaving like and uneducated bigot.

This is the problem. Non Arab Muslims need to be snatching the relgion away from the Arabs, as they let the Wahhabis take over.

Instead you all duck your heads in the sand and pretend as if this is a minor problem.  Tell that to the kids who live in northern Kenya who are now afraid to go to school.  148 Kenyan kids killed, and this is now becoming quite routine.

There is rot in your religion, and you all need to fix it!

Like your understanding of race, in religion you are totally out of your depth. Like race, you use religion as an offensive weapon.

Answer the 109 Murderous verses quoted here then you will have some credibility.

There is nothing to answer there. That is all nonsense posted by someone who does not care for the Qur'an. There is no verse in the Qur'an without context (contrary to the claim made by your cut and paste bilge), background or purpose. Go read the Qur'an for yourself and then come back and ask your own questions. I speak about the Bible all the time and before I did, I actually read it as well as took lessons about it.

So explain the Sharia law in Nigeria where a female who had sex out of wedlock was stoned to death. This long before Boko Haram and ordered by a Sharia court.

Look at Pakistan and Saudi Arabia and once again the religion is used to commit barbarity.

Do Muslims protest in large numbers about how the religion is being used?  We tend to hear more about "its not me, don't blame me". 

Now when Christians order the death of some one, based on the bible, we can chat.

These are cultural and ethnic bastardization of a religion. Like I said, you don't know jack about religion and the vehicle for its exercise - scriptures.

This is an Arab religion, and you pray in Arabic so please don't disgrace yourself that Arabs don't have anything to do with it.  This especially as some Nigerians, Somalis, Pakistanis,Iranians, and Afghanis also engage in this behavior.

I don't care about how you interpret the Qur'an.  I care how many Muslims act literally.  And this is NOT just the Islamists. 

Funny that you always repeat the White House press release, but you forgot the part where Obama said today that moderate Muslims need to do a better job in controlling the nutcases.

This is an Arab religion, and you pray in Arabic so please don't disgrace yourself that Arabs don't have anything to do with it.  This especially as some Nigerians, Somalis, Pakistanis,Iranians, and Afghanis also engage in this behavior.

I don't care about how you interpret the Qur'an.  I care how many Muslims act literally.  And this is NOT just the Islamists. 

Funny that you always repeat the White House press release, but you forgot the part where Obama said today that moderate Muslims need to do a better job in controlling the nutcases.

I consider myself moderate, but I got to work and feed the family...too busy to go out and protest against whacked out people...I pay taxes for the Govt to drop some bombs on they ass

Try criticizing the Quran or question Islam in the heart of Saudi Arabia and see what happens to you.

Try to open a Hindu Temple in Saudi Arabia and see what happens to you.

Try to take pictures at certain places in Mecca and see what happens to you.

Free speech does not exist in most middle east countries. That is what breeds radicalism.

Tolerance for other religions and opposing views do not exist in the middle east. This is at the heart of all debates.

Unless the Middle East allow for free speech and tolerance for other religions and opposing views, Islam will forever be viewed as intolerant and Islamist radicalism will continue to grow like and epidemic.

Yugi I have a problem with the Saudis.

Some of the The practices in  many of these supposedly Muslim countries are many times contrary to the teachings of the Quran.

Hmmm, hmmmm, hmmmmm..... may I interject?

When I was growing up I was warned: never argue about politics and religion.

I ignored the warning about politics at my peril.

But I ent getting involved in no argument bout religion, period.

Suffice to say that I have copies of the Gita, Ramayana, Upanishads, Holy Bible and Holy Qur'an, all of which I read bit by bit.

Also, their contents reflect the era when they were written and I cannot judge them by modern-day standards.

That's all I'll say on this topic.

Unfortunately in all of the religions some of the extremists are taking verses literally and then do evil things like ISIS.

This is terrorism to me.

A non-believer has no chance according to this verse.

read the whole chapter and try to understand it. That was during a particular battle and not any open ended invocation. How come this frightens you and this doesn't?

oW bUDDY kAZ WHY YOU LET yUGI BAIT YOU TO GET TO HIS LEVEL?

Yugi with "all due respect" as the late Haji Ballie( you know him) loved  to say, you are behaving like and uneducated bigot.

This is the problem. Non Arab Muslims need to be snatching the relgion away from the Arabs, as they let the Wahhabis take over.

Instead you all duck your heads in the sand and pretend as if this is a minor problem.  Tell that to the kids who live in northern Kenya who are now afraid to go to school.  148 Kenyan kids killed, and this is now becoming quite routine.

There is rot in your religion, and you all need to fix it!

i DO NOT KNOW ABOUT A ROT IN MY RELIGION, it 's more like a cancer among 000000.1%( or even less)  of our followers.

Try criticizing the Quran or question Islam in the heart of Saudi Arabia and see what happens to you.

Free speech does not exist in most middle east countries. That is what breeds radicalism.

Tolerance for other religions and opposing views do not exist in the middle east. This is at the heart of all debates.

Unless the Middle East allow for free speech and tolerance for other religions and opposing views, Islam will forever be viewed as intolerant and Islamist radicalism will continue to grow like and epidemic.

Some of the The practices in  many of these supposedly Muslim countries are many times contrary to the teachings of the Quran.

Is there Saudi money involved in the building of the Mosque at Liberty and 126???

I consider myself moderate, but I got to work and feed the family...too busy to go out and protest against whacked out people...I pay taxes for the Govt to drop some bombs on they ass

You do know that there are already some who all but  advocate concentration camps for Muslims.  Ted Cruz, and Donald Trump, and they don't lack supporters.

I will suggest to you that Muslims have a bad PR image and they ought to focus on dealing with this.  Or hope that the GOP don't win the elections.

Why don't moderate Muslims refuse to go to Mecca until the Saudis cease funding jihadi groups?

I will shudder to think what will happen if ISIS strikes in DC, or NYC, as rumors suggest that they plan to.  The post 9/11 attitudes towards Muslims will look like an invitation to dinner.

i DO NOT KNOW ABOUT A ROT IN MY RELIGION, it 's more like a cancer among 000000.1%( or even less)  of our followers.

For the last 20 years there have been thousands of Islamist terrorist attacks worldwide, many involving people who have no connection to the Muslim religion.

There is no other religion which has this record of violence, using religion as an excuse.  And it is NOT .000001%.  We have all of Saudi Arabia, much of Pakistan, and Afghanistan, Iran, northern Nigeria, and other places where manic behavior is being practiced. Malala isn't worried only about a few crazed 25 y/o boys.

This is not a mere fight for territory or resources, as is usual in most conflicts.  This is an ideological fight, using religion as an excuse and non Muslims are getting tired of it.  I suggest that you heed Obama's warnings, because he has a kinder view of Islam than do most Americans, given his Muslim step father, and formative years in a majority Muslim country.

You all really need to stop allowing wealthy Bedouin nomads from controlling your religion.  Set it back into the 1300s when the center's of knowledge were Muslim centers like Baghdad, Cairo, Timbuktu, and Granada.

caribny wants moderate Muslims to police rogue Muslims.

caribny as usual skews his mathematics - the Saudi government elite is a few hundred thousand people; the Nigerians of Boko Haram are what - a few thousand; the minority Islamicists of Pakistan may number less than a few hundred thousands. The point is that caribny posits a war of civilizations - just like what Daesh (ISIS) wants. He fell for it.

8:12

[Remember] when your Lord inspired to the angels, "I am with you, so strengthen those who have believed. I will cast terror into the hearts of those who disbelieved, so strike [them] upon the necks and strike from them every fingertip."

You better wear a helmet.

He head hard arready

You do know that there are already some who all but  advocate concentration camps for Muslims.  Ted Cruz, and Donald Trump, and they don't lack supporters.

I will suggest to you that Muslims have a bad PR image and they ought to focus on dealing with this.  Or hope that the GOP don't win the elections.

Let them win the elections and we will see where the ball drops.

As for all the other things that you have been saying I want you to know that I agree with many.

PR might be one way of going.

caribny wants moderate Muslims to police rogue Muslims.

caribny as usual skews his mathematics - the Saudi government elite is a few hundred thousand people; the Nigerians of Boko Haram are what - a few thousand; the minority Islamicists of Pakistan may number less than a few hundred thousands. The point is that caribny posits a war of civilizations - just like what Daesh (ISIS) wants. He fell for it.

Kari my point is that long before Boko Haram northern Nigeria had Sharia law, with all its barbaric savagery.

For you to scream that Saudi is just a small situation shows the lengths that you go to push your head in the sand.  Saudi Arabia is a G20 nation. Saudi Arabia has been using its tremendous clout to clandestinely fund jihadi groups.

Listen I am not a Muslim, nor do I look like people's perception of one. YOU on the other hand, based on your picture fit a concept of what many think a Muslim looks like.

Continue to think that YOU as a Muslim don't have a stake in snatching YOUR religion from the hands of desert dwelling nomadic savages.

As of now the Americas is the ONLY part of the world where we haven't seen significant Islamist violence since 9/11.  I shudder for you if ISIS makes good on its threat and kills 200 Americans on US soil.

Let them win the elections and we will see where the ball drops.

As for all the other things that you have been saying I want you to know that I agree with many.

PR might be one way of going.

Chief when I was growing up in Guyana I always had a very high opinion of Muslims.  Unlike certain variety of Christians, they didn't aggressive proselytize  their religion.  Unlike Hindus, they seemed capable of living within a multi cultural society.  I was impressed by the generosity shown to non Muslims on Eid, when the poor of all races and religions were helped.

This is not the image of Islam now.  Even Guyanese and Trinidadian Muslims have joined in this madness.  Yes only a few score, and so definitely NOT an indication of Islam in the Caribbean.  But still the madness of hijacking a religion for devilish purposes. 

Why has this reached even the Caribbean?  Who is encouraging this, and to what purpose?  This behavior doesn't reflect the Caribbean mentality, where our violence is normally either criminal in nature, or a crime of passion.  Being fanatical is alien to us, but yet we aren't immune from this virus.

I insist that Muslims need to find the cancer and take back their religion from it. And the problem isn't just the jihadis, but its the whole Arabization of the religion.  What these people are doing is infusing their primitive tribal habits and even destroying Muslim heritage, as we now see the destruction of Muslim artifacts in places like Iraq, Syria, and Mali (Timbuktu).

It is known that most Muslims do not endorse this savagery. It is also known that an increasingly literal interpretation of the Qur'an is probably not to the tastes of moderates.  This together with a growing insistence that women cover themselves from head to toe, which was never a feature of Caribbean Islam, at least not as I recall it.

I am aware that there is a battle within Islam.  To most of us it appears as if the primitive tribal desert elements are winning, and pushing out the more urban knowledge based version of Islam.  Its a pity when one considers the great contribution of this religion, when the Christians themselves descended into madness in the Middle Ages.

Islam has reached a cross roads, and with Islamist violence prevalent in Asia, Africa, Europe, and even Australia I don't see why any Muslim will think that defensiveness, denial, and a whine that its only a minority, is an answer to the problem.

If Muslims don't fix the cancer, others will, and Muslims will NOT like how they do this. This is 2015 and when we have so many incidents which remind us of 1600, it is beyond the capacity for us to understand why this religion, and not others.

Telling us that 99.9999% don't engage in this isn't sufficient.  The 99.999% need to figure out a way to evict this lot from using the Qur'an as justification for the mental depravity.

Thanks for your honesty. Now we can have an honest conversation.

If only Muslims in the Middle East can be like the Muslims of Guyana, the world will be a safe and better place.

I completely agree with Carib's last post. It would do the global Muslim community a lot of good if they can get back to where they were 30 some years ago. Less knowledgeable on all the details of Islam but way better in how they conducted their lives. The madness today is sickening and as Carib had pointed out had hyjacked our religion. Muslims should rejects the past 30 years or they will be facing a calamity worse than the inquisition. And they are primarily contributing to this downfall.

You also have to understand that a lot have happened in the Muslim World in the last 30 years. Countries were invaded and leaders were murdered, some rulers continue to rule with an iron fist with little or no democracy all giving way to mere people wanting to fight. 

I am completely cognizant of the circumstances and situations over the past 30 years and while there may be some contributing factors  it does not validate most of the evil acts of these people. Also, we may try to excuse their actions but what explains and validates the Muslins from normal countries falling into the trap of there evil people. If we don't face reality we will continue having to explain that good Muslims don't kill people. Problem is that no one is buying what we are trying to sell. The question is if we care that they are not buying it.

K-Zaazz, that's a cop-out from caribny that you're in agreement with. How does 1.5 billion downing tools, holding hands, march into major world cities and shout to the top of their lungs that they are against ISI, Al Qaeda and all these butchers who use Islam ILLEGALLY as their reason to kill, slaughter and cause mayhem and terror, help defeat this scourge?

You and caribny both ran out of ideas and are helping ISIS with this division. This is what ISIS wants. And they laugh when the world turn on the 99.9999% of God-faring Muslims for not doing as above. How else can such Muslims help eradicate ISIS? Pick up guns? Yeah, let some army give us weapons and we'll go. But that's not how the world works.

Muslims calling out these sub-humans will not mawe them go away. So engage in this futile exercise of shaming the rest of Muslims. You'll be doing ISIS a favor and not contributing to a solution.

I am completely cognizant of the circumstances and situations over the past 30 years and while there may be some contributing factors  it does not validate most of the evil acts of these people. Also, we may try to excuse their actions but what explains and validates the Muslins from normal countries falling into the trap of there evil people. If we don't face reality we will continue having to explain that good Muslims don't kill people. Problem is that no one is buying what we are trying to sell. The question is if we care that they are not buying it.

Also, we may try to excuse their actions but what explains and validates the Muslins from normal countries falling into the trap of there evil people.

The above is so wrong, K-zaazzz. We DO NOT excuse ISIS actions. If we write about facts that occur in that part of the world, is that a excusing ISIS? Where did you make that leap?

Saying Bush did wrong in invading Iraq thus creating ISIS after the de-Baathification and Al-Bhagdadi's breakaway from Al Qaeda, make us giving excuse for ISIS?

You also have to understand that a lot have happened in the Muslim World in the last 30 years. Countries were invaded and leaders were murdered, some rulers continue to rule with an iron fist with little or no democracy all giving way to mere people wanting to fight. 

The problem with the ME is that the US wants to shove democracy down the throats of some countries. Be careful what you ask for... Egypt, Libya, Iraq.....

Two things Kari. One, we start by keeping one potential ISIS recruit at a time. I can't wrap my mind around why people born and grow in Europe and the Amrricas will find any value in ISIS' propaganda. The other is I mistate myself by using the word excuse when I intended to use the word reason or cause.

The good Muslims are the biggest losers here and we have to come to grip with that if we are ever going to be free of suspicion. I am not concerned with the future of Islam because Islam belongs to Allah. I am concerned about the future of Muslims and the situation right now is bleak.

Fox News , Rudy Guiliani and  Donald Trump are behaving as though last Friday massacre was a lottery that they won.

And this is exactly my point.   Demagogues are going to capitalize on the fears of a population who only know of the stigmatized version of Islam.

Most Americans/Europeans will be shocked to know that Islam is a firm part of the Judeo-Christian tradition, and that Jesus is a recognized figure.

The problem with the ME is that the US wants to shove democracy down the throats of some countries. Be careful what you ask for... Egypt, Libya, Iraq.....

and you enjoying the feel of democracy talking about a ungrateful dog 

Rational and knowledgeable people are aware of the following.

1.  The Saudis, with their primitive Wahhabi version of Islam, infused as it is by primitive nomadic Bedouin beliefs, have been using their financial clout to corrupt mainstream Islam.  Sadly some drank from the coolaid.

2.  There is widespread discontent due to the corruption and brutality of the secular Arab dictatorships, which has led some to be attracted to Islamists like the Muslim Brotherhood.

3.  There is also alienation among Europeans of Arab descent because of the racism which they encounter. They are also alienated from the countries where their grandparents come from, ignorant of islam, so fall for a fraudulent and savage horror story.

This is what Muslims will have to deal with, because as jihadists become more deadly in their attacks, fear overcomes rationality, and even moderates like Hollande will be driven to adopt anti Muslim policies as they seek to retain political power. 

Mainstream Muslims need to listen to Obama, who is firmly in their corner, when he tells them that they have to be SEEN to be doing more.  No its not up to mainstream Muslims to "solve the problem", as clearly the root causes of terrorism lie more in political events which occurred in the Middle East (some the fault of idiots like George Bush).  And also in the xenophobia and racism of Europe.

But it will be the mainstream Muslims who will be targeted once the PC crowd loses ground, fear takes over, and the demagogues seize control.