2 days ago                    By  Markham         

It's the most basic thing you put into your body--so why is one simple question about water so hard to answer?

Image courtesy of Men's Health

If you still pause at a waiter's first question -- "Is tap water okay?" -- you're not alone. Compared to the previous year, fewer Americans made the switch from bottled to tap water in 2010, according to the most recent data on the topic in a Harris Interactive Poll.

Most of the time -- unless you're one of the 300,000 people in West Virginia this week who found out their water supply had been contaminated by a chemical spill -- tap water is just as safe as bottled water, says Mae Wu, an attorney with the National Resources Defense Council who also works for the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). The next time you're thirsty, reach for these 10 surprising water alternatives.

Thanks to the rigorous standards imposed on tap water by public health organizations, bottled water is not necessarily any safer or cleaner than tap under normal circumstances. And the stuff out of the faucet comes without the added cost and waste buildup associated with bottled water, Wu says. In fact, one report from the non-profit Environmental Working Groupfound contamination levels in store-bought water that violated public water safety standards.

That doesn't mean you shouldn't drink Poland Springs. Despite those few anecdotal reports, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulations governing the quality of bottled water are "at least as stringent" as the EPA standards for tap water, explains Stephen Edberg, Ph.D., a professor of chemical engineering at Yale University. (It's time to rethink your relationship with water. Discover the 4 Surprising Secrets About Bottled Water.)

But bottles can be costly -- for you and the environment -- so here are three ways to make sure your tap water is up to par.

Can Drinking Too Much Water Kill You?

09/27/2013          Duration: 1:06          Views: 349k                  

Consider your zip code

If you live in a rural farming community, there's a greater likelihood of contamination from pesticide runoff, Wu explains. To protect yourself, ask your local water authority to come test your water -- a service they'll likely perform for free, she says. The EPA's website also offers water-monitoring resources. Big-city dwellers, you're in luck: Wu says New York and San Francisco, among many other metropolises, have some of the cleanest water in the country.

Find out where your tap draws from

If your water is from a private well -- which isn't regulated -- you could be at risk for chlorine and other volatile organic chemicals, Wu says. Or, if your home was built before the 1970s, it may house older lead-lined pipes, which could also throw off your water. In both cases, have your H2O tested, Wu advises. (If you own your home, you likely know where you water comes from. If you rent, ask your landlord.) Pick up Drink This, Not That! to discover the healthiest, tastiest drinks in the world.

Consider a filter

If your water turns out to be contaminated, Wu says a filter from makers like ZeroWater or Brita will safeguard your supply for a fraction of the cost of bottled options. Your water report will highlight potential health risks, which -- for the most part -- can be fixed with a filter. Shop for one that specifically targets the contaminants in your H2O, she suggests. All filter makers list the contaminants their products remove. Remember, many bottled waters -- Dasani and Aquafina, for example -- are just filtered tap water. By filtering it yourself, you're saving money, Wu says.

My tap water is filtered regardless I don't care much for the taste of chlorine and I prefer to be proactive, doan wait for the spill to occur.

I do not like the taste of chlorine either. I get  8 five gallon bottles delivered each month. We have one of those dispenser machines. We use it mainly to fill our water bottles for exercising, biking and hiking  making coffee, making ice cubes. I have a filters on all the taps even on the washer to get rid of the iron oxides which  makes clothes dingy. The water is fairly good in DC

my friend I have been drinking tap water for 34 years in Canada. When I first moved into my house in Summer 2011, for the first 2 months it tasted funny, cause I was use to the other tap water in the apt. Now it is nothing for me, every morning I run a cold glass from the tap and drink it. The Fridge have a filter, cause the wife prefers that type of water and so do the kids. But for me, tap is the way to go.

Amral
Originally Posted by Amral:

my friend I have been drinking tap water for 34 years in Canada. When I first moved into my house in Summer 2011, for the first 2 months it tasted funny, cause I was use to the other tap water in the apt. Now it is nothing for me, every morning I run a cold glass from the tap and drink it. The Fridge have a filter, cause the wife prefers that type of water and so do the kids. But for me, tap is the way to go.

they did a test in ontario and the people could not tell the difference between the tap and bottle water,in fact some people say the tap water drink better

Originally Posted by Amral:

I used to also until l looked into those  pipes. Could not bring myself to drink from them again. I guess you should not look at the pipe as I suggested. Will definitely save you some money.

Actually, nothing is wrong tap water. The city filters and purifies. The pipes might have a few rusts, but the real reason I don't drink unfiltered tap water is that water mains are constantly breaking and raw sewage seeps in to the drinking water. Some people let the tap run for a bit to clear this up, but I am skeptical.  Forget about bottled spring water, sometimes that is worse than tap water with germs. It is an unregulated industry.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

We used to drink the water in Guyana after the worms have settled at the bottom. If thah nah kill abee, dis heah tap watah cyant.

If you could see worms think of the things you could not see. We had a cistern ( vat) where we collected rain water for washing clothes but were lucky to have a well for other things.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

We used to drink the water in Guyana after the worms have settled at the bottom. If thah nah kill abee, dis heah tap watah cyant.

If you could see worms think of the things you could not see. We had a cistern ( vat) where we collected rain water for washing clothes but were lucky to have a well for other things.

My aunt had a vat and that water was collllddddd!

We collected water in drums. We didn't have a well; we depended on the water pump. 

Exactly. We deh too fat ova here. Actually we had normal plumbing but the water that came through the pipe used to have worms in it. Guyana at its best.

Originally Posted by Miraver:

We collected water in drums. We didn't have a well; we depended on the water pump. 

The early morning shower/bath during Ramadan was also cold and painful.

Originally Posted by Miraver:

The early morning shower/bath during Ramadan was also cold and painful.

It is because we did not use our minds or our parents were quite accepting in their ways.  I am sure if you had to return on some eventuality the amount of simple changes you can make on the fly to ensure an easier life would be innumerable.

I agree. The chances we took then were based on our level of concern and acceptance. I couldn't get by in Guyana for too long now. That explains why I have not been back since 1998. Plus I do not wish to risk my family's life or safety there. Although it would be nice taking the kids to see where we grew up, went to school and worked. Maybe some day it will be safe enough to go.