Originally Posted by Mr.T:

I man just find a local stockist of cassareep. I have only ate other people's pepperpot, but feels that it is time to have a go myself. So any easy tips are most welcome.

It is a simple rustic dish. The fail safe method is to put what ever meat is your preference in a pot, braise in a bit of oil and  thyme.After it is seared , add water to cover and a cup or so of casareep to a gallon of water, You can add some brown sugar and salt to taste. Liberally add fresh bird chillies as you can tolerate. A cup to start with. Slow cook as you would a beef stew in a slow cooker or crockpot.

Native peoples traditionally mix fish with game with liberal additions of  cherry peppers with bird peppers. They do not make a fuss about it and it is called tomapot, or a guest pot and it is never ever finished cooking. Each day the cook add more ingredients and keep the pot going.

Guyanese mix cow heel, brisket  with pigs foot and pigs ears etc. Actually, there is no specific meat selection. That is up to the individual. There is also no need need for onions, garlic, cinnamon, cloves etc even though some people tend to cook it with these additional ingredients.  Others start it  like they would a french stew with. Just try it your way first and know the native people only had three ingredients; meat, casareep, pepper and the slow cooking process.

Just get your casareep ( you will be jipped here with a mixture of 90% molasses and burnt sugar for certain if you do not get it directly from Guyana) peppers, meat of your choice and have a go. Keep it simple with the casareep and peppers being your base. You can always modify to your taste after you finish the first attempt. You cannot go wrong.

I man just find a local stockist of cassareep. I have only ate other people's pepperpot, but feels that it is time to have a go myself. So any easy tips are most welcome.

Funny thing, Mr. T, I am going and try my hand tonite at this pepper pot. Got all the ingredients and so on, just a matter of putting it together without messing things up. Wish me luck, bai.

Originally Posted by alena06:

The pressure cooker is kaput so I'll have to do things the long way.

But what about the dry orange peel?

I have found the slow cooking for pepperpot to be better.  The casareep works in better...good luck...never heard about orange peel, except for cakes!!

Alena, I'm borrowing your recipe. hope you don't mind.

Mr T

good luck. I think you will best be advise to listen to  STORMBORN. keep it simple.

But you will be missing good eats, if you don't put some or the animal's feet.

I tried cooking some duck curry this weekend,and people were running for Diamond Head,

to avoid the smell of curry.

I anyone can advise as to how to make a good Garamasala,would be appreciated.

Happy Holidays to all.

Originally Posted by chameli:

made goat pepperpot last weeknd...almost gone

gotto make some more

i used about 5lbs goat meat

3 cups cups casareep

2 scotch bonnet

1 stick cinnamon

8 cloves

3 onions

3 garlic crushed

a handful basil fresh

a handful drid fine leaf time

2 tsp salt

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 bags baby carot

all in the pot to simmer

then i pressured 2 lb chkn foot with some salt n basil

whn it was really soft, i mushed it wid a potato masher and strained it in a big strainer...adding the juice to the pot

according to my sonny it is the best one so far...

gonna try my hand at some bread tomorrow eve.

r-ss Chameli any man who marry you will be well fed. The woman know how to cook.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

Hope it came out fine! 

It came out good. the people who tasted it said so and that's good enough for me. Thank you. 

Yo Bannas, I am having some right now for Breakfast. Mine was deh bomb Banna. Real Guyanese style ah tellin yuh Bannas.

Hope it came out fine! 

It came out good. the people who tasted it said so and that's good enough for me. Thank you. 

Yo Bannas, I am having some right now for Breakfast. Mine was deh bomb Banna. Real Guyanese style ah tellin yuh Bannas.

i surprise mehself. Talk to dave last nite, dem man been cyanada. Ah notice he crossing de border steady nowadays. like he want guh and live ova deh or what?

Ah  hear deh man tek young thing and gat step pickney and thing.

Hahahahhahha.. good for him. ah glad, he smiling nuff dese days.
Where is Abhida. I want to lite a christmas fire under his ass, just fuh fun.

Ah hear Abidah gone up Schenectady to visit he Sweethoman. Yo I ran n to brither PJ on Liberty, we had couple Beers at Good Hope Rest. One ah dem Gal serving invited us to her Apartment for Christmas.

Ah  hear deh man tek young thing and gat step pickney and thing.

Hahahahhahha.. good for him. ah glad, he smiling nuff dese days.
Where is Abhida. I want to lite a christmas fire under his ass, just fuh fun.

Ah hear Abidah gone up Schenectady to visit he Sweethoman. Yo I ran n to brither PJ on Liberty, we had couple Beers at Good Hope Rest. One ah dem Gal serving invited us to her Apartment for Christmas.

I had to work rite through the holidays. the hotel was ram pack with people like dem ain got house. Is yesterday I get a lil break. came home sunday nite round 11pm. and started working pon meh peperpot.
Nehru, I'm listening to a remix song name umeed from dangerous ishq, it nice.