Originally Posted by Sheik101:

Storm, I don't quite agree with you. The Jordanian King was under a lot of pressure by the jordanian people way before word came that the pilot had been killed.. So much so, that he cut short his visit to washington due to this situation. It is my belief that Jordan will execute Al Rishawi at the crack of dawn tomorrow. And if they do, and I think they will; you can't say that they did nothing. Let's wait a few hours more.

He was under pressure not to intervene by joining the coalition. They said it is not their fight. Even now the brother of the dead pilot and those speaking for his rather large tribe say it is not their fight.

Cainsta,  you're indulging in semantics. I conclude you hate the religion of Islam because it is barbaric and you hate Muslims. No sweat,  we Muslims know you got our backs (as in targets).

Stormy, you need to understand that while American troops fought alongside Iraqi troops, Cainsta point about Arabs (note I do not say Muslims) condoning Arab violence ring true, without the Sunni themselves we'd still be in Iraq. So that jingoistic view is misplaced.

As I often noted, this is an Islamic world with competing interpretations of Islam in conflict. Muslim sects have been at war for centuries and do not feel inclined to call a global council and decide it is allowable to have different views as long as a secular rights plan is decided on.

But that does not happen because of the farcical view of all sides that Islam is incorrigible and the other person's interpretation of it is flawed.Further, there is universal rejection of law grounded in reason outside the Koran.

ISIS grew out of the space allowed it by SUNNI tribes. 35 thousand do not grow to over come 16 million that easily. The Sunni tribes feel they are getting back at the Shia.Again it is a civil war within the religion expressing it self in the barbarism we see.

Christian states fought Hitler and Hirohito to the annihilation of the ideology of the Reich and Japan.These states were all united with one goal despite having different religious interpretation of creed. ISIS is no less corrupt or anti others than Hitler or Hirohito. There is no uproar in the muslim world against their barbarity. Turkey won't help the Kurds on their borders even if they could. Saudis are silent and they should have a lot to say. Iran is opportunistic and see this struggle as to their advantage.

While they are disunited in how to approach barbarity in their midst there is lots of finger pointing to the infidel west that as the source of their problems.  

The only thing jingoistic in all this is the idea that there is not a worm in the core of Islam and interpretations of islam. There is absolute rejection that the text here can ever inform horrific acts as these people are doing. Well, those who do these crimes say so.

Originally Posted by TI:

I heard that ISIS is so scared now, they are surrendering weapons in droves and running to the hills begging for mercy. Finally, the ISIS crisis is over! 

Whew! God save the king! 

ISIS is made up of murderers and cutthroats...there is no ideology or belief system...actually, they believe that their sole job is to kill.

Blast them to hell...carpet bomb they rass I say...unfortunately, they hide like women between the general population

Which general population?  

Btw, look at the idiocy of Jordanian actions....Al Quaeda is fighting ISIS for control, so Jordan executed Al Quaeda operatives, hehehe, pretty smart! I always say Fullahs are a smart bunch

Originally Posted by ksazma:

When I comment on the Middle-East region, I consider it with a Biblical perspective. I refer to those countries as the names recorded in the Bible. And I consider their worship to Baal-just as the Bible said thy did. Believe me, you are not even close to my mind when I comment.  

Please clarify what you mean by "you are not even close to my mind when I comment"

If I thought about you, I wouldn't even bother to comment. Like I said, you are not from the Middle-East. So, you are not part of their plans for the region or the world at large.

Okay.

I've been trying to follow this discussion between you two with very very little success. I'm so confused. And a little headachey too.

Did you read the part where I lost my mom to my dad? I wonder if this was before or after I buss my brother's head with a brick.

"Well! Is the gentleman right or wrong in seying so. He even went on to say Eve was in East Africa and Adam went there to re-claim her from Cain. He brought her back in the vicinity of the Garden of Eden."

One way of looking at ISIS's strategy success is that they got the likes of Cainsta and Stormy (GNI's equivalent of gym rats) in a tizzy over them and this Islam thing. You see they want such "thinkers" on their side. They are ISIL's greatest allies. Not sure why Shaitaan even got skin in this game or even has team mates such as these. Speaking of strange bedfellows.....

Your belief that I care if it is Islam or Christianity or any religion there would be a difference! They are all corrupt anti modern tomes. Christianity is redemptive in that it does not evoke as incorrigible its Numbers and Leviticus precepts. They admit it does not serve our modern reality.

I am in a tizzy that we do not gass their behinds because that is what they would do to us if the get a chance. I, at this moment, have no restriction as to the methodology for removing these human vermin from our midst. If napalm helps, take it out of storage just make sure that they are gone.

The reality is the modern world cannot let them live. Be it today or tomorrow or next year, they are going to be killed. That is their reality. It is not an islamic thing, It is the awful way in which muslims refuse to accept that their religion can produce these demon spawn. Well, it did, these came off the muslim street. Note well I did not say this cannot come out of another religion or even a secular creed predicating some sort of genetic superiority. I am saying that now, this is an example of human degeneracy and the source is a religion.

ISIS grew out of the space allowed it by SUNNI tribes. 35 thousand do not grow to over come 16 million that easily. The Sunni tribes feel they are getting back at the Shia. Again it is a civil war within the religion expressing it self in the barbarism we see.

there you have it

essentially, ISIS/ISIL is the barbaric Sunni frankenstein deployed in a tactical war between Muslim states/tribes in the Levant

they are not on track to [re]establish any Caliphate . . . let us not overstate

The lady was executed just before dawn along with two other Al Qaeda members according to MSN news.

I must say I feel absolutely awful at this particular story.

Permit me a moment's reflection. In my service in the army, I didn't want to die of course but if didn't terrify me.

However, I was absolutely mortified of capture though. Nothing frightened me more. Especially as my dog tags and "looks" would mark me out as either Hindu or worse a Muslim apostate. Words cannot fully convey how the fear of capture terrified me above all else. I was totally ok with the possibility of being shot and saved by my own unit. That was almost routine.

I can only imagine the abject terror this poor pilot felt as he was seized by the enemy on the field, then the mental agony of waiting to learn your fate, and the ultimate horror of being burnt alive.

At times like this I wish I had a religion so that I could offer a prayer for him.

I had stepped out earlier to go to the corner store near my place to buy some items. The Arab guys who own the store were watching this video on an Egyptian network and freaking out. I saw a piece. the ISIS guys doused this young pilot with some flammable liquid, with a trail leading out of the cage. Then they lit it. Then he went up in flames. I paid for my stuff and left. Didn't want to see the rest. Very frightening. not for the faint of heart. Pure evil.

My problem with this reaction is why did it not happen when they were doing it to the Yadzis?

These ISIL cowards want the rest of the world to think of them as Muslims. Hah! The greatest hoax pulled on Cain and Storm. ISIL got them right where they want 'em.  Smart people are on to their game though and thank heavens (purely a colloquialism) there are more of us in this world than these gullible souls.

I do not know that you decide that these are Muslims or not. They lived their entire lives in a Muslim state and are of a Muslim culture and tradition. These are Sunnis from the region. Bhagdadi is Jordanian. You cannot disown them because they turned bestial.

ISIL does not have me anyplace than it has you. Get on a plane and Karimulla would not evoke less of a cavity search than me with a christian name. You are brown like me and a suspect whether you like it or not. I cannot forget after 9/11 I was in a bagel shop and wore a skull cap made of jeans fabric and the owner saying he dont care for Muslims. Do you think you would have fared better? Get real. ISIS is a disease and all of us are affected by it.

Originally Posted by TI:

I heard that ISIS is so scared now, they are surrendering weapons in droves and running to the hills begging for mercy. Finally, the ISIS crisis is over! 

Whew! God save the king! 

You may think this is a cause for fun and your irony is what disgusts most. They are there because the west let them. The Muslim world cannot stop them. They will be stopped and then your irony which is in a way support for then, will turn to complaint that the infidel west is killing Muslims. Raqqa and Mosul will be dust worse than Dresden was in WWII and in less time and more completely. Millions will die. And as I said there will be a general rending of clothes and a wailing on sackcloth as to the horrible infidel west defiling muslim lands!

One way of looking at ISIS's strategy success is that they got the likes of Cainsta and Stormy (GNI's equivalent of gym rats) in a tizzy over them and this Islam thing. You see they want such "thinkers" on their side. They are ISIL's greatest allies. Not sure why Shaitaan even got skin in this game or even has team mates such as these. Speaking of strange bedfellows.....

Utter rubbish kari.

You want for me to come over there and beat you up nuh? hehehe I'll bring the other two who you and chief been fighting with a while back,with me to assist in picking you up.

My problem with this reaction is why did it not happen when they were doing it to the Yadzis?

thousands anonymous (mostly muslim) have been butchered by these blood cultists without comparable "reaction" . . . why is that surprising given the standards of barbarism in the region's wars?

this one was given the Hollywood treatment . . . why?

in a word, "symbolism" . . . this guy is from a well-known family and, as a pilot in the Royal Jordanian Air Force, directly connected to the prestige of Jordan's ruling elite

Originally Posted by TI:

Who says anyone want to get rid of them? 

Bro, the west will have to go in. Presently, we do not have a heart for it and the present administration is not pushing it. But the republicans are going to hammer the democrats on foreign policy failure and drum up the call to arms. If another bush gets in the bombs will fall. If Ms Clinton gets in, she may not have any choice either. Anyway you look at it those fellows have an expiration date.

Originally Posted by TI:

Whew! God save the king! 

ISIS is made up of murderers and cutthroats...there is no ideology or belief system...actually, they believe that their sole job is to kill.

Blast them to hell...carpet bomb they rass I say...unfortunately, they hide like women between the general population

Btw, look at the idiocy of Jordanian actions....Al Quaeda is fighting ISIS for control, so Jordan executed Al Quaeda operatives, hehehe, pretty smart! I always say Fullahs are a smart bunch

The operatives who were executed today by Jordan were from Al Qaeda in Iraq which is now merged with ISIS. So they didn't execute the wrong people. However, they have to up the ante in the fight against ISIS. It looks like all the countries in that region are sitting around waiting for the U.S. to do the heavy lifting. The pilot's execution should be a wake up call for them.

thousands anonymous (mostly muslim) have been butchered by these blood cultists without comparable "reaction" . . . why is that surprising given the standards of barbarism in the region's wars?

in a word, "symbolism" . . . this guy is from a well-known family and, as a pilot in the Royal Jordanian Air Force, directly connected to the prestige of Jordan's ruling elite

And it was the symbolism of the Kurds dying by the thousands on the mountains in the cold at Christmas that got the no fly zone up in Iraq. It is momentum here with the mustard gassing by Saddam that pushed us into Iraq. The reasons offered officially may be spurious but the drive to disarm him and to search every basement in the state for WMD was all a part of the ritual to war. The Neocons may also have other reasons but Saddam was ISIS of the era and not an innocent. Note in the past you only have to insult a duke to start a world war!

There is a march to war here and it is coming. Whatever the reasons that catalyzes  it,  the moment it is already a done deal in the minds of most. The plans are being drawn up, the arsenal inventoried and the equipment are being moved into place. Even the logistics is already mapped out. We are waiting the moment and that moment is inevitable as rain.

Cainsta,  you're indulging in semantics. I conclude you hate the religion of Islam because it is barbaric and you hate Muslims. No sweat,  we Muslims know you got our backs (as in targets).

Stormy, you need to understand that while American troops fought alongside Iraqi troops, Cainsta point about Arabs (note I do not say Muslims) condoning Arab violence ring true, without the Sunni themselves we'd still be in Iraq. So that jingoistic view is misplaced.

As I often noted, this is an Islamic world with competing interpretations of Islam in conflict. Muslim sects have been at war for centuries and do not feel inclined to call a global council and decide it is allowable to have different views as long as a secular rights plan is decided on.

But that does not happen because of the farcical view of all sides that Islam is incorrigible and the other person's interpretation of it is flawed.Further, there is universal rejection of law grounded in reason outside the Koran.

ISIS grew out of the space allowed it by SUNNI tribes. 35 thousand do not grow to over come 16 million that easily. The Sunni tribes feel they are getting back at the Shia.Again it is a civil war within the religion ex

Storm, you dodged the response to your untruth denying the big helping hand the Sunni tribes gave the U.S. in helping to turn the tide in 2006. This is not unlike the helping hand given in Afghanistan to keep the Taliban at bay. 

You our seem to miss the point that iSIL is comprised of all the Generals, Colonels, former Ministers and leaders of Saddam's regime who joined with Al Qaeda in Iraq (and later split from them) whom GW Bush helped pushed out when he gave a mulligan to Shiite Maliki. How do you think they got all those oil sales after capturing the oil fields? They don have Al Qarda's international reach or ambitions. This is why Obama made the varsity comment in referring to ISIL. We're fighting a larger war and now Jordan's tribes have joined the tribal warfare there. 

You our know little of the types of warfare going on in the Middle East. You know little of the dynamics there and what US troops can and cannot do. You don't seem to understand the history there. I respect your atheism and belief in US military frightening prowess, but you disrespect reality 

, history and truth. Why?

Reuters report

In early February, al Qaeda’s central leadership announced that it had severed ties with the Islamic State of Iraq and al-Sham (ISIS), an affiliate in Iraq and Syria. This step came at some cost of reputation for al Qaeda, but it will serve al Qaeda’s interests far better than maintaining a relationship with an affiliate that subverted al Qaeda leader Ayman al-Zawahiri and damaged the terrorist group’s image. Now that ISIS is disowned, its own reputation is in peril, with potentially devastating consequences. In the weeks and months to come, the United States would be wise to use the rift between al Qaeda and ISIS to promote its own interests in Syria and Iraq.

The move wasn’t particularly surprising: over the years, there have been many signs that the relationship between al Qaeda Central (AQC) and the group’s strongest, most unruly franchise was strained.

Originally Posted by TI:

The West doesn't want ISIS stopped.

ISIS is essential to their economic and security interests.  Also Israel's interest.

That is the conspiracy machine in motion. ISIS is a threat to Lebanon, Jordon, The dictators in the gulf states, Iran and the Saudis and the Turks. The Israelis are also in their path given they have eyes on the Golan heights and have already infiltrated the Sinai. Even Egypt is not immune. They are seeding  the anger of all the disaffected of the region from Gaza to Yemen so this is not to the benefit of Israel.

There is no security to interests for any either. I am sure the cavity searches and the money lost to crank calls to airplanes and airport with ISIS signature does not mean we are safer. These people are as a virus and viral infection are easily spread. No one is safe and no one's economic interest is furthered by these people

Originally Posted by TI:

Bro, the west will have to go in. Presently, we do not have a heart for it and the present administration is not pushing it. But the republicans are going to hammer the democrats on foreign policy failure and drum up the call to arms. If another bush gets in the bombs will fall. If Ms Clinton gets in, she may not have any choice either. Anyway you look at it those fellows have an expiration date.

Do you really know American politics? Do you know Jeb Bush's proclivity on actions in the Mid-East or Hillary's?

it's not about the American public's stomach or lack thereof for a major Mid-East engagement. It's about getting the Arabs to right their civil wars. The British in the early 1900s set the stage with the boundaries they drew. g W Bush added fuel and Obama is smart about dousing this Fire.

this is much ado about nothing for us Americans. The Europeans will have more of the crap from these copycat jihadists. Stop being so smart pants about events there.

Originally Posted by Mars:
Originally Posted by TI:

The operatives who were executed today by Jordan were from Al Qaeda in Iraq which is now merged with ISIS. So they didn't execute the wrong people. However, they have to up the ante in the fight against ISIS. It looks like all the countries in that region are sitting around waiting for the U.S. to do the heavy lifting. The pilot's execution should be a wake up call for them.

indeed! ISIS offered to bargain the release of Sajida al-Rishawi for the Japanese man executed in the video released last week

ISIS grew out of the space allowed it by SUNNI tribes. 35 thousand do not grow to over come 16 million that easily. The Sunni tribes feel they are getting back at the Shia.Again it is a civil war within the religion ex

Storm, you dodged the response to your untruth denying the big helping hand the Sunni tribes gave the U.S. in helping to turn the tide in 2006. This is not unlike the helping hand given in Afghanistan to keep the Taliban at bay. 

You our seem to miss the point that iSIL is comprised of all the Generals, Colonels, former Ministers and leaders of Saddam's regime who joined with Al Qaeda in Iraq (and later split from them) whom GW Bush helped pushed out when he gave a mulligan to Shiite Maliki. How do you think they got all those oil sales after capturing the oil fields? They don have Al Qarda's international reach or ambitions. This is why Obama made the varsity comment in referring to ISIL. We're fighting a larger war and now Jordan's tribes have joined the tribal warfare there. 

You our know little of the types of warfare going on in the Middle East. You know little of the dynamics there and what US troops can and cannot do. You don't seem to understand the history there. I respect your atheism and belief in US military frightening prowess, but you disrespect reality 

, history and truth. Why?

I missed nothing. You chose that as a refutation to something that was not necessary. I am not blank to the fact the US left them arms hoping they will secure their interest in a unitary state. That those arms are now in the hands of ISIS means they ( whatever Sunni collective composing it) capitulated for a reason and morphed into ISIS and I stated the reason; internecine tribal war.

I am not interested in detailing the minutia of what is what was  going since I am not interested in fabricating an excuse or placing the blame of their origination on the west rather than squarely where it belongs. I care for what they are...a disease needing a cure and there is only one and we already have it

You presume too much also as to my understanding of the region but that is the convenient refuge; appeal to superior knowledge supposedly predicating events unknown that buttresses arguments unmade.

And yes I respect US military might because it is fearsome and indeed dreadful. They have not used their full range of armaments against any to date and that would not be a discretion by t he other side had they these weapons at their disposal.

I also have no qualms that in the end all will be right with the world. Out of the debris will come the same backward creed doing to itself and attempting to do to the world what it has always done.

Originally Posted by TI:

Do you really know American politics? Do you know Jeb Bush's proclivity on actions in the Mid-East or Hillary's?

it's not about the American public's stomach or lack thereof for a major Mid-East engagement. It's about getting the Arabs to right their civil wars. The British in the early 1900s set the stage with the boundaries they drew. g W Bush added fuel and Obama is smart about dousing this Fire.

this is much ado about nothing for us Americans. The Europeans will have more of the crap from these copycat jihadists. Stop being so smart pants about events there.

I am quite sure I am informed as you are on what is the reality in the US.  Jeb is a conservative republican with some left wing beliefs but he cannot tilt out of the conservative zone in this election to gain the nomination much less win. The republicans, are gearing up to leverage foreign policy failures on the democrats and they will use Obama supposed failure to arm some nebulous western leaning Syrian group as instrumental to the growth of ISIS and the other fringe groups. Democrats also will tilt to the use of force.

Where in the world is there a righting of Lybia or Syria or Iraq without international intervention? Yemen is also in this mix. There is no rational element in any of these states and all are cascading as Somalia did into ethnic factionalism and religious fanaticism.

Europe will only move with the US  and NATO is for all intents and purpose facing the southern flanks of the Mediterranean as its source of worry other than Putin

And it was the symbolism of the Kurds dying by the thousands on the mountains in the cold at Christmas that got the no fly zone up in Iraq. It is momentum here with the mustard gassing by Saddam that pushed us into Iraq. The reasons offered officially may be spurious but the drive to disarm him and to search every basement in the state for WMD was all a part of the ritual to war. The Neocons may also have other reasons but Saddam was ISIS of the era and not an innocent. Note in the past you only have to insult a duke to start a world war!

There is a march to war here and it is coming. Whatever the reasons that catalyzes  it,  the moment it is already a done deal in the minds of most. The plans are being drawn up, the arsenal inventoried and the equipment are being moved into place. Even the logistics is already mapped out. We are waiting the moment and that moment is inevitable as rain.

not sure what the Kurds and other pretexts have to do with my post . . . i was simply placing your "yadzis" lament in context

but since you went there . . . i could not disagree more with your comparison of Saddam with a non-state actor like ISIL

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

I have lost the connection between the various comments. What exactly are we discussing now?

.......that Storm knows little about (a) US politics, and (b) the Middle East.

I have lost the connection between the various comments. What exactly are we discussing now?

or is it you are again touting you supposed great wisdom in these things as a refutation to what I stated? In any event. I am sure this is a Muslim on Muslim struggle with various interpretations of Islam and that the US would be needed to broker the struggle not the quarrel by wiping out ISIL.

Oh rass..I thought stormy was about to say "wipe out the Muslims"

Dats when fite would bruk out.

I don't how all y'all people manage to get cavity searches. I agree that we have less freedom at the airports than we used to and I do miss them. I also agree that we can all thank the terrorists for taking away that freedom. But while I only travel a few times per year I don't feel that I am looked at with any real suspicions. In fact on my lady trip through Reagan National my family and I went right by through the prescreen entry shoes on and all. We don't even have pre screen documents. Anyway y'all can keep y'all cavity searches to y'all selves.

You worrying me here with dat trip banna.

not sure what the Kurds and other pretexts have to do with my post . . . i was simply placing your "yadzis" lament in context

but since you went there . . . i could not disagree more with your comparison of Saddam with a non-state actor like ISIL

symbolism that started a war...these may be trans state actors but they are part and parcel of the same internecine struggle between Shia and Sunni and the are fighting for and because of policies in a state. Those sunnis will say they represent are are representatives of Iraq their name withstanding.