I agree with him 100% to ban all food items that can be produced locally in Guyana, to reduce importation cost, and to encouraged young entrepreneurs to invest in manufacturing, quality home made products and home grown produce, that would otherwise be purchased from foreign countries. 

If other countries can grow and produced what we consumed, why we can't do the same to feed ourselves? Are we incapable? Lazy? Corhee? Goat bite we?

Should we complain that there are not enough jobs? Lack of opportunities? Or, we just hate Granger for making us anti-drunkard and pro-businessmen and women?

Indians, stop your coolie mentatality and eat local. If you love the green land of Guyana, everything good will grow there to eat and share to the rest of the world.

Granger can't be that bad. We have to compromise on our eating habits. 

I am not saying this to annoy my fellow Indians. But most, if not all of them will agree that to grow locally is the best and healthy way to eat. This is not new to Guyanese. But the sound of banning something to replace it with substitutes is like telling them the world is coming to an end. That's not the kind of people that I grew up with. Today, I was at the supermarket looking for achar from Guyana. The price is $US12.00 for a 8oz jar. I had to buy it because I can eat the damn money. Why Guyana must import coconut water when we have endless coconut trees with top quality coconuts?

I think people are going starkly mad these days. If Dr. Jagdeo was thinking on this idea, you think Indians would disagree with him?

Cobra posted:

I am not saying this to annoy my fellow Indians. But most, if not all of them will agree that to grow locally is the best and healthy way to eat. This is not new to Guyanese. But the sound of banning something to replace it with substitutes is like telling them the world is coming to an end. That's not the kind of people that I grew up with. Today, I was at the supermarket looking for achar from Guyana. The price is $US12.00 for a 8oz jar. I had to buy it because I can eat the damn money. Why Guyana must import coconut water when we have endless coconut trees with top quality coconuts?

I think people are going starkly mad these days. If Dr. Jagdeo was thinking on this idea, you think Indians would disagree with him?

What substitutes ?? the fake Dr. had no idea,manufacturing was halted  under his tenure,importers were allowed to import relabeled junk food which was consumed by the poor ill informed Guyanese.It boggles my mind 750,000 people in 83,000 sq miles can't produce food for consumption.

Cobra posted:

What substitutes ?? the fake Dr. had no idea,manufacturing was halted  under his tenure,importers were allowed to import relabeled junk food which was consumed by the poor ill informed Guyanese.It boggles my mind 750,000 people with vast lands can't produce food for consumption.

the ppp did not encourage manufacturing how they supporters will get rich importing 

Cobra posted:

What substitutes ?? the fake Dr. had no idea,manufacturing was halted  under his tenure,importers were allowed to import relabeled junk food which was consumed by the poor ill informed Guyanese.It boggles my mind 750,000 people in 83,000 sq miles can't produce food for consumption.

FYI, Dr. Jagdeo is a far better president than Granger will ever be. I am here to discuss one of Granger's better ideas, but not to boost his morals. Let's stay on the topic, please. 

warrior posted:
Cobra posted:

What substitutes ?? the fake Dr. had no idea,manufacturing was halted  under his tenure,importers were allowed to import relabeled junk food which was consumed by the poor ill informed Guyanese.It boggles my mind 750,000 people with vast lands can't produce food for consumption.

the ppp did not encourage manufacturing how they supporters will get rich importing 

You doan need a magnifying glass to see that,imagine the crooks importing adulterated milk products raking in the dough,while creating health risk for the consumers.

Cobra posted:

FYI, Dr. Jagdeo is a far better president than Granger will ever be. I am here to discuss one of Granger's better ideas, but not to boost his morals. Let's stay on the topic, please. 

Cobra posted:

a snake is a snake will always be a snake what a snake 

Cobra posted:

In what way.  Tell us how the sugar industry was improved because of him.  This was the sector over which he had the most control.

Jagdeo and Granger are both economic dunces.

Cobra posted:

You and me both. It's not just the 83,000 sq. miles but look at the resources. Guyana has almost 300 miles of marine coastline and 200 nautical miles of fishing for one.

warrior posted:
Cobra posted:

You doan need a magnifying glass to see that,imagine the crooks importing adulterated milk products raking in the dough,while creating health risk for the consumers.

Is not a free trading system what neo-liberalism all about? What about all the junk food eaten in the world that creates profits for businesses?

as far as I understand, there is an agency in Guyana that checks on foodstuff imported in the country to ensure that it is suitable for human consumption. Guyana is not the only country that import poor quality products. Additionally, how many recalls of foodstuff in North America have we all heard about. Many! What about GMOs? Furthermore  think of all the pesticides, herbicides, fertilizers that are used to spray agricultural products everyday in Guyana or in the vicinity of those products. 

Since Guyana's incorporation into the world economy, it has been primarily a producer and exporter or primary products. There is a historic reason for that and until the dynamics that allow this situation to be perpetuated, it will not change. A politician or a president of a small country like Guyana cannot change those dynamics by himself.

Z
Cobra posted:

I agree with him 100% to ban all food items that can be produced locally in Guyana, to reduce importation cost, and to encouraged young entrepreneurs to invest in manufacturing, quality home made products and home grown produce, that would otherwise be purchased from foreign countries. 

If other countries can grow and produced what we consumed, why we can't do the same to feed ourselves? Are we incapable? Lazy? Corhee? Goat bite we?

Should we complain that there are not enough jobs? Lack of opportunities? Or, we just hate Granger for making us anti-drunkard and pro-businessmen and women?

Indians, stop your coolie mentatality and eat local. If you love the green land of Guyana, everything good will grow there to eat and share to the rest of the world.

Granger can't be that bad. We have to compromise on our eating habits. 

Are you saying that only Indians do not eat locally produced food? Post me the source for this info that you share so freely. 

You show a lack of understanding of things in Guyana. Maybe you have left too long ago. Short visits if you make them do not give you a true picture. How are out trading relations and agreements fostering this situation that you criticize? Why is achar from Guyana $12 when you can get from India for half of that? Why is the price of a avacado in Supertore compatible to what I pay in Guyana? 

What has the Coalition and Granger done in regards to the economy, or diversifying the economy? Minimal. They are reverting to the old PNC mode of authoritarian rule and think if solving a problem by dictating behaviour, which has not and does not work.

Is it not great to be able live in the USA and be able to tell all of us in Guyana how to live our lives, what to eat, to not want the things that you have free access to, to not eat the things that you can eat any old day? Such divine wisdom? Or maybe, hypocracy?

Z

You and me both. It's not just the 83,000 sq. miles but look at the resources. Guyana has almost 300 miles of marine coastline and 200 nautical miles of fishing for one.

Grace Kennedy is building its 7th plant in Jamaica to process JAMAICAN products for export. Farmers are benefitting from a guaranteed market.

Now why can I not see Guyanese products on shelves all over NYC as I see Grace products?

This is because the fake Dr., couldn't think beyond projects that generate funds for himself and his cronies.

Zed posted:

Are you saying that only Indians do not eat locally produced food? Post me the source for this info that you share so freely. 

He fully well knows that Jagdeo would run around Guyana screaming "black man a kill ahbe" should any buy local campaign be embarked upon by APNU. 

This as he has made PPP into ROAR II and ignoring of course that 60% of the population will not be impressed by this.  He thinks that victory comes from a highly panicked and mobilized Indian vote.  And in fact his behavior is leading to some to forecast race based violence in 2020 if he continues not to attempt to build cross ethnic support.

In fact this is a motivating reason for RISE which has already stated that they fear racial violence in the next elections.

Now I happen to agree that banning isn't the way to stimulate local production, because banning often drives up the cost of inputs as did happen under Burnham. 

But seriously you ought to be shamed that Guyanese drink Bajan fruit juices and not their own. What fruit trees does Barbados have. Few.  They use Brazilian fruit concentrates, add sugar and water, package it and Guyanese then drink it.

Grace Kennedy is building its 7th plant in Jamaica to process JAMAICAN products for export. Farmers are benefitting from a guaranteed market.

Now why can I not see Guyanese products on shelves all over NYC as I see Grace products?

This is because the fake Dr., couldn't think beyond projects that generate funds for himself and his cronies.

You take pride of addressing Dr. Jagdeo as fake Dr., but he was a real president vs Granger as an illegitimate quack that was installed in the office that he holds today. 

I wonder where Guyanese get the idea that if it foreign it is better than their own, why it is cheaper at times to buy foreign products that that produced in Guyana.

Not ashamed because I am not in any position to alleviate that situation. Blame the politicians, the business community, the Eight-second economists, etc.

All I do is try to drink and eat local. Make drink from Guava, pineapple, golden apple, sour sap, mango, all from my own yard and enjoy them. Make my own coconut oil, achar, jams and use cane juice from cane I grow. Grow my own vegetables and fruits.

Z
Zed posted:

I wonder where Guyanese get the idea that if it foreign it is better than their own, why it is cheaper at times to buy foreign products that that produced in Guyana.

Not ashamed because I am not in any position to alleviate that situation. Blame the politicians, the business community, the Eight-second economists, etc.

All I do is try to drink and eat local. Make drink from Guava, pineapple, golden apple, sour sap, mango, all from my own yard and enjoy them. Make my own coconut oil, achar, jams and use cane juice from cane I grow. Grow my own vegetables and fruits.

That is a nice life-style. For the last 20 years I have been trying to do dat. Not getting anywhere with the idea. But I keep trying.

Cobra posted:

You take pride of addressing Dr. Jagdeo as fake Dr., but he was a real president vs Granger as an illegitimate quack that was installed in the office that he holds today. 

By convention, someone who receives an honorary doctorate is not addressed as Dr. Do you hear any fools addressing Obama as Dr. Obama?

Cobra posted:

So why under the PPP did Guyana become a net IMPORTER of TROPICAL fruit juices?  We did have local fruit juices in the 70s, using LOCAL raw material.  How come I can buy Jamaican products all over North America and not Guyanese?

Dr. Fakes idea of development is building multiplexes and shopping malls and having Guyanese spend their remittance money to make a few PPP cronies rich.

Zed posted:

A woman came from Senegal and made herself rich selling sorrel drink (she calls it bissap which is also drunk in Senegal) in select Wholefoods stores.

Many "exotic" fruit juices, etc can be sold under the "organic" label.  But Dr. Fake didn't think of it, and neither will President Dumber.  Why Guyanese waste time thinking that there is any difference between the two is very "interesting".

Grace Kennedy and other Jamaican companies show Guyanese what we should be doing.

I don't follow why this thread opened with an attack on Indo Guyanese by Cobra. Maybe this poster got a good dose of PNC kool aid and now have joined the slop can crew. 

If you look all over the world, you will note that banning any item never leads to prosperity. Does the US ban products from overseas even though it is grown/produced in America? Show me a country where banning to force artificial demand for local products led that nation to prosperity. The US produces all types of wines in the Napa valley and elsewhere, however we still import wines from all over the world. Local demand must come from a demand for the product based on quality. Forcing local products down the people throat will only lead to the days of black eye dhall and rice flour roti, and we all know how that experiment ended.  We have to let market forces take its natural course. 

Nonsense,why comparing Guyana to the ole USA,it can't match one of the poorest state in the union.

Developing countries have to be innovative,use their resources to benefit the nation,if food or any products can be produce locally,why import ???

Nonsense,why comparing Guyana to the ole USA,it can't match one of the poorest state in the union.

Developing countries have to be innovative,use their resources to benefit the nation,if food or any products can be produce locally,why import ???

How can you call Guyana a developing country when all indicators are pointing to a downward spiral? I thought developing is building.

I will excuse you due to your lack of education and the after effects of the stench of the slop can. Again, I pose the question, name us a country that implemented banning of products which turned out to be a successful strategy to force artificial demand for local products?

Market forces must guide demand, not govt regulations. 

I will excuse you due to your lack of education and the after effects of the stench of the slop can. Again, I pose the question, name us a country that implemented banning of products which turned out to be a successful strategy to force artificial demand for local products?

Django went to school with the Rick Perry... "supply determines demand".

How can you call Guyana a developing country when all indicators are pointing to a downward spiral? I thought developing is building.

What you deh pun,for the current year the country is in the positives of growth,you seem to drink too much of Dr.Doom koolaid.

Growth in crimes, starvation, government thefts, banning coolie man food....Looks like the slop can is getting too heavy for your head and it's affecting your judgement.

I don't follow why this thread opened with an attack on Indo Guyanese by Cobra. Maybe this poster got a good dose of PNC kool aid and now have joined the slop can crew. 

If you look all over the world, you will note that banning any item never leads to prosperity. Does the US ban products from overseas .

While I agree that banning is counter productive you cannot compare Americans with Guyanese. Americans think that they have the best products and only buy foreign if it is cheaper.

Guyanese still suffer from colonial contempt and have no respect for themselves or anything connected with them. That we have Bajan juice and not Guyanese is a symptom of a problem.  Guyana is packed with fruits rotting on the trees or in the markets.

You are a total jackass,who are you to define my level of education ??,where did the government said they are "Banning" products.

Growth in crimes, starvation, government thefts, banning coolie man food....Looks like the slop can is getting too heavy for your head and it's affecting your judgement.

Name which Indian food the gov't is planning to ban.

I will excuse you due to your lack of education and the after effects of the stench of the slop can. .. 

I think that you refer to yourself, given your main task of carrying Jagdeo's slop, which you sniff as part of your addictions.  

And you have never displayed any evidence that you have ever darkened the door of any educational institution since Saints kicked you out in 4th form.

Those indicators had begun to point down since gold prices began to drop while the PPP was in power.  And look at the disaster that they made of sugar where production was LOWER in 2014 than it was in 1992.

., banning coolie man food......

If this food is so important to them why don't they grow it instead of keeping sugar, which no one wants, at least not at the prices that Guyana wants to charge?

Does everything coolieman eats, can be grown or manfactured in Guyana?
Why don't you ask the US Dept of Agriculture why they subsidize beet, sugar cane and other agricultural farmers? 

Name which Indian food the gov't is planning to ban.

If they are returning to Burnhamism, you know the list. They haven't issued the list yet. History in the making.