dat name too lang rass fuh me remember

Caribana, the celebration of Caribbean culture that brings more than a million people to the streets of Toronto each summer, has a new name.

The festival will now be known as the Scotiabank Caribbean Carnival Toronto, organizers announced Wednesday.

The name change, ordered earlier this month by the Ontario Superior Court, is the latest in a long-running battle over the massively popular festival.

The name “Caribana” is trademarked by the Caribana Arts Group (CAG), the successor of the Caribbean Cultural Committee (CCC), which founded the festival in 1967 but lost control in 2006.

That’s when the city and province cut funding after organizers failed to produce adequate financial statements. Control was transferred to the newly created Festival Management Committee (FMC).

After the transfer, the festival was officially called the Toronto Caribbean Carnival.

The FMC has said nothing but Caribana’s name will change, much to the consternation of the CAG, which claims the festival itself is the group's intellectual property. The group’s chair, Henry Gomez, said they're prepared to go to court again unless FMC acknowledges CAG's ownership.

In 2009, the festival attracted 1.2 million people, including 300,000 from outside the country, and helped fill 85 per cent of Toronto’s hotel rooms. That year, the festival generated $483 million for the provincial economy.

But last year, an expected $600,000 in federal and provincial grants didn’t come through. The festival’s budget decreased from $2.6 million to $1.8 million.

In 2009, the festival attracted 1.2 million people, including 300,000 from outside the country, and helped fill 85 per cent of Toronto’s hotel rooms. That year, the festival generated $483 million for the provincial economy.
But last year, an expected $600,000 in federal and provincial grants didn’t come through. The festival’s budget decreased from $2.6 million to $1.8 million.

Why can't these people receive a grant that works out for the good of T.O?
I notice the gay pride parade got no problem flaunting their vulgarities while receiving grants.

Why don't the hotels and other businesses donate toward this parade,they will receive good returns on their investment?
Originally posted by Villagebelle:
with only 9 posts.....how come you miss Sandy so bad Cain?

Doan feel jealous VB, I does miss you too when you doan post for a lil while.

You notice Sandy made a post after I cried a bit? Big Grin
Originally posted by cain:
Originally posted by Villagebelle:
with only 9 posts.....how come you miss Sandy so bad Cain?

Doan feel jealous VB, I does miss you too when you doan post for a lil while.

You notice Sandy made a post after I cried a bit? Big Grin

lol

thanks for the reassurance.....i was starting to turn lil 'green' there Smile

it's good to know that at least somebady does miss me Smile
Villagebelle