Former Speaker of the National Assembly Ralph Ramkarran has suggested that the door might be open for a third term bid for former president Bharrat Jagdeo as the constitutional provision related to this can be interpreted to mean that this is possible.

“This provision in the constitution does not use the word “consecutively” and this has given rise to speculation that it allows a president to serve only one term or two consecutive terms and return after a lapse of one or more terms and seek election again,” said Ramkarran in his weekly column in the Sunday Stabroek.

“This speculation turns on the meaning of the word “re-election” in the provision. Since a “re-election” can only come immediately after an “election,” therefore “re-election” means “re-election” to a second consecutive term. A “re-election

images

• images

Ralph may consider running as Prime Minister with a Jagdeo/Ralph ticket. 

Watch AFC/PNC thugs take to the street as this ticket will destroy the AFC/PNC and make them Baigan Choka.

yuji22, anything is possible in Guyana, but a Jagdeo/Ralph ticket?

You serious?

You have a greater chance of finding coca-cola in a coconut than a Jagdeo/Ralph ticket.

Think straight, man.

You serious?

You have a greater chance of finding coca-cola in a coconut than a Jagdeo/Ralph ticket.

Think straight, man.

Gil

Politics make strange bed fellows. It happens right here in Canada.

You serious?

Think straight, man.

"You have a greater chance of finding coca-cola in a coconut"

Bookman you really made me laugh there.

Originally Posted by Wally:

The United States State Department may not look too kindly to that. The Two terms is enough for every President. 

Says who ? It only applies to the USA constitution. 

One of my contacts in the underworld in Suriname once told me that Jagdeo had inquired about the chances of Ramotar living long enough to run for a 2nd term. Jagdeo is worried about the release of Roger Khan. Khan will be released just after Ramotar has served a 2nd term, if he wins the next election. Jagdeo wants his backside sovered just in case Khan is after revenge for the fact that Jagdeo sold him out to the US justice department.

That architect of our corrupt government asking a third term is reason enough to take to the streets. I know if significant numbers of Guyanese view him as I do, and I think the do; then he cannot even run for dog catcher without being jumped. His survival as a parasite on our state is also reason the PPP needs to go. On day one of a new government those gravy streams would be dammed.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

That architect of our corrupt government asking a third term is reason enough to take to the streets. I know if significant numbers of Guyanese view him as I do and I think the do then he cannot even run for dog catcher without being jumped. His survival as a parasite on our state is also reason the PPP needs to go. On day one of a new government those gravy streams would be dammed.

The combined opposition has a majority and can pass a no confidence motion. What is holding them back ? They have no guts to do so.

And what are your reasons why the opposition should call for a no confidence vote? Do you know what the purpose is of an opposition party? You act like a politically inept idiot from Mars with the kind of suggestions you make. No wonder Guyana is in such a poor state. Every street cleaner and uncle Tom thinks he knows about politics.

That architect of our corrupt government asking a third term is reason enough to take to the streets. I know if significant numbers of Guyanese view him as I do and I think the do then he cannot even run for dog catcher without being jumped. His survival as a parasite on our state is also reason the PPP needs to go. On day one of a new government those gravy streams would be dammed.

The combined opposition has a majority and can pass a no confidence motion. What is holding them back ? They have no guts to do so.

only the president has the capacity to dissolve parliament and trigger elections in 90 days. It is not withing the scope of good sense for the opposition to call for new elections now. They do not have the resources of those in control of the state resources so they need to make that connection a matter for scrutiny as much as they can and slowly abrade the confidence of the society by illustrating their incompetence and corruption. That is what they are doing slowly and surely.

I rather their current approach. Going slowly for about 5 years will be the right way.

Jagdeo is history, period. He needs to stay out of Guyana's politics. He and his boyfriend should ride into the sunset.

If Jagdeo RUn I will make it my Duty to campaign against him!!!! I hope he understand the term EX PRESIDENT!!!!

Hear! Here!

[Gilbakka is thumping his desk in support of Nehru.]

You are quite shady here, who are you trying to fool ? You called for the removal of the PPP. The opposition can pass a no confidence motion and we can have fresh elections. The opposition is chicken and still fear defeat at the polls. 

The PNC will maintain their 40 percent, the PPP will garner 51 percent as a result of massive fraud and defections within the AFC and the rest of the parties can fight for spoils.

Much to your delusion, the PPP will continue to govern Guyana for another 100 years.

You are quite shady here, who are you trying to fool ? You called for the removal of the PPP. The opposition can pass a no confidence motion and we can have fresh elections. The opposition is chicken and still fear defeat at the polls. 

The PNC will maintain their 40 percent, the PPP will garner 51 percent as a result of massive fraud and defections within the AFC and the rest of the parties can fight for spoils.

Much to your delusion, the PPP will continue to govern Guyana for another 100 years.

Ask the Rev what happens to idiots when left alone to illustrate their competency on a thing. Let me reiterate, only to President can dissolve parliament.

As for the rest, we know the answer, even Empires reach their critical limit in about the time you give the PPP. Mighty England only lasted a mere hundred years. Given the fact only a few thousand votes separate the corrupt PPP from being put to pasture; they certainly are on borrowed time.

Further, who do you think will live with those cretins for a 100 years and not have a mass insurrection on their hands?

That architect of our corrupt government asking a third term is reason enough to take to the streets.

Quite interesting that the architect of the corrupt PNC reign during 1964 to 1992 are wishing to regain power.

... what happens to idiots when left alone to illustrate their competency on a thing.

Simply look at the image in the mirror.

OUCH!!!

... what happens to idiots when left alone to illustrate their competency on a thing.

OUCH!!!

you looking for a crutch from the demented one is truly pathetic!

OUCH!!!

Bhai D2, You must learn to give it AND take it. Do enjoy your Turkey Meal.

OUCH!!!

Bhai D2, You must learn to give it AND take it. Do enjoy your Turkey Meal.

there is not give to fools. It is as being told to walk off a cliff. Being of sound mind I refuse.

I do not eat animal flesh

That architect of our corrupt government asking a third term is reason enough to take to the streets.

Quite interesting that the architect of the corrupt PNC reign during 1964 to 1992 are wishing to regain power.

The total amount that the PNC stole during their whole tenure is equivalent to what the PPP steals each and every year. The total amount of corruption perpetrated by the PPP each year is far in excess of what the PNC managed in their whole existence. It is an insult for you to talk about the corruption of the PNC when every Lindener knows that your family has taken far more than Burnham ever did.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

The total amount that the PNC stole during their whole tenure is equivalent to what the PPP steals each and every year. The total amount of corruption perpetrated by the PPP each year is far in excess of what the PNC managed in their whole existence. It is an insult for you to talk about the corruption of the PNC when every Lindener knows that your family has taken far more than Burnham ever did.

So Mr T, Explain then why Guyana looks like GOLD NOW and used to look like wan old Brukdown Outhouse during Yuh Papa Bunham time.

Bai Nehru, it is very simple. After Jagdeo started doing business with the South American drug lords and the terrorist group FARC, he made a lot of his PPP sponsors very rich. And they in turn started to flash the cash.

Perpetuating blatant lies and make-believe items in your mind/head seems to be your only focus on GNI forum.

Senile man, point to one rich fat PNC cat from their 28 years in office. Very hard, is it not? Yet everyone of those church mice in the PPP are now fat cats. Jagdeo's family house for a generation is a two bedroom room squat. In his 12 years he went from one million dollar home to a multi million dollar home. Even Plumpy is on the pradoville gravy train these days. Yes almost to a man these people who lacked a pot to piss in are now flouting obscene loot. That is the PPP legacy.

Irrelevant to the specific issue in my statement.

If Jagdeo RUn I will make it my Duty to campaign against him!!!! I hope he understand the term EX PRESIDENT!!!!

* The Rev agrees with you 100%---Jagdeo must remain an EX President.

* Anyway, don't worry---Uncle Ramo has one more term.

* And at the end of his 2nd term he will handpick his successor.

* And you can bet the house---Ramo's successor will not be Jagdeo.

Dem Guy ....Correct,... and the process can be ..... modified / clarified ......with a change to the constitution.

Soldiers in Rose Hall Town on training

Now GDF Soldiers join PPP Black Hindus Thugs in the fight to control Berbice...

Photo: AFC leaders Ramjattan and Moses Nagamootoo give solidarity to striking sugar workers at Bath. Protestors lined road where President Ramotar would pass for Babu John event.