Jagdeo to chair new National Economic Council, help with PPP/C manifesto – Ramotar

Posted By Stabroek editor On February 20, 2015 @ 5:51 pm In Local News |

President Donald Ramotar today announced that former President Bharrat Jagdeo will chair a new National Economic Council (NEC) to accelerate the modernization agenda and also help with the preparation of the PPP/C manifesto.

The surprise announcement comes amid growing speculation about Jagdeo’s role in the upcoming PPP/C campaign and ambitions for a return to elected office.

Ramotar’s announcement will raise questions about the purpose of the NEC with general elections just months away and Parliament suspended. If the NEC was not necessary in the three preceding years the question will likely be asked why it is being set up at this point. Without a functioning Parliament, the NEC would be unlikely to thrive.

Observers also point out that when Jagdeo handpicked Ramotar to succeed him, he created a special advisory post for Ramotar in the run up to the 2011 general elections. This enabled Ramotar to campaign around the country with Jagdeo. The exact thing appears to have been done by Ramotar for Jagdeo.

Ramotar’s statement follows:

The economic transformation and modernization of our country are priorities that require the skills of every bright and experienced mind as well as an enabling framework.
While I am proud of the progress made so far, I believe greater focus and attention can lead to enhanced performance in many crucial areas.

I have decided to establish a National Economic Council to bring greater support to my government in enhancing and accelerating our transformational and modernization agenda.
I have asked former President Bharrat Jagdeo who has served for a number of years as the pivot in the modernisation of our economy and led in the crafting of many strategies including the National Development Strategy, the Poverty Reduction Strategy and the Low Carbon Development Strategy to Chair this Council.

More importantly as Head of State for over a decade through a most crucial and rewarding period, former President Bharrat Jagdeo has much to offer and has kindly agreed to assume this responsibility as chair of the National Economic Council.  Further his growing international profile and work can be useful for this effort.

This Council will, among other things, assist in conceptualising and crafting of economic strategies and initiatives as well as support in the oversight in the implementation of various projects and strategic interventions.

The Council I anticipate can give impetus to the already successful efforts of ensuring that my government continues to be responsive to the socio-economic needs of our people.
While he has made clear his non-interest in any constitutional post, his Chair of this Council would ensure that we tap his vast experience and competence in making our country more prosperous.  The former President will be offering his services on a pro-bono basis.
The work of this Council will commence almost immediately.  The composition and terms of reference of the council will be made public.
The former President would also be assisting in the crafting of the PPP/C Manifesto.

When Dr Dr Bharrat Jagdeo was president he created special positions for his favourites. He created the position of special advisor for Donald Ramotar his handpicked presidential candidate. The purpose was two-fold: to give Ramotar presidential training or internship of sorts, and to provide state funds to the PPP in the form of Donald's OP salary.

Today, Ramotar is reciprocating by creating a special position for his benefactor Jagdeo. The pro bono part is to deflect further criticism of Jagdeo's vulgar $3million/month pension plus benefits.

When Dr Dr Bharrat Jagdeo was president he created special positions for his favourites. He created the position of special advisor for Donald Ramotar his handpicked presidential candidate. The purpose was two-fold: to give Ramotar presidential training or internship of sorts, and to provide state funds to the PPP in the form of Donald's OP salary.

Today, Ramotar is reciprocating by creating a special position for his benefactor Jagdeo. The pro bono part is to deflect further criticism of Jagdeo's vulgar $3million/month pension plus benefits.

wanna bet you this job comes with another million dollar per month salary for Jagdeo.

De Travel expenses alone will be more than one million dollar....Jagdeo gon be flying all over the Place....with nuff police and GDF Detail fuh protect him from them Amerindian who waiting fuh slap he.

I wonder if them gon use the Ole Helicopter he  and Brassington Buy from de Junk yard....Hope it don't drop out the sky because the pilot dem might dead.

Originally Posted by TK:

Brilliant Move by the PPP.

TK, You and Sase can never match Jagdeo's mastery of the economy.

Did you forget how he took Guyana out of poverty and fed the nation.

Don't you have some kind of paper to writ for the Alliance, or they kick you out already.  What happened to your job as a associate professor?

Originally Posted by TK:

Don't you have some kind of paper to writ for the Alliance, or they kick you out already.  What happened to your job as a associate professor?

TK is an economist, Sase is a Accountant. They got real degrees from reputable Universities. Jagdeo is a kwak from Patrice Lumumba.

All we have to do look at all the projects he spearheaded and all failed.

Want me to list them?

Originally Posted by TK:

Uncle Rama like Brampton too cold for your brain or what?

Originally Posted by TK:

That is irrelevant... You should be more constructive.. 

Can you list the 5000 projects that jagdeo completed?

Let us start with Skeldon - $47 billion wasted and Guysuco lies in ruin thanks to Jagdeo and that kwak degree from Russia.

Then let us talk about the G$8 billion ICT cable to no where that never worked.  Jagdeo big ideas.  Blasted DUNCE!

We waiting for him at Babbu Jaan.  We will proppa fruck him up.

So why don't you talk about it.  It is now irrelevant.

You should be worried about the PPP's manifesto for the 2015 general election..  Jagdeo will hand the PPP the Presidency again..and you can take that to the bank.

Hand it with what?  His backside or front side?  Them people seh he giving his backside.

Originally Posted by TK:

Rama wah happen to the fiber optic cable and the Skeldon sugar factory?

Originally Posted by TK:

Rama wah happen to the fiber optic cable and the Skeldon sugar factory?

TK the man disappear.  The facts too hot for him to handle.  RUN to Kwame Uncle Rama  

So why don't you talk about it.  It is now irrelevant.

You should be worried about the PPP's manifesto for the 2015 general election..  Jagdeo will hand the PPP the Presidency again..and you can take that to the bank.

Tell dem Rama....how Jagdeo give dem a Majority and Donald Fouck it up

Rama ....OK....EASY ONE....tell abee about GPL....

Dem had yuh sponging off GPL.... like a parasite or crab louse

Tell abee how much Millions Dem save with the Drop in Oil Price over the last year....

And tell us how much was passed on to the Consumers in Guyana?

They are still there!  Skeldon factory is functioning AOK.

Uncle Rama, how you making out with your new appointment at GPL? 

Wait.....meh ah hear right.....

Abee Uncle Rama Skoont is a GPL Cockroach.

Look wha rama turn to now.

Yorkshire Cockroaches are nocturnal insects and avoid daylight by ...