After they treat guyanese like dogs at Piarco, she's now asking the current Govt. to pursue what?

Don't know if you remember when Guyana had no foreign exchange and Trinidad refused to sell us oil. Now they want to work together? I must admit the prospect of working with a neighbor is attractive but we survived and hopefully so will they.

I do remember when BWIA was flying Guyanese "free" because their money was locked in Guyana and of no use to them.  I do recall T&T buying rice from Guyana when other countries were cheaper.  I do also recall Guyana bankrupting a supplier credit system that was designed to facilitate intra CARICOM trade.

Now let us discuss Guyanese attitudes to Venezuelans now that they arrive as paupers.

Eh Eh, you remember nuff nuff stuff, but you en remember what year these things happened. Poor Soul !!

alena06 posted:

They need us as much as we need them. I think it’s a good time to negotiate with them and secure a good price.  Whether Exxon or Guyana calls the shot, they are in close proximity and that is an advantage.

Alena, I agree with you. You think like a business person. There should be zero emotional involvement when making major business decisions.

I can see the ones with business experience vs the ones who armchair experience.

Trust me, I know.

alena06 posted:

They need us as much as we need them. I think it’s a good time to negotiate with them and secure a good price.  Whether Exxon or Guyana calls the shot, they are in close proximity and that is an advantage.

Alena, I agree with you. You think like a business person. There should be zero emotional involvement when making major business decisions.

I can see the ones with business experience vs the ones who armchair experience.

Trust me, I know.

Ok then Mr. Yujii, answer this question. Had Trinidad's oil reserves not dwindled and their refinery operating, would they have been so willing to join in a venture or would they have considered us competitors? 

The general view is that Suriname will be unable to refine the oil from the locations in Guyana.

The most likely place is Trinidad or if an oil refinery is built in Guyana or perhaps transported to another country.

I think it should be built in Guyana AND the government should insist and make sure local labor is used both in the construction and operation.

GT,

I was just referring to emotional vs business decisions. Personally, I only make business decisions when doing business.

It is perfectly ok if you think that way, different business decision making process. 

To each, his or her own. 

I admit I am very emotional about this issue. You didn't answer my question thought. From a business point of view, I don't trust anyone who wants to do business just out of dire necessity. Would you?

The general view is that Suriname will be unable to refine the oil from the locations in Guyana.

The most likely place is Trinidad or if an oil refinery is built in Guyana or perhaps transported to another country.

I think it should be built in Guyana AND the government should insist and make sure local labor is used both in the construction and operation.

Agreed GTAngler.

The cost estimates proposed by Doerga / GuyEnergy for an estimated US$$$ 100M is probably a big joke when compared to operations of that nature costing from about US$$$ 3 billion to about US$$$ 5 billion.

From 3-5 Billion to 100 million. I can understand doing it for less but 2-3.3 % of the original anticipated cost? When does this nonsense end? Sounds like another Fip Motilall. Somebody please tell Doerga is not Copra he refinin fuh mek coconut hoil.

Last edited by GTAngler

Doerga company to build US$100m oil refinery

" />

From left to right are: Steve Rowan, Turhane Doerga Sr, Turhane Doerga Jr and an employee of the company.

Local company GuyEnergy is to build a modular oil refinery in Region 10 at a cost of about two percent of what a paid international consultant to government had said might be needed here.

Expected to be completed β€œway before” ExxonMobil’s 2020 estimated production start date, GuyEnergy is forging ahead, stating that the venture would cost about US$100m as compared to the US$5B that Pedro Haas, Director of Advisory Services at Hartree , had projected to the  government.

https://www.google.ca/amp/s/ww...00-oil-refinery/amp/

What's the capacity of this refinery the Doerga company are planning to build? People need to do a thorough research before making false claims and taking others at their words. Building a complex Oil refinery that would produce between 250-500,000 barrels per day would actually cost  anywhere between 5-15 billion USD. Now you can believe that or take the Doerga company at their words and have them build a 200 Million USD "tin can" refinery, that would be a disaster waiting to happen.

Keith

Agreed. But, local labour is not reliable and may not possess the skills.

There must be something they can do. We have welders, stonemasons, housekeepers, domestic workers etc. This is what I was getting at when I asked what had been done to prepare Guyanese for the oil industry. We'll look pretty stupid asking for our people to be hired when they haven't the skills. It's not too late.

Last edited by GTAngler
Keith posted:

Doerga company to build US$100m oil refinery

" />

From left to right are: Steve Rowan, Turhane Doerga Sr, Turhane Doerga Jr and an employee of the company.

Local company GuyEnergy is to build a modular oil refinery in Region 10 at a cost of about two percent of what a paid international consultant to government had said might be needed here.

Expected to be completed β€œway before” ExxonMobil’s 2020 estimated production start date, GuyEnergy is forging ahead, stating that the venture would cost about US$100m as compared to the US$5B that Pedro Haas, Director of Advisory Services at Hartree , had projected to the  government.

https://www.google.ca/amp/s/ww...00-oil-refinery/amp/

What's the capacity of this refinery the Doerga company are planning to build? People need to do a thorough research before making false claims and taking others at their words. Building a complex Oil refinery that would produce between 250-500,000 barrels per day would actually cost  anywhere between 5-15 billion USD. Now you can believe that or take the Doerga company at their words and have them build a 200 Million USD "tin can" refinery, that would be a disaster waiting to happen.

With today technology refinery does not necessary costs millions. Check out the  Taliban has one capable of producing 2000 barrels a day...

Last edited by sachin_05

If we do that and make a dollar from every barrel of crude oil refined we would make 2000 a day. WOW!!! That's alot a cash for small country like us. Hmmm!  Why didn't the brainiacs thought about this a long time ago?

U$2000 bucks a day on a even 1 mil us investment is a deal for any private person[who the conversation is about] like Doerga. I will take it any day...

Last edited by sachin_05
alena06 posted:

My point exactly. They weren't there when we needed them. Why should we throw them a lifebuoy now?

T&T shipped oil to Guyana and weren't paid. BWIA flew people out of Guyana and weren't paid.   In fact in another thread Rowley was screaming at Panday for allowing Guyana to rob T&T blind by not demanding payment in the form of Guyana's natural resources if Guyana lacked cash to pay.

I will suggest to you that T&T did assist Guyana.  Now you can blame Burnham for putting Guyana into that predicament but it clearly wasn't the fault of T&T.

And yes T&T was a big buyer of Guyana rice when the US had cheaper rice on offer, something that other CARICOM nations took advantage of.

Now some Guyanese wanted to sneak into the people's country, some even to commit crimes, and now Guyanese are vexed about how Trinis reacted. Again blame the PNC and the PPP for reducing Guyana to the point where we became the mendicants, slaves, and assorted scum of CARICOM.

alena06 posted:

My point exactly. They weren't there when we needed them. Why should we throw them a lifebuoy now?

Buoy, duh is maaga daag mentality.  Listen to Caribj, he offered the best perspective.   

Guyana and TT is like Canada and America, perfect together!

Alyuh cut out the infantile attitude!

alena06 posted:

T&T shipped oil to Guyana and weren't paid. BWIA flew people out of Guyana and weren't paid.   In fact in another thread Rowley was screaming at Panday for allowing Guyana to rob T&T blind by not demanding payment in the form of Guyana's natural resources if Guyana lacked cash to pay.

I will suggest to you that T&T did assist Guyana.  Now you can blame Burnham for putting Guyana into that predicament but it clearly wasn't the fault of T&T.

And yes T&T was a big buyer of Guyana rice when the US had cheaper rice on offer, something that other CARICOM nations took advantage of.

Now some Guyanese wanted to sneak into the people's country, some even to commit crimes, and now Guyanese are vexed about how Trinis reacted. Again blame the PNC and the PPP for reducing Guyana to the point where we became the mendicants, slaves, and assorted scum of CARICOM.

The Base agrees with the Caribj on this point.

TT carried us to the tune of USD 500 mil.  Datt is nuff nuff paisa fuh a lil country.  Libya cut off aid at 5 mil and sue we rass.  I agree, PNC reduced Guyana to a beggar bowl shithole nation.  

Guyanese guh TT, dem pretty  Dugla gyaals tief TT homan man and dem boys, coolie, Black and all guh and start tiefing anything in sight. Suh TT people get angry and cuss we rass, jess how we cuss waan an adda anyway!

Guyanese are crude and uncultured vs our TT counterparts.  Abie cyar we attitude deh, Datts why dem nah like abie!

Dis time nah laang time. 

lil comedy and schadenfreude notwithstanding, i remain an undeterred Caribbean integrationist

Trinidad did step up to the plate when Guyana was on its knees . . . Community 'obligations' were taken seriously those days

we can help one another . . . the framework is already in place, it just needs mature/intelligent support and strengthening

Guyana can now step out and play its proper leadership role

this was always the good/smart path . . . we are one people culturally

alena06 posted:

Buoy, duh is maaga daag mentality.  Listen to Caribj, he offered the best perspective.   

I quite understand what a few of you are saying from a business sense. I just have a problem with anyone thinking they are better that Guyanese and treating them like dirt especially when they lack the standards to judge anyone else.

alena06 posted:

I quite understand what a few of you are saying from a business sense. I just have a problem with anyone thinking they are better that Guyanese and treating them like dirt especially when they lack the standards to judge anyone else.

Ah come on. We gatt some Guyanese right pon this board who think them and theirs shit don’t stink, while other Guyanese are children of a lesser god!

alena06 posted:

Ah come on. We gatt some Guyanese right pon this board who think them and theirs shit don’t stink, while other Guyanese are children of a lesser god!

Growing up poor in Guyana we were treated like children of a lesser god. How times have changed. I consider every good human being a brother or a sister.

Have experienced that,when moved up the ladder,things changed some couldn't believe i will be on par.

I always believed what is your destiny ,no one can take it away.

Never thought of myself as superior to anyone. I always say we are all children of the same maker.