The Geelbuik Sea Catfish, commonly called Gillbacker, has a scientific name: sciades parkeri.

This species is commercially exploited as a food source off the coasts of Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname, French Guiana and Brazil.

Gillbacker is now a threatened species, according to the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN).

IUCN says both Guyana and Brazil have seen declines in fish stocks due to over-exploitation.

Gillbacker is harvested using longlines, Chinese trap nets, seines and bottom trawls.

1841_Gillbacker Sea Catfish_Sciades parkeri.jpg

Originally Posted by IGH:

1841_Gillbacker Sea Catfish_Sciades parkeri.jpg

Doesn't gillbacker fish has a light yellow on its skin?

The Guyana variety has a yellowish skin, true, presumably because of the silty water off Guyana's coastland.

The ocean off Brazil has clearer water. Gillbacker in this habitat will not look yellowish.

Here is another gillbacker:

Originally Posted by chameli:

i had a very good and very bad exp wid gilbakkah

i love my big meaty fish...

imy rakhi bro sent the best ever gilbaka from GY...it was the most delish i ever cook and eat

then few wks ago, the lover got me some from a certain very well known WI store...i cooked it...it smelled bad/ taste was freezer brun...yech!!!

nevah again!

only GY fish for me from now on

Hi Chami, No offense meant but even before cooking it , one should be able tell if the fish is fresh or not ! One love Les!

Originally Posted by TI:

Fish variety is the spice of life!  

Yeah man, Meh Padna used to say a different variety everyday is the way togo.

Shark today......Banga tomorrow....

Patwa is the BEST.

Especially when coupled with a Cack-a-belly or a hoori

Originally Posted by chameli:
Originally Posted by Kennys:
[]

Hi Chami, No offense meant but even before cooking it , one should be able tell if the fish is fresh or not ! One love Les!

That's right Les, but it was quite frozen and as it thawed, I had lemon juice, flour and salt all mixed up and I believe that I was distracted by my visitors...I was sad  as I started to cook it, I knew it was no good...and I had already put in saijan, ochro, mango and karaila...grrrrrr

That sucks !So just curious, you probably had to end up ordering  Chinese for your guest !

Originally Posted by TI:

Fish variety is the spice of life!  

Yeah man, Meh Padna used to say a different variety everyday is the way togo.

Shark today......Banga tomorrow....

Patwa is the BEST.

Especially when coupled with a Cack-a-belly or a hoori

Cack Ah Belly, well dat is a FISH to catch.