Originally Posted by Riya:

A business man

That's right. If you didn't know this one, you're a bogus Berbician.First prize.

@Django, you came in one hour after Riya. Second prize.

Congratulations!!

I would've been ashamed of myself indeed! Wreford and Sons and J.P. Santos were the two supermarkets we would go to in New Amsterdam. Guyana Stores were....meh

Gilbakka hopes he doesn't get two belna juk on his nose today, from Riya and Anjali.

Demerara River is deepest at its mouth, the channel being 18 feet deep @ low tide.

Pomeroon River is deepest in its course, as deep as 54 feet down at one point.

Django, as the winner, me beg you, tek at least one belna blow fo me nuh.

Congratulations!!

Sorry, girls, great try.

Let's begin this week's round of brain ticklers.

It's a bird. It inhabits some islands in the Essequibo River and various locations in the hinterland. It walks on the ground most times but prefers to sleep atop tall trees. It is big and black but shy and tame. It has short fat beak, the base of the top half being yellow. Its bamsy area is surrounded by goose-white feathers. I personally think this bird flies occasionally to Noreen's Hairdressing Salon to get curlers and a perm on its head.

Name this bird.

Suriname owns the entire width of the Courantyne River, therefore the islands in the river too.

Django answered one minute before Riya, so Django gets first prize.

Riya gets second prize.

Ball is bright but wutliss. I know he means Suriname but for misbehaving he gets 6 lashes and third prize. He should be happy because he got a duck too.

Next one.

Let's assume that Skeldon_Man wins the Power Ball lottery and buys an airplane. He decides to fly from the northern tip of Guyana, Punta Playa, clockwise through the entire borders of the country and land back in Punta Playa. How many miles would Skelly cover?

All the miles! Dah wan haad kwestian.

Next one.

Let's assume that Skeldon_Man wins the Power Ball lottery and buys an airplane. He decides to fly from the northern tip of Guyana, Punta Playa, clockwise through the entire borders of the country and land back in Punta Playa. How many miles would Skelly cover?

A lotta air miles, bai. Yuh remember yuh primary school arithmetic? Yuh remember de word perimeter? Or yuh skulk from class?

Next one.

A lotta air miles, bai. Yuh remember yuh primary school arithmetic? Yuh remember de word perimeter? Or yuh skulk from class?

Bhai Gilly, If me nah no de length and de width, or the distance fuh each side, me cyan't figah de perimeter.

it simple skeltonman going nowhere the only plane he flying is a paper plane so you have to measure his back yard to his house,i say 20 feet.and if the fool win a lottery he will get a heart attack and die so i say 6 feet 

Warria Bro, I don't play the lottery so don't worry about burying me. Thanks for letting me know that I live within my means and very simple. I always say "never forget where you came from".

name two building in guyana with university names and what kind of business was these building use for 

[1]Cambridge Hotel on Main Street. [I learned Sexology there].

[2] Oxford Hotel, also on Main Street. It was burned down in late 1979. I watched the fire but had nothing else to do with that institution. I had already graduated from Cambridge.

name two building in guyana with university names and what kind of business was these building use for 

[2] Oxford Hotel, also on Main Street. It was burned down in late 1979. I watched the fire but had nothing else to do with that institution. I had already graduated from Cambridge.

me..thinks hotel is fuh stay when away from home

now i know a lot of hanky panky does happen there

warria.. you graduate from these two places???

Originally Posted by Django:

Wednesday's quiz.

It's raining cats and dogs at Rampoor settlement where Uncle Ramjohn lives. He has to attend to the cows but the yard is flooded. He yells to his wife: "Ai Susheila, ah wheh me lang boots deh?"

Give the proper name for Uncle Ramjohn's boots.

galoshes

No. Yuh want 2 lashes.

Wednesday's quiz.

It's raining cats and dogs at Rampoor settlement where Uncle Ramjohn lives. He has to attend to the cows but the yard is flooded. He yells to his wife: "Ai Susheila, ah wheh me lang boots deh?"

Wellington boots

Yes. They are so called because they were popularised by Arthur Wellesley, First Duke of Wellington [1769-1862]. He is well known for defeating Napoleon Bonaparte in the Battle of Waterloo, 1815.

Wellington Street in Georgetown was named to honour him, and Waterloo Street was named to memorialize the Battle of Waterloo.

Ummm...I wonder if Uncle Ramjohn knows all that.

me..thinks hotel is fuh stay when away from home

now i know a lot of hanky panky does happen there

warria.. you graduate from these two places???

the two best university in the world i graduate with honers 

Wednesday's quiz.

Wellington boots

Yes. They are so called because they were popularised by Arthur Wellesley, First Duke of Wellington [1769-1862]. He is well known for defeating Napoleon Bonaparte in the Battle of Waterloo, 1815.

Wellington Street in Georgetown was named to honour him, and Waterloo Street was named to memorialize the Battle of Waterloo.

Ummm...I wonder if Uncle Ramjohn knows all that.

Uncle Ramjohn and most of Guysuco workers only know it as lang boots

bunduri

North West District (shell beach)

hmmm...I never heard of bunduri crab.

In Berbice, buck crab and sherriga were popular. The place to get them was Crab Island.

riya they had a antiman in GT name bunduri this how he get the name because he was the biggest crab i think she was nehru girlfriend 

bunduri

In Berbice, buck crab and sherriga were popular. The place to get them was Crab Island.

riya they had a antiman in GT name bunduri this how he get the name because he was the biggest crab i think she was nehru girlfriend 

That guy Bunduri used to hang around Stabroek Market/GT stelling area, bai. He used to paint his face white and tie a red bandana around his forehead. A character.

bunduri

That guy Bunduri used to hang around Stabroek Market/GT stelling area, bai. He used to paint his face white and tie a red bandana around his forehead. A character.

a truck kill him,he use to in garmont nehru hunting ground 

Next quiz.

What is the largest crab in Guyana popularly called and where is its main habitat?

bunduri

Sorry for the delay, sir. I'm moving at a crab's pace this morning. [Me is a Cancerian]

Your answer is correct. In addition to the North West District, bunduri crabs are also plentiful on the Essequibo Coast.

Congratulations, and thanks for the video clip.

bunduri

Thanks for the info. There was Bunduri, and there was Shakira, his Indian counterpart. Stabroek Market area too. Remember him?

Next quiz.

What is the largest crab in Guyana popularly called and where is its main habitat?

bunduri

Sorry for the delay, sir. I'm moving at a crab's pace this morning. [Me is a Cancerian]

Your answer is correct. In addition to the North West District, bunduri crabs are also plentiful on the Essequibo Coast.

Congratulations, and thanks for the video clip.

same here bhai good people..weakness weemen

bunduri

Thanks for the info. There was Bunduri, and there was Shakira, his Indian counterpart. Stabroek Market area too. Remember him?

i think shakira and yugi is one and same person not too sure,have to investigate,but his action is similar  

There is a village in Guyana with a Roman name and its streets have Roman names too. Name that village and name two of its streets with Roman names.

Agricola
Street names Brutus and Cato

Latin was the language of ancient Rome. Agricola is the Latin word for farmer.

Brutus and Cato are indeed Roman names, as well as streets in Agricola.

Romulus and Remus are regarded as the founders of Rome. Two streets in Agricola village are named after Romulus and Remus.

Agricola was a plantation which freed slaves bought and converted into a village. Someone among them had a knowledge of Latin, I suspect.

What I can tell you all is that a descendant of African slaves taught me Latin at Central High School in 1962-63.

Congratulations, Riya!!

There is a village in Guyana with a Roman name and its streets have Roman names too. Name that village and name two of its streets with Roman names.

Agricola
Street names Brutus and Cato

Latin was the language of ancient Rome. Agricola is the Latin word for farmer.

Brutus and Cato are indeed Roman names, as well as streets in Agricola.

Romulus and Remus are regarded as the founders of Rome. Two streets in Agricola village are named after Romulus and Remus.

Agricola was a plantation which freed slaves bought and converted into a village. Someone among them had a knowledge of Latin, I suspect.

What I can tell you all is that a descendant of African slaves taught me Latin at Central High School in 1962-63.

Congratulations, Riya!!

Isn't Agricola known locally as South Rome? Or just Rome?

And thank you, Sir!