Originally Posted by Django:

Statue of Agricola at Bath.jpg

Gnaeus Julius Agricola

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gnaeus_Julius_Agricola

Gnaeus Julius Agricola (/əˈɡrɪkələ/; June 13, 40 – August 23, 93) was a Gallo-Roman general responsible for much of the Roman conquest of Britain.

Among the ex-slaves who purchased that EBD plantation, one of them knew Roman history.

Originally Posted by Riya:

There is a village in Guyana with a Roman name and its streets have Roman names too. Name that village and name two of its streets with Roman names.

Agricola
Street names Brutus and Cato

Latin was the language of ancient Rome. Agricola is the Latin word for farmer.

Brutus and Cato are indeed Roman names, as well as streets in Agricola.

Romulus and Remus are regarded as the founders of Rome. Two streets in Agricola village are named after Romulus and Remus.

Agricola was a plantation which freed slaves bought and converted into a village. Someone among them had a knowledge of Latin, I suspect.

What I can tell you all is that a descendant of African slaves taught me Latin at Central High School in 1962-63.

Congratulations, Riya!!

Isn't Agricola known locally as South Rome? Or just Rome?

And thank you, Sir!

Rome is located between Houston and Mc Doom Village. Agricola is after Mc Doom.

Let's travel from East Bank Demerara to East Coast.

After the abolition of slavery, freed men pooled their money and bought a plantation. They organized a village and named it Victoria Village to honour the reigning Queen of the colony. What was that place called before the name change?

Today is Friday 13 and some of us might have awaken with the thought: I hope nothing goes wrong today.

Well, Django, something went wrong for you.

Observer gave the correct answer before you. She gets first prize and you come last.

Congratulations!!

Let's make this Friday 13 a Fun Day.

My mother fed me Cow & Gate when I was a baby. Which of these did your mother feed you:

[1] Cow & Gate

[2] Lactogen

[3] SMA

[4] Gerbers

[5] Other --- specify.

This is not a quiz, just an exercise to trigger your memory back to your baby months/years.

My mother fed me Cow & Gate when I was a baby. Which of these did your mother feed you:

[1] Cow & Gate

[2] Lactogen

[3] SMA

[4] Gerbers

[5] Other --- specify.

This is not a quiz, just an exercise to trigger your memory back to your baby months/years.

#5. Me nah no wah. Me bin too young fuh no.  I know some of us here remebered the day they were born.

[1] Cow & Gate

[2] Lactogen

[3] SMA

[4] Gerbers

[5] Other --- specify.

[5] all i can remember

sweet broom tea, plantain flour

and sago with cow milk..may be [2]

i saw my mother feed my siblings.

[1] Cow & Gate

[2] Lactogen

[3] SMA

[4] Gerbers

[5] Other --- specify.

[5] all i can remember

sweet broom tea, plantain flour

and sago with cow milk..may be [2]

i saw my mother feed my siblings.

i could use some of that bush tea now i have a cold 

Originally Posted by Observer:

Slick Gilly wants to know our ages!    My older siblings got C & G.  I got Lactogen.  My American nieces & nephews got Gerber. 

You know, O, I didn't think of it that way. Trust me.

BTW, did anyone get plantain flour solution in between? I got, and my siblings too.

My mom used to slice and dry plantain in the sun, then grind it, then boil and add milk, a little glucose or sugar too.

Slick Gilly wants to know our ages!    My older siblings got C & G.  I got Lactogen.  My American nieces & nephews got Gerber. 

BTW, did anyone get plantain flour solution in between? I got, and my siblings too.

My mom used to slice and dry plantain in the sun, then grind it, then boil and add milk, a little glucose or sugar too.

that is good food 

Originally Posted by Anjali:

YOU HAVE TO COME BETTER THAT THIS OUR RIYA TOO BRIGHT 

I 2nd that, Riya is awesome

awww, you're guys are too kind! But thank you

I got good sources aka dad

[1] Cow & Gate

[2] Lactogen

[3] SMA

[4] Gerbers

[5] Other --- specify.

Lactogen

cow milk

cornmeal porridge

[1] Cow & Gate

[2] Lactogen

[3] SMA

[4] Gerbers

[5] Other --- specify.

5. Other, specifically bubby
Originally Posted by Mars:

[1] Cow & Gate

[2] Lactogen

[3] SMA

[4] Gerbers

[5] Other --- specify.

bush rum,and black water 

I mentioned that,i think most of us had it.

[1] Cow & Gate

[2] Lactogen

[3] SMA

[4] Gerbers

[5] Other --- specify.

bush rum,and black water 

look like you was wan bad baby,i can recall little

brandy with milk put crying babies to sleep....

damn... that is illegal.

[1] Cow & Gate

[2] Lactogen

[3] SMA

[4] Gerbers

[5] Other --- specify.

Lactogen

cow milk

cornmeal porridge

for making conkie..i miss those delicacy.

My babysitter used to put bacardi in my baby's milk so the baby can sleep all day and she watch soap operas.  She kept increasing the dosage.  My poor baby.  I could have sent that woman to jail. 

That's bad good you found out.

YOU HAVE TO COME BETTER THAT THIS OUR RIYA TOO BRIGHT 

I 2nd that, Riya is awesome

awww, you're guys are too kind! But thank you

I got good sources aka dad

In that case, Dad is awesome! Not our typical policeman.

How did you find out?

That was atrocious.

[1] Cow & Gate

[2] Lactogen

[3] SMA

[4] Gerbers

[5] Other --- specify.

Iman still like dat.

and is a strange ting but Iman always trying to get back into where I came from.

[1] Cow & Gate

[2] Lactogen

[3] SMA

[4] Gerbers

[5] Other --- specify.

Iman still like dat.

and is a strange ting but Iman always trying to get back into where I came from.

Looks like life is not treating you kindly?

Let's begin a new round of brain ticklers this week.

There is a book on Guyana with one of the world's longest book titles.

Provide the full title of this book and name its author.

This one is a real head scratcher............I got no clue

The Discovery of the Large, Rich, and Beautiful Empire of Guiana, with a Relation of the Great and Golden City of Manoa

By:Sir.Walter Raleigh

Never heard Sir Walter was an author. Thought he was a pirate as was Sir Francis Drake. Did not these guys get knighted for taking the most loot to Britain?

The Discovery of the Large, Rich, and Beautiful Empire of Guiana, with a Relation of the Great and Golden City of Manoa

Never heard Sir Walter was an author. Thought he was a pirate as was Sir Francis Drake. Did not these guys get knighted for taking the most loot to Britain?

Never known my self,guess we are learning

found on amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Discover...842/ref=cm_lmf_tit_7

here is another one

Searching for El Dorado: A Journey into the South American Rainforest on the Tail of the World's Largest Gold Rush by Marc Herman

Never known my self,guess we are learning

found on amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Discover...842/ref=cm_lmf_tit_7

Thanks Django. Could it be a different Raleigh?

Let Django teach you how to scratch head. He knows some moves.

You never heard a lot of things, Skelly. Me go ask Warrior fo edify yuh.

Bai Gilly, wen you live near weh de road end, you nah gat wan radio, and can't afford a newspaper, you ah mis plenty ting. Dem Jashtong peeple deh near de action all de time.

Oh rass now meh deh in trouble. Me guh have to wear ear plugs

Let Django teach you how to scratch head. He knows some moves.

Django is a good "googler"

You haven't provided the complete title, but you pass.

Here: The Discovery of the Large, Rich, and Beautiful Empire of Guiana, with a Relation of the Great and Golden City of Manoa, which the Spaniards call El Dorado, and the Provinces of Emeria, Aromaia, Amapala, and Other Countries, with Their Rivers Adjoining.

Congratulations!!

Raleigh's book was first published in 1596.

In 1976, the Bank of Guyana issued a special commemorative coin to mark the book and 10 years of independence.

me na wan priest,this is the one to help him 

At the mouth of the Berbice River there is an island that played an important role in Berbice history. Name that island and state what it was famous for.

I'm gonna guess Crab Island. It's famous for crabs.

At the mouth of the Berbice River there is an island that played an important role in Berbice history. Name that island and state what it was famous for.

You didn't tickle your brain. You just patted your forehead.

Crab Island, had lots of crabs and a dutch fort was there named St. Andries.

Ohhh, you're so nice and bright, but slow like a crab.

You get second prize.

Better luck next time.

Crab Island.

Has numerous crabs.

Before the British took over Berbice in 1815, the Dutch had a fort here called St. Andries.

Here's our crab catcher for today.

Yes, correct answers.

You get first prize.

Congratulations!!

http://www.dbnl.org/tekst/hart038besc01_01/hart038besc01ill09a.gif

FORT ST ANDRIES

You didn't tickle your brain. You just patted your forehead.

yeah

I lived at Sheet Anchor and the local fishermen would go to crab island when they are marching. That's all they talked about, they never came back and mention the fort

The first professional author from the British West Indies was born in New Amsterdam, Berbice.

Give his name and the street in New Amsterdam where he lived.

Edgar Mittelholzer

He's from Coburg Street

The first professional author from the British West Indies was born in New Amsterdam, Berbice.

Give his name and the street in New Amsterdam where he lived.

Edgar Mittelholzer

He's from Coburg Street

You certainly didn't rely on fishermen for this answer.

Yes, you are correct. Edgar Mittelholzer [1909-1965] was the first Caribbean author to earn his livelihood through writing. He wrote 26 books.

In 1993, I made a visit to Coburg Street just to see Mittelholzer's home. The yard was empty but there was a marker stating that he lived there.

http://caribbean-beat.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/onthisday-1_0.jpg

There was a house years ago when I live in Berbice but not sure if it was the original.

I was curious too after reading My Bones and My Flute.

I doan know have not been back in a while I will ask around to see if they still there. Inside the shop behind the counter over the doorway there was a poster size picture of Dara Singh.  

ball

Today's quiz.

Juan de Esquivel was a Spaniard who died in 1513. In what way is he connected to Guyana?

His ships first discovered Essequibo and named the river as such.

All you historians are sailing in with the correct answer this morning.

Anjali, looks like your ship has only one mast, causing you to reach port late.

You get third prize.

Riya, your ship probably has 3 sails, so you beat Anjali.

You get second prize.

Captain Django arrived first with his steamship. He gets first prize.

Congratulations to you all!!

@Riya & Django, you could have been more definite but I'll accept your answers.

Actually, the Yaya mountains are a small range on the eastern/right bank of the Essequibo River opposite Omai.

Now, I won't say who came first and who, second. Y'all fight over that. I gone.

@Riya & Django, you could have been more definite but I'll accept your answers.

Actually, the Yaya mountains are a small range on the eastern/right bank of the Essequibo River opposite Omai.

Now, I won't say who came first and who, second. Y'all fight over that. I gone.

we're both winners!
Let's go with that

For today:

During the 1950s and early 1960s, Radio Demerara employed someone who proved to be not only an excellent announcer but also a caring person, performing selfless humanitarian tasks. If no one else, older Berbicians should be thankful to that fine woman. Who was she?

Aunty Bernice (needy children fund)

Oh, Anjali, my heart pains to disappoint you with bad news. Part of your answer is a clue but the other part not right.

Olga Lopes Seales.

Mr Cain!

Sir Cain!!

My brother Cain, Olga Lopes-Seales is the lady!!

She was a wonderful announcer. I remember her voice up to now.

A great humanitarian, she started Radio Demerara's Needy Children's Fund, giving toys and clothes and food to hundreds of children at Christmas time.

And, picture this in your mind: It's the early 1950s. You're living in Berbice. Potholed brick road. No train to New Amsterdam. Few people owned radios. Georgetown is like another country. But you turn on your radio and listen to a programme named Berbice Calling. Who produced and presented that programme? Olga Lopes-Seales, of course!

For her outstanding work, Aunti Olga was appointed a Member of the British Empire in 1961. Olga Lopes-Seales, MBE.

Sadly, because of the racial disturbances, she decided to leave Guyana in 1963 and settled in Barbados. But she was not forgotten. In 1997 the Guyana Broadcasting Corporation inducted her into its Broadcasters' Hall of Fame. A great lady. Congratulations, Cain!!

http://www.lloydmicrophoneclassics.com/MicToshow/84/gbc006.jpg

Aunty Bernice (needy children fund)

Oh, Anjali, my heart pains to disappoint you with bad news. Part of your answer is a clue but the other part not right.

it's ok, no worries, I am learning as I go along.

Congrats Cain.

Gaiety

Wow! You're our movie star today. Yes, it's Gaiety, which was burned down way back in 1926 when my dad was a teeny weeny baby. Congratulations!!

@Riya, your question mark indicates you're not sure. Anjali is sure sure sure. Eat your heart out.