Originally Posted by Mars:
Shanta's, Ferraj and the Nut Shop on Camp Street had the best peanut punch in GT.

By best, I mean the bestest best most widely recognized, and so you have to name one, and then answer the second part of the quiz.

I'd say Ferraj had the best but that's only my personal preference. Ferreira's in Kitty was also good.

Shanta's, Ferraj and the Nut Shop on Camp Street had the best peanut punch in GT.

By best, I mean the bestest best most widely recognized, and so you have to name one, and then answer the second part of the quiz.

I'd say Ferraj had the best but that's only my personal preference. Ferreira's in Kitty was also good.

Okay, what about the second part of the quiz, the shop that first imported Cracker Jack and bubble gum?

Originally Posted by Anjali:

What was the name of the movie theater at Beterverwagting 1970-1980.

Kay Donna.

I never heard of Kay Donna but I could be mistaken. I know of a different theater at BV.

I had kept a newspaper article on cinemas and that was metioned but it was before the year you had, sorry. I would say Tivoli.

Mars, I'll give you the prize.

Ferraz on Main & Murray/Quamina Streets arguably sold the best peanut punch.

Ferraz was also the first importer of Cracker Jack biscuits and bubble gum, during the Second World War.

Two personal observations:

[1] There was a red body scale in Ferraz that gave you a printed ticket stating your weight on one side, and your "horoscope" on the other, for 5 cents.

[2] I used to get my supplies of Dunhill cigarettes at Ferraz. In my younger years I smoked only imported cigarettes, buying one pack per week on my assistant master's pay of $96/month and later my public servant's pay of $117/month with yearly increments. I started smoking British-made 555 State Express and later switched to Dunhill. Occasionally I also bought a Havana cigar at Ferraz until dem Freedom House bai gave me Havanas they had brought back from Cuba.

One more thing, Ferraz closed down in the late 1970s because of import restrictions and sold out to D'Aguiar's which started Arapaima restaurant.

Originally Posted by Riya:

Gaiety?

Riya, I don't want to dampen your day so I'm sending you a souvenir pic of the Gaiety cinema.

http://www.guyanagateway.org.gy/files/heritage-3.jpg

At the South West corner is the Cathedral (I was an altar boy there)at the North East corner was StMary's RC (been there) North East corner was a cake shop, North West corner was a ground used by StMary's scout troop ( I was also part of that) also the priests residence.

Where would that cinema have been perhaps the ground on the North West corner?

I cannot tell by the pic,sometimes negatives have been used on the wrong side (they did this to our wedding pic and had to do over)

Gaiety?

Riya, I don't want to dampen your day so I'm sending you a souvenir pic of the Gaiety cinema.

http://www.guyanagateway.org.gy/files/heritage-3.jpg

At the South West corner is the Cathedral (I was an altar boy there)at the North East corner was StMary's RC (been there) North East corner was a cake shop, North West corner was a ground used by StMary's scout troop ( I was also part of that) also the priests residence.

Where would that cinema have been perhaps the ground on the North West corner?

I cannot tell by the pic,sometimes negatives have been used on the wrong side (they did this to our wedding pic and had to do over)

The ground on the north west corner.

Here we go today.

An American R & B/soul singer toured Guyana in 1969 and performed in Georgetown and New Amsterdam. He was well received in Georgetown but while performing in New Amsterdam dem crazy Berbice fans pelted him with soft drink bottles, paper cups and even cigarette packets. Who was that singer?

Do you know why my peeps behaved like that? We are such peaceful people I can't imagine Berbicians behaving badly

Ready to let your brains dance today? Jump on board.

A top Indian film actress toured Guyana in the late 1960s and performed classical dances on the Essequibo Coast. She had already endeared herself to Guyanese cinema fans in movies that starred the likes of Shammi Kapoor. She is still alive while Shammi is dead. Who is that star?

Next one.

There was a radio announcer who produced and presented early morning Indian request programmes during the 1960s and '70s. He started out in the British Guiana Broadcasting Service [BGBS] and ended his career in the Guyana Broadcasting Corporation [GBC] Channel 2. He got his son into radio and when he retired his son took over his Indian filmi/request programmes. Give the names of that broadcaster and his son. You must give 2 names to win.

Next one.

There was a radio announcer who produced and presented early morning Indian request programmes during the 1960s and '70s. He started out in the British Guiana Broadcasting Service [BGBS] and ended his career in the Guyana Broadcasting Corporation [GBC] Channel 2. He got his son into radio and when he retired his son took over his Indian filmi/request programmes. Give the names of that broadcaster and his son. You must give 2 names to win.

Ishri Singh and Haresh Singh

Originally Posted by Django:

Asha Parekh

CORRECT!!

Riya gets first prize.

As Django is into slow dancing, he gets second prize.

Congratulations!!

http://www.trickspk.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/11/Asha-Parekh-2.jpg

I got a glimpse of her when the entourage pulled in

Monarch Cinema,was in my teen's could not afford

the show.

I wasn't born yet but I always remember my father talking about her visit. He's a big fan. I was too as a young girl. I love old movies.

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/vet...val/501928-8-66.html

Mumbai: Yesteryear star Asha Parekh will be honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the closing ceremony of 5th Jagran Film Festival.

Parekh, 71, who has been an icon of Indian films since the '50s and '60s, has created an honourable space for herself through her extra-ordinary acting talent in the Indian Cinema Industry.

"We are honoured to confer the Lifetime Achievement Award to Asha Parekh. Her films have been loved and celebrated by millions of cinema lovers in India. We are humbled that she has agreed to receive this award," the official spokesperson of the festival said in a statement.

Veteran actress Asha Parekh to be honoured with lifetime achievement award at a film festival

Parekh, 71, who has been an icon of Indian films since the '50s and '60s, has created a space for herself through her acting

The veteran actress made her debut in 1959 in 'Dil Deke Dekho'. Her fabulous performances in unusual films like 'Teesri Manzil' (1966), 'Kati Patang' (1970) and 'Caravan' (1971) flagged her name as a star to reckon with and in 1992, and she was awarded the Padma Shree for Arts.

In 1995, Parekh retired from acting and chose to focus her energies on producing television serials and even experimented with direction.

Next one.

Answer:

[1] Sonny Mohammed --- father

[2] Pradeep Kumar aka Arsalam Mohammed --- son.

Django, how come you didn't remember these fellows?

@Riya & Anjali, Ishri Singh worked at Radio Demerara, not BGBS.

Next one.

Answer:

I remember and wanted to post,Sonny daughter

Noor Jahan work at Mohamed Record Bar when

i was also working there.

Next one.

Answer:

When I was first into playing music I remember picking up lyric sheets from Mohamed's when we couldn't figure out some lyrics. They were on Robb or Regent St, don't remember.

Next one.

Answer:

When I was first into playing music I remember picking up lyric sheets from Mohamed's when we couldn't figure out some lyrics. They were on Robb or Regent St, don't remember.

Cain..Robb St opposite Sue Quan the amplifier and speaker

repair shop,couple of buildings west of metropole cinema.

Sorry I didn't specify the period 1970-73 until later, guys.

The answer is RAMESH SINGH.

A few words about this guy. He was Head Prefect at Central High School in 1964. He later read for a BA degree at UG. His elder brother Chetram Singh was Administrator at Public Hospital Georgetown. His younger brother Dr Naresh Singh is a health executive in the Caribbean.

Friday's relaxing quiz.

In the early 1960s an American singer-songwriter popularized a new dance style that became a craze internationally, including in Guyana and India. That singer toured Guyana and autographed his records at Auto Supplies Record Bar in Georgetown. What's his name and what's the name of that dance style?

Gil how me guh know dah,i was a lil bhai running

around me grandparents rice field having fun

ketching birds climbing trees fuh fruits, take a peek

in them them bird nest,juk broom pionter in the bee nest

fuh honey.

Friday's relaxing quiz.

In the early 1960s an American singer-songwriter popularized a new dance style that became a craze internationally, including in Guyana and India. That singer toured Guyana and autographed his records at Auto Supplies Record Bar in Georgetown. What's his name and what's the name of that dance style?

fuh honey.

That's no excuse Me nah been barn yet but I know that

Friday's relaxing quiz.

fuh honey.

me gat wan feeling some bady a help you with the answer.

Friday's relaxing quiz.

fuh honey.

All participants are encouraged to phone a friend or relative for answers.

Friday's relaxing quiz.

fuh honey.

All participants are encouraged to phone a friend or relative for answers.

That is my problem, nobody does call Iman back after I leff a message..I does think maybe they forgot but is when It happen like about fifty times, I start worry.

Furcraea Foetida

That's the scientific name indeed. The Patamona name is karowhakyik.

You're becoming an expert researcher. Congratulations!!

kp and Django are way off mark today. You think I should spank them with a carrion crow whip?

This is what the Patamona plant looks like:

Image result for furcraea foetida

Thank you kindly, Sir.

No, no spanking. Maybe tomorrow they will get the correct answer.

Furcraea Foetida

That's the scientific name indeed. The Patamona name is karowhakyik.

You're becoming an expert researcher. Congratulations!!

kp and Django are way off mark today. You think I should spank them with a carrion crow whip?

This is what the Patamona plant looks like:

Image result for furcraea foetida

Furcraea foetida (L.) Haw.
Family: Asparagaceae
Synonyms: Agave bulbosa K.Koch, Agave commelyni Salm-Dyck, Agave foetida L., Agave gigantea (Vent.) D.Dietr., Agave madagascariensis (Haw.) Salm-Dyck, Aloe foetida (L.) Crantz, Fourcroya gigantea (Vent.) Hook., Funium pi Hierum Willemet, Furcraea atroviridis Jacobi & Goeff., Furcraea barillettii Jacobi, Furcraea commelyni (Salm-Dyck) Kunth,  Furcraea gigantea Vent., Furcraea madagascariensis Haw., Furcraea viridis Hemsl., Furcraea watsoniana Sander,  Furcraea gigantea var. mediopicta Trel.

English: Mauritius-hemp, Giant Cabuya, Green-aloe
Finnish: Mauritiuksenhamppu
French: Sissal
Portuguese: piteira gigante

Description: Stem short; Β± 1 m. Leaves large up to 156 x 7-9 cm, crowded, broadly oblanceolate, almost flat, undulate, somewhat roughened beneath, entire. Inflorescence large, paniculate, scape c. 6-12 m. Flowers pale yellow to green-white, fragrant, tubular, perianth segments 6, spreading; stamens included, filaments short, thick below.

Uses: Root:  Mixed  with  gin  and  used  for  back  pain.  In  Surinam,  an  infusion  with  sweet  oil  is drunk for treating syphilis. Leaf: Decoction for a febrifuge. Leaves are used in a preparation with molasses or honey for children's obstinate colds. Leaves are used as a fish poison by the Guyana Patamona.  Macerated  young  leaves  are  used  as  a  shampoo  by  the  Guyana  Patamona.  Squashed young leaves are used as a soap by the Guyana Patamona.  [Medicinal Plants of the Guianas (Guyana, Surinam, French Guiana)]

I found the correct answer after posting my first answer

,decided to gave Angali the honors of winning today.