Here we are again.

On the right bank of the Canje river/creek, about 57 miles from its mouth, there is a tributary. Name that tributary.

DEADLINE: 1:00PM

Time up. No winner.

Answer: Ikuruwa river, also called Ikuruwa creek. It empties into the Canje river. At the other end is Lake Ikuruwa.

Here we are again.

On the right bank of the Canje river/creek, about 57 miles from its mouth, there is a tributary. Name that tributary.

Time up. No winner.

Answer: Ikuruwa river, also called Ikuruwa creek. It empties into the Canje river. At the other end is Lake Ikuruwa.

CORRECTION: Anjali is the winner.

I noticed her answer afterwards.

Here we are again.

Time up. No winner.

Thank you Sir Gil sorry I posted after 1 pm and thanks for accepting my spelling, actually I had wanted to post this one instead of calabash creek.

wiping my brow

Here we are again.

Time up. No winner.

I looked for names and could't find it i could see waterways

connecting to Canji River.

Originally Posted by Anjali:

Here we are again.

Time up. No winner.

Thank you Sir Gil sorry I posted after 1 pm and thanks for accepting my spelling, actually I had wanted to post this one instead of calabash creek.

wiping my brow

kudos to Angali

Next quiz.

In 1963 the Guyanese Minister of Home Affairs Claude Christian died suddenly of a heart attack. At his Le Repentir graveside funeral, a hostile crowd attacked mourners with stones and other objects. Among the injured was a singer who used to be heard frequently on a radio programme called Local Indian Performers. That singer lost an eye in the cemetery attack. He later emigrated to England and died about two years ago. What's his name?

Next quiz.

In 1963 the Guyanese Minister of Home Affairs Claude Christian died suddenly of a heart attack. At his Le Repentir graveside funeral, a hostile crowd attacked mourners with stones and other objects. Among the injured was a singer who used to be heard frequently on a radio programme called Local Indian Performers. That singer lost an eye in the cemetery attack. He later emigrated to England and died about two years ago. What's his name?

Gil i know a lot of Guyanese singers,all day i trying to

remember names,then finally i remembered listening

to songs played on my uncle turntable hook up to a

pye radio, i was a little boy and heard one of the singers

lost an eye,oh boy my memory strikes the singer name is....

Neville Kalicharan

hoping i am correct

Originally Posted by Django:

Next quiz.

Neville Kalicharan

hoping i am correct

Watch yuh spelling, bai. How yuh goh feel if me write Jango, eh?

Yes, Neville Kallicharran is the correct answer.

Again, I knew somebody would find it, so I didn't close the quiz.

Congratulations, chum!!

I doan know the man but I aint win a dam ting yet so I goin with what django said

Cain my uncle had a 78rpm viynl with one of his song

i remembered from their conversation the singer lost

an eye.

i got this from the net.

"Neville Kalicharan" singer of the song "OH GUYANA"
A SONG THAT WAS A TRIBUTE IN THE CARIBBEAN AS WELL AS UK

Next quiz.

Neville Kalicharan

hoping i am correct

Congratulations, chum!!

Bhai all day i tickling me brain,i ran two call on the road

came back to shop was shutting down my computer,got

a flash back and remembered the name.

I doan know the man but I aint win a dam ting yet so I goin with what django said

an eye.

i got this from the net.

Actually, Neville Kallicharran composed and sang that song to mark Guyana's Independence in 1966. If I remember correctly, his wife accompanied him in the duet. Correct me if I'm wrong.

an eye.

i got this from the net.

Actually, Neville Kallicharran composed and sang that song to mark Guyana's Independence in 1966. If I remember correctly, his wife accompanied him in the duet. Correct me if I'm wrong.

I am trying to remember the beat of the song,

surprised there is none of his song on you tube.

an eye.

i got this from the net.

I am trying to remember the beat of the song,

surprised there is none of his song on you tube.

Something near to Muhamad Rafi's "sunno sunno hai dunya walo bapu ki hai hamar kahani..."

Next quiz.

Neville Kalicharan

hoping i am correct

Congratulations, chum!!

Gm  Congrats Django, good for you.

Today is Monday 13. Not an unlucky day. Easy quiz.

LONG ISLAND is in the:

[A] Barima river

[B] Essequibo river

[C] Demerara river

[D] Berbice river

[E] Corentyne river

(E)Corentyne River

or Courantyne River

That was easy, as I said.

Congratulations!!

I had a glimpse of the island in early 1996 on trip to

Suriname.

LONG ISLAND is in the:

[A] Barima river

[B] Essequibo river

[C] Demerara river

[D] Berbice river

[E] Corentyne river

(E)Corentyne River

or Courantyne River

Congratulations!!

Django bright bad the man swallow a light bull,you got to come better  

LONG ISLAND is in the:

[A] Barima river

[B] Essequibo river

[C] Demerara river

[D] Berbice river

[E] Corentyne river

(E)Corentyne River

or Courantyne River

Congratulations!!

Django bright bad the man swallow a light bull,you got to come better  

at my age Gil,keeping my brain active i like the challenge.

Originally Posted by Riya:

Wasn't W & R also an ice factory in New Amsterdam? I remember that huge place on the stelling road.

W & R had an ice factory on Water Street Georgetown too. I don't know if it still works. It was producing ice when I left G in 1996.

they had a problem the ice was not cool

Wasn't W & R also an ice factory in New Amsterdam? I remember that huge place on the stelling road.

W & R had an ice factory on Water Street Georgetown too. I don't know if it still works. It was producing ice when I left G in 1996.

Wah rass did jackass ah seh hey? If de ice nah cool, den de man muss sell cole watah?

old man you born long long time

Good morning.

This plant is commonly found in Guyana. What is its name?

django_smart

Carrion crow bush,this is the common name we called the plant.

Correct. It is known by other names too, such as senna alata.

This plant has antifungal and antibacterial properties. It gets rid of ringworm and skin infections.

Django gets first prize.

Mars gets second prize.

Riya gets third prize.

Congrats!!

@Anjali. I checked for hurricane weed on the Internet. It looks surprisingly similar but it's not carrion crow bush/senna alata.

@Django, I'm smiling here because I presume you might have discovered what I did to file the pic. Check properties.

Next quiz.

In 1831 Essequibo and Demerara joined with Berbice to form British Guiana. What was the population of BG in 1831?

Anjali and Riya clocked in at the same time with the correct answer.

You share the win 50-50.

Congratulations!!

Now, think about this: 184 years ago our population was 98,000. Today it's around 800,000. This means it has grown by 702,000 in 184 years. We ent tekking in dem who dead or leff de country.

Good morning.

django_smart

This plant has antifungal and antibacterial properties. It gets rid of ringworm and skin infections.

Django gets first prize.

Mars gets second prize.

Riya gets third prize.

Congrats!!

@Anjali. I checked for hurricane weed on the Internet. It looks surprisingly similar but it's not carrion crow bush/senna alata.

@Django, I'm smiling here because I presume you might have discovered what I did to file the pic. Check properties.

You smarten up ,soon i saw the pic i know the answer,

in a group of kids we used to crushed the dry leaves roll

in to cigaretes to smoke,we even used papaya leaves and

black sage leaves,boy we were trying to play bigman.

Next quiz.

In 1831 Essequibo and Demerara joined with Berbice to form British Guiana. What was the population of BG in 1831?

Anjali and Riya clocked in at the same time with the correct answer.

You share the win 50-50.

Congratulations!!

Now, think about this: 184 years ago our population was 98,000. Today it's around 800,000. This means it has grown by 702,000 in 184 years. We ent tekking in dem who dead or leff de country.

ANALYSIS OF POPULATION.

According to the Census of 5th October 1841 the whole population
of British Guiana consists of

Creoles, born in British Guiana         65,252
Creoles, immigrant from West Indies   9,899
Africans          15,796
Portuguese from Madeira          2,219
English, Irish and Scotch          2,162
French, Dutch and German          445
Coolies (Asiatic)          343
North Americans          159
Native Country not mentioned          1,320

Total          97,595

Up to 15th October 1841, the following immigrants were yet
landed :
From the West India Islands          2,285
From Madeira          3,066
From Africa          713
Total          6,064
From January 1842 up to January 1843 :
From Madeira          1,663
From the West India Islands          966
From Africa          2,218
Total,          4,847

Including the total number of immigrants from the years 1835 to
1843, it will be seen that in this interval there landed in Guiana :
Portuguese from Madeira          10,458
Inhabitants of the West Indian Islands          6,566
Freed Slaves and Emigrants from Africa          4,610
Coolies from Asia          560
Germans and Maltese          400
Native country not mentioned, who came
partly from over the West Indies Islands,
and from captured slave ships, and took
work          8,397
Total          30,981

Consequently on the 1st January 1843 the total population of British
Guiana, exclusive of aboriginal Indians, amounted to 120,000 souls,
of which 23,000 alone fall to the share of Georgetown, the capital.

Some info on census 1841

KICHARD SCHOMBUEGK'S
TRAVELS IN BRITISH GUIANA
1840-1844.

Good morning.

django_smart

Django gets first prize.

Mars gets second prize.

Riya gets third prize.

Congrats!!

You smarten up ,soon i saw the pic i know the answer,

in a group of kids we used to crushed the dry leaves roll

in to cigaretes to smoke,we even used papaya leaves and

black sage leaves,boy we were trying to play bigman.

no wonder you is a crack head

Sorry I'm late, guys.

The Chronicle newspaper is printed at Lama Avenue, Bel Air Park, Georgetown. Where was the Chronicle newspaper printed before?

Vlissengen Road

Nah bai.

Bhai how many location that printery change,i got the

answer from this quiz.

April 8, 2015 10:32 AM

Our quiz today:

On Vlissengen Road in Georgetown there are three gas stations side by side. Behind those gas stations there is the Demerara Tobacco Company [DEMTOCO] and after that, the Chronicle newspaper compound.

Now, ignore the gas stations. What had existed on the land now occupied by DEMTOCO and Chronicle, and what major historical event took place there?