PRINCE RANDIAN TRIVIA

I just discovered that Prince Randian spoke Hindi, English, French and German. He could also shave, paint, and roll and light his own cigarettes.

Randian.1906.jpg

How was this done? I wanna know how dat man roll a spliff.

Now with that man, that's the real Trivia Pursuit 

PRINCE RANDIAN TRIVIA

I just discovered that Prince Randian spoke Hindi, English, French and German. He could also shave, paint, and roll and light his own cigarettes.

Randian.1906.jpg

How was this done? I wanna know how dat man roll a spliff.

Now with that man, that's the real Trivia Pursuit 

There's a lot of things I'm wondering how this man did, rolling a spiff wasn't one  

Originally Posted by Django:

Don't depend on Wikipedia for this answer.

Wikipedia is a great resource. I use it daily and contribute financially to its upkeep.

However, Wikipedia is not accurate always. For instance, it says that Janet Jagan died in Belem, Brazil.

The Wikipedia page for Fort Zeelandia is not fully accurate.

Try again.

Don't depend on Wikipedia for this answer.

Wikipedia is a great resource. I use it daily and contribute financially to its upkeep.

However, Wikipedia is not accurate always. For instance, it says that Janet Jagan died in Belem, Brazil.

The Wikipedia page for Fort Zeelandia is not fully accurate.

Try again.

i will find it providing some one get the answer before,

got some work to do.

Ok my friend it was built in

Now you're right.

1720 was the year the first Fort Zeelandia was built on Flag Island, later renamed Fort Island. When Laurens Storm van Gravesande arrived on the island in 1738 he discovered serious architectural flaws in that fort and he decided to build a better one. Well, it's there up to today, thanks to Gravesande's good thinking.

Congrats!

Originally Posted by Anjali:

I knew there was a reason why I liked Gravesande's name

Gravesande died in 1775. When I worked as a journalist in Guyana, one of my pet projects was to research and write about historical figures. In some cases, I visited their graves and estates/properties because I'm an amateur historian, not content with books and docs only. I learned that Gravesande was buried somewhere in Soesdyke but when I travelled there no one knew the spot. It was not a wasted trip, though, because I met an old man named Benjamin Meertens who told me his great, great, great grandfather was Antony Meertens, the last Dutch governor of Demerara-Essequibo, and he showed me documentary proof. So, I wrote about him!

Here's a drawing of young Laurens Storm van Gravesande. Print it and keep if you really like him.

http://s2.stabroeknews.com/images/2009/06/20090630lauren.jpg

I knew there was a reason why I liked Gravesande's name

Gravesande died in 1775. When I worked as a journalist in Guyana, one of my pet projects was to research and write about historical figures. In some cases, I visited their graves and estates/properties because I'm an amateur historian, not content with books and docs only. I learned that Gravesande was buried somewhere in Soesdyke but when I travelled there no one knew the spot. It was not a wasted trip, though, because I met an old man named Benjamin Meertens who told me his great, great, great grandfather was Antony Meertens, the last Dutch governor of Demerara-Essequibo, and he showed me documentary proof. So, I wrote about him!

Here's a drawing of young Laurens Storm van Gravesande. Print it and keep if you really like him.

http://s2.stabroeknews.com/images/2009/06/20090630lauren.jpg

Awww thank you Sir Gil, will do so.

Originally Posted by Miraver:

Miraver upload picture using Add Attachment,follow promps

hope this helps.

Many thanks! Okay, help me find the posting of the other Pegasus photo.

Miraver, I took the other photo of the Key West Pegasus. It was in October 2011. Looks like they had a paint job after I took mine.

Originally Posted by Observer:

Gil, I had a Berbician high school classmate named Lauren Gravesande.  I guess he's a descendant.  

Maybe, maybe not.

You know, I'm sure, that the 18th century in Guyana was a time of slavery, and that Europeans like Laurens Storm van Gravesande were slave owners who gave their surnames to their slaves. Hence, a fair number of Gravesandes around today.

Good morning, ladies and gentlemen. Sorry I'm late.

April is ending this week, meaning it's tax deadline in Canada and Guyana. I hope you declared your incomes truthfully. I did, even mentioning my pay for running this brain-tickler scam. In the line "Other Income" I wrote "GNI Social revenue --- $0.00."

Anyway, let's get cracking.

Who was the first black Christian missionary in Berbice?

April is ending this week, meaning it's tax deadline in Canada and Guyana. I hope you declared your incomes truthfully. I did, even mentioning my pay for running this brain-tickler scam. In the line "Other Income" I wrote "GNI Social revenue --- $0.00."

Seems like every one is late

Toby (named changed to Thomas Lewis)

Seems like every one is late

Toby (named changed to Thomas Lewis)

Bai, yuh really sharp.

Yes, Toby was a slave from Senegambia [today's Senegal and Gambia] in plantation Hanover, Berbice. Born a Muslim, he was converted to Christianity, given his freedom, sent to study at the London Missionary Society, and returned in 1836 to serve Christians in Berbice as a cathechist-teacher, ie, a missionary. His Christianized name was Thomas Lewis.

Congrats!!

http://www.guyana.org/features...story/chapter28.html

Not a few of them, perhaps, felt that the Africans were incapable of religious sentiment. But the Africans held religious beliefs derived from their homeland. It may be useful to note that some of the slaves, particularly these who came from the Fula-speaking area of Senegambia, were Muslims.

Toby, a young Hausa-speaking Muslim slave in Hanover, Berbice, debated religious questions with the Rev. John Wray, the Congregational missionary in Berbice in the early nineteenth century.

Interestingly, Wray's successor in Berbice, Rev. Howe, was very impressed with Toby's intelligence and his desire to acquire knowledge, that after converting him to Christianity, he arranged for the young man to go to England for further training by the London Missionary Society. He was granted his freedom and his name was changed to Thomas Lewis. In 1836, he returned to Berbice as a catechist-teacher

1720 an expedition from Britain mined for gold in Berbice.

1740 the Dutch West India Company mined for gold in the Cuyuni area.

I am gone...to eat my roti and curry

You came pretty close but yet so far.

Follow me now: The Dutch West India Company was the official owner of Essequibo. The Company had shareholders and directors based in Holland. Those directors wanted to establish a mining industry in Essequibo, so in 1740 the Company sent out a mining engineer named Hildebrandt who began geological surveys in the Mazaruni district.

Then, two years later HILDEBRANDT opened a COPPER mine in the CUYUNI district. The operation could not yield commercial quantities of copper and was abandoned, having gone into history as the first foreign mining operation in Guyana.

HILDEBRANDT was the foreigner.

COPPER was the mineral.

CUYUNI was the place.

1720 an expedition from Britain mined for gold in Berbice.

1740 the Dutch West India Company mined for gold in the Cuyuni area.

I am gone...to eat my roti and curry

You came pretty close but yet so far.

Follow me now: The Dutch West India Company was the official owner of Essequibo. The Company had shareholders and directors based in Holland. Those directors wanted to establish a mining industry in Essequibo, so in 1740 the Company sent out a mining engineer named Hildebrandt who began geological surveys in the Mazaruni district.

Then, two years later HILDEBRANDT opened a COPPER mine in the CUYUNI district. The operation could not yield commercial quantities of copper and was abandoned, having gone into history as the first foreign mining operation in Guyana.

HILDEBRANDT was the foreigner.

COPPER was the mineral.

CUYUNI was the place.

ok Sir Gil thanks for that, i got some right so I'm happy after all the research that was done. I actually saw Hildebrandt name in the article i read but he was with the DWIC so i put the company name down, will learn from this.