There was also the unveiling of three portraitsβ€”Clarence Trotz, Stanley Richard Reginald Allsopp and Doodnauth Hetramβ€”all of them former Principal of the school. Dr Allsopp was the first Guyanese to serve as principal of the school. He was followed by Hetram.
The reunion continues today with a Day Trip to the Skeldon Factory, and a Tuck Shop Lime on the lawns of the QC compound.
Tomorrow there is a scheduled tour of the Diamond Estate, swimming, a buffet lunch and karaoke and games.

courtesy of Stabroek News.

last part of the article.

The Guiana Scholarship was established in 1881 and was offered annually. It originally provided for three of the brightest students under 20 years old to study 3-5 years for free at a university or college in the UK, Europe, USA or Canada, with free return passage too. In 1894 the first black student won the Guiana Scholarship. From 1908 onward the scholarship was awarded to only one eligible student in the entire colony.

Name the first East Indian who won that scholarship and the year he won it.

Originally Posted by Anjali:

There was also the unveiling of three portraitsβ€”Clarence Trotz, Stanley Richard Reginald Allsopp and Doodnauth Hetramβ€”all of them former Principal of the school. Dr Allsopp was the first Guyanese to serve as principal of the school. He was followed by Hetram.
The reunion continues today with a Day Trip to the Skeldon Factory, and a Tuck Shop Lime on the lawns of the QC compound.
Tomorrow there is a scheduled tour of the Diamond Estate, swimming, a buffet lunch and karaoke and games.

Stabroek News got it wrong. More than one source named Doodnauth Hetram.

For example, The Queen's College of Guyana Alumni Association [Toronto] newsletter The Scribbler says: "Mr. Doodnauth Hetram, M.A., B.C.L.,
L.L.B.,Dip.Ed., the first Guyanese ever to be appointed
Principal of Queen’s College (1963-1969)."

The Guiana Scholarship was established in 1881 and was offered annually. It originally provided for three of the brightest students under 20 years old to study 3-5 years for free at a university or college in the UK, Europe, USA or Canada, with free return passage too. In 1894 the first black student won the Guiana Scholarship. From 1908 onward the scholarship was awarded to only one eligible student in the entire colony.

S. Jaikarran in 1923

For example, The Queen's College of Guyana Alumni Association [Toronto] newsletter The Scribbler says: "Mr. Doodnauth Hetram, M.A., B.C.L.,

ok agreed that sn got it wrong, on worries

Samuel Jaikarran

ok agreed that sn got it wrong, on worries

The immediate QC Principal before Doodnauth Hetram was V.J.Sanger-Davies.

S. Jaikarran in 1923

No. Try again.

Originally Posted by Riya:

Samuel Jaikarran

Try again too.

S. Jaikarran in 1923

No. Try again.

ok N.E. Cameron 1921

* GNI's antabanta aka Bhai Balgobin Persaud(1916).

* Damn! anta old.

Rev, I owe you an apology. The page on my PC changed and I just saw your answer.

Yes, you are correct.

Balgobin Persaud of Golden Grove, ECD, won the Guiana Scholarship in 1916 and pursued his studies in the University of Cambridge.

Congrats, bright boy!!

S. Jaikarran in 1923

No. Try again.

ok N.E. Cameron 1921

We already have a winner and he is the Devil himself.

ATTENTION RIYA

QUIT YOUR SEARCH STOP WINNER STOP REV STOP

Thanks for the telegraph (that was a telegraph, right?)

I was getting carried way reading about the Jaikarran family and other brilliant Indians.

TELEGRAM STOP NOT TELEGRAPH STOP DON'T LAUGH STOP

I knew it didn't sound right in my head. see? No laughing, just smile

In Guyana Wilds by J. Rodway

Oh no. That's a wild guess. Another try.

okay "Lutchmee and Dilloo" by J. E. Jenkins

* Congrats! You nailed it. I was waiting for one of gilbakka's smart students to give the correct answer.

* By the way, it was Edward Jenkins---Sir Gilbakka may penalize you.

* Congrats! You nailed it. I was waiting for one of gilbakka's smart students to give the correct answer.

* By the way, it was Edward Jenkins---Sir Gilbakka may penalize you.

will wait for Sir Gil but darn I just saw I what I did with his name., I hope he is merciful with me

Only the Lord can have mercy on you.

I can either pass or fail you.

Yuh pass.

Yes, in 1877 Edward Jenkin's book Lutchmee and Dilloo was first published.

[You should read it. Coolie cutlass and murderation ova homan in de suga estate. Luv nah sweet deh.] Kindle edition available at Amazon.com. Cheap.

Congrats!! Persistence pays well!

Only the Lord can have mercy on you.

I can either pass or fail you.

Yuh pass.

Yes, in 1877 Edward Jenkin's book Lutchmee and Dilloo was first published.

[You should read it. Coolie cutlass and murderation ova homan in de suga estate. Luv nah sweet deh.] Kindle edition available at Amazon.com. Cheap.

Congrats!! Persistence pays well!

Thank you Sir Gil for passing me  I will read that book one day, that was my last answer btw..wiping my brow  

One more for today.

In the 1940s a Guyanese wrote and staged a play set in India on the themes of nationalism and the conflict between Indian and Western values. What's the name of that Guyanese and what's the name of the play?

Asra by Basil Balgobin

That was easy, eh!

Yes, Basil Balgobin wrote Asra in 1944 and the British Guiana Dramatic Society staged it in 1945.

Congrats!!

You deserve a restful weekend. We resume Monday.

One more for today.

In the 1940s a Guyanese wrote and staged a play set in India on the themes of nationalism and the conflict between Indian and Western values. What's the name of that Guyanese and what's the name of the play?

Asra by Basil Balgobin

That was easy, eh!

Yes, Basil Balgobin wrote Asra in 1944 and the British Guiana Dramatic Society staged it in 1945.

Congrats!!

You deserve a restful weekend. We resume Monday.

Thank you Sir Gil, have a restful weekend too and see you on Monday.

Good morning, ladies and gents. I have a feeling this is going to be an exciting week. Think about it: this is the only thread where the past has more excitement than the present.

Let's begin. Before TV sets and The Young and the Restless, Guyanese women tuned in to their radios for their daily soap opera fix. Radio Demerara aired one such drama at 1:00PM weekdays. Name that programme.

* Portia faces life.

* Actually that was at 10AM---you said 1PM.

Look's like you nailed it.

* Portia faces life.

* Actually that was at 10AM---you said 1PM.

Banna, you must thank the Lord your mom is alive. I suspect you consulted her.

Yes, Portia Faces Life was an American radio serial that started in 1940 and ran in the States until 1970. Radio Demerara ran it too.

Congrats!!

Tides of Susanburg by Francis Q. Farrier

Correct. Francis Quamina Farrier, a real nice gentleman who worked with me at Broadcasting House, was asked by Radio Demerara's General Manager Rafiq Khan in the early 1960s to write a local radio play. Farrier finished the project in late 1965 and it was produced on air in 1966.

Congrats!!

Tides of Susanburg by Francis Q. Farrier

Correct. Francis Quamina Farrier, a real nice gentleman who worked with me at Broadcasting House, was asked by Radio Demerara's General Manager Rafiq Khan in the early 1960s to write a local radio play. Farrier finished the project in late 1965 and it was produced on air in 1966.

Congrats!!

Thank you Sir Gil

now I have "Tides of Susanburg" on my brain  

Gilbakka, how good is your memory of Radio Demerara?

There was a DJ at Radio Dem who started his program with these words (or something very similar) "Whether the weather is hot or whether the weather is not, we'll weather the weather, whatever the weather, whether you like it or not".

Name that DJ. Quiz expires today at 3.00 pm and is open to everyone.

Originally Posted by Mars:

There was a DJ at Radio Dem who started his program with these words (or something very similar) "Whether the weather is hot or whether the weather is not, we'll weather the weather, whatever the weather, whether you like it or not".

Name that DJ. Quiz expires today at 3.00 pm and is open to everyone.

* Matthew Allen or Ron Robinson. I'll have to toss a coin.

* Matthew Allen.

Sangeet mahal? Was this Ishri Singh's program? He had a strong and resonant voice. Those were wonderful and vibrant wedding songs. I used to enjoy them while the weddings were taking place all around me, admiring the cricketers in their white uniforms in the ball field next door, and ironing my siblings' school clothes. 

Namaste, Bhai aur Babhi

[Translation for Mars & Cain: Hello, brother and sister]

Today is Arrival Day aka Indian Immigration Day in Guyana, so our theme is Indian.

Up to the late 1970s-early '80s, on Sundays after lunch, Radio Demerara hosted a live 30-minute show featuring Bollywood songs. Name that programme.

Aap Ki Khushi

Originally Posted by Observer:

Sangeet mahal? Was this Ishri Singh's program? He had a strong and resonant voice. Those were wonderful and vibrant wedding songs. I used to enjoy them while the weddings were taking place all around me, admiring the cricketers in their white uniforms in the ball field next door, and ironing my siblings' school clothes. 

Sorry, I'm not accepting answers in the from of questions. Gilbakka is not Alex Trebek.

Namaste, Bhai aur Babhi

[Translation for Mars & Cain: Hello, brother and sister]

Today is Arrival Day aka Indian Immigration Day in Guyana, so our theme is Indian.

Up to the late 1970s-early '80s, on Sundays after lunch, Radio Demerara hosted a live 30-minute show featuring Bollywood songs. Name that programme.

Aap Ki Khushi

Wrong. Ditto for your other answers.

* Lemme see if my Guyana connection is right again.

* The program was Indian Melody Time.

Wrong. What does a DIRTY INDIAN know about music?

PAGING GILBAKKA:

* The Rev wishes to challenge your answer to the Sunday radio programme.

* I took a look at the Radio Demerara sunday schedule in the 1970s and 80s---see link(History of Radio in British Guiana):

http://r.search.yahoo.com/_ylt...EpcROTwTvXPTl3n1Jn0U-

* These were the Indian programmes on schedule:

1:30 Indian Melody Time

2.00 East Meets West in Music

2:30 Local Indian performers

3.30 Aap Ki Kushi

* I know your question said "live 30-minute show featuring Bollwood songs."

* Local Indian performer did feature local artiste performing Bollywood songs---but that show was not live----it was taped.

BOTTOM LINE:

* The first show after lunch on Sundays feating Bollwood songs was Indian Melody Time.

* I think you pulled a fast one on the Rev gilly. That's OK! I know you are not a fan of my politics---so you penalized my answer.hahaha

PAGING GILBAKKA:

* The Rev wishes to challenge your answer to the Sunday radio programme.

* I took a look at the Radio Demerara sunday schedule in the 1970s and 80s---see link(History of Radio in British Guiana):

http://r.search.yahoo.com/_ylt...EpcROTwTvXPTl3n1Jn0U-

* These were the Indian programmes on schedule:

1:30 Indian Melody Time

2.00 East Meets West in Music

2:30 Local Indian performers

3.30 Aap Ki Kushi

* I know your question said "live 30-minute show featuring Bollwood songs."

* Local Indian performer did feature local artiste performing Bollywood songs---but that show was not live----it was taped.

BOTTOM LINE:

* The first show after lunch on Sundays feating Bollwood songs was Indian Melody Time.

* I think you pulled a fast one on the Rev gilly. That's OK! I know you are not a fan of my politics---so you penalized my answer.hahaha

Rev, I want to assure you that I Gilbakka personally attended three [3] live LOCAL INDIAN PERFORMERS shows in 1976 that were hosted by Pradeep Kumar. Gilbakka didn't sing. He just accompanied his girlfriend whose friends performed on the shows.

You're right about the time, 2:3O for one hour.

Rev, I want to assure you that I Gilbakka personally attended three [3] live LOCAL INDIAN PERFORMERS shows in 1976 that were hosted by Pradeep Kumar. Gilbakka didn't sing. He just accompanied his girlfriend whose friends performed on the shows.

You're right about the time, 2:3O for one hour.

Gilbakka:

* Your question therefore was misleading.

* It said "live 30 minute show" after lunch---Indian Melody Time was a 30 minute show(1.30-2.00); Local Indian performer was NOT a 30 minute show.

* Oh well! The Rev just pulling your strings. Keep posting questions. This is a remarkable thread. I've learned a lot.