Originally Posted by Anjali:

On Saturday afternoons, 6PM I think, there was also a 30-minute programme featuring local Indian singers. Name that programme.

Indian Talent on Parade

No.

One clue: mostly middle-aged men and women sang on that show.

Ok Geet Nirala.

Exactly. You had some old folks belting out long forgotten tunes on Geet Nirala. I remember two performers:

[1] a woman named Pita Peyaree.

[2] a black man named Kalamadeen Harper, who I was told was related to the Harper cricketers.

Congrats!!

On Saturday afternoons, 6PM I think, there was also a 30-minute programme featuring local Indian singers. Name that programme.

Indian Talent on Parade

No.

One clue: mostly middle-aged men and women sang on that show.

Ok Geet Nirala.

Exactly. You had some old folks belting out long forgotten tunes on Geet Nirala. I remember two performers:

[1] a woman named Pita Peyaree.

[2] a black man named Kalamadeen Harper, who I was told was related to the Harper cricketers.

Congrats!!

Thank you Sir Gil

on a side note I knew it was not "Tides of Susanburg"  still on my brain.

Originally Posted by Observer:

I guess the Ishri program was called Indian Melody Time.

* Sir Gilbakka may have the answer. But wasn't it Ayube Hamid who did Indian Melody Time ?

* Eshri I believe did Aap Ki Kushi.

Rev & Observer, INDIAN MELODY TIME featured vinyl records playing Hindustani songs.

Ayube Hamid presented INDIAN MEMORY ALBUM on Monday nights, 8:30PM if I remember well. After that was Death Announcement which some families tuned in to with great expectations.

Which radio show had these words at the start of the weekly program,the name of the show was in these words?

"....Cunningly they tried...brilliantly they commit their crimes then they're trapped by, TADAAAAAAA   The Mi...... .... ....

Wah happen, is only me listen to dis here show.

It was a crime show called..The mistakes they made.

I guess the Ishri program was called Indian Melody Time.

* Sir Gilbakka may have the answer. But wasn't it Ayube Hamid who did Indian Melody Time ?

* Eshri I believe did Aap Ki Kushi.

Rev & Observer, INDIAN MELODY TIME featured vinyl records playing Hindustani songs.

Ayube Hamid presented INDIAN MEMORY ALBUM on Monday nights, 8:30PM if I remember well. After that was Death Announcement which some families tuned in to with great expectations.

So true! When visiting my grandparents we get shushed from time the death annoucement music starts

It was a creepy music

Good morning.

Let the brain teasers begin!

A school in Berbice was named after our mystery gentleman.

Our man spent a little time in South America but never set foot in Guyana.

Tomorrow will mark the gentleman's 154th birthday.

Name that man and the Berbice school.

* The man was Rabindranath Tagore, born May 7th 1861 and the high school was Tagore Memorial Secondary school.

Good morning.

* The man was Rabindranath Tagore, born May 7th 1861 and the high school was Tagore Memorial Secondary school.

Calling Django. Come back to the class and sit next to Rev.

You have the correct answer, Rev.

Rabindranath Tagore visited Peru and Argentina in 1924 and didn't booncse on Berbice, but dem Berbicians named a high school after him.

Congrats!!

Originally Posted by Django:

Calling all Berbicians need a school name,

i am from Demerara so i opt out,i have no

answer.

Speak de God's truth. You is anti-Berbice.

Was he a GT choke and rob man?  Sorry Django. Did you know Warria then? 

Na bhai i am from the beautiful village of Hague WCD.

Good morning.

Calling Django. Come back to the class and sit next to Rev.

You have the correct answer, Rev.

Rabindranath Tagore visited Peru and Argentina in 1924 and didn't booncse on Berbice, but dem Berbicians named a high school after him.

Congrats!!

Damn i could have gotten that,where was my thinking cap

this morning.

Next one.

How high above sea level is the source of the Essequibo river?

Acarai mountains.

Boy, put on your thinking cap and don't give me stupid answers.

How high means how high. Measure the height.

De man nah gat wan tape dah lang dats why he gave you dis ansa.

Gil, lately I've been thinking a lot about India, maybe my ancestors are calling.    When Indira Gandhi visited Guyana in 1968, were you around, and can you give us a brief synopsis of her visit? Did her dad Pt. Nehru ever visit Guyana? Thanks.

When Indira Gandhi visited Guyana I was 17 years old, busy studying for GCE 'O' Level exams. I didn't pay much attention. Jawaharlal Nehru never visited Guyana but there is a Nehru bust at the Non-Aligned Monument in GT near St. George's Cathedral.

Acarai mountains 2500 ft

my second answer.

Stop guessing. The answer is out there. Find it.

3,310 ft

too much variables from sources.

Still not correct. Let me explain. The Akarai Mountains are a range of mountains of varying heights. The source of the Essequibo is located on one of the range, not on all of them.

variables from sources.

Still not correct. Let me explain. The Akarai Mountains are a range of mountains of varying heights. The source of the Essequibo is located on one of the range, not on all of them.

* That's the key to finding the right answer.

* Lemme help out Django---that boy has been spending too much time over in Political---supporting the eventual loser on May 11th.

* The Kamoa mountains is the souce of the Essequibo river. Now go and research how high above sea level Kamoa is.

* Hint: What is the cube root of 173741112 meters ?

variables from sources.

* Lemme help out Django---that boy has been spending too much time over in Political---supporting the eventual loser on May 11th.

* The Kamoa mountains is the souce of the Essequibo river. Now go and research how high above sea level Kamoa is.

Leh we mek it a lil mo hard. I want the answer in feet.

variables from sources.

558 meters =1830.7 ft

i am done. using some electronic engineering maths.

Next one.

How high above sea level is the source of the Essequibo river?

My printed source [book] says: "The Essequibo, the largest and longest of the rivers in the colony, rises in the Akarai mountains in 0Β° 41' north latitude at an elevation of about 850 feet above sea level..."

Naturally, I cannot tell you the title of the book because most of my geographical teasers originate from its pages. It's available online for free download.

850 ft

I gave the answer already.

But I want those dullards to know that if Anjali can get the answer, why can't you?

Class dismissed for today.

You're still a winner, Anjali.

I read the informaton on google and posted and then saw your answer, so I deleted it but thanks Sir Gil

850 ft

But I want those dullards to know that if Anjali can get the answer, why can't you?

I read the informaton on google and posted and then saw your answer, so I deleted it but thanks Sir Gil

It is probable that no important river had one name alone throughout its course, ..... The Essequibo rises in the Acarai Mts., in o° 41' N. and about 850 ft. above the ... tributary of the Essequibo is the Potaro, on which, at 1130 ft. above sea-level ...

this was where I read it, did not open it though to read anything inside

Originally Posted by Riya:

850 ft

Teacha rough on we

Y'all mustn't tek teacha seriously. This is supposed to be a fun thread.

Small days is still on me mind...playing teacha.

850 ft

Teacha rough on we

I know but I am sure that you guys will do really well today .

850 ft

Teacha rough on we

Y'all mustn't tek teacha seriously. This is supposed to be a fun thread.

Small days is still on me mind...playing teacha.

ok Riya our Sir has spoken

Next.

What was the cost of a donkey cart licence in Guyana 106 years ago?

Django gets first prize --- Title of DonkeyMan.

Anjali gets second prize --- No Title.

Congrats Django I uh amm ok won't say anymore on the title  but boy am I ever glad I came second  Thanks Sir Gil, that was real funny

Next.

What was the cost of a donkey cart licence in Guyana 106 years ago?

Django gets first prize --- Title of DonkeyMan.

Anjali gets second prize --- No Title.

Congrats Django I uh amm ok won't say anymore on the title  but boy am I ever glad I came second  Thanks Sir Gil, that was real funny

I give it a pass,will deal with him planning to take

a trip to Canada. we know each other.

Donkey/horse cart trivia:

Licences for carts drawn by donkeys and horses represent tax revenue to government. The British colonial government had introduced it in British Guiana to get funds for road repairs. In fact, the idea of taxing animal-driven carts was born in Britain.

At the end of the 18th century, Britain was at war with the French, Dutch, Spaniards, Americans, everybaddy. Wars cost money. You gotta feed and clothe soldiers, make or buy weapons and ammunition and ships and other transports, etc. Wheh de money go come from?

The British Prime Minister at that time, William Pitt, was a smart man like Rev and Django. In 1794 he introduced a tax on carriage horses. First time ever. Encouraged by the result, the following year Pitt started to levy a tax on open carts drawn by one horse. It worked, and the tax remained during peace time and was extended to the British colonies in the form of licences.

So, next time you see a draycart or donkey cart in Guyana, look at it closely. There is a number painted on it, representing the licence number. If a policeman sees a cart without a number, he will haul cart and cartman and poor donkey to de station and charge dem.

And if you're nearby and hear the cartman cussing Ramotar, just whisper to his ear: "Is nat Danald. Is William Pitt."

Good morning.

What was the cost of a licence to operate a cook shop in New Amsterdam 110 years ago?

$1.00

Correct. Next time you visit a cook shop in New Amsterdam, collect a free gilbakka curry and rice with my compliments.

Congrats!!

congrats Django enjoy the curry

Today is Friday. It's also May month.

Sixty-eight years ago, one day in May, fire destroyed a Georgetown landmark building? What was it and where was it located?

The Savoy Hotel fire on Regent Street

Eureka! YOU got it!

The Savoy Hotel stood on the north western corner of Regent & High Streets/Avenue of the Republic. The fire started around 9 PM, a busy hotel time on a Friday night. Imagine the scene.

Congrats!!

Class dismissed for the week.

Today is Friday. It's also May month.

Sixty-eight years ago, one day in May, fire destroyed a Georgetown landmark building? What was it and where was it located?

The Savoy Hotel fire on Regent Street

Eureka! YOU got it!

The Savoy Hotel stood on the north western corner of Regent & High Streets/Avenue of the Republic. The fire started around 9 PM, a busy hotel time on a Friday night. Imagine the scene.

Congrats!!

Class dismissed for the week.

Thank you Sir Gil .

Good morning!!

Today is a special day. You will get a half holiday after answering one quiz.

Let's go.

Our mystery man lived in a humble Georgetown cottage. His work among the working poor was known around the world and one of Stalin's men invited him to Russia. When he returned to Guyana the newspapers called him a "communist" and a "bolshevik."

However, he was given a medal of the Order of the British Empire [OBE].

Who was he?

Good morning!!

Let's go.

Our mystery man lived in a humble Georgetown cottage. His work among the working poor was known around the world and one of Stalin's men invited him to Russia. When he returned to Guyana the newspapers called him a "communist" and a "bolshevik."

Who was he?

Good morning

H. N. Critchlow

Good morning!!

Let's go.

Who was he?

Good morning

H. N. Critchlow

Correct!

Hubert Nathaniel Critchlow founded the first trade union in the English-speaking Caribbean, the British Guiana Labour Union.

He was mainly responsible for the 8-hour workday in Guyana and he campaigned steadily many years for May 1 to be declared a national holiday. On May 1, 1958 his dream came through but he died a few days later.

The then Premier Cheddi Jagan idolized Critchlow and built a monument for him in 1964 in the Public Buildings compound.

http://www.guyaneseroots.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/hnc2.jpg

Congratulations!!

Class dismissed.