Next one.

Three varieties of guava in Guyana are: pear-shaped guava, cherry guava, and strawberry guava. Name the country from which Guyana got its first strawberry guava plants.

* Lemme guess! Since Strawberry guava is native to neighboring Brazil---then a good guess would be Brazil is the country Guyana got its first strawberry guava plant from.

Good morning, Professor. Thanks for your visit.

Yes, sir, in the Rupununi there are strawberry guava trees that originated in Brazil.

You are a great guava guesser, guest.

Congrats, and feel free to come again.

Congrats Rev

Good morning, Professor. Thanks for your visit.

Yes, sir, in the Rupununi there are strawberry guava trees that originated in Brazil.

You are a great guava guesser, guest.

Congrats, and feel free to come again.

Mr. Gilbakka:

* Thanks for the kind and glowing compliments Sir.

* As you are fully aware the Rev has a notorious reputation for being dead wrong in his prognostications over in Political, so it is, indeed, refreshing and rejuvenating to be right wagering a guess over here in social in this challenging and captivating thread.

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/re...eo-vs-puppet-ramotar

Originally Posted by Anjali:

Next one.

Name the first Indo-Guyanese novelist and the title of his first novel.

David Dabydeen and Slave Song

You are miles from the right answer. Try again.

E. A. Mittelholzer  and Creole Chips

E. A. M. was not Indo-Guyanese. Try again.

Next one.

* Was it Joseph Ruhoman ?

* I'll have to get a copy of his book "INDIA: The progress of her people at home and abroad" ---published in 1894---is it still in print ? Will check.

Next one.

* Was it Joseph Ruhoman ?

* I'll have to get a copy of his book "INDIA: The progress of her people at home and abroad" ---published in 1894---is it still in print ? Will check.

Joseph Ruhoman was not a novelist. Try again.

Originally Posted by Riya:

Next one.

James Kempadoo

Guiana Boy

It's Peter Kempadoo aka Lauchmonen. He was the son of James.

"Guiana Boy" was first published in 1960, making Kempadoo the first Indo-Guyanese novelist.

Congratulations.

I met Peter Kempadoo and his wife Rosemary in the 1970s.

One little known trivia: Rosemary Kempadoo and Michael X's Guyanese wife were friends. I often saw them with their kids enjoying ice cream at IDIHO in Brickdam.

Allooo!!! Marning!! How allyuh do?

Today we're visiting Region 1. In what year was that area officially named North-West District?

Good morning  I am doing fine, thank you.

I shall accept that. My book says 1890.

I have read and studied enough to conclude that no two historians are alike.

Congratulations!!

Allooo!!! Marning!! How allyuh do?

Today we're visiting Region 1. In what year was that area officially named North-West District?

Good morning  I am doing fine, thank you.

I shall accept that. My book says 1890.

I have read and studied enough to conclude that no two historians are alike.

Congratulations!!

Awww thank you Sir Gil

Now let us run through the bush in a south-westerly direction and stop at the base of Mount Roraima. Who was the first Englishman to reach the top of Roraima and what was the profession of the man who accompanied him?

Sir Everard Ferdinand im Thurn and Harry Perkins (an assistant Crown Surveyor)

How yuh could answer so? Wheh dem other chirren? Dem skulking?

Correct answers.

Congrats again!!

Tell dem absentees and late comers class dismissed for today.

Now let us run through the bush in a south-westerly direction and stop at the base of Mount Roraima. Who was the first Englishman to reach the top of Roraima and what was the profession of the man who accompanied him?

Sir Everard Ferdinand im Thurn and Harry Perkins (an assistant Crown Surveyor)

How yuh could answer so? Wheh dem other chirren? Dem skulking?

Correct answers.

Congrats again!!

Tell dem absentees and late comers class dismissed for today.

Thank you Sir Gil . Ok late comers 'chirren', class's over for today.

Good morning, ladies and gentlemen.

A street in Guyana's capital and a city in South Africa are named after our mystery man. Who is he and where are his bones?

Durban and his bones in Quebec

First prize for you.

Second prize plus a mystery gift for Riya because she gave the man's full name with the apostrophe in the surname.

Congrats to you both.

D'Urban Street trivia: As a Central High School pupil during the 1962-64 racial disturbance, a marauding gang beat me up on D'Urban Street after school and patkay me and my schoolbag in the concrete gutter where eels lived. My parents quickly transferred me to Zeeburg Secondary.

There is also a Waterloo Street in both Georgetown and in South Africa----Waterloo street was named after Admiral Wellington---his bones are in the UK.

Strictly speaking, Waterloo Street was named after the Battle of Waterloo which Wellington won for Britain.

Wellington Street was named for Wellington.

Wellington Street changes its name to Waterloo at the intersection of Church Street where the Battle of Waterloo was replayed repeatedly at Globe and Astor.

Strictly speaking, Waterloo Street was named after the Battle of Waterloo which Wellington won for Britain.

Wellington Street changes its name to Waterloo at the intersection of Church Street where the Battle of Waterloo was replayed repeatedly at Globe and Astor.

* As a young teenager I saw quite a few flicks at Globe and Astor.

* Anyway I agree with the Durban Street answer the sharp and learned Anjali and Riya provided. But I maintain there is a Waterloo street in both Georgetown and in South Africa.

Yes, but I was looking for bhai D'Urban.

A street in Guyana's capital and a city in South Africa are named after our mystery man. Who is he and where are his bones?

First prize for you.

Second prize plus a mystery gift for Riya because she gave the man's full name with the apostrophe in the surname.

Congrats to you both.

D'Urban Street trivia: As a Central High School pupil during the 1962-64 racial disturbance, a marauding gang beat me up on D'Urban Street after school and patkay me and my schoolbag in the concrete gutter where eels lived. My parents quickly transferred me to Zeeburg Secondary.

What an awful experience!

(even though I smiled at patkay )

First prize for you.

Congrats to you both.

Thank you Sir Gil  I feel very sorry for you.

Our next mystery man: Teacher. Poet. Berbician. He was in the first batch of Teachers' Training College grads. What's his full name?

Jacob Wellien Chinapen

Now, you get first prize plus a friendly hug from Rev.

Riya gets second prize.

Congrats to you both.

NOTE TO EVERYONE: Always read each quiz carefully and pay attention to what exactly is required.

Class dismissed.

Rev..you made them bais take advantage pun you,in the

early 70's i used to walk almost midnight from Plaza

cinema(worked there) to Durban and Smith St,no

problems,usually my pocket radio is my company

once two afro guys shouted give me that radio,i stood

and responded come for it,they never did.I was a

martial arts student and fear no one.

Originally Posted by Django:

Rev..you made them bais take advantage pun you, .

Django Bhai:

* Gilbakka is the one dem bais "patkay" in the 1960s while he was attending Central High school. Rev has never been beaten up in his life. 

Did you ever have a life? You're still in a baby's incubator.

ha ha ha ha

* I am dead serious---I have never been in a fight all my life.

* Arrite! Arrite!! The wife has "fight" me up a couple of times but Rev never fight back. Rev not as foolish as he appears to be in Political yuh know. Always let the woman win "fights"hahahaha

Good morning. I hope Rev isn't riled up against me. I just pelted him with a rock in another thread and ran to the safety of my thread here.

Alright, let's dance.

His mama was a teacher, poet and broadcaster.

His papa was a stage actor.

HE was a classical Indo-Guyanese dancer. Who was he?

Horace Taitt

Our next mystery man: Teacher. Poet. Berbician. He was in the first batch of Teachers' Training College grads. What's his full name?

Jacob Wellien Chinapen

Now, you get first prize plus a friendly hug from Rev.

Riya gets second prize.

Congrats to you both.

NOTE TO EVERYONE: Always read each quiz carefully and pay attention to what exactly is required.

Class dismissed.

Thanks Sir Gil

HE was a classical Indo-Guyanese dancer. Who was he?

* I met both he and his sister---here she is:

* By the way Gilly---no one riles up the Rev---Rev's as cool as they come.

For the benefit of the whole class, please answer the quiz directly with words, unless your pic is intended as a hint to your classmates, in which case I have no problem.

Come again.

Good morning.

Let's begin.

On their first date, David Granger and his future wife Sandra watched a movie in a Georgetown cinema.

Name that cinema and the movie.

Good morning

Django at the Plaza Cinema

not our poster Django

So, you did read yesterday's newspapers.

Correct.

Our friend Django would be pleased with this info.

Congrats!!

Good morning.

Let's begin.

On their first date, David Granger and his future wife Sandra watched a movie in a Georgetown cinema.

Good morning

not our poster Django

Correct.

Congrats!!

Thank you, Sir Gil

I actually smiled when I saw the movie name, I thought of our poster Django

Good morning.

Let's begin.

Good morning

not our poster Django

Correct.

Congrats!!

Thank you, Sir Gil

My nick is based on the movie name,i had a denim jacket with the

name written on the back,in the late 90's i went to visit one of my

class mate in NY who will call me by that name,so when i signed

up on GNI the name was my choice. quite interesting i also

worked at Plaza cinema for a brief period.

Originally Posted by Django:

Good morning.

Let's begin.

Good morning

not our poster Django

Correct.

Congrats!!

Thank you, Sir Gil

My nick is based on the movie name,i had a denim jacket with the

name written on the back,in the late 90's i went to visit one of my

class mate in NY who will call me by that name,so when i signed

up on GNI the name was my choice. quite interesting i also

worked at Plaza cinema for a brief period.

good to know how you got your nick

Next one.

He was a Wakenaam boy who caught bundarie crabs and said "namaste" on the Malali. Who was he?

CLUE: The pen is mightier than the sword.

this is a tough one but will take a guess "paper boy"

No.

I will wait until at least 3 persons say they give up and then I shall give the answer.

Next one.

He was a Wakenaam boy who caught bundarie crabs and said "namaste" on the Malali. Who was he?

No.

I will wait until at least 3 persons say they give up and then I shall give the answer.

ok trying again, does it have anything to do with the author of the book 'Walk good Guyana Boy'?

Next one.

No.

ok trying again, does it have anything to do with the author of the book 'Walk good Guyana Boy'?

No.

Next one.

Ladies and lazyboys, follow me:

Who made the pen mightier than the sword? Writers.

Which writer grew up in Wakenaam?

Which writer wrote Bundarie Boy?

Which writer wrote Namaste?

Which writer wrote The Malali Makers?

Answer: SHEIK SADEEK

Next one.

His parents were from Scotland, he was born in Guyana, attended Queen's College and wrote dozens of novels in his own name plus 15 pen names. Give me his real name and tell me where he is living now.

* Wilson Harris is 94 and resides in the UK I believe.

* Wait a minute---I don't believe Harris' parents were from Scotland.

Next one.

His parents were from Scotland, he was born in Guyana, attended Queen's College and wrote dozens of novels in his own name plus 15 pen names. Give me his real name and tell me where he is living now.

* Wilson Harris is 94 and resides in the UK I believe.

No sir. Get Realistic!

Originally Posted by Riya:

Good morning, sir

370 ft normal

500 ft achievable

I shall accept this. My book says 350 ft normal. 500 ft achievable.

You get first prize.

Anjali gets second prize.

Wish I could have given you 2 tickets to Kaieteur but our sponsors Rev & Django, Partners-in-Crime, are dodging me this morning.

Congrats!!

Thank you!

I would love to visit Kaieteur Falls but I'm deathly terrified of those small planes. I went so far as to Ogle airstrip and chicken out

Next one.

Christopher Robin Nicole and he lives in Guernsey, Channel Islands.

That's absolutely correct. Christopher Nicole has written more than 200 books, mostly novels. He wrote a chess manual from which I learnt to play the game in the mid-1970s. I brought it to Canada. Right now, I'm reading one of his novels, Falls of Death, from which I got that Kaieteur question.

Nicole is 84 years old.

http://img1.fantasticfiction.co.uk/images/1/7078.jpg

Congrats!!

Next one.

Christopher Robin Nicole and he lives in Guernsey, Channel Islands.

That's absolutely correct. Christopher Nicole has written more than 200 books, mostly novels. He wrote a chess manual from which I learnt to play the game in the mid-1970s. I brought it to Canada. Right now, I'm reading one of his novels, Falls of Death, from which I got that Kaieteur question.

Nicole is 84 years old.

http://img1.fantasticfiction.co.uk/images/1/7078.jpg

Congrats!!

Thank you Sir Gil  it is quite amazing to write under so many pen names.

Also thanks Django and Riya

PAGING SIR GILBAKKA

* I believe Miss Anjali and Miss Riya have your book of question and answer These 2 are sharp as a pencil You may have to get a new book of questions.hahaha

* Bhai Django not bad himself But he ain't in the same league as the ladies.

I did asked to see the book one time but it did not happen . I have help sometimes but would not disclose it/them

PAGING SIR GILBAKKA

* I believe Miss Anjali and Miss Riya have your book of question and answer These 2 are sharp as a pencil You may have to get a new book of questions.hahaha

Nah. I use more than one book and I double-check on the Internet. Generally, I set a quiz whose answer is out there. Sometimes, I make it difficult by asking a question that doesn't have an answer online.

I did asked to see the book one time but it did not happen . I have help sometimes but would not disclose it/them

Anjali:

* I noticed Sir put a stumping on all of we yesterday with that Wakenaam Sheik Sadeek quiz. He then referred to the boys as "Lazy boys" for not getting the correct answer--- but he was kind to the ladies.

* Anyway, Sir Gilbakka is a wily old fox---he'll soon make his questions more complicated.