Originally Posted by Anjali:
Originally Posted by Django:

Next one.

Who was the first ever Afro-Guyanese lawmaker?

ok I have 2 names:

Mr. Ashton Chase

Mr. Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham

will be bk later

No.

ok, another name: Mr. Alex Benjamin Brown.

That's right, Honourable Anjali.

In 1896, A. B. Brown became the first black legislator to be elected to the Court of Policy, as the National Assembly was then called. A. B. Brown had introduced bills on the improvement of the colony's education system. He served until 1921 and died in 1939. 

Congrats!!

TRIVIA: In Guyana's National Archives you will find a newspaper article on A. B. Brown, written by yours truly Gilbakka.

Look's like National Archives need to be on

the internet,i searched google and can't find

any info.

Ok Django, will tell you how I figured out what I need to look for:

Lawmakers make law.

Laws are made in parliament/national assembly.

So therefore I need to find the first afro Guyanese parliamentarian/mp:

parliamentary tradition and ...

•  

Mar 13, 2009 - Frank Alston Narain was associated with Guyana's Parliament from 1851 ... J's? The first Afro-Guyanese M.P. was Alex Benjamin Brown (1891) .

Lovely parliamentary trivia …
Expectedly, humour, levity, even the strange and the ridiculous happened during Mr Narain’s half-century serving the Parliaments.
For example, Do you know that: the first women legislators were the PPP’s three J’s? The first Afro-Guyanese M.P. was Alex Benjamin Brown (1891) And the first Amerindian, Stephen Campbell (1957)? The wife of a former President herself became President? The brother of an Attorney-General (PPP) became a PNC legislator? Two cousins were legislators – one PPP, one PNC.

courtesy of google and Stabroek News.

Good job... Anjali. i have a small business and advertise

on google adword,also a website  which i manage, keywords

are important for your add to hit fist page,i learnt something

today(thank's to you)and figured why i could not find on google.

Good morning.

Who established the first high school that offered free tuition to Guyanese boys and girls and what was the name of that school?

Good morning .

Mr. Alfred Athiel Thorne.

The Middle School.

Correct answer.

In 1894, Alfred A. Thorne founded The Middle School and didn't charge students any fee. According to Wikipedia, "The school broke many barriers, enrolling both boys and girls and providing tuition-free private educational opportunity to the poor and underprivileged. The private school became known for the high-quality education it provided. It was on par with Queen's College and Bishop's High School." This man deserves a monument.

Alfred Athiel Thorne [1871-1956) photo thorne.jpg

Congrats!!

Good morning.

Who established the first high school that offered free tuition to Guyanese boys and girls and what was the name of that school?

Good morning .

Mr. Alfred Athiel Thorne.

The Middle School.

Correct answer.

In 1894, Alfred A. Thorne founded The Middle School and didn't charge students any fee. According to Wikipedia, "The school broke many barriers, enrolling both boys and girls and providing tuition-free private educational opportunity to the poor and underprivileged. The private school became known for the high-quality education it provided. It was on par with Queen's College and Bishop's High School." This man deserves a monument.

Alfred Athiel Thorne [1871-1956) photo thorne.jpg

Congrats!!

Thank you Sir Gil  

It was the 'on par' that makes it so interesting for a school way back then, kudos to him

* Congrats Anjali for bringing first. And to Riya for bringing second.

* Seriously I wasn't aware of The Middle School and Mr. Thorne until today. Good question by Sir Gilbakka and excellent answers by you bright, beautiful and charming ladies.

* Django bai--you and the Rev definitely not in the same league as the ladies.

* Seriously I wasn't aware of The Middle School and Mr. Thorne until today. Good question by Sir Gilbakka and excellent answers by you bright, beautiful and charming ladies.

How can you know about schools if your interest is in TitsBits?

Thanks Rev

Next quiz.

In the 1960s there was a privately run high school on Leguan Island. Name that school and its Principal.

It was a muslim school 'Ahmadiyyat Jama'at'.

His name Maulana Bashir Ahmad Orchard.

I'm sorry, Anjali. First time I'm learning of that school. It's not the one I'm looking for.

HINT: Think French for the school. Think sheep for the principal.

Next quiz.

In the 1960s there was a privately run high school on Leguan Island. Name that school and its Principal.

I'm sorry, Anjali. First time I'm learning of that school. It's not the one I'm looking for.

That school got to be in _ _Bellevue Leguan.

Principal name must be _ _ Shepard

Originally Posted by Django:

Next quiz.

That school got to be in _ _Bellevue Leguan.

Principal name must be _ _ Shepard

Okay, it's Friday and I understand you kids want your afternoon play and fun.

Here are the answers:

School: Montmartre High School

Principal: Desmond Sheppard

Next quiz.

No worries, I had to go into a meeting

Good morning, friends.

I think some folks will unfriend me in Political today.

No prablem. Wha come sah do.

Let's get scratching.

A person of Chinese descent was the first top trade union leader in Guyana. What's his name?

Good morning

Theophilous Lee

That's right. Theophilous Lee was the first President of the British Guiana Trade Union Council. He was also a legistator.

You get first prize.

Riya gets second prize.

Congrats!!

Good morning, friends.

I think some folks will unfriend me in Political today.

No prablem. Wha come sah do.

Let's get scratching.

A person of Chinese descent was the first top trade union leader in Guyana. What's his name?

Good morning

Theophilous Lee

That's right. Theophilous Lee was the first President of the British Guiana Trade Union Council. He was also a legistator.

You get first prize.

Riya gets second prize.

Congrats!!

Thanks Sir Gil

Next one.

Who was the first ever Indo-Guyanese legislator?

Joseph Alexander Luckhoo

Certainly.

J.A. Luckhoo [1887-1949] was elected to the Court of Policy in 1916.

First Prize to you.

Second Prize to Riya.

Congrats!!

j a luckhoo

J.A. Luckhoo

Thanks Sir Gil  very distinguished looking

Next one.

Who was the first indigenous people's legislator in Guyana?

Stephen Joseph Campbell

Exactly.

Stephen Campbell was born in 1897 in Moruca, Region 1. He was the father of Guyanese folk singer David Campbell of Cabacaburi Children fame. Stephen Campbell died just a few days before Guyana became an independent country on May 26, 1966.

Congrats!!

http://s1.stabroeknews.com/images/2010/12/20101230stephen.jpg

Stephen Campbell

That's all for today. 

Man shall not live by brain-tickling alone.

Next one.

Who was the first ever Indo-Guyanese legislator?

Joseph Alexander Luckhoo

Certainly.

J.A. Luckhoo [1887-1949] was elected to the Court of Policy in 1916.

First Prize to you.

Second Prize to Riya.

Congrats!!

j a luckhoo

J.A. Luckhoo

third prize to goggle

Next one.

Stephen Joseph Campbell

Exactly.

Stephen Campbell was born in 1897 in Moruca, Region 1. He was the father of Guyanese folk singer David Campbell of Cabacaburi Children fame. Stephen Campbell died just a few days before Guyana became an independent country on May 26, 1966.

Congrats!!

Stephen Campbell

That's all for today. 

ok Thanks Sir Gil  enjoy the rest of the day.

Next one.

Stephen Joseph Campbell

Exactly.

Congrats!!

Stephen Campbell

That's all for today. 

That is very emotional song about their life in Guyana. 

David Campbell spent quite some time with Canada's First Nations People in North Western Canada.

I am not sure where he is at the moment.  

Originally Posted by Tola:

Next one.

Stephen Joseph Campbell

Exactly.

Congrats!!

Stephen Campbell

That's all for today. 

That is very emotional song about their life in Guyana. 

David Campbell spent quite some time with Canada's First Nations People in North Western Canada.

I am not sure where he is at the moment.  

Last time I heard, he was in Vancouver, BC.

Good morning.

Who was the first Guyanese land surveyor of Chinese origin and what else is he known for?

Good morning

President Arthur Chung

No. You guessed incorrectly. Get down to research. The info is out there.

ok Randolph Choo-Shee-Nam and he is a Senior Lecturer at the university's Faculty of Technology

Good morning.

Who was the first Guyanese land surveyor of Chinese origin and what else is he known for?

Good morning

President Arthur Chung

I thought it was too easy of a question

Good morning.

Good morning

President Arthur Chung

ok Randolph Choo-Shee-Nam and he is a Senior Lecturer at the university's Faculty of Technology

Not correct. Go far back in time.

Good morning.

Good morning

President Arthur Chung

Not correct. Go far back in time.

another name: Wu-Tai-Kam and he founded the the Hope Town Settlement in 1865.

Originally Posted by Riya:

Good morning.

Wu-Tai-Kam

He founded Hope Town Settlement

Absolutely.

You get First Prize.

Anjali gets Second Prize.

Congrats!!

Let that smarty-pants Observer know that I observed how quickly she deleted her wrong answer. She absorbing Rev's smartness.

Originally Posted by Riya:

2nd answer:

Inspector General of Police

Inspector-General is the correct answer. That's what the chief was called for decades after the establishment of the police force in 1837-9.

Congrats!!

See you all tomorrow.

Hea...Hea...HEA... wait...wait jus wait one darn minute...

Cain told  me dis one and it gotta  be right...

Officially he was called 'Sir', before anything else.

Good morning.

Exactly where in Guyana did the Dutch colonizers build their first church?

Good morning

Flag Island

Leguan

Nope.

ok next answer:

Cartabo Point

No.

Kaow Island (sp)

Look,s like you nailed it,i forgot that name.

Good morning.

Exactly where in Guyana did the Dutch colonizers build their first church?

Good morning

Flag Island

Leguan

Nope.

ok next answer:

Cartabo Point

No.

Kaow Island (sp)

Not an island.