Originally Posted by Anjali:

LAST HINT: That 4-letter place is now a quarry opposite Tiger Creek.

Seba quarry

No, baby. Leh papa give you a lil teaspoon of hint.

The word begins with A.

okay

Amka

Check your spelling.

sorry, Ampa

Seba quarry

The word begins with A.

okay

Amka

Check your spelling.

sorry, Ampa

At last! Persistence pays.

Yes, the Dutch settlers built their first church at Ampa, a trading post which later became a plantation, on the right/east bank of the Essequibo River. I haven't been able to get the exact year but it was before 1688, when the first real priest arrived from Holland. The Dutch Reformed Church was the official church at that time.

Congrats!!

Seba quarry

The word begins with A.

okay

Amka

Check your spelling.

sorry, Ampa

At last! Persistence pays.

Yes, the Dutch settlers built their first church at Ampa, a trading post which later became a plantation, on the right/east bank of the Essequibo River. I haven't been able to get the exact year but it was before 1688, when the first real priest arrived from Holland. The Dutch Reformed Church was the official church at that time.

Congrats!!

Oh my goodness, finally the correct answer, this was a tough one but thanks for your clue 'papa' that helped me.

So my usual Thanks Sir Gil.

Good morning. Let's start with a warm-up quiz.

The early Dutch settlers had established trading posts at various points in the Essequibo and Pomeroon rivers. What was the title of the person in charge of each trading post?

Good morning

Patroons

No.

Postholder.

Commandeur.

The early Dutch settlers had established trading posts at various points in the Essequibo and Pomeroon rivers. What was the title of the person in charge of each trading post?

Good morning

Patroons

No.

Postholder.

Commandeur.

Postholder is correct.

Congrats!!

Good morning

Patroons

No.

Postholder.

Commandeur.

Postholder is correct.

Congrats!!

Thanks Sir Gil

Next one.

The Dutch colonizers ruled Essequibo, Demerara and Berbice according to Roman-Dutch law. The English took over these colonies in 1803, combined them to form British Guiana in 1831 and retained Roman-Dutch law for a while. In what year was the legal system changed and what replaced Roman-Dutch law?

January 1st 1917 and changed to English (common law of England).

Next one.

The Dutch colonizers ruled Essequibo, Demerara and Berbice according to Roman-Dutch law. The English took over these colonies in 1803, combined them to form British Guiana in 1831 and retained Roman-Dutch law for a while. In what year was the legal system changed and what replaced Roman-Dutch law?

Good morning 'Sir Gil, Sir', Cain told me to show you respect, because you are an elder, but he said he is better looking.

I have a puzzling question regarding a coin, that been haunting me for some time, with no proper answer.

In my collection is a one-guilder coin titled ' United Colony of Demerary and Essequibo-1832'.

The other side has a bust of William IV, who was a friend of Wilberforce.

I believe Berbice became part of the colony in 1831. Why did a coin exclude Berbice, but was minted after that date ? 

Originally Posted by Tola:

Next one.

Good morning 'Sir Gil, Sir', Cain told me to show you respect, because you are an elder, but he said he is better looking.

I have a puzzling question regarding a coin, that been haunting me for some time, with no proper answer.

In my collection is a one-guilder coin titled ' United Colony of Demerary and Essequibo-1832'.

I believe Berbice became part of the colony in 1831. Why did a coin exclude Berbice, but was minted after that date ? 

They forget to change the template.

Next one.

That's right. English common law replaced Roman-Dutch law in 1917, ie, 114 years after the British started ruling E-D-B and then BG.

Congrats!!

If I want to sue Tola and Cain I shall hire you as my lawyer.

Next one.

Because Berbice was prablem and janjhat from de beginning.

Seriously, I don't know.

Next one.

That's right. English common law replaced Roman-Dutch law in 1917, ie, 114 years after the British started ruling E-D-B and then BG.

Congrats!!

If I want to sue Tola and Cain I shall hire you as my lawyer.

Thank you Sir Gil  I know how you like us to be precise with the answers that is why I put that in brackets

sorry, can't help on the 'suing' not a lawyer

Next one.

They ran outta room.

Next one.

They ran outta room.

Not ConVincing....

OK then Tola. Just as it is today, the PPP doan wanna be part of Guyana same thing back then, they stayed away and when dem boys made their currency, the PPP voters county (Berbice) got shock out.

Doan say PPP wasn't at the time, I know otherwise... they been underground

The PPP na even done yet and de devil takking ova de board.

Des bais like talking to dem self.

According to Gibakka, Berbice was always a janjhat county.

From William de IV to scratch balls Jagdeo. Both rass kok duk.   

Goody goody Friday morning.

Today we shall tour that janjhat county, BERBICE.

The father of a famous British tyre manufacturer once owned a business in New Amsterdam. What was his name and where in New Amsterdam was his business located?

Barb-Ice : Dis is so nice to see, me dancing round in me marning bukta.

Django, you got a good one dea..Theodore 'Balltire' Dunlop.

But be careful who you listen to, me get into trouble listening to Cain.   

Originally Posted by Django:

The father of a famous British tyre manufacturer once owned a business in New Amsterdam. What was his name and where in New Amsterdam was his business located?

T.B Dunlop

Strand St

That's correct. T.B. Dunlop, the father of Dunlop Tyres founder John Boyd Dunlop, had a business on the Strand, New Amsterdam. In 1816 he sold the business to S. Davson.

Congrats!!

[NOTE: Dem Berbicians should slap yuh, Django. New Amsterdam ent got any Strand Street. That stretch of roadway is called Strand, New Amsterdam.]

T.B Dunlop

Strand St

That's correct. T.B. Dunlop, the father of Dunlop Tyres founder John Boyd Dunlop, had a business on the Strand, New Amsterdam. In 1816 he sold the business to S. Davson.

Congrats!!

[NOTE: Dem Berbicians should slap yuh, Django. New Amsterdam ent got any Strand Street. That stretch of roadway is called Strand, New Amsterdam.]

ar..ight man i got accustomed in N.A. to street,ave,terrace

circle,boulevard ... etc

old_picture

Town Hall and Market, The Strand, New Amsterdam, circa 1920

This is a memorable photo, because the [leaning] tower was taken down a few years ago. Its was one of the landmarks seen from the Berbice river. 

They were going to rebuild the tower, but....

Pitt Street that runs into Strand and city hall, was destroyed by fire.   

Last edited by Tola

Does anyone know if the Lenora government hospital in  Sept 1963, is now called the West Demerara hospital ?

Its a square, two-floor, flat-top building, in a corner of two streets, not paved at that time. 

West Demerara Hospital is in Best Village, next to Vreed-en-Hoop, not far from Demerara River mouth.

Leonora hospital is about 10 miles west of Vreed-en-Hoop. In 1963 there was the Leonora Estate Hospital south of the sugar factory. The hospital is presently located north of the public road.

Does anyone know if the Lenora government hospital in  Sept 1963, is now called the West Demerara hospital ?

Its a square, two-floor, flat-top building, in a corner of two streets, not paved at that time. 

West Demerara Hospital is in Best Village, next to Vreed-en-Hoop, not far from Demerara River mouth.

Leonora hospital is about 10 miles west of Vreed-en-Hoop. In 1963 there was the Leonora Estate Hospital south of the sugar factory. The hospital is presently located north of the public road.

Thanks Gil, the photo was taken in Leonora, Sept 1963 ...more in private.

Does anyone know if the Leonora government hospital in  Sept 1963, is now called the West Demerara hospital ?

FYI,

Gilbakka identified the hospital to be the 'Leonora Cottage Hospital and Diagnostic Centre', built in 1963 by the PPP. A short distance north of the public road and about five minutes walk from the sea wall.

The Estate Hospital near the sugar factory, built about 1900, was taken down.

Thanks Gil.

Leo and Nora : The name Leonora is Dutch coming from the time of Dutch occupation of the country. It originated from the names of two Dutch children, a boy named Leo and a girl named Nora. 

Last edited by Tola

Does anyone know if the Leonora government hospital in  Sept 1963, is now called the West Demerara hospital ?

FYI,

Gilbakka identified the hospital to be the 'Leonora Cottage Hospital and Diagnostic Centre', built in 1963 by the PPP. A short distance north of the public road and about five minutes walk from the sea wall.

Thanks Gil.

Leo and Nora : The name Leonora is Dutch coming from the time of Dutch occupation of the country. It originated from the names of two Dutch children, a boy named Leo and a girl named Nora. 

Tola, it was also called the Leonora Health Centre at the beginning.

Thanks Gil.

It looks the same with new roof and fence.

I am happy how this all came together from 1963 to now.

Holy crap 52 years ago and I still have the negative and proof print.

In our days it might have a British flag.

Its reminds me of time I did a photo-shoot at York University in Toronto and they were filming a movie with an American flag flying at the university.

Its weird seeing an American flag flying at a Canadian University, like dem taking over Canada.    

Last edited by Tola

FYI,

Thanks Gil.

The Dutch couple (brother and sister) I lived with from age5 to 14, her name was Nora and her brother's name was....guess.

FYI,

Thanks Gil.

The Dutch couple (brother and sister) I lived with from age5 to 14, her name was Nora and her brother's name was....guess.

A boy name Sue.  

Drinking fountain.

That's right. It was an ornate cast-iron drinking fountain.

Yuh see how much consideration de white colonialists had fo we black and coolie people? Dem put wata fountain fo quench we thirst in de hot midday sun.

Up to the early 1970s there was a marble water fountain in Donkey City south of Stabroek Market. I drank water there once.

Congrats!!

Drinking fountain.

The Georgetown Cenotaph is a war memorial in Georgetown, Guyana, located at the junction of Main and Church Streets. The Cenotaph was unveiled on August 14, 1923, by the then Governor, Graeme Thomson, and the first Armistice Day observance took place at the Church Street Monument on 11 November 1923. On the four faces of the base of the Cenotaph are inscribed the four words - Devotion, Humanity, Fortitude, and Sacrifice. The Cenotaph is a national memorial to Guyanese soldiers who lost their lives in the First and Second World Wars. Guyanese soldiers served and fought in such far off places as Egypt, France, Belgium, and East Africa. After the end of the Second World War in 1945, Armistice Day was renamed Remembrance Day or Remembrance Sunday, and observed on the first or second Sunday of November. Since 1956, it was internationally agreed to observe Remembrance Day on the second Sunday of November. Before 1923, the site where the Cenotaph now stands was occupied by an ornate drinking fountain which was erected in 1867 to mark the completion of the Water Works in 1866. That drinking fountain, no longer functional, now stands on the green opposite St. Rose's High School in Church Street, just a few hundred feet from its original location.

http://www.tripmondo.com/guyan...tions-in-georgetown/

Drinking fountain.

The Georgetown Cenotaph is a war memorial in Georgetown, Guyana, located at the junction of Main and Church Streets. The Cenotaph was unveiled on August 14, 1923, by the then Governor, Graeme Thomson, and the first Armistice Day observance took place at the Church Street Monument on 11 November 1923. On the four faces of the base of the Cenotaph are inscribed the four words - Devotion, Humanity, Fortitude, and Sacrifice. The Cenotaph is a national memorial to Guyanese soldiers who lost their lives in the First and Second World Wars. Guyanese soldiers served and fought in such far off places as Egypt, France, Belgium, and East Africa. After the end of the Second World War in 1945, Armistice Day was renamed Remembrance Day or Remembrance Sunday, and observed on the first or second Sunday of November. Since 1956, it was internationally agreed to observe Remembrance Day on the second Sunday of November. Before 1923, the site where the Cenotaph now stands was occupied by an ornate drinking fountain which was erected in 1867 to mark the completion of the Water Works in 1866. That drinking fountain, no longer functional, now stands on the green opposite St. Rose's High School in Church Street, just a few hundred feet from its original location.

I'm almost certain the Cenotaph was erected to honor Lord Kitchener and later acquired it's present symbolism.

Drinking fountain.

I'm almost certain the Cenotaph was erected to honor Lord Kitchener and later acquired it's present symbolism.

Image result for Lord Kitchener

1. Herbert Kitchener, 1st Earl Kitchener
    Senior officer
  2. Field Marshal Horatio Herbert Kitchener, 1st Earl Kitchener KG, KP, GCB, OM, GCSI, GCMG, GCIE, ADC, PC was a senior British Army officer and colonial administrator who won fame for his imperial campaigns ... Wikipedia
  3. Died: June 5, 1916, HMS Hampshire

Next quiz.

Name the first East Indian who owned a business on the Strand, New Amsterdam and tell us how long that business lasted.

Good morning

Alexander Saywack, a general provision merchant from 1865 - 1965.

Correct!!

Later, a Saywack descendant built a store on Regent & Alexander Streets, Georgetown. In the 1980s when there were commodity shortages I used to buy my Brylcream from Saywack's.

Congrats!!

Next quiz.

Name the first East Indian who owned a business on the Strand, New Amsterdam and tell us how long that business lasted.

Good morning

Correct!!

Later, a Saywack descendant built a store on Regent & Alexander Streets, Georgetown. In the 1980s when there were commodity shortages I used to buy my Brylcream from Saywack's.

Congrats!!

Other prominent businesses in the 19th century on the Strand were James Lade, a General Store, and S. Wreford, founded by a Scotsman in 1860. It was a well stocked store and was passed on to his sons after his death, until nationalized by the state in 1973.
Alexander Saywack was a general provision merchant and the first East Indian business on the Strand, a business that lasted from 1865 to 1965. The premises were let to Duncan Dow, then S.G. Wiltshire, J.P. Santos, and Wieting and Richter. A gas station also operated on the premises.

http://www.indocaribbeanworld....ary_10_2007/arts.htm

Next quiz.

Good morning

Correct!!

Congrats!!

Thanks Sir Gil

Next quiz.

Good morning

Angali..answer seems correct.

Thanks Django and congrats on your answer

Next quiz.

Good morning

Correct!!

Congrats!!

I alos remember a Saywack's at Lamaha and Pike Street area

Originally Posted by Riya:

Next quiz.

Good morning

Correct!!

Congrats!!

I know them too. One of the boys, Kam, was an acquaintance of mine. I used to buy bread and cigarettes at their shop. I don't know if they're related to the Strand Saywacks.

Next quiz.

Good morning

Correct!!

Congrats!!

i went to school with the son

While you wait for today's quiz, look at this picture. It shows Main Street Georgetown in 1890. Notice the canal running in the middle. A footpath replaced the canal. Also, notice the top of the drinking water fountain in right foreground. Look down the street. Yuh see any motocar? Yuh know why? Keep the answer to yourself. This is not a quiz.

[Wayne Mc Watt pic]

Next quiz.

Good morning

Correct!!

Congrats!!

Yeah which one of them?

ball
Originally Posted by Mars:

Let's begin.

A rich Berbice girl was married to one of the Caribbean's greatest heads of government. Name both of them.

Prime Minister of T&T Eric Williams and his wife Mayleen Mook Sang.

It had to take a pupil from the planet Mars to answer this quiz.

Maylene was the daughter of T. Mook Sang, a wealthy businessman.

Congrats!!

Let's begin.

A rich Berbice girl was married to one of the Caribbean's greatest heads of government. Name both of them.

Congrats!!

I'm not from the planet Mars. The planet was named after me in the same tradition as Jupiter, Neptune, Venus, etc. 

Django, our last hope is Anjali.

I can't find anything!

sorry Riya, i am late  i quickly looked but did not see anything.

I think Mars may have the answer.

Anjali and Riya the answer is here,i posted this link before.

http://www.indocaribbeanworld....ary_10_2007/arts.htm

"Hughes and Company, established in 1878, were Chemists and Druggists on the Strand. By the late 1800’s, T. Mooksang was probably the wealthiest Chinese businessman in the town. His daughter Maylene Mook-Sang got married to Eric Williams, the first Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago"

Let's begin.

Congrats!!

I went to school with Mr. Mook Sang's great grandson. His appendix broke and he died suddenly. It was probably the first time that I experienced a school mate dying. I remember feeling really sad about it.

Originally Posted by ball:

Next quiz.

Good morning

Correct!!

Congrats!!

Yeah which one of them?

i am trying to remember his first name but cannot place it we use to call him saywack 

Good morning.

Let's roll.

A Guyanese politician was the wife of two Caribbean prime ministers. Name all three persons .

Shirley Field-Ridley. She was the wife of Hamilton Green and Jamaica's former Prime Minister P.J. Patterson.

Yes, you're correct. Hamilton Green served as Guyana's Prime Minister.

After the 1968 general election, Shirley Patterson was named Minister of Education. Later, she became Minister of Information. She resorted to Field-Ridley, her maiden name, when she married Hamilton Green according to Muslim rites. Green assumed the name Bilal.

Congrats!!

Good morning, sir.

I have no clue and I don't think I will find that info on Google

Yes, you can get the info via Google. GNI is googleable as are the relatives of the mystery GNI member.

HINT: Both are old men now, much older than 64-year-old me.

Okay

Demerara Guy

Shakira Baksh

Good morning, sir.

I have no clue and I don't think I will find that info on Google

Yes, you can get the info via Google. GNI is googleable as are the relatives of the mystery GNI member.

HINT: Both are old men now, much older than 64-year-old me.

Okay

Demerara Guy

Shakira Baksh

Go and re-read the quiz carefully.