Originally Posted by Django:

Next quiz.

An active GNI member is related by marriage to an Oscar-winning movie star. Name both of them.

Michael Caine (movie star)

O.Ismael (GNI member)

Bossman, I wasn't going to recognize one correct answer, as that would have taken the sting out of the quiz.

Riya won.

Now, I have to find out whether Demerara_Guy is related to O. Ishmael. Yuh betta do dat fo me.

Next quiz.

An active GNI member is related by marriage to an Oscar-winning movie star. Name both of them.

Michael Caine (movie star)

O.Ismael (GNI member)

Bossman, I wasn't going to recognize one correct answer, as that would have taken the sting out of the quiz.

Riya won.

Now, I have to find out whether Demerara_Guy is related to O. Ishmael. Yuh betta do dat fo me.

My bad... you know Shakira Caine and myself got roots

from the same village,so i may know Demerara_Guy.

Originally Posted by Riya:

Oooh! My aplogies

Demerara Guy

Michael Caine

And my apology to you too. Wife demanded I take lunch.

Yes, you are correct.

Demerara_Guy and Shakira Baksh are cousins.

Therefore, Demerara_Guy is related to Michael Caine by marriage.

Congrats!!

Thanks!

Lunch is very important!

Good morning. TGIF.

A Guyanese woman was the wife of a convicted Trinidadian murderer who had enjoyed an international reputation as a fighter against racial discrimination in England. Name the couple.

[I will ignore a 1-name answer].

Good morning

Micheal De Freitas ( other names Michael X & Michael Abdul Malik ) and his wife Desiree De Souza.

had a question/answer on him some time back.

Originally Posted by Anjali:

Good morning. TGIF.

A Guyanese woman was the wife of a convicted Trinidadian murderer who had enjoyed an international reputation as a fighter against racial discrimination in England. Name the couple.

Good morning

Micheal De Freitas ( other names Michael X & Michael Abdul Malik ) and his wife Desiree De Souza.

Correct answer.

Revision of past brain ticklers is good.

Congrats!!

Next quiz.

A woman from Leguan was the wife of an American Black Power leader who lived in Guyana for over 20 years, part of that time as a resident of Lot 12 Camp Street, GT. Name the couple.

[I will ignore 1-name answer].

Dr. Ivan Van Sertima and wife?

Sorry, that's the Camp Street jail. Nevermind

Next quiz.

A woman from Leguan was the wife of an American Black Power leader who lived in Guyana for over 20 years, part of that time as a resident of Lot 12 Camp Street, GT. Name the couple.

Hey IGNAAR, I'm putting you on IGNORE.

Next quiz.

Hey IGNAAR, I'm putting you on IGNORE.

I honestly believed I had it until I re-read the Camp Street part. Remember I'm a Corentynian so we don't really use "Lot 12 Camp Street" in regular discourse.

Good morning. TGIF.

Good morning

Correct answer.

Revision of past brain ticklers is good.

Congrats!!

Thanks Sir Gil I thought of him when I saw the question.

Next quiz.

David Hill and his wife Queen Lulu Efi

Angali..you got it couldn't find his wife name.

Next quiz.

I had to really 'look' to find it but do not know yet if it's correct  but thanks though

Next quiz.

I had to really 'look' to find it but do not know yet if it's correct  but thanks though

It is correct.

David Hill aka Rabbi Edward Washington was a Black Power activist who had led a successful boycott against the white fast-food giant McDonald's. He tried to set up a black competing enterprise, was charged for extortion and placed on bail. However, he skipped bail and escaped in 1972 to Guyana where Mrs Janet Jagan gave him lodging at Freedom House for a few days until he could find his own accommodation. The rest is history.

Congrats!!

Nobody got a brain tickler eh? Aright I got one.

What does my tshirt read? (In the pic) hint..its backward.

out a focus can't read,Tola a tek out better pictcha.

Support Your Local Outlaws ( bikers) I get the eye anytime I wear any of this clothing. I was at my buddy's funeral, he rode with them for years.

Next quiz.

It is correct.

David Hill aka Rabbi Edward Washington was a Black Power activist who had led a successful boycott against the white fast-food giant McDonald's. He tried to set up a black competing enterprise, was charged for extortion and placed on bail. However, he skipped bail and escaped in 1972 to Guyana where Mrs Janet Jagan gave him lodging at Freedom House for a few days until he could find his own accommodation. The rest is history.

Congrats!!

Thanks Sir Gil

Good morning. Hope you enjoyed your weekend.

Here we go:

A girl child born on the island Wakenaam rose up in another island to become Leader of the House of Lords. What is her full name and her Title?

Good morning

Valerie Ann Amos.

Baroness Amos of Brondesbury.

Correct. Baroness Amos was born 61 years ago in Wakenaam. She grew up in England to become Leader of the House of Lords and the first black woman in the Cabinet of the United Kingdom.

Congrats!!

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/cb/Valerie_Amos_DFID_2013.jpg

Good morning. Hope you enjoyed your weekend.

Here we go:

A girl child born on the island Wakenaam rose up in another island to become Leader of the House of Lords. What is her full name and her Title?

Good morning

Valerie Ann Amos.

Baroness Amos of Brondesbury.

Correct. Baroness Amos was born 61 years ago in Wakenaam. She grew up in England to become Leader of the House of Lords and the first black woman in the Cabinet of the United Kingdom.

Congrats!!

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/cb/Valerie_Amos_DFID_2013.jpg

Thanks Sir Gil

Originally Posted by Riya:

Next one.

A boy child was born in New Amsterdam Berbice and rose up to become the world's most successful lawyer. What's his full name?

Lionel Alfred Luckhoo

Correct. Sir Lionel Luckhoo was born in 1914 in New Amsterdam. In 1990, the Guinness Book of Records named him "World's most successful lawyer" for winning 245 murder cases in a stretch.

You get first prize.

Anjali gets second prize.

Warrior has to stand on the bench for interfering with you all.

Congrats!!

http://www.hawaiichristiansonline.com/portrait.jpg

Good morning.

Django is excused from class today because he is celebrating his 16th birthday.

The Dutch administrators of Essequibo and Demerara did not have enough professional soldiers to defend the colonies from external attack or invasion, so they created an auxiliary military force consisting of African slaves. What was the name of that auxiliary force?

Thank's Gilly..no celebration today i am at work,i could

have taken the day off (being self emplolyed)and also

retire today, so i decided after feeling like i am in my

forties i will work another twenty years (hopefully).

LONG LIVE DJANGO!!

Take care of your health most of all, friend. Money is not as important as health. Have a great day.

Good morning.

The Dutch administrators of Essequibo and Demerara did not have enough professional soldiers to defend the colonies from external attack or invasion, so they created an auxiliary military force consisting of African slaves. What was the name of that auxiliary force?

Redi Musu.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Good morning.

Redi Musu.

No, sir.

Good morning.

Redi Musu.

No, sir.

I do know my Dutch history. I suggest that you type in Google etc the words redi musu or look at the Suriname defence history page at http://www.gov.sr/ministerie-v...fensie/historie.aspx

Good morning.

Good morning

A few answers:

Military Slaves

Bush Commandoes

Voluntary Soldiers

Good morning.

Good morning

A few answers:

Military Slaves

Bush Commandoes

Voluntary Soldiers

Try again, Miss.

Good morning.

Good morning

A few answers:

Military Slaves

Bush Commandoes

Voluntary Soldiers

Try again, Miss.

ok, a few more:

Expeditionary Force

Conscription Force

Indigenous Troops

Military Recruits

Armed Slaves

Civic Militia

if none of these are correct, can we please get a clue Sir Gil?

Good morning.

Good morning

A few answers:

Military Slaves

Bush Commandoes

Voluntary Soldiers

Try again, Miss.

ok, a few more:

Expeditionary Force

Conscription Force

Indigenous Troops

Military Recruits

Armed Slaves

Civic Militia

None of the above, Miss.

Good morning.

Good morning

A few answers:

Military Slaves

Bush Commandoes

Voluntary Soldiers

Try again, Miss.

ok, a few more:

Expeditionary Force

Conscription Force

Indigenous Troops

Military Recruits

Armed Slaves

Civic Militia

None of the above, Miss.

ok a few more:

Secondary Armed Recruit

Spare Armed Recruit

Subordinate Armed Recruit

Good morning.

Good morning

A few answers:

Military Slaves

Bush Commandoes

Voluntary Soldiers

Try again, Miss.

ok, a few more:

Expeditionary Force

Conscription Force

Indigenous Troops

Military Recruits

Armed Slaves

Civic Militia

None of the above, Miss.

ok a few more:

Secondary Armed Recruit

Spare Armed Recruit

No, Miss.

Good morning.

Good morning

A few answers:

Military Slaves

Bush Commandoes

Voluntary Soldiers

Try again, Miss.

ok, a few more:

Expeditionary Force

Conscription Force

Indigenous Troops

Military Recruits

Armed Slaves

Civic Militia

None of the above, Miss.

ok a few more:

Secondary Armed Recruit

Spare Armed Recruit

No, Miss.

ok Sir Gil, can you give us the first name (S) and we can try to figure it out please?

this reminds me of the 'Lily Soap' question/answer

Good morning.

Good morning

A few answers:

Military Slaves

Bush Commandoes

Voluntary Soldiers

Try again, Miss.

ok, a few more:

Expeditionary Force

Conscription Force

Indigenous Troops

Military Recruits

Armed Slaves

Civic Militia

None of the above, Miss.

ok a few more:

Secondary Armed Recruit

Spare Armed Recruit

No, Miss.

ok Sir Gil, can you give us the first name (S) and we can try to figure it out please?

Sure.

South

Good morning.

Good morning

A few answers:

Military Slaves

Bush Commandoes

Voluntary Soldiers

Try again, Miss.

ok, a few more:

Expeditionary Force

Conscription Force

Indigenous Troops

Military Recruits

Armed Slaves

Civic Militia

None of the above, Miss.

ok a few more:

Secondary Armed Recruit

Spare Armed Recruit

No, Miss.

Sure.

South

ok:

South American or South African Reservist

Good morning.

Good morning

A few answers:

Military Slaves

Bush Commandoes

Voluntary Soldiers

Try again, Miss.

ok, a few more:

Expeditionary Force

Conscription Force

Indigenous Troops

Military Recruits

Armed Slaves

Civic Militia

None of the above, Miss.

ok a few more:

Secondary Armed Recruit

Spare Armed Recruit

No, Miss.

Sure.

South

ok:

South American or South African Reservist

You're guessing now.

10 MINUTES MORE!!

Time up.

SOUTH AMERICAN RANGERS is the answer. After Emancipation the SAR became part of a new regiment known as the West India Regiment.

When the British took over Essequibo and Demerara in 1803, the Dutch-formed SAR was an active force. The British kept it and retrained it appropriately. Naturally, those were very loyal slaves as they didn't turn their guns on their masters.

Well I got South American right  I did not think of Rangers at all.

You really stumped us with this one Sir Gil.

Sorry, every day is not Christmas as they say.

I got that quiz from one of my Guyana history books. I double-checked online and didn't find it, so I hoped someone has a similar book to reference. Now that I know you don't, look out for some more.

Well I got South American right  I did not think of Rangers at all.

You really stumped us with this one Sir Gil.

Sorry, every day is not Christmas as they say.

I got that quiz from one of my Guyana history books. I double-checked online and didn't find it, so I hoped someone has a similar book to reference. Now that I know you don't, look out for some more.

Ok Sir Gil, duly noted  , have a good day.

Good morning.

Let's hope today's quiz is not difficult for you.

The Victoria Law Courts building in Georgetown has been used by the High/Supreme Court since 1837. Where were sessions of the Supreme Court held just before moving over to the Victoria Law Courts building?

Good morning

At the Public Building

Good morning.

The Victoria Law Courts building in Georgetown has been used by the High/Supreme Court since 1837. Where were sessions of the Supreme Court held just before moving over to the Victoria Law Courts building?

Good morning

At the Public Building

Exactly.

From 1832 to 1837, sessions of the Supreme Court were held at the Public Buildings. [Please note that its name ends with an s.]

Congrats!!

So, it was not as difficult as the previous one.

Good morning.

Good morning

At the Public Building

Exactly.

From 1832 to 1837, sessions of the Supreme Court were held at the Public Buildings. [Please note that its name ends with an s.]

Congrats!!

So, it was not as difficult as the previous one.

Thank you Sir Gil  sorry about the 's'.

I was glad it was not a difficult one

Time up.

SOUTH AMERICAN RANGERS is the answer. After Emancipation the SAR became part of a new regiment known as the West India Regiment.

When the British took over Essequibo and Demerara in 1803, the Dutch-formed SAR was an active force. The British kept it and retrained it appropriately. Naturally, those were very loyal slaves as they didn't turn their guns on their masters.

Can you post a ink to where you got that information from? I do not belive a word of it. The Dutch would not have used English words for one to describe one of their regiments.

Time up.

Can you post a ink to where you got that information from? I do not belive a word of it. The Dutch would not have used English words for one to describe one of their regiments.

Mr T, I got it from a Guyana history book. Check your Dialog in 10 minutes.

Good morning. TGIF.

Today we shall go easy for sure.

Who was the first ever Indo-Guyanese solicitor and in what year did he become a solicitor?

Good morning

Edward Alfred Luckhoo in 1899.

did we not have a part of this question before?

Correct.

Solicitor Edward A Luckhoo was the father of Sir Lionel Luckhoo who, as we learned from last week's quiz, was the world's most successful lawyer.

Congrats!!

Good morning. TGIF.

Who was the first ever Indo-Guyanese solicitor and in what year did he become a solicitor?

Good morning

Correct.

Solicitor Edward A Luckhoo was the father of Sir Lionel Luckhoo who, as we learned from last week's quiz, was the world's most successful lawyer.

Congrats!!

Ok thanks Sir Gil

Next one.

How old was Forbes Burnham when he became Prime Minister of Guyana?

41 years 9 months 24 days (trying to be precise)

No.

Try again.

43 years 3 months 6 days

That's it!

From December 1964 to 25 May 1966 Forbes Burnham was Premier.

From 26 May 1966 he was Prime Minister, at 43 years old.

Congrats!!

Have a nice weekend, everyone, absentees and all.

Next one.

How old was Forbes Burnham when he became Prime Minister of Guyana?

41 years 9 months 24 days (trying to be precise)

No.

Try again.

43 years 3 months 6 days

That's it!

From December 1964 to 25 May 1966 Forbes Burnham was Premier.

From 26 May 1966 he was Prime Minister, at 43 years old.

Congrats!!

Have a nice weekend, everyone, absentees and all.

Thanks Sir Gil  and have a nice weekend too

Time up.

I did as much research as I could but I have been unable to find any evidence that the person who wrote that history book got his fact right.

Time up.

I did as much research as I could but I have been unable to find any evidence that the person who wrote that history book got his fact right.

Acknowledged and appreciated.

Good morning. TGIF.

Good morning

Correct.

Congrats!!

Lionel have a brother name Edward luckhoo  

Good morning.

Who was the first Guyana-born writer to publish a novel?

What is the title of the novel?

In what year was the novel written?

In what year was it published?

[I shall acknowledge only the person with four correct answers.]

Good morning

Edgar Mittelholzer

Corentyne Thunder

4/4 = PERFECT SCORE

Congrats!!

That's all for today, Guys.

[Django has to stay back for DETENTION and write Corentyne Thunder 200 times.]

Good morning.

Who was the first Guyana-born writer to publish a novel?

What is the title of the novel?

In what year was the novel written?

In what year was it published?

[I shall acknowledge only the person with four correct answers.]

Good morning

Edgar Mittelholzer

Corentyne Thunder

4/4 = PERFECT SCORE

Congrats!!

That's all for today, Guys.

[Django has to stay back for DETENTION and write Corentyne Thunder 200 times.]

Thanks Sir Gil

Good morning.

Yesterday we had notable absences in class. If they don't turn up today, I need a written excuse from their papa tomorrow.

Up to the early 1940s, government notices in Guyana were posted in three languages. What are those three languages?

Good morning

English

Dutch

French

I am not here tomorrow (our holiday), will be out all day.

Good morning.

Yesterday we had notable absences in class. If they don't turn up today, I need a written excuse from their papa tomorrow.

Up to the early 1940s, government notices in Guyana were posted in three languages. What are those three languages?

Good morning

English

Dutch

French

I am not here tomorrow (our holiday), will be out all day.

No.

[Excuse for tomorrow accepted. ]

Some time in the colonial days, an Indo-Guyanese family business in the Corentyne got into police trouble for manufacturing, bottling and distributing rum with a family label. What's the name of that family and what brand of rum were they making?

HINT: Crabwood Creek

Family name: Raghubar

Brand: BEE HIVE RUM

Beehive Rum Label

Some time in the colonial days, an Indo-Guyanese family business in the Corentyne got into police trouble for manufacturing, bottling and distributing rum with a family label. What's the name of that family and what brand of rum were they making?

Beehive Rum Label

That got to be Bush Rum

Beehive Rum Label

That got to be Bush Rum

A British Guiana law of 1892 prohibited the colouring or staining of food or drink in a way to render it injurious to health. The law allowed for rum to be artificially coloured with caramel or burnt sugar or molasses only, in a specified way. It was illegal to use any other food colouring or dye like annato in the making of rum.

Under another law, only licensed companies with approved equipment and methods could manufacture and sell rum. That law was initially intended to protect the interests of Bookers and other sugar planters. Later, it was extended to include companies like D'Aguiar's and D'Andrade's and CV White's, owned by Portuguese.

Raghubar didn't meet the legal requirements to manufacture his Bee Hive Rum. Neither he nor his rum had the correct colouring.

Beehive Rum Label

That got to be Bush Rum

A British Guiana law of 1892 prohibited the colouring or staining of food or drink in a way to render it injurious to health. The law allowed for rum to be artificially coloured with caramel or burnt sugar or molasses only, in a specified way. It was illegal to use any other food colouring or dye like annato in the making of rum.

Under another law, only licensed companies with approved equipment and methods could manufacture and sell rum. That law was initially intended to protect the interests of Bookers and other sugar planters. Later, it was extended to include companies like D'Aguiar's and D'Andrade's and CV White's, owned by Portuguese.

Raghubar didn't meet the legal requirements to manufacture his Bee Hive Rum. Neither he nor his rum had the correct colouring.

Interesting info Gilly...thank's.