Originally Posted by Mars:
Originally Posted by Riya:

Next quiz.

What's a 7-letter word for a Guyanese canoe?

A balahoo

A ballahoo is a bigger boat than a canoe.

I think Gilly is referring to a Koryall but I don't know the correct spelling.

MERRIAM-WEBSTER DICTIONARY:

caΒ·noe

noun \kΙ™-ˈnΓΌ\

: a long narrow boat that is pointed at both ends and that is moved by a paddle with one blade

The vessel in that photo passes for a canoe, right?

That is a canoe.

Is Koryall correct? If it is, what is the correct spelling? 

The correct spelling is corial. [6 letters]

coΒ·riΒ·al

noun
:  a Guianan native dugout canoe

Sorry, Mars. Riya won.

This is a ballahoo. It is not a canoe. A corial is a canoe.

Next quiz.

A balahoo

caΒ·noe

noun \kΙ™-ˈnΓΌ\

: a long narrow boat that is pointed at both ends and that is moved by a paddle with one blade

That is a canoe.

coΒ·riΒ·al

noun

Sorry, Mars. Riya won.

The question and answer are wrong then 

Ballahoo has 8 letters and is a schooner which is a lot bigger than a canoe

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ballahoo-class_schooner

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/Ballahoo

Ballahoo

BalΒ΄la`hoo

(bΔƒlΒ΄lΓ₯`hŌ)
n.1.

fast-sailing schooner, used in the Bermudas and West Indies.

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/ballahoo

:  a schooner of Bermuda and the West Indies having its foremast raking forward and mainmast aft

Here's a screenshot of the 1913 dictionary spelling. Also, check the newspaper spelling in an earlier post. Let's turn a blind eye to this one.

balahoo

• balahoo

Next quiz.

A balahoo

caΒ·noe

noun \kΙ™-ˈnΓΌ\

That is a canoe.

coΒ·riΒ·al

noun

Sorry, Mars. Riya won.

This is a ballahoo. It is not a canoe. A corial is a canoe.

Point taken, Mars. As I said earlier, you're correct technically, but my question has the term "Guyanese canoe." Balahoo is in current usage in Guyana as the two newspaper clips show in my previous post.

Next one.

What was the last year bicycle owners in Guyana were required to purchase bicycle licences?

Here is a pic of a 1948 British Guiana bicycle licence plate for a schoolboy. Separate licences were sold to adults.

This is an interesting one. Didn't even know that it was required at one point.

I'm guessing here.....1966

Next one.

What was the last year bicycle owners in Guyana were required to purchase bicycle licences?

Here is a pic of a 1948 British Guiana bicycle licence plate for a schoolboy. Separate licences were sold to adults.

Incorrect

Next quiz.

Balahoo is the word I want. Riya wins.

Technically, Mars is correct to say that a balahoo is larger than a canoe.

The 1913 edition of Webster's Dictionary defines balahoo as "a fast sailing schooner used in the Bermudas and West Indies."

Note, however, the phrase "Guyanese canoe" in the question.

Look at this Kaieteur News report dated October 14, 2013:

"A  49-year-old man is missing and feared dead after the balahoo in which he was traveling collided with an unlit fishing vessel at around 21:50 hrs on Saturday in the Lower Pomeroon River."

And look at this Chronicle report dated May 20, 2013:

"THE Maritime Administration Department (MARAD) up to late yesterday was continuing its search and rescue efforts in the Essequibo River as they sought to locate dead or alive, 24-year old Fred Crème of Onderneeming, Essequibo Coast...Reports surrounding the tragedy suggested that the vessel in which the men were travelling in, a wooden balahoo encountered rough waters and efforts by the boat captain to ride the waves successfully were futile and the vessel toppled tossing the men overboard."

Congrats, Riya!

By the way, how do you know that these men were travelling in canoes? It could be that they were actually travelling in a boat which is big enough to be referred to as a ballahoo (eight letters please )

If there were nine men in the boat that capsized, it is more than likely not a canoe but a bigger boat in which case the newspapers would be correct in referring to the boat as a ballahoo (two L's ).

Dem newspapers ain't know nothing about nothing. I never heard anyone describe a canoe as a ballahoo in Guyana. It's always a corial to me. That's what river people call a canoe.

Mars, I think we can agree that words are used loosely in Guyana.

After 29 years of marriage, I have a problem understanding some words my wife uses. They're certainly not in the dictionary meaning sense.

For example, if I ask her a simple question, she would say "Don't torment me."

Torment? A simple question is torment? Hmmmm... sometimes I tell myself I should have married a Filipina.

Dem newspapers ain't know nothing about nothing. I never heard anyone describe a canoe as a ballahoo in Guyana. It's always a corial to me. That's what river people call a canoe.

After 29 years of marriage, I have a problem understanding some words my wife uses. They're certainly not in the dictionary meaning sense.

Torment? A simple question is torment? Hmmmm... sometimes I tell myself I should have married a Filipina.

you rass sound badaration 

Banna, yuh know I-man talking the struth. Guyanese use certain words loosely.

Hear dis one: during the 1964 riots a patrol of British soldiers passed through our street. Shortly after, our neighbour called my mother: " Ah wheh yuh bin. Dem chinee sojah jus pass and gone."

For that woman, a white man was a chinese man.

When a big brother is reprimanding a younger brother, the mother would say...

'Alyu kill am and done no'.

Me knew it was Balahoo and photographed an open ended one in Upper Mazaruni river, [must be from the bark of a tree] wid a mother taking three children to school in Kangaruma. Its a wide shot of the river with a small balahoo.

My Canadian audience usually ask ' Where are their life jackets ?'

Banna, yuh know I-man talking the struth. Guyanese use certain words loosely.

Hear dis one: during the 1964 riots a patrol of British soldiers passed through our street. Shortly after, our neighbour called my mother: " Ah wheh yuh bin. Dem chinee sojah jus pass and gone."

For that woman, a white man was a chinese man.

It is interesting to rememba that the British soldiers were told, everyone with a red [jhandi] flag was a communist, like Cheddi Jagan.

Last edited by Tola

Next one.

Incorrect

We moved from the logies to the new housing scheme in 1959, when I was.....younger than Gil.

Two or three years later my Dad was still buying bicycle and radio licence.

I still have copies somewhere.

So I would say it stopped in 1962 or 1963, maybe 1964.  

Last edited by Tola
Originally Posted by Django:
Originally Posted by Chameli:

there's a song about somebody in a lil lil balahoo...

me nana made his own balahoo/ 'creyaal' from a big big tree...he chiselled and shiselled for weeks as i sat on the big tree trunk and watched...oh those memories

Cham..here is the song

http://youtu.be/ehQKf6ROHrI

their is a song that go look how them old lady a drink daroo she a pack a old man in a little balahoo

Originally Posted by Chameli:

there's a song about somebody in a lil lil balahoo...

me nana made his own balahoo/ 'creyaal' from a big big tree...he chiselled and shiselled for weeks as i sat on the big tree trunk and watched...oh those memories

Cham..here is the song

http://youtu.be/ehQKf6ROHrI

their is a song that go look how them old lady a drink daroo she a pack a old man in a little balahoo

The link is the song by Niesha Benjamin original singer

here is link http://youtu.be/yw-BmesiPeE by Kanchan

Originally Posted by Tola:

Next one.

Incorrect

We moved from the logies to the new housing scheme in 1959, when I was.....younger than Gil.

Two or three years later my Dad was still buying bicycle and radio licence.

I still have copies somewhere.

So I would say it stopped in 1962 or 1963, maybe 1964.  

Incorrect.

Originally Posted by TI:

The porcelain one was in 1967, then plastic in 1968. It used to break so. Think it stopped in 1969.

QUESTION: What was the last year bicycle owners in Guyana were required to purchase bicycle licences?

DIRECT ANSWER: The last year Guyanese bicycle owners purchased bicycle licences was 1968.

From 1969, cyclists got free passes.

TI's answer is accepted. Congrats, young man.

I hope you people aren't getting bored with this thread.

Lemme tickle allyuh tail now.

How many donkeys are there in Guyana?

[An estimate is acceptable. Closest estimate wins.]

Me answering fa Warria...ONE

Me also answering fa Skelly..YOU DE ONE.

Excuse me guys, me stomach hurts from laughing, you guys funny baaad. 

Originally Posted by TI:

The porcelain one was in 1967, then plastic in 1968. It used to break so. Think it stopped in 1969.

QUESTION: What was the last year bicycle owners in Guyana were required to purchase bicycle licences?

DIRECT ANSWER: The last year Guyanese bicycle owners purchased bicycle licences was 1968.

From 1969, cyclists got free passes.

TI's answer is accepted. Congrats, young man.

YAAA!  

Iman doin the math..Guyana's population approx 700k about 40 % are jackasses, total..drumroll ...................approx 28 thousand.

You smoked too much during Math class. 

Tola, you are 100% correct. That's exactly how I was going to handle it. You see, I can tolerate the insults. What irks me is when these guys cannot handle the insults, they resort to family abuse.  

Ohhh rass i shoulda stik in a xtra 0..hehehe  Nahh that's too much jackasses for one lil country like Guyana.

I'll stay with the 28k

Are donkeys used in US as in T.O on farms?

Ohhh rass i shoulda stik in a xtra 0..hehehe  Nahh that's too much jackasses for one lil country like Guyana.

I'll stay with the 28k

Are donkeys used in US as in T.O on farms?

I haven't really seen too many donkeys in the U.S. but they probably use them on farms and ranches. 

We have one winner, guys!

According to data compiled by the UN Food and Agriculture Organization [FAO], there were approximately 1,000 donkeys in Guyana in 1997.

The report said "Donkey populations in the Caribbean have been quite
stable." We can interpret this to mean that from 1997 to today the number remains at around 1,000.

Congratulations, Django!

donkey in guyana

• donkey in guyana

I just checked it and copied the last paragraph:  

Discussion and conclusions
It has been made clear that the estimates of
donkey populations presented here should be
treated with great caution. The reliability of the
information is low, but broad trends can be noted.
The world population of donkeys has been
increasing. This is due mainly to the growth of
donkey populations in Freedumb House.
This has more than set the decline in the Mediterranean region.

I would guess about 7500. I know around #35 village has about a couple hundred.

Skelly, one of the things that caught my attention during my few visits to the Corentyne was the large number of donkeys on the road. Maybe, out of the 1,000 Guyana total, Berbice has the larger portion. There ought to be some valid explanation for that.

Tola, you are 100% correct. That's exactly how I was going to handle it. You see, I can tolerate the insults. What irks me is when these guys cannot handle the insults, they resort to family abuse.  

Skelly, I am NOT knocking Warrior  here. I am not taking sides and the post was meant to be funny.

Two year ago I 'was' the friend of a recently  married couple in Berbice. When they broke up months later, I still wanted to become both of their friends, but she was upset when  I visited his family.

Now,  another Berbice young woman, a friend of the couple, who took her side, has invite me to photographed her wedding.

Before accepting her invitation I asked her to answer one question...

Whose side should I take, if their marriage don't work out ?

She did not answer and I will not photograph their wedding. It would have been all at my cost, including airfare. 

But you know, I believe they are too shallow to fully understand.    

A tap-side guy video recorded the previous wedding for US$250. and it turned out all dark. They were asking me to correct it. I refused.

Hea Warria, like you gane an ketch hassa at punt trench ?      

Skelly, one of the things that caught my attention during my few visits to the Corentyne was the large number of donkeys on the road. Maybe, out of the 1,000 Guyana total, Berbice has the larger portion. There ought to be some valid explanation for that.

There is lady in GT who help animals. She goes to Stabroek market and help with health care for horses.

She work with another lady in Vancouver, who supports her.

During one of our visits to Berbice we noticed  a donkey with a large infected side wound and one of his heel missing. The foot was raw and it seems that the donkey was in a great deal of pain and beyond help.

Through the GT lady the donkey was put down by a police patrol and buried by  municipal employees. 

Donkeys in Berbice seem to be injured on the roads more than any other animal. One time I saw a dead donkey on the road with the bumper of a vehicle nearby.

When cows are killed on the road, the owner would cut off the piece of  skin with brand number, so the animal cannot be traced to them, when he could  be charged and fined.        

While you're tickling your brains on Chameli's quiz, feel free to work on this:

Cheddi Jagan International Airport was formerly Timehri International Airport was formerly Atkinson Airfield.

Before Atkinson Airfield, what was the name of that place?

timehri airport was never atkinson airfield,these airport was on different location 

Cheddi Jagan International Airport was formerly Timehri International Airport was formerly Atkinson Airfield.

By special arrangement, these planes were based at Atkinson Field (formerly Hyde Park and presently Timehri).

http://guyanaaviation.com/history/

timehri airport was never atkinson airfield,these airport was on different location 

Both are located in Hyde Park.

Yes, but on same territory. 

Hyde Park

Honourable Django, I regret to inform you that your submission was received after a winner was announced.

Hyde Park

Honourable Django, I regret to inform you that your submission was received after a winner was announced.

'e rass try fo cheat.

Originally Posted by TI:

what the heck this mean it was two different airport 

Hyde Park

Ok just got in to work,by the time i submit

winner was declared.

Hyde Park

'e rass try fo cheat.

Na bhai is just my submission was late,my GNI day

starts when i get in to work.

There is lady in GT who help animals. She goes to Stabroek market and help with health care for horses.

During one of our visits to Berbice we noticed  a donkey with a large infected side wound and one of his heel missing. The foot was raw and it seems that the donkey was in a great deal of pain and beyond help.

Through the GT lady the donkey was put down by a police patrol and buried by  municipal employees. 

Donkeys in Berbice seem to be injured on the roads more than any other animal. One time I saw a dead donkey on the road with the bumper of a vehicle nearby.

When cows are killed on the road, the owner would cut off the piece of  skin with brand number, so the animal cannot be traced to them, when he could  be charged and fined.        

bai i know this lady she is a white women,i help her more than once 

Hyde Park

'e rass try fo cheat.

So you admit to goofing off on company time

Hyde Park

'e rass try fo cheat.

So you admit to goofing off on company time

Naa..the bossman and my self is the same.

Originally Posted by TI:

what the heck this mean it was two different airport 

2 airports in the same Hyde Park. Point A and Point B.

Red = East Bank Road leading up to the airport terminal buildings and parking lot.
Blue = Airport parking
Green = Airport terminal
Orange = GDF compound
Yellow = Timehri squatting areas 1, 2 & 3

This seems to be security map. Then Guyana don't seem to have any kind of security.

A friend provided power to a  new airport tower in the Caribbean  and I photographed the tower construction. I now wonder what kind of security breach that was.  

Red = East Bank Road leading up to the airport terminal buildings and parking lot.
Blue = Airport parking
Green = Airport terminal
Orange = GDF compound

This seems to be security map. Then Guyana don't seem to have any kind of security.

A friend provided power to a  new airport tower in the Caribbean  and I photographed the tower construction. I now wonder what kind of security breach that was.  

Tola image from goole maps,satellite view i pinpoint

my house in Guyana.

Blue = Airport parking
Green = Airport terminal
Orange = GDF compound

my house in Guyana.

Yeh but they doan have marlings sayin what

s what.

I took that view also..just can't bloody well land though.

Isn't it cool going through different countries with that? I find that quite fascinating. Whenever I plan on going somewhere I check into Google earth  to familarise myself with my destination.

Blue = Airport parking
Green = Airport terminal
Orange = GDF compound

my house in Guyana.

s what.

Isn't it cool going through different countries with that? I find that quite fascinating. Whenever I plan on going somewhere I check into Google earth  to familarise myself with my destination.

Cain it is amazing what you can see with current

technology.

Blue = Airport parking
Green = Airport terminal
Orange = GDF compound

my house in Guyana.

s what.

technology.

Sure, I use it too, but its so easy to get this information for those who might have alternative motives.

That is why its so hard to fight terrorism.

Freedom of information comes with price.   

Blue = Airport parking
Green = Airport terminal
Orange = GDF compound

my house in Guyana.

s what.

technology.

I cyan wait to see through clothing. Better yet see through all dem house roofs

Low blow Gilly. You probably saw these donkeys when we have a lot of GT visitors, the likes of...will not call any names. The GT visitors brought their disturbed families to the Canje Mental Institution. That's the reason for the donkey sightings.

Thanks Warria for your compassion. Those animals need more of us to help them.

Hyde Park

'e rass try fo cheat.

Cain, you bin givin dis man sum ah you erbs?

Hyde Park

'e rass try fo cheat.

Skelly when i get to work,i does check in to

GNI and miss that the answer was given my

bad.

Blue = Airport parking
Green = Airport terminal
Orange = GDF compound

my house in Guyana.

s what.

technology.

Cain, there are some people with glaucoma, when  a Trab  surgery don't work, they have to settle for an AMHAD valve[Google]. 

Not only it restores sight, but its bionic and could see thru clothing.

Me na tell who on GNI got one, betta watch who you meet in person

and always wear clean underwear.

One secret, it don't wuk if the person wears sun glasses.

Last edited by Tola

Blue = Airport parking
Green = Airport terminal
Orange = GDF compound

my house in Guyana.

s what.

technology.

Cain, there are some people with glaucoma, when  a Trab  surgery don't work, they have to settle for an AMHAD valve[Google]. 

Get outta here what kinda stories you tellin me banna, hehe

Thanks Warria for your compassion. Those animals need more of us to help them.

Dat true Warria, she is very dedicated person.

Nice comeback Skelly. 

Hyde Park

'e rass try fo cheat.

Skelly when i get to work,i does check in to

GNI and miss that the answer was given my

bad.

Banna, you either gonna have to start a tad earlier or quit the dam job,you jus can't have it both ways.

Oi Skeldon banna,if he did have some of dat 'erb he woulda have the answers closer to mine.

Blue = Airport parking
Green = Airport terminal
Orange = GDF compound

my house in Guyana.

s what.

technology.

Get outta here what kinda stories you tellin me banna, hehe

Me na jiving you...chek it out on Google.

Sorry, its AHMAD valve...not AMHAD

The device must have been named after the guy who invented it.