Originally Posted by Chameli:
Originally Posted by Tola:

I hope you people aren't getting bored with this thread.

Lemme tickle allyuh tail now.

How many donkeys are there in Guyana?

[An estimate is acceptable. Closest estimate wins.]

I would guess about 7500. I know around #35 village has about a couple hundred.

Skelly, one of the things that caught my attention during my few visits to the Corentyne was the large number of donkeys on the road. Maybe, out of the 1,000 Guyana total, Berbice has the larger portion. There ought to be some valid explanation for that.

There is lady in GT who help animals. She goes to Stabroek market and help with health care for horses.

She work with another lady in Vancouver, who supports her.

During one of our visits to Berbice we noticed  a donkey with a large infected side wound and one of his heel missing. The foot was raw and it seems that the donkey was in a great deal of pain and beyond help.

Through the GT lady the donkey was put down by a police patrol and buried by  municipal employees. 

Donkeys in Berbice seem to be injured on the roads more than any other animal. One time I saw a dead donkey on the road with the bumper of a vehicle nearby.

When cows are killed on the road, the owner would cut off the piece of  skin with brand number, so the animal cannot be traced to them, when he could  be charged and fined.        

bai i know this lady she is a white women,i help her more than once 

Thanks Warria for your compassion. Those animals need more of us to help them.

one of Hubby's philanthropist friend here in TO does give an annual donation of 25K to the donkey sanctuary in Ontario!!!

Oi Cham, tell the banna you know a jackass named Cain and get some a dat for me too nuh. I'll tek bein called jackass for 25K. I'll even share some with you.

On a serious note, that's really nice of him.

Alright, let's move on.

In 1969 a Transport and Harbours Department ferryboat collided with a barge and sank off Windsor Forest, West Demerara. What was the name of that T&HD vessel?

Wha rass you asking me fa, I wasn't even there.

Actually, it was Russian freighter Sergey Yesenin running into  BC ferry Queen of Victoria and the actual date was Aug 2,1970, in Active Pass.  

Last edited by Tola

What makes this February more special

In Guyana or generally?

Valentine's Day comes readily to mind, then Mashramani.

maybe GillySah or Django can say if this is true...search it up dudes

feb

This is interesting. I didn't give thought to that angle although I noted that February started last Sunday, the first day of the week. Thanks for tickling my brain.

Alright, let's move on.

In 1969 a Transport and Harbours Department ferryboat collided with a barge and sank off Windsor Forest, West Demerara. What was the name of that T&HD vessel?

The deadline for submitting answers is noon today. You may give more than one answer.

Eluza or Canje Pheasant.

Originally Posted by Mars:

Alright, let's move on.

The deadline for submitting answers is noon today. You may give more than one answer.

Eluza or Canje Pheasant.

Both incorrect.

On February 22, 1969, the mv POWIS hit a sunken barge off the coast of Windsor Forest, WCD. The impact produced a big gash on its hull and it sank two days later.

Attempts to salvage the vessel, even with technical help from the US Navy, proved futile.

The T&HD boat, named after a big bird in Guyana, was only 13 years old when it sank.

The mv POWIS plied the Georgetown-Bartica route.

It is commemmorated on a Guyana postage stamp.

http://thumbs1.ebaystatic.com/d/l225/m/mv6MuSjLLzYyrHOSUKTXTgw.jpg

Rub some Limacol if yuh all head hurting wid the last quiz.

Here is another.

This object is a notable landmark in Guyana. What is it and where is it?

http://mw2.google.com/mw-panoramio/photos/medium/37108014.jpg

Christianburg Water Wheel. Installed in 1855 to facilitate the operations of a saw mill owned and operated by John Dalgleish Patterson.

CORRECT ANSWER.

Congrats again, Django!

Here is another.

Christianburg Water Wheel. Installed in 1855 to facilitate the operations of a saw mill owned and operated by John Dalgleish Patterson.

CORRECT ANSWER.

Congrats again, Django!

Why you treatin me so Gilly? Fus you con me wit a ballahoo wrong up question now when I answer this one you giving it to Django. No respect I tell yuh

Here is another.

CORRECT ANSWER.

Congrats again, Django!

Gilly sorry bro take that credit back,Mars give the answer.

Here is another.

CORRECT ANSWER, MARS.

My apology to you for the error. I really can't explain how Django slipped in. Promise to be careful next time.

Congratulations twice!!

The QuizMaster has made some careless slips lately. He is ready to step cautiously now. Here we go again:

Vancouver Island in Canada was a British colony in its own right in the 19th century. One of its governors was born in Demerara. What is his name?

It looks like the ferry story refresh your memory.

I am not going to answer.

The QuizMaster has made some careless slips lately. He is ready to step cautiously now. Here we go again:

Vancouver Island in Canada was a British colony in its own right in the 19th century. One of its governors was born in Demerara. What is his name?

He was not the FIRST governor of Vancouver Island, but FIRST governor of all of BC.

Born at Mahaica where a full size statue of him exist near the bridge and another at Fort Langley in BC. 

He was not the FIRST governor of Vancouver Island, but FIRST governor of all of BC.

Born at Mahaica where a full size statue of him exist near the bridge and another at Fort Langley in BC. 

No, Tola, I didn't say FIRST governor.

Originally Posted by Django:

Anthony Meertens

BINGO!

Congratulations, Mars....I mean Django.

Antony Meertens was governor from March 1802 to September 1803 when the big bad British warship landed in Georgetown and every Dutchman scatter.

BTW, as a journalist I met and interviewed Antony Meertens' great great great great grandson Benjamin Meertens at his Soesdyke home in 1993. He showed me documents to prove his lineage.

And, yes, the governor's first name is Antony, without an "h".

Who was the first foreigner to become Honorary Citizen of Canada?

Raoul Wallenberg (first technically, a Posthumous awardee)

Nelson Mandela (second technically though first as he was the first living recipient)

It is the first living recipient I mean. So, Nelson Mandela is the answer.

Congratulations, and thanks a lot for giving the name of the dead recipient too.

Who was the first foreigner to become Honorary Citizen of Canada?

Raoul Wallenberg (first technically, a Posthumous awardee)

Nelson Mandela (second technically though first as he was the first living recipient)

It is the first living recipient I mean. So, Nelson Mandela is the answer.

Congratulations, and thanks a lot for giving the name of the dead recipient too.

Another bit of interesting info along those lines...Sir Winston Churchill was made an Honorary Citizen of the U.S. even though his mother was an American, so he was kind of an American in a way.

This fruit is sold in some markets in Guyana. What is its correct name?

http://www.sweetadditions.net/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/red-bananas_3.jpg

Musa acuminata  (Red banana) called (Buck banana) in Guyana

Red banana is correct. In Australia it's called red Dacca banana.

According to Wikipedia, the first bananas to appear on the market in Toronto [1870s-1880s] were red bananas.

Parika market sells red bananas along with a puny yellow variety called fig bananas. Small and sweet.

Congratulations!!

This fruit is sold in some markets in Guyana. What is its correct name?

http://www.sweetadditions.net/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/red-bananas_3.jpg

Musa acuminata  (Red banana) called (Buck banana) in Guyana

Red banana is correct. In Australia it's called red Dacca banana.

According to Wikipedia, the first bananas to appear on the market in Toronto [1870s-1880s] were red bananas.

Parika market sells red bananas along with a puny yellow variety called fig bananas. Small and sweet.

Congratulations!!

most people called it sweet fig

OK, Cain, your turn to shine.

What is the correct English name for this variety of mango?

Buxton spice or black spice?

Skelly you blew Cane bubble, now he gun cry all weekend wid he 'erb.

He used to eat dis mango all de time and wipe he mouth pan he sleeve.  

Is Buxton Spice and Black Spice two different mango ?

Last edited by Tola

That's what I was told at the market. Cain from GT side. What do they know about mango, jamoon, monkey apple etc.? They eat the mangoes. You think they can tell a long mango from a black spice, a buxton or a wata spice mango?

Noooo