Sangeet mahal? Was this Ishri Singh's program? He had a strong and resonant voice. Those were wonderful and vibrant wedding songs. I used to enjoy them while the weddings were taking place all around me, admiring the cricketers in their white uniforms in the ball field next door, and ironing my siblings' school clothes. 

Namaste, Bhai aur Babhi

[Translation for Mars & Cain: Hello, brother and sister]

Today is Arrival Day aka Indian Immigration Day in Guyana, so our theme is Indian.

Up to the late 1970s-early '80s, on Sundays after lunch, Radio Demerara hosted a live 30-minute show featuring Bollywood songs. Name that programme.

Aap Ki Khushi

Originally Posted by Observer:

Sangeet mahal? Was this Ishri Singh's program? He had a strong and resonant voice. Those were wonderful and vibrant wedding songs. I used to enjoy them while the weddings were taking place all around me, admiring the cricketers in their white uniforms in the ball field next door, and ironing my siblings' school clothes. 

Sorry, I'm not accepting answers in the from of questions. Gilbakka is not Alex Trebek.

Originally Posted by Riya:

Namaste, Bhai aur Babhi

[Translation for Mars & Cain: Hello, brother and sister]

Today is Arrival Day aka Indian Immigration Day in Guyana, so our theme is Indian.

Up to the late 1970s-early '80s, on Sundays after lunch, Radio Demerara hosted a live 30-minute show featuring Bollywood songs. Name that programme.

Aap Ki Khushi

Wrong. Ditto for your other answers.

* Lemme see if my Guyana connection is right again.

* The program was Indian Melody Time.

Wrong. What does a DIRTY INDIAN know about music?

PAGING GILBAKKA:

* The Rev wishes to challenge your answer to the Sunday radio programme.

* I took a look at the Radio Demerara sunday schedule in the 1970s and 80s---see link(History of Radio in British Guiana):

http://r.search.yahoo.com/_ylt...EpcROTwTvXPTl3n1Jn0U-

* These were the Indian programmes on schedule:

1:30 Indian Melody Time

2.00 East Meets West in Music

2:30 Local Indian performers

3.30 Aap Ki Kushi

* I know your question said "live 30-minute show featuring Bollwood songs."

* Local Indian performer did feature local artiste performing Bollywood songs---but that show was not live----it was taped.

BOTTOM LINE:

* The first show after lunch on Sundays feating Bollwood songs was Indian Melody Time.

* I think you pulled a fast one on the Rev gilly. That's OK! I know you are not a fan of my politics---so you penalized my answer.hahaha

PAGING GILBAKKA:

* The Rev wishes to challenge your answer to the Sunday radio programme.

* I took a look at the Radio Demerara sunday schedule in the 1970s and 80s---see link(History of Radio in British Guiana):

http://r.search.yahoo.com/_ylt...EpcROTwTvXPTl3n1Jn0U-

* These were the Indian programmes on schedule:

1:30 Indian Melody Time

2.00 East Meets West in Music

2:30 Local Indian performers

3.30 Aap Ki Kushi

* I know your question said "live 30-minute show featuring Bollwood songs."

* Local Indian performer did feature local artiste performing Bollywood songs---but that show was not live----it was taped.

BOTTOM LINE:

* The first show after lunch on Sundays feating Bollwood songs was Indian Melody Time.

* I think you pulled a fast one on the Rev gilly. That's OK! I know you are not a fan of my politics---so you penalized my answer.hahaha

Rev, I want to assure you that I Gilbakka personally attended three [3] live LOCAL INDIAN PERFORMERS shows in 1976 that were hosted by Pradeep Kumar. Gilbakka didn't sing. He just accompanied his girlfriend whose friends performed on the shows.

You're right about the time, 2:3O for one hour.

Rev, I want to assure you that I Gilbakka personally attended three [3] live LOCAL INDIAN PERFORMERS shows in 1976 that were hosted by Pradeep Kumar. Gilbakka didn't sing. He just accompanied his girlfriend whose friends performed on the shows.

You're right about the time, 2:3O for one hour.

Gilbakka:

* Your question therefore was misleading.

* It said "live 30 minute show" after lunch---Indian Melody Time was a 30 minute show(1.30-2.00); Local Indian performer was NOT a 30 minute show.

* Oh well! The Rev just pulling your strings. Keep posting questions. This is a remarkable thread. I've learned a lot.

Originally Posted by Anjali:

On Saturday afternoons, 6PM I think, there was also a 30-minute programme featuring local Indian singers. Name that programme.

Indian Talent on Parade

No.

One clue: mostly middle-aged men and women sang on that show.

Ok Geet Nirala.

Exactly. You had some old folks belting out long forgotten tunes on Geet Nirala. I remember two performers:

[1] a woman named Pita Peyaree.

[2] a black man named Kalamadeen Harper, who I was told was related to the Harper cricketers.

Congrats!!

On Saturday afternoons, 6PM I think, there was also a 30-minute programme featuring local Indian singers. Name that programme.

Indian Talent on Parade

No.

One clue: mostly middle-aged men and women sang on that show.

Ok Geet Nirala.

Exactly. You had some old folks belting out long forgotten tunes on Geet Nirala. I remember two performers:

[1] a woman named Pita Peyaree.

[2] a black man named Kalamadeen Harper, who I was told was related to the Harper cricketers.

Congrats!!

Thank you Sir Gil

on a side note I knew it was not "Tides of Susanburg"  still on my brain.

I guess the Ishri program was called Indian Melody Time.

* Sir Gilbakka may have the answer. But wasn't it Ayube Hamid who did Indian Melody Time ?

* Eshri I believe did Aap Ki Kushi.

Rev & Observer, INDIAN MELODY TIME featured vinyl records playing Hindustani songs.

Ayube Hamid presented INDIAN MEMORY ALBUM on Monday nights, 8:30PM if I remember well. After that was Death Announcement which some families tuned in to with great expectations.

Which radio show had these words at the start of the weekly program,the name of the show was in these words?

"....Cunningly they tried...brilliantly they commit their crimes then they're trapped by, TADAAAAAAA   The Mi...... .... ....

Wah happen, is only me listen to dis here show.

It was a crime show called..The mistakes they made.

I guess the Ishri program was called Indian Melody Time.

* Sir Gilbakka may have the answer. But wasn't it Ayube Hamid who did Indian Melody Time ?

* Eshri I believe did Aap Ki Kushi.

Rev & Observer, INDIAN MELODY TIME featured vinyl records playing Hindustani songs.

Ayube Hamid presented INDIAN MEMORY ALBUM on Monday nights, 8:30PM if I remember well. After that was Death Announcement which some families tuned in to with great expectations.

So true! When visiting my grandparents we get shushed from time the death annoucement music starts

It was a creepy music

Good morning.

Let the brain teasers begin!

A school in Berbice was named after our mystery gentleman.

Our man spent a little time in South America but never set foot in Guyana.

Tomorrow will mark the gentleman's 154th birthday.

Name that man and the Berbice school.

* The man was Rabindranath Tagore, born May 7th 1861 and the high school was Tagore Memorial Secondary school.

Good morning.

Let the brain teasers begin!

A school in Berbice was named after our mystery gentleman.

Our man spent a little time in South America but never set foot in Guyana.

Tomorrow will mark the gentleman's 154th birthday.

Name that man and the Berbice school.

* The man was Rabindranath Tagore, born May 7th 1861 and the high school was Tagore Memorial Secondary school.

Calling Django. Come back to the class and sit next to Rev.

You have the correct answer, Rev.

Rabindranath Tagore visited Peru and Argentina in 1924 and didn't booncse on Berbice, but dem Berbicians named a high school after him.

Congrats!!

Originally Posted by Django:

Calling all Berbicians need a school name,

i am from Demerara so i opt out,i have no

answer.

Speak de God's truth. You is anti-Berbice.

Was he a GT choke and rob man?  Sorry Django. Did you know Warria then? 

Na bhai i am from the beautiful village of Hague WCD.