Originally Posted by Tola:

OK, Cain, your turn to shine.

What is the correct English name for this variety of mango?

Buxton spice or black spice?

Skelly you blew Cane bubble, now he gun cry all weekend wid he 'erb.

He used to eat dis mango all de time and wipe he mouth pan he sleeve.  

Is Buxton Spice and Black Spice two different mango ?

That's what I was told at the market. Cain from GT side. What do they know about mango, jamoon, monkey apple etc.? They eat the mangoes. You think they can tell a long mango from a black spice, a buxton or a wata spice mango?

Noooo

We had Monkey apple but I never liked it. Five finger, banana, calaloooooo, karila, Breadfruit and some psydium (my fav)

We had monkey, sloth for a lil while,ducks,dogs and cats and nuff nuff mad family.

Originally Posted by Django:

Mangifera foetida also called horse mango

Horse Mango. That's it. Congrats!!

Mangifera foetida !! 

Okay Django, wha rass dis, you tink abee fall of ah mango cart yesterday, eh !! 

But me did once when our dankey Chuchill, was bucking from bees bite. [Churchill, Named by my brothers, after Britain's best, due to Guyana struggle for independence. Dem British soldiers nevva like de name].

Most ah me young life I spent with me mother at our farm and market selling mangoes, me nevva hear ah horse mango.  Dankey mango yes, but nevva horse mango.

Like you dea pan de same site as Gil, wid dem questions. [Like I did wid some ah he earlier questions], but me honest now and keep losing.

Cain, you tink dem baie ah jive abee ?

OK, Cain, your turn to shine.

What is the correct English name for this variety of mango?

Buxton spice or black spice?

Skelly you blew Cane bubble, now he gun cry all weekend wid he 'erb.

He used to eat dis mango all de time and wipe he mouth pan he sleeve.  

Is Buxton Spice and Black Spice two different mango ?

That's what I was told at the market. Cain from GT side. What do they know about mango, jamoon, monkey apple etc.? They eat the mangoes. You think they can tell a long mango from a black spice, a buxton or a wata spice mango?

Noooo

We had Monkey apple but I never liked it. Five finger, banana, calaloooooo, karila, Breadfruit and some psydium (my fav)

We had monkey, sloth for a lil while,ducks,dogs and cats and nuff nuff mad family.

Cain, me know some Georgetown/NY people who also know dem  fruits good.

Five finga...when me tell dem Guyana market women one hea sell for $2.99, which is GY$600, dem say me crazy. One guy want to bring a bag full  to sell hea. One passion fruit $4.99.

In Tortola, BVI all de chickens belong to everyone. If it lay in you yard, its your eggs.

But dem Guyanese baie spoil lt  fa everyone, catching lots for BBQ to sell.       

Last edited by Tola

Mangifera foetida also called horse mango

Horse Mango. That's it. Congrats!!

Mangifera foetida !! 

Okay Django, wha rass dis, you tink abee fall of ah mango cart yesterday, eh !! 

But me did once when our dankey Chuchill, was bucking from bees bite. [Churchill, Named by my brothers, after Britain's best, due to Guyana struggle for independence. Dem British soldiers nevva like de name].

Most ah me young life I spent with me mother at our farm and market selling mangoes, me nevva hear ah horse mango.  Dankey mango yes, but nevva horse mango.

Like you dea pan de same site as Gil, wid dem questions. [Like I did wid some ah he earlier questions], but me honest now and keep losing.

Cain, you tink dem baie ah jive abee ?

Tola na bhai,Gil giving some hard questions

i know a trick to find the source for the answer

both of us are tech one was telephone the other

consumer and computer,i can give you tip

how to get the source,sharing knowledge

makes the world a better place.

http://youtu.be/JFQqCgfHpGs

is this song from the movie ???

Nice song Djanga...

I was roaming de South Pacific and Asia in 1972 when Trudeau enacted the warm measures act in Canada, but me guess the movie was  'The right and the wrong', and  me think it was 1973.

Remeba, me na check computa like Django, me living a  honest life now.

Cane whea you dea Bro ? Like you rass sleepin in wid too much 'erbs. 

Me gane to  Canada Winter Games business today, photo-shoot and Media/Broadcast. 

Gil maybe some questions about current affairs, abee na old like you.   

Operation Makanaima

Wrong spelling but right answer.

Operation Makonaima.

Gilbakka attended the premiere show.

Prime Minister Forbes Burnham was there with his tub of Players cigarettes.

The Indian actor Dev Kumar was there. He played a role in the movie.

Congratulations!!

Quamina Farrier did the script for a Surinamese produced movie,

β€˜Operation Makanaima’.
It featured Guyanese Mark Matthews, Dick La Borde and Malcolm Panday.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....eeks-special-person/

Operation Makanaima

Operation Makonaima.

Congratulations!!

β€˜Operation Makanaima’.

The Kaieteur News reporter spelled that word incorrectly.

I've always been careful about spelling words correctly, from primary school days.

To confirm the correct spelling, check the International Movie DataBase entry below. Also, note that Operation Makonaima premiered in Holland two years after its Guyana premiere.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0950707/

The producer was a Surinamese, but most of the cast were Guyanese. Farrier's script was based on A.J. Seymour's poem The Legend of Kaieteur.

Operation Makanaima

Operation Makonaima.

Congratulations!!

β€˜Operation Makanaima’.

The Kaieteur News reporter spelled that word incorrectly.

I've always been careful about spelling words correctly, from primary school days.

To confirm the correct spelling, check the International Movie DataBase entry below. Also, note that Operation Makonaima premiered in Holland two years after its Guyana premiere.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0950707/

Gil i know the spelling is not correct,my post was

about one of Guyana great writer Quamina Farrier.

Operation Makanaima

Operation Makonaima.

Congratulations!!

I actually had a part in that movie. Malcolm pulled me in and I had a couple of fight scenes, and a bar scene at Pegasus with a young lady.

It did make me popular with girls I must admit.

Is why the rass This Tola callina and trying to wake me. I been up all along now waiting for my massage..Aouuuuwwwww!!!

Massage feel good eh.

Was it a big bubby Russian woman ? 

Me still thinking of the big bubby black woman  in Savannah, Georgia, dat like me black hair.

De only time me had to jump through a window. 

Is why the rass This Tola callina and trying to wake me. I been up all along now waiting for my massage..Aouuuuwwwww!!!

Massage feel good eh.

Me still thinking of the big bubby black woman  in Savannah, Georgia, dat like me black hair.

Yesssssss!!!!Feeling much better now.

Yes Tola was Russian not that BIG up though. Banna if I had to jump out my own window..I got 12 floors to change my mind..just before i hit.

Massage feel good eh.

Yesssssss!!!!Feeling much better now.

Yes Tola was Russian not that BIG up though. Banna if I had to jump out my own window..I got 12 floors to change my mind..just before i hit.

Its like dis pool in Northern Uganda. Someone painted a large alligator with a red shirt in its mouth, at the bottom of the pool.

I can see someone in mid dive, noticing it, cant turn back and having a heart attack.   

The building in photo was a landmark in Georgetown. What was it and where was it located?

gt club

Georgetown Club on Camp Street

Django, I will give you one-third of a point.

That building was officially called The Assembly Rooms.

It housed the Georgetown Club.

It was not on Camp Street.

It stood on the exact same spot where Bank of Guyana is now.

It was destroyed by the Great Fire of 1945.

The Assembly Rooms was the national cultural centre of that era. Mostly big shots attended its concerts, plays, vaudeville shows, balls, etc.

The building in photo was a landmark in Georgetown. What was it and where was it located?

gt club

Georgetown Club on Camp Street

Django, I will give you one-third of a point.

That building was officially called The Assembly Rooms.

It housed the Georgetown Club.

It was not on Camp Street.

It stood on the exact same spot where Bank of Guyana is now.

It was destroyed by the Great Fire of 1945.

The Assembly Rooms was the national cultural centre of that era. Mostly big shots attended its concerts, plays, vaudeville shows, balls, etc.

Well i got tricked

This building was another landmark in Georgetown.

What was it and where was it located?

burnham

British Guiana Bank,location i dunno

You have earned a half point.

The British Guiana Bank stood at the corner of Water & Robb Streets, Georgetown.

It later became the Royal Bank of Canada and is today called Republic Bank.

burnham

The British Guiana Bank stood at the corner of Water & Robb Streets, Georgetown.

was Oasis the restaurant in this building 

burnham

was Oasis the restaurant in this building 

Oasis was at the corner of Robb & King Streets. After Oasis, going west, is the bank.

Gil.. can anyone post a question

you started the thread,just asking.

Django, while it's true that I started this thread, I cannot spend all day on GNI. I have other, more important interests to attend to.

So, to answer your question, anyone can ask questions or set a quiz.

How many warships was in the vast British armada that invaded and seized control of the Colony of Berbice from the Dutch?

Was actually seven British guys in a dinghy.

It was actually 1 British ship

Guyana was conquered by 1 British ship

One British ship took control of Demerara and Essequibo too, in 1803.

How many warships was in the vast British armada that invaded and seized control of the Colony of Berbice from the Dutch?

Was actually seven British guys in a dinghy.

It was actually 1 British ship

Guyana was conquered by 1 British ship

One British ship took control of Demerara and Essequibo too, in 1803.

In Berbice, Governor von Battenburgh sent a British national to negotiate with the British Navy on behalf of the Dutch. Not surprisingly, he negotiated a full and complete surrender

Interestingly enough, Governor von Battenburgh was allowed to keep his job except that he was now styled "His Brittanic Majesty's Governor" now

Guyanese were sellouts from Day 1!

Time up.

A long time ago a sloop named Dauntless  ran aground off the eastern shore of Leguan. It was abandoned there. Over time silt built up around and on top the Dauntless and an island was formed. Seeds from bird droppings and from flotsam washed up on the island and trees grew up to a height of 30-40 feet. Tides deposited more silt and the island expanded until it eventually merged with Leguan.

That island was called Dauntless, which is now an integral part of Leguan.

Dauntless is now like a forest. Look at this map, the green triangular end on the right side of Leguan.

dauntless

• dauntless