Time up.

A long time ago a sloop named Dauntless  ran aground off the eastern shore of Leguan. It was abandoned there. Over time silt built up around and on top the Dauntless and an island was formed. Seeds from bird droppings and from flotsam washed up on the island and trees grew up to a height of 30-40 feet. Tides deposited more silt and the island expanded until it eventually merged with Leguan.

That island was called Dauntless, which is now an integral part of Leguan.

Dauntless is now like a forest. Look at this map, the green triangular end on the right side of Leguan.

dauntless

Good one Gil,i forget all about Dauntless

Originally Posted by Django:
Originally Posted by ball:

Ok what is the name of the arch at # 74 village

I know I know,me,me,me,me. I know....Da ting across de road.

Is joke I joking but seriously is, the #74 arch.

Who build the arch Burnham????

there is one at Brickdam built to commemorate

Guyana independence.

True dat! That's a nice arch banna.

Originally Posted by ball:

Ok what is the name of the arch at # 74 village

I know I know,me,me,me,me. I know....Da ting across de road.

Is joke I joking but seriously is, the #74 arch.

Who build the arch Burnham????

there is one at Brickdam built to commemorate

Guyana independence.

there is one by alexander village  going up the east bank

Which House of the Guyana Parliament does not exist anymore?

And who was its last surviving member until she died recently?

The Senate or Upper House.

Christina Ramjattan.

Absolutely correct. Guyana briefly had a Senate.

I confess I did know that Cristina Ramjattan was the last member. I yield to your superior knowledge of the matter as I thought Janet Jagan was the last surviving member of this short lived body.

Christina Ramjattan.

I confess I did know that Cristina Ramjattan was the last member. I yield to your superior knowledge of the matter as I thought Janet Jagan was the last surviving member of this short lived body.

Christina and I were members of the G/town PPP group. She was a Freedom House receptionist for many years.

http://www.horizonsguyana.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Christina-01.png

There are two creeks that separate the

three counties Essequibo,Demerara and

Berbice,what are their names.

Boeraserie creek separates Essequibo and Demerara.

Abary creek separates Demerara and Berbice.

Rass Gil, you mess me up bad hea.

I was going to answa dat one...but I was in de bathroom.

Recently went up  Abary, near the water reserve and koaka  to check on a house for sale.

Got a pictha of an old railway bridge, not sure if its across the Boeraserie riva.  

Originally Posted by Tola:

Recently went up  Abary, near the water reserve and koaka  to check on a house for sale.

Got a pictha of an old railway bridge, not sure if its across the Boeraserie riva.  

Yes, it's the Boeraserie railway bridge.

http://overtown.org.uk/guyana/images/disused-railway-bridge-l.jpg

Christina Ramjattan.

Christina and I were members of the G/town PPP group. She was a Freedom House receptionist for many years.

http://www.horizonsguyana.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Christina-01.png

I don't wanna get political but I think Indian women like Christina should be more well known. Janet Jagan wasn't the only Indian woman in all Guyanese history.

Correct Gil   Warria made an attempt

but i could not figure his spelling.

Ask a question about how come a cow has only 'three bubby' for milking and Warria gun get it quick, quick, quick....first time.

Skelly, no comment from you..

Wah kinda kanta Geyknees you be?

Yea, dat de railway bridge. I passed it recently on our way to Parika back dam farm.

The railway was a fun and efficient  thing, why dem  stop it ?

I was not able to sleep the night before, when I went with my Dad to  cross the Berbice river and  went on the train to GT. First stop was de wata cow in the botanical garden to feed dem grass.

That was so long ago and old man Tola is resting in his grave.    

Wah kinda kanta Geyknees you be?

Kanta Geyknees,nah bai Cain, i am Geyknees to

the bone,i ask warri correct spelling the man

seh school tour

Yea, dat de railway bridge. I passed it recently on our way to Parika back dam farm.

The railway was a fun and efficient  thing, why dem  stop it ?

I was not able to sleep the night before, when I went with my Dad to  cross the Berbice river and  went on the train to GT. First stop was de wata cow in the botanical garden to feed dem grass.

That was so long ago and old man Tola is resting in his grave.    

Kabaka scrap it,me thinks was a stupid move.

Originally Posted by Jungle Girl:

okay here is one how much medals guyana ever win at the olympics and by whom 

Guyana won a bronze medal at the 1980 Moscow Olympics.

Michael Anthony represented Guyana in boxing bantamweight class. He got the bronze for Guyana.

His name was Michael (Anthony) PARRIS!

Thank you, JG. Much appreciated. If I win, I'll share half the prize with you.

Michael Anthony represented Guyana in boxing bantamweight class. He got the bronze for Guyana.

you win he fight out of SAVE THE CHILDREN GYM 

i was not using goggle excuse my spelling when them bais was going to school i use to chuck bird 

you win he fight out of SAVE THE CHILDREN GYM 

Great! I'm delighted. I wish to share this win with Jungle Girl. You're the best, JG!

Amarnath, a poor farmer, went to the market to sell some blackeye peas and split peas. However, as he had only one sack and didn't want to mix blackeye peas and split peas, he poured in the blackeyes first, tied the sack in the middle, and then filled the top portion of the sack with the split peas. At the market a rich goldsmith named Abdul happened by with his own sack. He wanted to buy the blackeye peas, but he did not want the split peas.
Pouring the peas anywhere else but the sacks is considered soiling. Trading sacks is not allowed. Amarnath can't cut a hole in his sack.
How would you transfer the blackeye peas to Abdul's sack, which he wants to keep, without soiling the produce?

Amarnath, a poor farmer, went to the market to sell some blackeye peas and split peas. However, as he had only one sack and didn't want to mix blackeye peas and split peas, he poured in the blackeyes first, tied the sack in the middle, and then filled the top portion of the sack with the split peas. At the market a rich goldsmith named Abdul happened by with his own sack. He wanted to buy the blackeye peas, but he did not want the split peas.
Pouring the peas anywhere else but the sacks is considered soiling. Trading sacks is not allowed. Amarnath can't cut a hole in his sack.
How would you transfer the blackeye peas to Abdul's sack, which he wants to keep, without soiling the produce?

step1..pour the split peas in Abdul sack tie off

step2..turn over Abdul sack and pour blackeye peas

step3..place Abdul sack over Amarnauth sack and

untie...split peas back in Amarnauth sack

and blackeye peas remain in Abdul sack.

step1..pour the split peas in Abdul sack tie off

step2..turn over Abdul sack and pour blackeye peas

step3..place Abdul sack over Amarnauth sack and

untie...split peas back in Amarnauth sack

and blackeye peas remain in Abdul sack.

You're the man!

Exactly.

Congratulations!

Product: Gillette Platinum Safety Razor Blades [5 count)

That answer doesn't cut it, Cain. Try again.

I remember in that era my great-grandfather stuck to his barber's shaving knife contraption.

That says a lot about the old man. He had a steady hand.

Old man was born in 1903 in the reign of King Edward VII and his pimp hand was still steady well into the 1980s. He died in the 1990s.

I was really lucky to have known someone that old in my family. He was pals with Cheddi daddy. They were like fellow drivers on Port Mourant Estate.

I remember in that era my great-grandfather stuck to his barber's shaving knife contraption.

Old man was born in 1903 in the reign of King Edward VII and his pimp hand was still steady well into the 1980s. He died in the 1990s.

I was really lucky to have known someone that old in my family. He was pals with Cheddi daddy. They were like fellow drivers on Port Mourant Estate.

Shaitaan, it looks like we are related in friendship.

My grandfather was the PM animal stable boss, later Bangaree took over and my GF was also a good friend with  Cheddi's dad.

I became close to the  family, Derek, Oudit, Doreen, Ivan, etc.  and their extended family overseas.

Were you at meetings at Cheddi's  PM bottom house in the 60s ? 

Anyone remember the old guys sharpening their razor blade on concrete ?  

Shaitaan, it looks like we are related in friendship.

My grandfather was the PM animal stable boss, later Bangaree took over and my GF was also a good friend with  Cheddi's dad.

I became close to the  family, Derek, Oudit, Doreen, Ivan, etc.  and their extended family overseas.

Were you at meetings at Cheddi's  PM bottom house in the 60s ? 

Anyone remember the old guys sharpening their razor blade on concrete ?  

I was referring to my late great-grandfather (maternal) Imam Kadir Baksh of Jama Masjid, Port Mourant. He was a driver/overseer at Port Mourant Estate when he was young. This should be around the 30s or 40s. Then he became a fairly prosperous rice farmer and merchant in the 50s and 60s. Then the dictatorship made us into successful criminals.

I don't personally recall any of this as I was born in the 80s. Did you know my great-grandfather?

I got one.

Who was technically the very last Governor-General of Guyana?

Sir David Rose.

Or, following his death on 10 Nov 1969, Edward Luckhoo.[?]

Sir Victor Edward Luckhoo

Dem finally give de wuk to wan coolie man den wuk done

His brother SIR LIONEL LUCKHOO was popular at that time  

I got one.

Sir David Rose.

A great family. It's a shame their great lineage died out.

To answer this question, female participants are allowed to ring their fathers, grandfathers, uncles or old family friends.

A popular brand of razor blades in Guyana in the 1950s thru mid-1970s had a pink-and-white wrapper with picture of a ballerina holding an umbrella. What was the brand name of that razor blade?

ANSWER:

http://images-02.delcampe-static.net/img_large/auction/000/270/533/122_001.jpg

Believe it or leave it, males in Guyana used to powder their faces. There was an English brand of men's talcum powder in stores and shops up to the early 1970s. Name that brand.

Clue: 7-letter-word.

My grandmother used to powder my face

So embarrassing

when i was growing up i use to get letters from girls and they use to put powder when they fold it

Believe it or leave it, males in Guyana used to powder their faces. There was an English brand of men's talcum powder in stores and shops up to the early 1970s. Name that brand.

Clue: 7-letter-word.

My grandmother used to powder my face

So embarrassing

when i was growing up i use to get letters from girls and they use to put powder when they fold it

I wouldn't do that now chap

You might find yourself on a terror watch list

I got one.

Sir David Rose.

Lionel found Christianity  and was on a speaking tour in Northern  Canada a few years ago. I have an audio recording of his talk somewhere.