I am glad to see Anjali back, she was away for quite sometime
Next one.
Who was the first ever Afro-Guyanese lawmaker?
ok I have 2 names:
Mr. Ashton Chase
Mr. Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham
will be bk later
No.
ok, another name: Mr. Alex Benjamin Brown.
That's right, Honourable Anjali.
In 1896, A. B. Brown became the first black legislator to be elected to the Court of Policy, as the National Assembly was then called. A. B. Brown had introduced bills on the improvement of the colony's education system. He served until 1921 and died in 1939.
Congrats!!
TRIVIA: In Guyana's National Archives you will find a newspaper article on A. B. Brown, written by yours truly Gilbakka.
Look's like National Archives need to be on
the internet,i searched google and can't find
any info.
Ok Django, will tell you how I figured out what I need to look for:
Lawmakers make law.
Laws are made in parliament/national assembly.
So therefore I need to find the first afro Guyanese parliamentarian/mp:
parliamentary tradition and ...
- Mar 13, 2009 - Frank Alston Narain was associated with Guyana's Parliament from 1851 ... J's? The first Afro-Guyanese M.P. was Alex Benjamin Brown (1891) .
Lovely parliamentary trivia β¦
Expectedly, humour, levity, even the strange and the ridiculous happened during Mr Narainβs half-century serving the Parliaments.
For example, Do you know that: the first women legislators were the PPPβs three Jβs? The first Afro-Guyanese M.P. was Alex Benjamin Brown (1891) And the first Amerindian, Stephen Campbell (1957)? The wife of a former President herself became President? The brother of an Attorney-General (PPP) became a PNC legislator? Two cousins were legislators β one PPP, one PNC.
courtesy of google and Stabroek News.
Good job... Anjali. i have a small business and advertise
on google adword,also a website which i manage, keywords
are important for your add to hit fist page,i learnt something
today(thank's to you)and figured why i could not find on google.
Good morning.
Who established the first high school that offered free tuition to Guyanese boys and girls and what was the name of that school?
Good morning.
Who established the first high school that offered free tuition to Guyanese boys and girls and what was the name of that school?
(1)J.C.Chandisingh (2) Corentyne High School
Good morning.
(1)J.C.Chandisingh (2) Corentyne High School
No.
1. Shruti Kant 2. School was GOC aka Goady Operation CenterLOL
Good morning.
Good morning .
Mr. Alfred Athiel Thorne.
The Middle School.
I am glad to see Anjali back, she was away for quite sometime
Thank you Amral, am back until I go travelling
1. Shruti Kant 2. School was GOC aka Goady Operation CenterLOL
No.
Good morning.
Good morning .
The Middle School.
Correct answer.
In 1894, Alfred A. Thorne founded The Middle School and didn't charge students any fee. According to Wikipedia, "The school broke many barriers, enrolling both boys and girls and providing tuition-free private educational opportunity to the poor and underprivileged. The private school became known for the high-quality education it provided. It was on par with Queen's College and Bishop's High School." This man deserves a monument.
Congrats!!
Good morning.
Alfred A. Thorne
The Middle School
Good going, Anjali!
I'm late for class today. I should sit at the back bench
Next quiz.
In the 1960s there was a privately run high school on Leguan Island. Name that school and its Principal.
Good morning.
Good morning .
The Middle School.
Correct answer.
In 1894, Alfred A. Thorne founded The Middle School and didn't charge students any fee. According to Wikipedia, "The school broke many barriers, enrolling both boys and girls and providing tuition-free private educational opportunity to the poor and underprivileged. The private school became known for the high-quality education it provided. It was on par with Queen's College and Bishop's High School." This man deserves a monument.
Congrats!!
Thank you Sir Gil
It was the 'on par' that makes it so interesting for a school way back then, kudos to him
* Congrats Anjali for bringing first. And to Riya for bringing second.
* Seriously I wasn't aware of The Middle School and Mr. Thorne until today. Good question by Sir Gilbakka and excellent answers by you bright, beautiful and charming ladies.
* Django bai--you and the Rev definitely not in the same league as the ladies.
* Seriously I wasn't aware of The Middle School and Mr. Thorne until today. Good question by Sir Gilbakka and excellent answers by you bright, beautiful and charming ladies.
How can you know about schools if your interest is in TitsBits?
Good going, Anjali!
Stay in the front bench and buckle up.
How can you know about schools if your interest is in TitsBits?
* Rev days for schooling done donkey years ago. My new thing is TRAVELLING---will take off soon. I see Anjali is also into travelling That's a smart and adventurous lady.
Next quiz.
In the 1960s there was a privately run high school on Leguan Island. Name that school and its Principal.
It was a muslim school 'Ahmadiyyat Jama'at'.
His name Maulana Bashir Ahmad Orchard.
Good going, Anjali!
Thanks Riya
stay in front, forget the back
Thanks Rev
Next quiz.
I'm sorry, Anjali. First time I'm learning of that school. It's not the one I'm looking for.
HINT: Think French for the school. Think sheep for the principal.
Father Shepard Anglican school
That's a primary school but you're close with the principal's name.
Next quiz.
I'm sorry, Anjali. First time I'm learning of that school. It's not the one I'm looking for.
That school got to be in _ _Bellevue Leguan.
Principal name must be _ _ Shepard
Next quiz.
That school got to be in _ _Bellevue Leguan.
Principal name must be _ _ Shepard
Okay, it's Friday and I understand you kids want your afternoon play and fun.
Here are the answers:
School: Montmartre High School
Principal: Desmond Sheppard
Next quiz.
No worries, I had to go into a meeting
alright have a good weekend all.
Good morning, friends.
I think some folks will unfriend me in Political today.
No prablem. Wha come sah do.
Let's get scratching.
A person of Chinese descent was the first top trade union leader in Guyana. What's his name?
Good morning, friends.
Let's get scratching.
A person of Chinese descent was the first top trade union leader in Guyana. What's his name?
Good morning
Theophilous Lee
Good morning, friends.
Let's get scratching.
Good morning!
Theophilus Lee
Good morning, friends.
Let's get scratching.
Good morning
Theophilous Lee
That's right. Theophilous Lee was the first President of the British Guiana Trade Union Council. He was also a legistator.
You get first prize.
Riya gets second prize.
Congrats!!
Next one.
Who was the first ever Indo-Guyanese legislator?
Next one.
Joseph Alexander Luckhoo
Good morning, friends.
Let's get scratching.
Good morning
Theophilous Lee
That's right. Theophilous Lee was the first President of the British Guiana Trade Union Council. He was also a legistator.
You get first prize.
Riya gets second prize.
Congrats!!
Thanks Sir Gil
Next one.
Joseph Alexander Luckhoo
Next one.
Joseph Alexander Luckhoo
Certainly.
J.A. Luckhoo [1887-1949] was elected to the Court of Policy in 1916.
First Prize to you.
Second Prize to Riya.
Congrats!!
J.A. Luckhoo
Next one.
Who was the first indigenous people's legislator in Guyana?
Next one.
Joseph Alexander Luckhoo
Certainly.
J.A. Luckhoo [1887-1949] was elected to the Court of Policy in 1916.
First Prize to you.
Second Prize to Riya.
Congrats!!
J.A. Luckhoo
Thanks Sir Gil very distinguished looking