Believe it or leave it, males in Guyana used to powder their faces. There was an English brand of men's talcum powder in stores and shops up to the early 1970s. Name that brand.

Clue: 7-letter-word.

My grandmother used to powder my face

So embarrassing

By the 1980s it had become embarrassing. I powdered my face up to 1984. My grandfather [village overseer] and uncles [civil servants] powdered their faces every workday morning in the 1950s and 1960s.

White talcum powder.

Believe it or leave it, males in Guyana used to powder their faces. There was an English brand of men's talcum powder in stores and shops up to the early 1970s. Name that brand.

So embarrassing

when i was growing up i use to get letters from girls and they use to put powder when they fold it

I got some of that too, with some flattened rose petals for added effect.

So embarrassing

By the 1980s it had become embarrassing. I powdered my face up to 1984. My grandfather [village overseer] and uncles [civil servants] powdered their faces every workday morning in the 1950s and 1960s.

White talcum powder.

I'm kind of an amateur "historian" and during the course of my readings I've noticed how Guyanese have managed to have absorbed a great deal of British cultural practices that have fallen into disuse in the UK.

We have some rather Victorian and Edwardian practices and dietary habits. Guyanese are a remarkable study of the processes at work of the British Empire. For a small and insignificant colony, we always had a bit role in almost all the major events, currents, and movements which drove and convulsed the Empire.

To this very day, I have a fondness for tinned meats and sardines (much to my shame)

Even though I left Guyana at age 8, I still carried a fresh hankerchief daily to school. All my American peers (especially in high school) thought this was odd. A practice I continue to this day. Never leave home without one.

Originally Posted by Tola:

Product: Gillette Platinum Safety Razor Blades [5 count)

That answer doesn't cut it, Cain. Try again.

I remember in that era my great-grandfather stuck to his barber's shaving knife contraption.

That says a lot about the old man. He had a steady hand.

Old man was born in 1903 in the reign of King Edward VII and his pimp hand was still steady well into the 1980s. He died in the 1990s.

I was really lucky to have known someone that old in my family. He was pals with Cheddi daddy. They were like fellow drivers on Port Mourant Estate.

Shaitaan, it looks like we are related in friendship.

My grandfather was the PM animal stable boss, later Bangaree took over and my GF was also a good friend with  Cheddi's dad.

I became close to the  family, Derek, Oudit, Doreen, Ivan, etc.  and their extended family overseas.

Were you at meetings at Cheddi's  PM bottom house in the 60s ? 

Anyone remember the old guys sharpening their razor blade on concrete ?  

I was referring to my late great-grandfather (maternal) Imam Kadir Baksh of Jama Masjid, Port Mourant. He was a driver/overseer at Port Mourant Estate when he was young. This should be around the 30s or 40s. Then he became a fairly prosperous rice farmer and merchant in the 50s and 60s. Then the dictatorship made us into successful criminals.

I don't personally recall any of this as I was born in the 80s. Did you know my great-grandfather?

I am talking about the 40s when my GF and Imam Kadir was at the Bangaree house at Free Yard PM, near ni**er yard.

They all hang out with Tallim Baksh who had a store where Spready's now exist at PM.

My mother and Bangaree wife were sisters. In my younger years  I hang out a lot at PM. My mother and others were born at PM and went to school with Cheddi.  

I had a late  Albion school Muslim friend who lived at PM and  thru him I knew other people from the Masjid. Most now living in TO and NY.   

So embarrassing

White talcum powder.

I'm kind of an amateur "historian" and during the course of my readings I've noticed how Guyanese have managed to have absorbed a great deal of British cultural practices that have fallen into disuse in the UK.

We have some rather Victorian and Edwardian practices and dietary habits. Guyanese are a remarkable study of the processes at work of the British Empire. For a small and insignificant colony, we always had a bit role in almost all the major events, currents, and movements which drove and convulsed the Empire.

To this very day, I have a fondness for tinned meats and sardines (much to my shame)

Even though I left Guyana at age 8, I still carried a fresh hankerchief daily to school. All my American peers (especially in high school) thought this was odd. A practice I continue to this day. Never leave home without one.

I use handkerchiefs up to now too.

So embarrassing

White talcum powder.

my dad did too

He even used it on his chest lol. He said it worked to keep him dry

Originally Posted by Riya:

Yardley?

Yardley for sure. It's still on the market. Amazon.com sells Yardley.

Congratulations!!

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/61EJ7O822PL._SY355_.jpg

So embarrassing

White talcum powder.

I must be really really Guyanese because I made my American fiancee baigan choka and corned beef. First thing I ever cooked for her. She thinks Guyanese are a very colonial people and always laughs at how proud we are of anything and everything (I brag of all things Guyanese)

So embarrassing

White talcum powder.

my dad did too

I'm guessing your dad used Yardley.

Yardley?

Congratulations!!

nice!

Years ago I use to get the Yardley Lavender scented bathsoaps. I liked it.

I remember in that era my great-grandfather stuck to his barber's shaving knife contraption.

Old man was born in 1903 in the reign of King Edward VII and his pimp hand was still steady well into the 1980s. He died in the 1990s.

I was really lucky to have known someone that old in my family. He was pals with Cheddi daddy. They were like fellow drivers on Port Mourant Estate.

My grandfather was the PM animal stable boss, later Bangaree took over and my GF was also a good friend with  Cheddi's dad.

I became close to the  family, Derek, Oudit, Doreen, Ivan, etc.  and their extended family overseas.

I was referring to my late great-grandfather (maternal) Imam Kadir Baksh of Jama Masjid, Port Mourant. He was a driver/overseer at Port Mourant Estate when he was young. This should be around the 30s or 40s. Then he became a fairly prosperous rice farmer and merchant in the 50s and 60s. Then the dictatorship made us into successful criminals.

I don't personally recall any of this as I was born in the 80s. Did you know my great-grandfather?

I am talking about the 40s when my GF and Imam Kadir was at the Bangaree house at Free Yard PM, near ni**er yard.

They all hang out with Tallim Baksh who had a store where Spready's now exist at PM.

My mother and Bangaree wife were sisters. In my younger years  I hang out a lot at PM. My mother and others were born at PM and went to school with Cheddi.  

I had a late  Albion school Muslim friend who lived at PM and  thru him I knew other people from the Masjid. Most now living in TO and NY.   

What a bloody small world.

Imam Kadir moved the family to Kildonan Village sometime in the 50s where he bought land but stayed in charge of Jama Masjid at PM until his death in the early 90s.

Do you know what my great-grandfather's specific job on the Estate was? All I know is "driver/overseer". That doesn't say much.

So embarrassing

White talcum powder.

my dad did too

nah, back then it was Lifebuoy and then Refresh

Yardley?

Congratulations!!

That was my second guess. I remember seeing and smelling Clubman when my dad took me to the barber shop as a little boy. They still use it in the US. I like that smell even though it's cheap. Must be the nostalgic feeling it gives me that makes me like it. 

I use a wax in my hair that has the best smell ever. Redken working wax maneuver. That along with my good looks and charm makes the girls weak in the knees.

Originally Posted by Mars:

That was my second guess. I remember seeing and smelling Clubman when my dad took me to the barber shop as a little boy. They still use it in the US. I like that smell even though it's cheap. Must be the nostalgic feeling it gives me that makes me like it. 

I use a wax in my hair that has the best smell ever. Redken working wax maneuver. That along with my good looks and charm makes the girls weak in the knees.

go Mars!

So embarrassing

White talcum powder.

The Indian I.T. guys I work with all use handkerchiefs. It must be something the British left all over the Empire.

So embarrassing

White talcum powder.

The Indian I.T. guys I work with all use handkerchiefs. It must be something the British left all over the Empire.

Think of it man. Today, in 2015, millions of brown people throughout the world are demonstrating subconsciously that we are indeed civilized enough to be invited over to State House for Tea with His Excellency the Governor

One more quiz for today.

A famous laundry was on Lama Avenue, Bel Air Park. It had depots in Georgetown and some outlying communities. What was the name of that laundry?

[I'll be back this evening to check your answers.]

Kwang's dry cleaners

Also on your razor blade Q remember the one that cut wan alligator?

ball

So embarrassing

White talcum powder.

my dad did too

also Lux and salt Soap

Originally Posted by ball:

One more quiz for today.

A famous laundry was on Lama Avenue, Bel Air Park. It had depots in Georgetown and some outlying communities. What was the name of that laundry?

Kwang's dry cleaners

Nacet razor blades.

Originally Posted by Django:

So embarrassing

White talcum powder.

my dad did too

also Lux and salt Soap

I remember one day at school, we were all made to assemble for the visit of an important black official. Most likely a PNC Minister or Hoyte himself (I don't remember perfectly). I do remember the speech though. This idiot went on and on about soap. And how it's important not to waste soap and keep it out of the water when not in use. I still remember this speech to today so it was obviously effective

Yardley?

Congratulations!!

Better check dat one out...could be too much garlic.

I remember one day at school, we were all made to assemble for the visit of an important black official. Most likely a PNC Minister or Hoyte himself (I don't remember perfectly). I do remember the speech though. This idiot went on and on about soap. And how it's important not to waste soap and keep it out of the water when not in use. I still remember this speech to today so it was obviously effective

Dis is like when I went to the drive in and after smokin a fnice fat spliff,pulled in the speakers,pulled up the windows, (it was a bit cool) we then lit up the chalice. Suhhhh..ahhh..suhhh ahhh. The movie start, we got comfy in our seats nex ting I know Iman seein credits going up and she still asleep next to me.

Is probly same thing happen to you deh banna, get ketch in a worm hole and then get drop back down.

So embarrassing

White talcum powder.

my dad did too

also Lux and salt Soap

maybe he was warning you watch how you pick up the soap

So embarrassing

White talcum powder.

my dad did too

also Lux and salt Soap

Are you caught between the crack of someone's ass? Do you need soap to get you out?

Originally Posted by ball:

One more quiz for today.

Kwang's dry cleaners

No.

Nacet

Imam Kadir moved the family to Kildonan Village sometime in the 50s where he bought land but stayed in charge of Jama Masjid at PM until his death in the early 90s.

Do you know what my great-grandfather's specific job on the Estate was? All I know is "driver/overseer". That doesn't say much.

I assume you did not spend much time on the sugar estate.

Like Cheddi's Dad, an overseer was in-charge of a  gang of workers who oversaw the worker's performance  and a driver is about the same position, who 'drive' the workers for better productivity... It was an elevated position on the estate and driver/overseer is looked at as a prestigious  positions. British designations.

Before tractors pulled the sugar cane 'punts' [barges] to factory, there were oxen to do the pulling and horses before trail bikes to take managers to the back dam.

All sugar estates had stables for the horses, with workers to look after the animals.

My grand father at PM was the stable boss who looked after all the workers.

They had a  large wheel with sharp blades attached, that spin and cut pieces of sugar cane in two inch sizes that animals ate.

As the cane is  fed into the manual  blade by spinning the wheel, workers had to be carful that their fingers don't get caught.

The animals were also fed corn, that we used to trap birds under  a pyramid trap make of bamboo. The corn would be placed under the trap and one side elevated with a four inch stick  and a string tied to the stick. Patience comes into play as we waited, sometimes for hours behind a bush for a bird to eat the corn.

We would pull the string  and the cage would fall trapping the bird.

Try  teaching that patience to kids these days.

I have fond memories of the stables at Albion and PM where my grad father was the 'stable boss'.

A few years ago as I was tying to find   out what happen to my GF's house,. I was directed to an old man who lived close to my GF.   He talked about meetings under my GF house and when the house  fell down, after being vacant for a long time, the material was use to build a smaller house near the overhead water tank at PM, owned by a lady who work at Alim Shaw store at Rose Hall Town, where my sister worked who murdered a few years ago.

Near Bangaree's  house at Free Yard PM, across the street from ni**er yard, lived a young woman who worked at Taliim's  store that was located where Spready's store now exist, near PM market.

A small world indeed....For decades I hang out with seven brothers  and one sister  from Kildonan in Tortola BVI.  I saw them last August in BVI and October in Chicago.

These guys have a story to tell. Their dad died when they were small and their mother  brought them up. I will be seeing them again shortly in Florida and will ask about your GGF.

I record their stories on video and if they talk about your  GGF I will try getting  you a recording.         

So embarrassing

White talcum powder.

my dad did too

also Lux and salt Soap

Are you caught between the crack of someone's ass? Do you need soap to get you out?

Hea Skelly and  Warria, how ayu doin on dis BRIGHT marnin Friday de 13..

We we suppose to have Winta Games start today and  its raining  rass like in Guyana.

Cain tell me, ayu two ah go bush cook dis week-end, true?

Doan tief anybody foul...me ah watchman abee one with a 22...  

Like Cheddi's Dad, an overseer was in-charge of a  gang of workers who oversaw the worker's performance  and a driver is about the same position, who 'drive' the workers for better productivity... It was an elevated position on the estate and driver/overseer is looked at as a prestigious  positions. British designations.

Before tractors pulled the sugar cane 'punts' [barges] to factory, there were oxen to do the pulling and horses before trail bikes to take managers to the back dam.

All sugar estates had stables for the horses, with workers to look after the animals.

They had a  large wheel with sharp blades attached, that spin and cut pieces of sugar cane in two inch sizes that animals ate.

As the cane is  fed into the manual  blade by spinning the wheel, workers had to be carful that their fingers don't get caught.

The animals were also fed corn, that we used to trap birds under  a pyramid trap make of bamboo. The corn would be placed under the trap and one side elevated with a four inch stick  and a string tied to the stick. Patience comes into play as we waited, sometimes for hours behind a bush for a bird to eat the corn.

I have fond memories of the stables at Albion and PM where my grad father was the 'stable boss'.

A few years ago as I was tying to find   out what happen to my GF's house,. I was directed to an old man who lived close to my GF.   He talked about meetings under my GF house and when the house  fell down, after being vacant for a long time, the material was use to build a smaller house near the overhead water tank at PM, owned by a lady who work at Alim Shaw store at Rose Hall Town, where my sister worked who murdered a few years ago.

Near Bangaree's  house at Free Yard PM, across the street from ni**er yard, lived a young woman who worked at Taliim's  store that was located where Spready's store now exist, near PM market.

A small world indeed....For decades I hang out with seven brothers  and one sister  from Kildonan in Tortola BVI.  I saw them last August in BVI and October in Chicago.

These guys have a story to tell. Their dad died when they were small and their mother  brought them up. I will be seeing them again shortly in Florida and will ask about your GGF.

I record their stories on video and if they talk about your  GGF I will try getting  you a recording.         

My Dear Tola,

Thank you very much for your detailed response. I am most grateful for the education.

I confess, I have never set foot on a sugar estate. My knowledge comes from first hand accounts of authors and other families who have a relatively recent experience of the sugar estates (50s and 60s especially).

My father's family were spectacularly lucky in that they did their indentured contract in the 1880s for 5 years and promptly left PM Estate and by an accident of history "douglarized up" into being a somewhat significant tri-village landowner, money lending, and proprietor family.

Imam Kadir Baksh is the only member of my mother's family with a "recent" estate experience. His several sons were all sent to the United States and Canada to study in the 60s and his daughters left also. My grandmother was his only daughter who stayed in Guyana then eventually left in the 90s after his death.

My only memory of PM as a child was that my great-grandfather would allow me to accompany him up to the raised lectern and stand next to him as he delivered his Friday sermons. I was like age 6 to 8 at the time.

Other than that, most of my memories are centered around Kildonan. PM was only the place we went to so the Old Man could lead prayers at Jama Masjid.

I would appreciate very much any memories that you and your friends could share with me of my late GGF. He especially fascinates me because he was a Hindu Brahmin (of the full blooded type) who made the rather remarkable transformation into a Muslim Imam. I wish I was sensible enough to ask him questions of historical note before he died. But alas, I was only a small child with limited faculties of reason and no real concept that he would someday die.

Bhai Tola, Good Manin.

Man this sugar factory "lil bai" days bring back a lot of old memories. Those were the good old days. Ever yearn for those days again? Like stealing the best piece sugar cane from the punt while they were being pulled to the factory? Keeping an eye on the watchman so you can "tief and run"? I did work for about 6 months at Skeldon sugar factory in 1967 and another year in the Local Accounts Office. The best part of the factory was sitting by the baggase(magasse) logie shooting the crap during the slow times.

Originally Posted by Observer:

The breathtaking primitive and primordial expanse that is the Guiana Highlands inspired a certain British author to pen a literary masterpiece which was published in 1912. What was the name of the book and who wrote it?

The lost world by Sir Arthur Conan Dole

Absolutely Correct My Dear!

One more cinema quiz.

There was a cinema at Uitvlugt which closed its doors in 1964 during the racial disturbances. What was the name of that cinema?

That cinema was owned by Robert and Shirley Sookraj

Shirley(deceased was my poowah)i was a kid in that year

in the Burnham era they owned 13(not sure)cinema,

sold out and went to Trinidad opened a drivein named

Kay Donna.Gil my family owned that cinema i can't recall

the name that sucks.

Originally Posted by kp:

The cinema at Uitvlugt name was Orlo

kp me thinks the name sounds like that.

One-half point to kp. It was the ERLO cinema. Wrong spelling cost you a half point, kp.

As for Django, shame on you. Robert Sookraj was yuh fambly and you forget de theatre name? He shoulddah disown you if he bin still alive.

BTW, I watched my first movie at ERLO in 1955 when I was just four years old. It was Amardeep and I recall Johnny Walker played a role in it. My mother and her neighbour sat besides me and I listened to them talking about Johnny Walker and cow itch. On the screen the man was scratching his body furiously while the cinema patrons laughed heartily.

Originally Posted by kp:

One-half point to kp. It was the ERLO cinema. Wrong spelling cost you a half point, kp.

As for Django, shame on you. Robert Sookraj was yuh fambly and you forget de theatre name? He shoulddah disown you if he bin still alive.

BTW, I watched my first movie at ERLO in 1955 when I was just four years old. It was Amardeep and I recall Johnny Walker played a role in it. My mother and her neighbour sat besides me and I listened to them talking about Johnny Walker and cow itch. On the screen the man was scratching his body furiously while the cinema patrons laughed heartily.

Bhai Gilly,kindacan't post here it is a story about

rich and poor,anyway when he came back

to Guyana after my aunt passed away,he will send his

driver with his limo to pick me up,i used to fix the sound

system for the cinema he owned at Vreedenhoop.

Originally Posted by kp:

Robert Sookraj had a brother named Mansingh.

Mansingh was my father's friend.

One day a car stopped in front our yard. A dark man in a brown suit stepped out the car and called for my father. It was Mansingh. He said he was managing one of Robert's cinemas in Georgetown. He pulled out a revolver from inside his suit and handed it to my father. He said Robert gave him for his personal security.

Five years later Mansingh was sitting in front the family home at Uitvlugt, dressed in rags. Apparently, he and Robert fell out.

Originally Posted by kp:

Robert Sookraj had a brother named Mansingh.

Mansingh was my father's friend.

One day a car stopped in front our yard. A dark man in a brown suit stepped out the car and called for my father. It was Mansingh. He said he was managing one of Robert's cinemas in Georgetown. He pulled out a revolver from inside his suit and handed it to my father. He said Robert gave him for his personal security.

Five years later Mansingh was sitting in front the family home at Uitvlugt, dressed in rags. Apparently, he and Robert fell out.

From the little i have known him,he was a cheapskate

and all for himself,always trying to short change on

payments for the job,he had huge house at Bel Air

living with a young chick heard she outsmart him and ran

away to the US with a lot of dough.

Originally Posted by Observer:

You guys know Nandini from Uitvlugt, Hari Om Sharan's wife? She was very pretty, moved to India with him, they got international fame with concerts all over the world (I went to a concert in the US), and they made lots of albums. I think he died in 2007. Where is she living these days?

I'm not sure Nandini is from Uitvlugt, O.

I heard Hari Om met her at Peter's Hall. Someone I know said she and Nandini attended Peter's Hall primary school.

She is a citizen of India, having gone with him there over 40 years ago. She sang many duets with him in India and was recognized for her talent.

Indeed, Hari Om died in 2007 at age 75. Nandini was much younger than he. She is around 64 now.

Today is February 13. Some people have a real fear of the number 13.

What is the name for that kind of fear?

According to one school of thought, it's because of the historical incidence of when King Philip IV of France ordered the arrest of the papal order of the Knights Templars in his dominions on Friday 13th October 1307 and their subsequent torture and execution.

I have only a cursory acquaintance with this as an explanation. It is a historical fact that this event occurred. Though I'm not sure of it's veracity as the full explanation of the Friday 13th superstition.

When i was roaming GT,there was no Bajan

insurance co,what year was that??? or me

brain getting old,Cain any help fuh aging brain.

You roamed too late. That branch of Barbados Life was there for decades. It stopped selling life insurance policies to Guyanese in the early 1970s and stayed on a few more years to service existing policies. By the late 1970s it closed the Guyana branch for good. Standing at the back end of Baichandeen building/Hotel Penthouse on America Street, you could have seen the old Barbados Life signboard on a building across the street. 

When i was roaming GT,there was no Bajan

insurance co,what year was that??? or me

brain getting old,Cain any help fuh aging brain.

You roamed too late. That branch of Barbados Life was there for decades. It stopped selling life insurance policies to Guyanese in the early 1970s and stayed on a few more years to service existing policies. By the late 1970s it closed the Guyana branch for good. Standing at the back end of Baichandeen building/Hotel Penthouse on America Street, you could have seen the old Barbados Life signboard on a building across the street. 

True bhai Gilly i lived in GT around 71.

Before the comedian Habeeb Khan appeared on stages in Guyana, there were two comedians who performed together, just like Bud Abbott and Lou Costello in the US. Name those two Guyanese jokers.

14 hours passed. No correct answer.

ANSWER: Sam Chase and Jack Mellow.

Those two comedians were stars on stage and radio in British Guiana up to the early 1960s.

I never saw them in person but heard their jokes on radio and read newspaper ads containing their photos. Also, in my grandfather's personal library I found a booklet of jokes by Sam Chase and Jack Mellow.

Today's brain tickler

Fill in the blank spaces:

Lyken and Bastiani were Guyanese  _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _.

Morticians.

That's the answer!

If you didn't know this, you would sooner or later.

Congratulations!!

What were the names of the morticians who inherited the Funeral Parlor business from Mr. Bastiani? It was renamed as Queenstown Funeral Parlour, then Guyana Funeral Parlour and they were twin brothers.

Queenstown Livery Stables & Funeral Parlour.- 1941