I echo Mars and Django. This was one of the best threads ever. So informative. I've learned so much!
Thank you, Sir, and all the best
Is how u do me so bad, you doan echo me too?
see? I just did
I echo Mars and Django. This was one of the best threads ever. So informative. I've learned so much!
Thank you, Sir, and all the best
see? I just did
OK here goes...first question.
There is a story that a man and not a man
Saw and did not see a bird and not a bird
Perched on a branch and not a branch
And hit him and did not hit him with a rock and not a rock.
How is this possible?
I am going to try and answer this one:
1) An eunuch (had poor eyesight)
2) Saw a bat
3) Holding on to a reed
4) Threw a pumice stone at him and missed
Exactly! Congrats Anjali.
OK here goes...first question.
There is a story that a man and not a man
Saw and did not see a bird and not a bird
Perched on a branch and not a branch
And hit him and did not hit him with a rock and not a rock.
How is this possible?
I am going to try and answer this one:
1) An eunuch (had poor eyesight)
2) Saw a bat
3) Holding on to a reed
4) Threw a pumice stone at him and missed
Exactly! Congrats Anjali.
Thanks Sir Cain
So why you doan ask a question nuh?
Ask one like, If an Eastbound electrik train movin fast fast going about 150 miles a hour, which direction the smoke does blow?
Ask me...ask me!!!!
is wuh yo is smoking
ah hope he doan get a shock it is very electrifying
So why you doan ask a question nuh?
Ask one like, If an Eastbound electrik train movin fast fast going about 150 miles a hour, which direction the smoke does blow?
Good morning no smoke as it is an electric train
what is this?
not in hell but in heaven
not in god but in devil
not in sea but in river
what is this?
not in god but in devil
not in sea but in river
The letter "V"
what is this?
not in god but in devil
not in sea but in river
The letter "V"
Correct. Congrats Django
I'm parking this thread up front in the queue, pending a revival of quizzes. No guarantee that I will devote as much time as before, but it will move forward. It's a pity we lost Anjali and Riya, our knowledgeable and enthusiastic stalwarts.
Brain tickling time resumes.
[A] What is the biggest village in Canal #2 Polder, West Bank Demerara, and [B] what is the approximate population of that village?
I shall recognize the person[s] who answer both A and B.
Dem boys seh old firewood don't tek laang fo spark. But, with no response after 22 hours, it seems that this old thread is like waterlogged charcoal. Which saves me from bothering with research and framing questions. TA-TA!!
Gilbakka posted:Brain tickling time resumes.
[A] What is the biggest village in Canal #2 Polder, West Bank Demerara, and [B] what is the approximate population of that village?
[A] New Aanlegt
[B]2,500
http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...t/02/28/new-aanlegt/
Just saw the post here is the answer.
Mon Desir 9902.
Hey Sir Gil, I only checked in now, nice to see we are back on.
Anjali posted:Hey Sir Gil, I only checked in now, nice to see we are back on.
Hey Angali,good to see you are back.
Anjali posted:Mon Desir 9902.
Very happy you smelled the honey pot, Anjali. A hearty welcome!!
Mon Desir is incorrect.
Django posted:Gilbakka posted:Brain tickling time resumes.
[A] New Aanlegt
[B]2,500
http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...t/02/28/new-aanlegt/
Just saw the post here is the answer.
I see you haven't lost your sharpness, Django. Both answers are correct. Good work!
Today's question: On what day of the week was Guyana's former Prime Minister Hamilton Green born?
Friday.
Django posted:Anjali posted:Hey Sir Gil, I only checked in now, nice to see we are back on.
Hey Angali,good to see you are back.
Hey Django, nice to see you back too and congrats.
Gilbakka posted:Today's question: On what day of the week was Guyana's former Prime Minister Hamilton Green born?
Friday.
313rd day of the year 1934
Django posted:Gilbakka posted:Today's question: On what day of the week was Guyana's former Prime Minister Hamilton Green born?
Friday.
Me nah want know when he born, me want know when he guh .... !!
Bibi Haniffa posted:Django posted:Gilbakka posted:Today's question: On what day of the week was Guyana's former Prime Minister Hamilton Green born?
Friday.
Me nah want know when he born, me want know when he guh .... !!
Please keep political viewpoints out of this thread. Feel free to answer the quizzes.
Anjali posted:Friday.
Anjali gets First Prize.
Django the Sloth gets Second Prize.
Hamilton Green was born on November 9, 1934.
Congrats to you both.
That's all for today.
Thanks Sir Gil
Welcome back Anjali
In 1948 a wide-circulation local newspaper was printed/published at 65 Robb & King Streets in Georgetown, British Guiana. [A] What was the name of that newspaper, and [B] What was the name of its proprietor?
I shall recognize correct answers to BOTH questions. Take your time. Will be back by midday.
Is it Argosy? Dont know the other half
Amral posted:Is it Argosy? Dont know the other half
No. Argosy was on Regent Street.
Gilbakka posted:In 1948 a wide-circulation local newspaper was printed/published at 65 Robb & King Streets in Georgetown, British Guiana. [A] What was the name of that newspaper, and [B] What was the name of its proprietor?
I shall recognize correct answers to BOTH questions. Take your time. Will be back by midday.
[A] Guiana Graphic
[B] F.A.Persick
Thanks Amral and Chameli, I am glad to be back except I might not have too much time in the morning but nevertheless I will check in when I can.
Gilbakka posted:In 1948 a wide-circulation local newspaper was printed/published at 65 Robb & King Streets in Georgetown, British Guiana. [A] What was the name of that newspaper, and [B] What was the name of its proprietor?
The Guiana Graphic.
F A Persick
ANSWERS: [A] Guiana Graphic. [B] F.A. Persick Ltd. Graphic moved in the 1950s to Lama Avenue, Bel Air Park, the same spot where the Guyana Chronicle is now located.
Django gets first prize. Anjali gets second prize. GNI President, Grandfather Amral, gets an F Grade.
Good morning. [A] Which company was the agent/distributor for Raleigh bicycles in British Guiana in the 1950s? [B] Exactly where was that company located in the 1950s? Both answers to win. One answer to place. No answer, no show.
Gilbakka posted:Good morning. [A] Which company was the agent/distributor for Raleigh bicycles in British Guiana in the 1950s? [B] Exactly where was that company located in the 1950s? Both answers to win. One answer to place. No answer, no show.
[A] D.M Fernandes
[B] Main ST,Georgetown.
I believe it is Pradasco Store in Bentick St not far from High St where Lees Photo Studio and Camera Store was located.