Originally Posted by Tola:

When de rass abee gun get Berbice question, so abee can win too...

Like when dem fus get lite pan Albion road ?

Wha year de suga truck fall pan de trench and kill de hassa?

Dis gillbaka man prappa eye pass abie peeple from Berbice. Me bin ah watch am all de time.You tink de only place Gillbaka man know in Berbice is de Canje mad house?  

And look, we nah fuh hear trivia about latrine logies, bottle kerosene lamp or wah de best leaf fuh you use when you go in de bush.

When de rass abee gun get Berbice question, so abee can win too...

Like when dem fus get lite pan Albion road ?

Wha year de suga truck fall pan de trench and kill de hassa?

Dis gillbaka man prappa eye pass abie peeple from Berbice. Me bin ah watch am all de time.You tink de only place Gillbaka man know in Berbice is de Canje mad house?  

Hea Gil, you get live experience ah Canje mad house ?

Cain say, its the only time you go ah Berbice.  

after HABEEB KHAN come on stage there was two comedian that perform together name these two 

MANNIE HANIFF and his SIDEKICK [can't remember the pagla name]

ramgoley  i hope i spell it right 

Thanks, warrior. That's the guy. Never mind the spelling.

Originally Posted by Mars:

Today's brain tickler

Fill in the blank spaces:

Lyken and Bastiani were Guyanese  _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _.

Morticians.

That's the answer!

If you didn't know this, you would sooner or later.

Congratulations!!

What were the names of the morticians who inherited the Funeral Parlor business from Mr. Bastiani? It was renamed as Queenstown Funeral Parlour, then Guyana Funeral Parlour and they were twin brothers.

Queenstown Livery Stables & Funeral Parlour.- 1941

Mars, you stump me wid dis one. Can't find the twin's names.

Today's brain tickler

Morticians.

That's the answer!

Congratulations!!

What were the names of the morticians who inherited the Funeral Parlor business from Mr. Bastiani? It was renamed as Queenstown Funeral Parlour, then Guyana Funeral Parlour and they were twin brothers.

The brothers were George and Rene Lee. I only know this because we were family friends. I played hide and seek in some of those coffins as a lil boy. The new parlor was in a building to the immediate right of the building in the photo. George was an electronics man and I think he also worked as an engineer at one of the radio stations. Radio Dem or GBS. I can't really remember. He was one of the few people who had TV's in those days and once invited all the kids from the neighborhood to watch the Soccer World Cup. We piled into the unused old funeral parlor which is downstairs in the photo and saw the game live.

Today's brain tickler

Morticians.

That's the answer!

Congratulations!!

The brothers were George and Rene Lee. I only know this because we were family friends. I played hide and seek in some of those coffins as a lil boy. The new parlor was in a building to the immediate right of the building in the photo. George was an electronics man and I think he also worked as an engineer at one of the radio stations. Radio Dem or GBS. I can't really remember. He also had a few TV's and once invited all the kids from the neighborhood to watch the Soccer World Cup. We piled into the unused old funeral parlor which is downstairs in the photo and saw the game live.

Thanks for the info, Mars. Today while searching I discovered there was a dispute over the property, involving a lady who says she is the great-great grandaughter of Bastiani.

Today's brain tickler

Morticians.

That's the answer!

Congratulations!!

The brothers were George and Rene Lee. I only know this because we were family friends. I played hide and seek in some of those coffins as a lil boy. The new parlor was in a building to the immediate right of the building in the photo.George was an electronics man and I think he also worked as an engineer at one of the radio stations. Radio Dem or GBS. I can't really remember. He also had a few TV's and once invited all the kids from the neighborhood to watch the Soccer World Cup. We piled into the unused old funeral parlor which is downstairs in the photo and saw the game live.

I know George he was an electronics technician,in days

of VCR and TV repair,he was our competitor,when i was

also a tech at little MO at Robb ST,he was a good tech.

Today's brain tickler

Morticians.

That's the answer!

Congratulations!!

The brothers were George and Rene Lee. I only know this because we were family friends. I played hide and seek in some of those coffins as a lil boy. The new parlor was in a building to the immediate right of the building in the photo. George was an electronics man and I think he also worked as an engineer at one of the radio stations. Radio Dem or GBS. I can't really remember. He also had a few TV's and once invited all the kids from the neighborhood to watch the Soccer World Cup. We piled into the unused old funeral parlor which is downstairs in the photo and saw the game live.

Thanks for the info, Mars. Today while searching I discovered there was a dispute over the property, involving a lady who says she is the great-great grandaughter of Bastiani.

The entire property is worth a pretty penny because it's huge and on a prime corner in Queenstown. There is a big building next to the one in the picture which was the new office and parlor. Then it extends all the way back since they had stables for the horses which drew the hearses in the old days. Also woodworking shop for building the coffins and fridges for storing bodies. The Lee's got it I think through marriage so I wouldn't doubt if one of Bastiani's blood relatives would be entitled to something. I have to ask my mom how they managed to become the owners.

Originally Posted by Django:

Today's brain tickler

Morticians.

That's the answer!

Congratulations!!

The brothers were George and Rene Lee. I only know this because we were family friends. I played hide and seek in some of those coffins as a lil boy. The new parlor was in a building to the immediate right of the building in the photo.George was an electronics man and I think he also worked as an engineer at one of the radio stations. Radio Dem or GBS. I can't really remember. He also had a few TV's and once invited all the kids from the neighborhood to watch the Soccer World Cup. We piled into the unused old funeral parlor which is downstairs in the photo and saw the game live.

I know George he was an electronics technician,in days

of VCR and TV repair,he was our competitor,when i was

also a tech at little MO at Robb ST,he was a good tech.

In his older years he let the children run the funeral parlor and he repaired VCR and TV's exclusively. His son also helped him with the TV repair. 

Well, I telling y'all, dem two Berbician bannas Skelly and Tola really baddarashan. Dem want Berbice quiz?

Tek am ya:

#78 Village Corentyne has another name. What's that name?

Dont' tell me is Springlands becaz me gon spring a duck egg pon you two.

Skelly, de man callin abie out pan dis thing.

Banna, you pan tap-side, betta come out good, or abie kak duck wid ganda egg.

Me been a Canadian Presbyterian Massian  school  and dem na teach abie nothing pas Stockholm.

Warria, like de AFC/APNU merga, feget you difference wid Skelly and come help abie na.  

Okay, me get one for everyone.

Which village near Parika has the same name as another at Black Bush Polder ?

Kakatiri or Johanna Cornelia

Sorry Django, that is not the full name of a place at BBP/near Parika.

You might be confusing it with CI.

Where is Kakatiri, I don't believe its a BBP name.    

Tola asked a misleading question.

Black Bush Polder has 4 parts: Lesbeholden, Mibicuri, Joanna, Yakusari.

None of those names is near Parika. If Tola is confusing Joanna with Johanna, he should give you a pass.

Sorry Django, that is not the full name of a place at BBP/near Parika.

You might be confusing it with CI.

Where is Kakatiri, I don't believe its a BBP name.    

List of village names from Parika to Morasi creek

i omit a few name but you can get an idea.

Parika
Parika Creek
Hyde Park
Grove
Look Out
Naamryck
Salem
Mora
Sparta
Bortenstein
Roden Rust
Blake
Twee Gebroeders
Kakatiri Creek
Unity
Hubu
Hubu Creek
Saint Lawrence or Big Sands
Present Hope or Sands
Lookabu
Naamless or Tosan

Tola asked a misleading question.

Black Bush Polder has 4 parts: Lesbeholden, Mibicuri, Joanna, Yakusari.

None of those names is near Parika. If Tola is confusing Joanna with Johanna, he should give you a pass.

Gil.. those are the names i am aware of

my aunt lived a Yakusari (south) i stayed

there on vacation when i was 14 yrs,enjoyed

that trip from WCD,still have memories of that

trip enjoyed the train ride from GT to Rosignal.

Well, I telling y'all, dem two Berbician bannas Skelly and Tola really baddarashan. Dem want Berbice quiz?

Tek am ya:

Skeldon?

or Skeldon Place

(dem two Berbicians disappointed me )

Originally Posted by Riya:

Tek am ya:

Skeldon?

or Skeldon Place

You disappoint me too.

Tek am ya:

Eliza and Mary

Correct!

#78 Village's official name is Eliza and Mary.

In case it looks odd, that was the first sign of Berbicians gone loco.

Tek am ya:

Skeldon?

or Skeldon Place

You disappoint me too.

lol them said them from Corentyne, or tap side as they call it ,  so I was banking on them to have the correct answer

Originally Posted by ball:

Correct ayo pass

Ok Ball. Name the three dams that have overpass bridges that the punts pass under (in the trenches) to get to the Skeldon factory.

Front dam, middle dam, back dam.

Abdul dam(where they had the latrine logies..near to the factory(warria shoul know this dam), Sawmill dam and Pahal dam. You see Gilly, you no jashtong, me no skelden. The train line is still there, but no train. The locomotive was used to move the sugar to the Skeldon wharf.

Today's tickler:

In years gone by there were two brands of Made in Guyana laundry soap. Name the brands.

zex and lux

Lux not a laundry soap bai.

Lux is bath soap.

There was a time when I used Zex laundry soap to bathe with Times were rough!

Today's tickler:

In years gone by there were two brands of Made in Guyana laundry soap. Name the brands.

zex and lux

Lux is bath soap.

nuff poeple didn't use luxury soap,some even use

the powdery stuff you soak clothes,in NA we call

am detergent.

Today's tickler:

zex and lux

Lux is bath soap.

You were not alone.

okay burnham use to ride around with a horse what color was the horse and its name 

The one I saw him riding looked like a chestnut colour to me. The name I don't know.

I saw him once on a white horse but I don't know the horse's name.

white horse is right now give me the name