Originally Posted by Mars:

okay burnham use to ride around with a horse what color was the horse and its name 

The one I saw him riding looked like a chestnut colour to me. The name I don't know.

I saw him once on a white horse but I don't know the horse's name.

white horse is right now give me the name 

Burnham owned more than one horse. I described the one I saw as having a chestnut colour. There's a personal account online by someone named Allan Yearwood who also saw Burnham riding a horse. This is Yearwood's description:

"Burnham continues to look down at me, one hand in control of his powerful stallion. He laughs out loud at the confused look of affirmation that must have been all over my face. His stallion was now pawing so hard at the road that sparks flew from under its shoes. The picture of him on that big reddish-brown horse has left a lasting memory. It is always there to see whenever I wonder about that day."

Chestnut is reddish-brown colour.

Originally Posted by Riya:

Gil, was it Niew Middleburg?

Niew Middelburg or New Middleburg.

Pomeroon was a Dutch colony from 1581-1596 and from 1650-1689.

Its capital New Middleburg was situated on the right/east bank of the Pomeroon River near present-day Kabakaburi.

Congratulations!!

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4d/Pomeroon_1773.png

This was a good history lesson for me. Thanks!

okay burnham use to ride around with a horse what color was the horse and its name 

The one I saw him riding looked like a chestnut colour to me. The name I don't know.

Janet? 

Janet? 

Wha wrang wid yuh, bai?

Nuff people seh Burnham used to ride Jagan. Dem mean Cheddi.

That being said, I confess I don't know the answer to warrior's question.

Originally Posted by TI:

Which one? First one or second one?

The lighthouse question. Age? Height?

Me nah ask bout vital statistics becaz it ent gat a coke-bottle shape.

Just asking, because that lighthouse in Kingston was actually rebuilt. The first on on that site was more wooden.

I see what you mean. I'm referring to the present, concrete one.

Georgetown-Lighthouse.jpg

Georgetown Lighthouse

was first built by the Dutch in 1817 and then rebuilt in 1830

The 31 m (103 feet) high octagonal structure

The brick structure was commissioned on 1 June 1830, when it replaced a wooden lighthouse that had been built on the same site by the Dutch. British engineers constructed the present lighthouse, reinforcing the building by placing it on a foundation of 49 greenheart piles, making it durable nearly 200 years later.

Originally Posted by Django:

Georgetown Lighthouse

The brick structure was commissioned on 1 June 1830, when it replaced a wooden lighthouse that had been built on the same site by the Dutch. British engineers constructed the present lighthouse, reinforcing the building by placing it on a foundation of 49 greenheart piles, making it durable nearly 200 years later.

Come straight, Django. What is the age of the lighthouse? Simple question. I won't accept a Wikipedia copy-and-paste attempt for an answer.

Georgetown Lighthouse

Come straight, Django. What is the age of the lighthouse? Simple question. I won't accept a Wikipedia copy-and-paste attempt for an answer.

ok bro,let me finish some work then i will

get me calculator an give you an answer

Most Friday's after hard week work,heading to

the rum shop with friends for a lil tup,one of

the favorite old time blend was Russian Bear Black.

What is the name of the company that

produce this great blend???

C.V. Wight

Wight is correct,i can recall is R.M.Wight Ltd

i used to knack glass with the son Robert.

Janet? 

Wha wrang wid yuh, bai?

burnham ride a white horse name thunder wild 

Janet? 

Wha wrang wid yuh, bai?

burnham ride a white horse name thunder wild 

I didn't know that one, sir.

As I said, Burnham possessed more than one horse. There was one which he rode in Hope Estate. The rest were in his stable aback the botanical gardens.

Originally Posted by TI:

I never saw Burnham on a white horse. Pure white horses were rare in Guyana.

at David Rose funeral, they had to borrow a pure white horse from my neighbor to pull the carriage I was told.

Have not read all the replies..

TI, Hubby said Burnham had a white horse.

One time we were driving to go to EBD... his helicopter just landed with him; the cops stopped us.. Burnham, walked up to our car and shook our two older children hands.

Originally Posted by kp:

Coriera Blenders, excuse my spelling.On the subject of rum, I am looking to Purchase a bottle of Eldorado Bonded Rum, I live in Toronto. I collect rum.

Not sure about "Bonded rum" but I picked a couple bottles up from the Liquor store in the plaza at Laird and Wicksteed (South of Eglinton) I got ElDorado 12 yr and a 5 yr.

My Muslim buddy Mr Hussein polished off the 15 yr old in a few weeks of visits. He probly going after the 5yr old next. This time I'll charge he rass is only he drinking them.

Do I get points for answering this question?

Re: THE LIGHTHOUSE

In 1992, I visited the lighthouse to interview the attendant on duty for a human interest story I wrote in Nils Campbell's Guyana Times newspaper.

When I entered the compound I shouted HELLO to get attention. The attendant peeped through a window about 80 feet up. I told him my mission. He dropped a key attached to a string. I opened the door and walked up the spiral stairway. In the attendant's lookout floor there was a telescope, binoculars, radio equipment, etc. Glass windows in a semi-circle. From his vantage point he could see all boats heading towards the Demerara river and transmit such info to the Harbour Master. After the interview he gave me permission to climb farther up to the steel balcony. I took some snapshots of various sections of Georgetown.

It was the week before Xmas. I thanked him and gave him a flattie XM 5 Year Old. He broke the seal and we shared a drink.

As I mentioned, the lighthouse attendant worked about 80 feet above ground. Tonight I'm wondering how he is making out with the Marriott Hotel blocking a part of his view.

Another quiz:

Up to 1931 only imported cigarettes were available in British Guiana.

Name the first brand of cigarettes produced in British Guiana and the manufacturer.

You don't have to be a smoker to answer.

i know this cigarette it use to stink,when i was a kid we use to smoke it in the cinema them lady use to cuss i will remember it soon  

Originally Posted by TI:

Actually I think it was the Guyana match factory that made Lighthouse cigarette.

i think they made lighthouse matches too.

I'll accept this answer.

[1] Lighthouse

[2] British Guiana Match Factory Ltd.

And, yes, that company made Lighthouse matches too.

@warrior. Lighthouse cigarettes were unfiltered and "stink".

Congratulations TI!!

There was a bum who hung around Demico and Brown Betty asking for change or food. He would belch on your hamburger and after you abandoned it in disgust he would chow down on your food. Name that bum. His false name that is and I want his real false name.

yugi

Yet another job Yugi resigned from

In British Guiana's  struggle for independence, there were 'Freedom Marches' from Essequibo to Georgetown and another from  Berbice to GT, where a large rally was held.  

A place presently in GT is named after a person in the Berbice march.

What year was the march, his name and the reason the place is named after him ?.

Churchill and Gilbekka  should give  others a chance to answer first.    

Originally Posted by Tola:

Radio Demerara had a 'teenage hour' show on Saturday afternoons.

There were two radio moderators, a woman and guy that looks like Cain.

Clue: Ask Cain to describe himself.

One was short and one was tall.

What year was the show on and what are their names?

They gave out peanut brittles.  

Pancho Carew was one?

In British Guiana's  struggle for independence, there were 'Freedom Marches' from Essequibo to Georgetown and another from  Berbice to GT, where a large rally was held.  

What year was the march, his name and the reason the place is named after him ?.

Michael Forde Bookshop, named after Michael Forde.The former Progressive Bookshop was renamed to honour Forde, an employee killed by a bomb on July 17, 1964.

Freedom March took place in early 1964.

Michael Forde Bookshop, named after Michael Forde.The former Progressive Bookshop was renamed to honour Forde, an employee killed by a bomb on July 17, 1964.

Freedom March took place in early 1964.

Right answer and correct reason.

I remember that day well, just around my birthday.  

Radio Demerara had a 'teenage hour' show on Saturday afternoons.

There were two radio moderators, a woman and guy that looks like Cain.

Clue: Ask Cain to describe himself.

One was short and one was tall.

What year was the show on and what are their names?

They gave out peanut brittles.  

Well hung! Quite a specimen!

There was a bum who hung around Demico and Brown Betty asking for change or food. He would belch on your hamburger and after you abandoned it in disgust he would chow down on your food. Name that bum. His false name that is and I want his real false name.

PZ

The stink cigarette was Texas 99, that thing stunk to high heavens and harsh tarass.

PZ

The stink cigarette was Texas 99, that thing stunk to high heavens and harsh tarass.

You have the right man but his false name was not PZ. A lot of people make that mistake, that's why I asked for his real false name.

PZ

You have the right man but his false name was not PZ. A lot of people make that mistake, that's why I asked for his real false name.

bum dread