I need a sense of direction here guys. I see the masjid which from memory was in the street by the police station. Looks to me as if the shot is going towards anna Catherina
Chameli posted:very beautiful from far....lots of garbage near cowdam n sideline in by road
Cham, like you know cow dam good heh? Almost all the areas by the side lines are filthy. It's the peoples' dumping ground.
I really do not see cowdam. I am thinking the shot is moving towards Leonora Govt School, which is just past that Digicell billboard sign.
The plane was going toward Vreeden-Hoop. At around 1:16 is where they had the SkyLab Disco and the lumberyard, Leonora market and Roxy Cinema.
Chameli posted:skeldon_man posted:Chameli posted:very beautiful from far....lots of garbage near cowdam n sideline in by road
Cham, like you know cow dam good heh? Almost all the areas by the side lines are filthy. It's the peoples' dumping ground.
sk-man, i was there 2 yrs ago, whenever i went to visit my aunty i walked there from public rd, now they call it concrete strip. i saw no cow standing around as was usual
Concrete strip been deh since the seventies I think but definitely since the early 80's. Used to be called Cowdam I believe.
Btw, CocoT. Nice clean video.
That last turn on the road that lingered in the final moments of the video is by the old post office/railway line road right? To the left is a big building by itself,. what is that building.
Bai, the post office is before you get to the masjid. The last turn is just after the estate house. If you were going to Parika instead of Vreeden-Hoop, instead to banking that turn, you can go somewhat straight across to the Leonora market and Roxy Cinema.
That big building may be the old estate house.
I don't know how highlight stuff like some of you gurus but that little road that cuts across from left to right will take you to the market.
Kas , I am saying the old post office, many years ago the old post office was by the last turn (road leading into roxy/market etc) Then they moved the post office to opposite where I use to live. There is a story that not many people know about concerning the new post office, the builders read the blue prints wrong and the post office was built back to front, so the back of the post office is facing the public road. that was the mistake, It was too late to fix it.
Although I am slightly older than you Amral, my west coast days are mostly late 70s early 80s so I wouldn't know about that so I stand corrected.
Hi everyone. That video starts just around Stewartville, near the Leonora fire station. I flew over the masjid heading towards Leonora Government School. This week I will shoot some more and hopefully you guys will be able to recognize more of it.
Amral posted:Kas , I am saying the old post office, many years ago the old post office was by the last turn (road leading into roxy/market etc) Then they moved the post office to opposite where I use to live. There is a story that not many people know about concerning the new post office, the builders read the blue prints wrong and the post office was built back to front, so the back of the post office is facing the public road. that was the mistake, It was too late to fix it.
That's correct Amral i remembered the Old Post Office on the Dam by the road leading to Roxy Cinema.[or Train Station]
Bear in mind the two turns came when the new road was built.
True Django. In those days there were lots of accidents because of the dangerous turns along some of these roads. As a result they created the new roads and got rid of some of those tight turns. I remember seeing many people at nights carting away wheelbarrows full of sand and fine stones that was dumped along the roadside for the building of the roads. Many bottom houses of both indians and blacks along the leonora/Stewartville side were enclosed using those things. Even my uncle took a helping too with me and others helping to cart it away
When i was little living at Hague Back,my mom will bring me out to visit my eldest aunt who lived at Cornelia Ida housing scheme,I also remembered the "high bridge" at Cornelia Ida.In 1965 my mom decided to move from Hague back and we settled at Cornelia Ida.
What part CI bai. My old squeeze use to live there
Jango, are you sure you're not a professor in my town? One of the buddies he hangs out with is called Jango.
Amral posted:What part CI bai. My old squeeze use to live there
We lived in the area South of the Community Center bordering Hague Jib.Late 80's i bought one of the Bacchus brothers residence in Hague Jib,the one who used to be a driver of the Estate Manager [the brothers were body builders and wrestlers before our time]
Leonora posted:Jango, are you sure you're not a professor in my town? One of the buddies he hangs out with is called Jango.
Nah,that nick Django i took from the movie with Franco Nero,when i was a teenager had it painted on the back of a denmin jacket which i sowed.Any professor will be in the Electronics Service Business that's what i am qualified to do.
Amral,Red man put on some size,
I was the top Tech on the WCD,Redo,one of my friend [passed away] and a few others took over when I left,them bannas had respect for me,remembered that house.
The old post office was a little south of the railway line, which is also south of the turn/junction with Roxy cinema street. I taught one of postman Phillip's sons.
I know phillips the postman. He was accused at one time of opening up people mails not sure if it was true
Gilbakka posted:The old post office was a little south of the railway line, which is also south of the turn/junction with Roxy cinema street. I taught one of postman Phillip's sons.
He had a shop in Leonora Parafield,hope me old brain is correct.
Django posted:Gilbakka posted:The old post office was a little south of the railway line, which is also south of the turn/junction with Roxy cinema street. I taught one of postman Phillip's sons.
He had a shop in Leonora Parafield,hope me old brain is correct.
He lived in Parafield. I saw his house before he added the shop.
Anyone knows the Sawh family from Parafield?
The only people i can remember from parafield was 2 guys i went to school with. Nazimool Bacchus and jaikaran boophlal
Nazimool was known as Butt and Jaikaran was Bolo
the post office, Picture credit Tony. You see how it is back to front, the back is facing the public road
Leonora posted:Anyone knows the Sawh family from Parafield?
There was a teacher named Ramdatt Sawh at Leonora Government School when I worked there 1969-70. A shortish fair complexion fellow who had two other brothers. I think he was from Parafield. I had initially thought he lived in Leonora Pasture.
Gilbakka posted:Leonora posted:Anyone knows the Sawh family from Parafield?
There was a teacher named Ramdatt Sawh at Leonora Government School when I worked there 1969-70. A shortish fair complexion fellow who had two other brothers. I think he was from Parafield. I had initially thought he lived in Leonora Pasture.
Damn Gilly. I was just starting primary school.
On the road going to the Hospital.
Django posted:On the road going to the Hospital.
Thanks Django.
quite correct Django
Gilbakka posted:Leonora posted:Anyone knows the Sawh family from Parafield?
The father was a driver on the Leonora Estate and had lots of sons and 2 daughters. One son had a drug store in G'town. Another son left Guyana in 1968 and through him a sizeable portion of Guyana migrated (including me); sadly he had Parkinson's and died last year.