November 12, 2014

Hon. John Forbes Kerry
Secretary of State of the United States of America
United States Department of State
2201 C Street NW
Washington, DC 20520

Dear Secretary Kerry:

Suspension of democracy in Guyana by the despotic Ramotar regime

We write to express grave concern regarding recent developments in Guyana, South America where, on November 10, 2014, President Donald Ramotar arbitrarily prorogued Parliament, thereby terminating debate, to avoid the passage of a no-confidence motion tabled by the Parliamentary majority. Under the Guyana constitution, passage of a no-confidence motion terminates the government and triggers new general elections. President Ramotar’s dictatorial act has consequently abrogated democracy and plunged Guyana into a constitutional crisis. 

We therefore call on the United States government to condemn this undemocratic act and to impose sanctions against the government; including direct penalties against members of the ruling PPP ethnocracy. 

The autocratic measure evidenced by the proroguing of parliament is a desperate attempt by the corrupt, ruling Peoples Progressive Party government to undemocratically extend its rule as well as stifle the democratic expression and will of the Guyanese people, so as to rule by decree. 

The United States government is aware of the Ramotar regime’s alleged involvement in nefarious criminal enterprises, widespread corruption, suppression of press freedom, protection of narcotics traffickers, extra-judicial murders, government-sanctioned racial discrimination and other phenomena that have incensed the Guyanese nation and international community.

Sanctions should be condign under the aforementioned circumstances and the PPP regime’s protracted assault on democracy, as evidenced by its obdurate refusal to hold constitutionally overdue local government elections and other controversies. When the then serving US ambassador to Guyana, Mr Brent Hardt, cited the refusal to hold local elections as a violation of the constitution, he was savagely and personally attacked by President Ramotar and his government. 

Guyana’s attorney general, Mr Anil Nandlall, was recently caught on tape admonishing a reporter from Kaiteur News newspaper, one of the local dailies, to leave the employ of that entity as he was preparing to dispatch gunmen to attack its headquarters in retaliation for the newspaper’s relentless exposure of corruption and malfeasance involving the attorney general and other high government officials. This is cause for consternation. 

Moreover, court evidence established that the PPP government was previously involved in the assassination of journalist Ronald Waddell. Hence, revelations that Guyana’s chief law enforcement official is complicit in a contemplated act of public terror deserves global condemnation, particularly when the president and his government have refused to sanction Mr Nandlall, and have instead expressed unqualified support for his sanctimonious lawlessness.

President Ramotar’s dictatorial prorogation of parliament as a device to subvert the will of the people is the heaviest blow against democratic governance in Guyana. This parlous state of affairs has dire consequences for a society with prominent ethnic fault-lines. An outbreak of internecine violence cannot be permitted in our hemisphere. The US and the international community must act now, before violence erupts and the PPP government begins to kill its political opponents, as it has done in the past. 

There is documented evidence by the United Nations that the PPP government facilitated the extra-judicial murder of over four hundred (400) young African-Guyanese men. The United States government also has previously established that members of the PPP regime entered into an alliance with now US convicted narco-trafficker Shaheed Roger Khan, who was recently convicted and sentenced to fifteen years in jail by a US Federal Judge in the Eastern District of New York (See United States of America v. Shaheed Khan, case # :2009-cr-00150).

During Khan’s trial the US Justice Department presented evidence substantiating the involvement of Guyanese government Minister Leslie Ramsammy (reportedly a citizen of the United States) with a notorious death squad. Court testimony establish that Mr Ramsammy facilitated the procurement of eavesdropping and cell phone triangulation equipment from the US for the said death squads, which were under the control of Shaheed Roger Khan, to use to track prospect victims. 

The Justice Department also established through court testimony that Mr Ramsammy played a role in the assassination of journalist Ronald Waddell. Yet, in spite of his appalling criminal reputation, Mr Ramsammy remains a minister of the Guyana government and continues to operate with impunity. 

Drug barons who traffic narcotics to the United States currently enjoy significant involvement in the economic life of Guyana. Most are wanted by the United States but operate in plain view of President Ramotar and his government. These alleged fugitives from US justice remain unapprehended by ostensibly financing President Ramotar’s ruling PPP’s political operations and allegedly supplying illegal weapons to their political supporters.

Guyana already has the dubious reputation as a transshipment hub for drugs to the USA. Political turmoil strengthens the hands of the narco-traders, arms dealers and human traffickers.

We believe that the situation in Guyana portends a clear and present danger to United States vital national security interests. 

Consequently, we urge the immediate consideration of sanctions; including the freezing of the assets of the ruling clique, who in spite of their notorious criminal enterprises, enjoys the acquisition of assets and bank accounts in the United States.

Yours sincerely, 

Rickford Burke, LL.M.
President, Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID)

November 12, 2014

Hon. John Forbes Kerry
Secretary of State of the United States of America
United States Department of State
2201 C Street NW
Washington, DC 20520

Dear Secretary Kerry:

Suspension of democracy in Guyana by the despotic Ramotar regime

Drug barons who traffic narcotics to the United States currently enjoy significant involvement in the economic life of Guyana. Most are wanted by the United States but operate in plain view of President Ramotar and his government. These alleged fugitives from US justice remain unapprehended by ostensibly financing President Ramotar’s ruling PPP’s political operations and allegedly supplying illegal weapons to their political supporters.

Yours sincerely, 

Rickford Burke, LL.M.

Letter to US Secretary of State regarding the suspension of democracy in Guyana, Published on November 13, 2014, http://caribbeannewsnow.com/to...in-Guyana-23623.html

Perhaps, why the US_of_A is unable to cease this action?

Also, with the numerous letters, what exactly has the US_of_A done to address the issues from this organization?

This letter is all over the place...and in some instances, full of crap...especially the killing of 400 black men

There is documented evidence that the PPP sponsored Phantom Death Squad carried out those extra judicial murders. The dossier pertaining to this is also in the hands of the US State Department.

Are you trying to deny that this happened? 

Originally Posted by Mars:

This letter is all over the place...and in some instances, full of crap...especially the killing of 400 black men

There is documented evidence that the PPP sponsored Phantom Death Squad carried out those extra judicial murders. The dossier pertaining to this is also in the hands of the US State Department.

If you going to write about suspension of democracy, then stick to that...this is all rambling...btw, that 400 black men story is nonsense

Oh, cut this bull. America can't cut uncle Ramu rass for exercising his constitutional right. Is the PPP administration tell them to haul their asses from interfering in Guyana internal affairs. Yall does feel allyou ass swell when people right letter to America and complain. America don't own Guyana.

Originally Posted by Mars:

If you going to write about suspension of democracy, then stick to that...this is all rambling...btw, that 400 black men story is nonsense

The man is establishing the case in totality to show how corrupt and despotic the PPP dictatorship is. It may not be exactly 400 but many extrajudicial murders were carried out at the hands of the PPP sponsored Phantom Death Squad. There is no doubt about that.

Anyway, whatever you may think of the letter, the US State Dept is now aware. That's what matters.

I thought he already established most of this stuff a few years ago...

It has since deteriorated and the US State Department needs to know about the further autocratic steps taken by the PPP to reinforce their dictatorship.

Raymond are you now saying that the story about Black People getting Killed by Roger Khan Drug Squad is nonsense?

If that is what yuh saying how can you be proud of your Past Membership in the YSM?

Are you denying Roger Khan slaughter some of your former Comrade of the PNC. 

Raymond are you now saying that the story about Black People getting Killed by Roger Khan Drug Squad is nonsense?

If that is what yuh saying how can you be proud of your Past Membership in the YSM?

that story is true...but many of those were also criminals...and in some cases, criminals were killing fellow criminals

ANyway, if he want write letter, then stick to the issue at hand...it's obvious that the other issues have no traction because nothing was ever done

Proud YSM Graduate

Nehru look how Rev and Yuji run away and lef yuh fuh tek licks.....Bhai cut rass gon pass......Ramotar play straight into De-Chief-of-Staff hands.

Tomorrow them YSM youths gon tek over de streets....and Meh friend proud of them ....... he will not distance himself from them.....PNC got support.....wha mo dem want?

And when Bus Rass passing....Bisram, Rev ,Yuji & Kwame run away.

Nehru look how Rev and Yuji run away and lef yuh fuh tek licks.....Bhai cut rass gon pass......Ramotar play straight into De-Chief-of-Staff hands.

Tomorrow them YSM youths gon tek over de streets....and Meh friend proud of them ....... he will not distance himself from them.....PNC got support.....wha mo dem want?

And when Bus Rass passing....Bisram, Rev ,Yuji & Kwame run away.

Why dont you go there tomorrow leh Rohee BUST YUH CAP!!!!

that story is true...but many of those were also criminals...and in some cases, criminals were killing fellow criminals

ANyway, if he want write letter, then stick to the issue at hand...it's obvious that the other issues have no traction because nothing was ever done

Proud YSM Graduate...

Bhai ......Proud YSM Graduate is a Lil Bhai.....Insignificant.....House of Isreal got more Ranking than YSM Pick-Pocket......Yuh think Burke or De Chief-of-Staff care wha some lill Proud YSM Bhai saying?

Nehru I bet you Rohee gon be hiding with Bisram tomorrow.

Yuh think we gon see Rohee in Public....

When dem Proud YSM youth tek de streets.....

I bet yuh Rohee gon run and hide....

If Rohee show eee face.....

You should be promoted ..... to Chat-4.....I think so..

Proud YSM Graduate...

Bhai ......Proud YSM Graduate is a Lil Bhai.....Insignificant.....House of Isreal got more Ranking than YSM Pick-Pocket......Yuh think Burke or De Chief-of-Staff care wha some lill Proud YSM Bhai saying?

You shoulda join YSM, yuh might have been tougher

Oh, cut this bull. America can't cut uncle Ramu rass for exercising his constitutional right. Is the PPP administration tell them to haul their asses from interfering in Guyana internal affairs. Yall does feel allyou ass swell when people right letter to America and complain. America don't own Guyana.

Tell dem deh bhai Cobra. Weh all dem peeple dis bin wen Hoyte and forbes bin rig and frig? Dem time dah "abie bin pun tap", dem nak kay. Leh dem haul dem rass.

plenty ayuh run way when Burnham was rigging...no backbone

Ray yuh still got Juice in YSM?

We might have to slide in Nehru first....

I want Nehru experience how dem wild pig operate under PNC 

With Umbrella Protection : Under de cover of House of Israel, National Service, Peoples Militia, Police and GDF.....

them YSM Pick-pocket-Pigs tek over de streets, Grunting, making Nuff Noise and having a field day.....all under PNC watch.

And plenty a Dem ah halla from dem Computa and sending young Afros to do the dirty work. 

You mean like how the PPP sending Kwame to recruit Eddie lame and Taps son to become the new media thugs?

You nah bin need fuh run away. You bin get wan PNC cyaad. Good food heh? You bin give full suppote.

Ray look one ah dem Darpok attacking yuh about PNC cyaad and KSI food...

yuh see why yuh cant trust these Darpok.....dem cant know a secret and shut dem mouth.

Ray look one ah dem Darpok attacking yuh about PNC cyaad and KSI food...

yuh see why yuh cant trust these Darpok.....dem cant know a secret and shut dem mouth.

Jaleel, wah you nah shet you raas? You expose de man and now you harass de man wid wah you expose? Like you ah play 2 side blade cutlass? Abie nah bin dem dutty coolie.

America will be in Guyana in the blink of an eye if ISIS was there. America done eye up Guyana oil and gas for the future. If you give them permission to build military base to spy on Venezuela, they like that. Nothing else is important at this right now. America get their own problems, nah give them more. 

America done eye up Guyana oil and gas for the future.

Indeed, and while every political organization has issues to address/resolve, PPP/C is the preferred group for Guyana.

America will be in Guyana in the blink of an eye if ISIS was there. America done eye up Guyana oil and gas for the future. If you give them permission to build military base to spy on Venezuela, they like that. Nothing else is important at this right now. America get their own problems, nah give them more. 

eye up is all gon happen

Rickford Burke, LL.M.

Letter to US Secretary of State regarding the suspension of democracy in Guyana, Published on November 13, 2014, http://caribbeannewsnow.com/to...in-Guyana-23623.html

Also, with the numerous letters, what exactly has the US_of_A done to address the issues from this organization?

He is writing as a US citizen.  Many US citizens write to the US gov't about developments in their nations of birth.

Had this letter come APNU or the AFC it would smack of colonialism, but it is percectly in order for a US citizen to apprise his gov't of what certain renegade nations like Guyana are up to.  Especially given that Guyana occupies less attention at the State Dept than does St Kitts Nevis.  This contrary to what some Guyanese might think.

Rickford Burke, LL.M.

He is writing as a US citizen.

As a US Citizen, yet with the title ... President, Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) ??

When dem Proud YSM youth tek de streets.....

so..

You PPP refugees are a piece of work. You pushed the MONC, which every one knew that Ramotar would block.

You now want to hide behind black people and have them risk injuries or even death should Rohee get his thugs to attack them.

Then if the mobs get enraged and seek revenge against the PPP and then scape goat Indians, you will be the first to scream about them "black PNC savages".

Let APNU and the AFC (Indo party II) march.  Let Indo party II demonstrate to Afro Guyanese that at least some Indians will risk injury for the good of Guyana as Guyanese have to battle against a PPP dictatorship!

Rickford Burke, LL.M.

As a US Citizen, yet with the title ... President, Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) ??

hehehe  LAAD  AH MERCY

Rickford Burke, LL.M.

Did you say the same thing about those lobbying groups for Israel, Ireland, India or China?  US citizens can lobby for which ever cause that they wish and that can also be based on ethnicity or country of national origin.

Chuck Schumer lobbies for Israel all the time.  He wasnt born there, and no one in his family was either, yet he does so.

So why can't Rickford lobby to represent the interests of Guyanese, Trinidadians and Barbadians?

America done eye up Guyana oil and gas for the future.

Indeed, and while every political organization has issues to address/resolve, PPP/C is the preferred group for Guyana.

It's amazed me that people think that Guyana is on the brink of collapsed because the president use his constitutional authority to suspend parliament in wake of parliament refusal to conduct the government business first. Guyana can't go on like this forever with a one seat majority blocking the nation business. This is anti-progress of its worst kind. You will hear all kind of rejections and praises from both sides, but it remains Guyana problem. People get too excited over people's opinionated views who write for a living. When the president do something illegal, then I want to know. Not when he did something within his constitutional right. God, damn it.