The whole thing about "CHANGE" is nothing BS.
caribny posted:Demerara_Guy posted:caribny posted:When Burnham left he took with him some Indians. Burnham knew that his party couldn't win unless he won some rural seats, and that he couldn't win on the basis of a racial vote. So he had to get cross ethnic support if he was going to win. You will note that in 1957 he didn't have the ability to rig the vote.
As noted by world authorities and official records, Burnham rigged every elections after 1964 to remain in power.
He rigged every election after 1964 because he knew that ethnic voting meant that he would never win otherwise.
Perhaps, rigging elections is the focus and preferred PNC option.
Billy Ram Balgobin posted:The whole thing about "CHANGE" is nothing BS.
Nah tell dat to dem DUMB GNI @#$% Heads.!!!!!!!!!!!!
Demerara_Guy posted:Perhaps, rigging elections is firmly ingrained in the manner how the PNC conducts its political activities .. many of those who are firmly entrenched in the current PNC are members of the party since in the 1950's.
Stop being a jackass. The PPP didn't have to rig because they didn't have to at least not until recently. The Indian vote was the majority vote. So don't mount some moral high horse
The PPP was quite happy to have the BGEIA out their campaigning with the apan jhat scream. They didn't give a fig the degree to which that alienated much of the rural African vote which didn't initially follow Burnham. The PPP didn't care because they didn't need that African vote, given that in rural constituencies the Indian vote dominated..
Now look at the PPP in 2016. After generations of relying on the ethnic vote, and being out of power, so lacking the mechanisms to rig, they don't know what to do. Ethnic voting can no longer help the PPP because there are no longer enough Indian votes. The PPP doesn't know how to undo the 60s years of campaigning AGAINST blacks and mixed voters that they have done to woo the Indian vote.
Let the records show Carib never refuted the PNC did at sometime rig votes. ( not something we see from the opposition when confronted, what we usually see is denial)
Straight Talk from the Minister, Where is all the Money and assistance ending up ?
“Something is wrong in this region, something is wrong, we are in Georgetown, we are at Cabinet meeting, we are passing this, we are passing that, we are talking about bringing the services to our people and Linden comes up repeatedly........ there is a clog in the system in Linden…there is something or someone stopping the services that this government is bringing…something is wrong,” declared Lawrence.
END of QUOTE
The people of Linden deserve better but POLITICIANS are in the way, stealing from the taxpayers.
In the end, the buck stops at Granger's desk. He has to drop the hammer. Will he duck again ?
Carib needs to address this and stop blaming the PPP for the problems in which current PNC administration of Linden are stealing for the people.
HEHEHEHEHE..we boy yugi DeFighta of Justice for De Bruddas..yessss!!!
If this woman does not know what the problem is then she needs to vacate her position or just shut up. She is making herself a fool by sounding like someone who can't figure what their problem is yet keep complaining.
Carib needs to address this and stop blaming the PPP for the problems in which current PNC administration of Linden are stealing for the people.
Given that the PPP left office 15 months ago their 23 years still defines what happens in Guyana.
Now please tell me what you will do if Granger sells Guysuco and limits his assistance to destitute former sugar workers to an electricity subsidy. And does nothing to assist sugar belt regions to transition to other economic activities.
If Linden gets 1 cent you scream that they are takers, yet you demand that Guysuco continues to get tens of millions of annual subsidies.
The change they voted for, they got. What are they complaining about?
Ramakant-P posted:The change they voted for, they got. What are they complaining about?
The PPP supporters are sheep. They vote PPP and follow orders and don't hold their leaders accountable.
The modern PNC supporter is different. They vote PNC and then demand that the PNC responds to their needs. When the PNC doesn't then they conveyed to the PNC, by forming independent groups in the LGE, that they have an alternative. Kwakwani is no longer a PNC town. And in fact independents now hold more seats in G/T than does the PPP.
They complained and demanded that the PNC fulfill their promises which they don't intend to do. It's back to the Burnham days when the Kabaka used to execute disgruntled members just for breathing.
caribny posted:yuji22 posted:
Given that the PPP left office 15 months ago their 23 years still defines what happens in Guyana.
Now please tell me what you will do if Granger sells Guysuco and limits his assistance to destitute former sugar workers to an electricity subsidy. And does nothing to assist sugar belt regions to transition to other economic activities.
If Linden gets 1 cent you scream that they are takers, yet you demand that Guysuco continues to get tens of millions of annual subsidies.
Carib,
I am in support of Linden and the people of Linden uplifting their lives. Yes, I am opposed to electricity subsidy and feel that the Electricity Subsidy monies should be spent on the youths of Linden providing better job opportunities and training for them.
Linden was thrown under the bus when the bauxite Industry collapsed.
I am in support of the recently announced Tolls.
Yuji is not a hardcore capitalist and has a heart and a conscience too.
Indo rice farmers also need assistance and so does sugar workers.
This administration needs to be more balanced. Unless Guyanese put heads and shoulders together, Guyana is screwed.
Demerara_Guy posted:MINISTER of Social Protection Volda Lawrence believes that Linden needs a ‘shake up’ so that the residents can benefit from services made available by the government to bring relief to citizens. Lawrence at a public meeting in the mining town said that something or someone in Region 10 is preventing services from reaching residents.CLOG IN THE SYSTEM
“Something is wrong in this region, something is wrong, we are in Georgetown, we are at Cabinet meeting, we are passing this, we are passing that, we are talking about bringing the services to our people and Linden comes up repeatedly because we know over 23 years you have been punished and then to come here and to hear the stories that we are hearing …. there is a clog in the system in Linden…there is something or someone stopping the services that this government is bringing…something is wrong,” declared Lawrence.Linden needs a ‘shake up’ – Volda Lawrence, By Vanessa Braithwaite, August 22, 2016, http://guyanachronicle.com/lin...e-up-volda-lawrence/
Something indeed seems to be wrong and most definitely the Minister and cabinet are deflecting the issues on others.
The area was successful and thriving during the period under DEMBA but when Forbes Burnham nationalised and took over the operation around 1974 the operations and other activities declined at a rapid rate under the PNC regime.
East Indians of Guyana should stop worrying about Linden and other people who don't give a damn about them and instead concentrate on organizing their own people so eventually we will get our own sovereign independent country.
caribny posted:Demerara_Guy posted:The area was successful and thriving during the period under DEMBA but when Forbes Burnham nationalised and took over the operation around 1974 the operations and other activities declined at a rapid rate under the PNC regime.
1, Cheddi endorse the nationalization.
2. Linden's collapse went into free fall when Jagdeo fired 3,000 people when he sold Guymine from under them.
3. The PPP can not point to a single piece of evidence that they have attempted to revitalize Linden's economy.
Linden went into decline due to global dynamics regarding new/original Aluminum. The GoG could not change that. The only country driving growth and demand for new quantities was China and had brought on-line their domestic sources. 90% of today's aluminum is recycled and have been in the supply chain since the 40's.
The PPP was so desperate for money to rebuild, you can rest assure, if the bauxite industry could have made a positive foreign currency contribution, even at a local operating loss, the PPP would have gone for that!
Black people in Linden wanted mining work, and many went to the gold rush. Many also went to the timber industry seeking employment. This is the type of work Black people want to do. What initiative could the PPP undertake which the Blacks would have embraced? Maybe some small shipbuilding, etc. But these must be decided by the private sector also.
Caribj, you know these, not sure how tight you hold your nose when you write such shyte!
Prashad posted:Demerara_Guy posted:MINISTER of Social Protection Volda Lawrence believes that Linden needs a ‘shake up’ so that the residents can benefit from services made available by the government to bring relief to citizens. Lawrence at a public meeting in the mining town said that something or someone in Region 10 is preventing services from reaching residents.CLOG IN THE SYSTEM
“Something is wrong in this region, something is wrong, we are in Georgetown, we are at Cabinet meeting, we are passing this, we are passing that, we are talking about bringing the services to our people and Linden comes up repeatedly because we know over 23 years you have been punished and then to come here and to hear the stories that we are hearing …. there is a clog in the system in Linden…there is something or someone stopping the services that this government is bringing…something is wrong,” declared Lawrence.Linden needs a ‘shake up’ – Volda Lawrence, By Vanessa Braithwaite, August 22, 2016, http://guyanachronicle.com/lin...e-up-volda-lawrence/
Something indeed seems to be wrong and most definitely the Minister and cabinet are deflecting the issues on others.
The area was successful and thriving during the period under DEMBA but when Forbes Burnham nationalised and took over the operation around 1974 the operations and other activities declined at a rapid rate under the PNC regime.
East Indians of Guyana should stop worrying about Linden and other people who don't give a damn about them and instead concentrate on organizing their own people so eventually we will get our own sovereign independent country.
Any GoG (PPP/PNC) must look after the interest of all Guyanese!
ba$eman posted:Any GoG (PPP/PNC) must look after the interest of all Guyanese!
Correct.
Demerara_Guy posted:Indeed; it is on record and quite known that those groups were firmly within the then PPP-Burnhamites which subsequently became the PNC.
So now you are confusing yourself. You scream that Burnham was EXCLUSIVELY responsible for the racial divided, ignoring of course that only Cheddi could have benefitted from racial voting.
You now imply that Burnham encouraged Indians to vote along racial lines. Burnham's only path to victory lay in splitting the Indian vote in rural constituencies. So why would he or any one acting on his behalf encourage Indians to vote race, when that meant consolidating their support around the PPP?
The lengths that the PPP goes to pretend as if they didn't play a role in our ethnic morass is amazing. No responsibility for the violence against blacks by the PYO, the worst being the Son Chapman incident. No responsibility for exploiting the fact that with the support of the largest ethnic group, ethnic voting highly favored the PPP.
Instead Anansi stories that people smuggled explosives from G/T to Linden, when explosives were easily available in Linden. And now the lie that the BGEIA was part of the PPP-Burnhamite faction.
ba$eman posted:Linden went into decline due to global dynamics regarding new/original Aluminum. The GoG could not change that. The only country driving growth and demand for new quantities was China and had brought on-line their domestic sources. 90% of today's aluminum is recycled and have been in the supply chain since the 40's.
The PPP was so desperate for money to rebuild, you can rest assure, if the bauxite industry could have made a positive foreign currency contribution, even at a local operating loss, the PPP would have gone for that!
Black people in Linden wanted mining work, and many went to the gold rush. Many also went to the timber industry seeking employment. This is the type of work Black people want to do. What initiative could the PPP undertake which the Blacks would have embraced? Maybe some small shipbuilding, etc. But these must be decided by the private sector also.
Caribj, you know these, not sure how tight you hold your nose when you write such shyte!
Sugar in Guyana went into deep decline because our production costs are 3X the price that it can earn. The EU no longer wants our sugar and the rest of the world can buy it more cheaply.
So the same argument that you use to justify the same of Guymine can equally be used to justify the sale/closure of GuySICKO.
Linden remains a town of massive unemployment because not every one is able to be absorbed into gold mining.
Does speculative panning for gold in the marginal sites that small miners can afford, or working as semi slave labor for larger contractors replace the solid income that working in bauxite afforded? Can women work in that industry? Can they bring their children into gold mining areas?
Labor conditions in the forestry industry have been highly exploitative and people complained about this to no avail. So cease going on as if this is a happy alternative.
People have to find ways to survive and the fact that they did doesn't justify the refusal of the PPP to build on the resources of Linden. FACT. the PPP deliberately let Linden die as punishment because this isn't a PPP town.
Look at how differently the PPP deals with Wales. Now Wales lies just across the river from G/T and in Guyana's most dense labor market. Clearly there are more options for some one from Wales to generate income equivalent to what they earn in sugar, when compared to what former bauxite workers have endured.
Yet Jagdeo screams when plans to announce closure of that estate were announced.
East Indians of Guyana should stop worrying about Linden and other people .
Your wife was heard telling her friends that she has a mad Indian husband who seems to hate her, and their kids, as he babbles continuously of setting up some "coolie nation". That only if one adapts to seem fantasy of what he thinks that Indian culture is can they be absorbed.
And as she has no intention of doing so, and neither do her kids, that "he deh pun he own with his 'coolie nation.'"
caribny posted:Demerara_Guy posted:Indeed; it is on record and quite known that those groups were firmly within the then PPP-Burnhamites which subsequently became the PNC.
So now you are confusing yourself. You scream that Burnham was EXCLUSIVELY responsible for the racial divided, ignoring of course that only Cheddi could have benefitted from racial voting.
You now imply that Burnham encouraged Indians to vote along racial lines. Burnham's only path to victory lay in splitting the Indian vote in rural constituencies. So why would he or any one acting on his behalf encourage Indians to vote race, when that meant consolidating their support around the PPP?
The lengths that the PPP goes to pretend as if they didn't play a role in our ethnic morass is amazing. No responsibility for the violence against blacks by the PYO, the worst being the Son Chapman incident. No responsibility for exploiting the fact that with the support of the largest ethnic group, ethnic voting highly favored the PPP.
Instead Anansi stories that people smuggled explosives from G/T to Linden, when explosives were easily available in Linden. And now the lie that the BGEIA was part of the PPP-Burnhamite faction.
As usual, irrelevance to obfuscate the specific issue.
yuji22 posted:.Carib,
I am in support of Linden and the people of Linden uplifting their lives. Yes, I am opposed to electricity subsidy and feel that the Electricity Subsidy monies should be spent on the youths of Linden providing better job opportunities and training for them.
Linden was thrown under the bus when the bauxite Industry collapsed.
I am in support of the recently announced Tolls.
Yuji is not a hardcore capitalist and has a heart and a conscience too.
Indo rice farmers also need assistance and so does sugar workers.
This administration needs to be more balanced. Unless Guyanese put heads and shoulders together, Guyana is screwed.
You aren't in support of any such thing. FACT Linden has cheaper energy costs than other parts of Guyana. FACT. You and others bray that Guyana cannot develop an industrial sector as energy costs are high. So why not encourage the development of manufacturing based on value added processing of our commodities right there in Linden. It could have been a location of major value added processing of forestry products, as an example.
So the PPP could have in fact combined lower energy costs with a raft of other fiscal incentives, taking advantage of the fact that Linden had a denser supply of skilled workers in Guyana, and is located between the coast and the interior, so is a good hub, to transform Linden.
What did it do. It sought to take away the subsidy, a legacy of the DEMBA era, and did NOTHING to help Linden transform from being a bauxite town. Why did it want to take away the subsidy. Because the PPP was angry that Linden rejected them in 2011, this after boasting that the would win. Now what did the PPP do to justify a win in Linden, a town that it destroyed?
The PPP has already sunk US$500,000,000 into that failing company. That does NOT include massive amounts wasted on Skeldon. This to ensure that Guysuco survives and job losses by sugar workers minimized. So what more do the sugar workers deserve? How many ordinary workers in Guyana benefit from the raft of employee benefits that these people get? Gold workers? Rice workers? Timber workers? Workers in low paid private sector jobs?
I can assure you that the electricity subsidy received by the average Lindener has NOT been US$500,000,000!
I haven't seen anything new from this gov't. to boost economic growth and improve the living standard of the Guyanese people. More and more this gov't. is coming under attack from independent groups about corrupt deals and the bleak prospect the private sector is facing. This is not about race or religion. This is about the economy and a loss of confidence in government policies.
Billy Ram Balgobin posted:. More and more this gov't. is coming under attack from independent groups about the corrupt deals and the bleak prospect the private sector is facing.
The SAME people who also attacked the PPP for the SAME reasons, and you called them traitors at the time.
So why suddenly you change your tune?
caribny posted:Billy Ram Balgobin posted:. More and more this gov't. is coming under attack from independent groups about the corrupt deals and the bleak prospect the private sector is facing.
The SAME people who also attacked the PPP for the SAME reasons, and you called them traitors at the time.
So why suddenly you change your tune?
I never did. I've always been cognizant of the fact that corruption existed under the PPP/Civic government, but disagreed with the level claimed by the opposition. I argued that the coalition will prove to be a more corrupt government than the PPP in addition to their propensity to rig elections and govern undemocratically.
caribny posted:I can assure you that the electricity subsidy received by the average Lindener has NOT been US$500,000,000!
Linden gets $3B electricity subsidy,
While individuals residing along the coastland and other areas in Guyana will be bearing the brunt of high electricity costs, averaging at least $48 per kilowatt hour, the people of Linden will continue to pay a nominal $5 per kilowatt hour for electricity.
For instance, currently most residents of Lethem, in Region Nine (Upper Takatu-Upper Essequibo) pay some $80 per kilowatt hour for electricity. The residents there get the first 15 kilowatts of energy free but thereon after, the next 15-50 kilowatts is charged at $60. For over 50 kilowatts, they pay $80 per kilowatt.
Linden gets $3B electricity subsidy, …enjoys 1/10 of rates for rest of country, August 28, 2015 By GuyanaTimes
Billy Ram Balgobin posted:caribny . I argued that the coalition will prove to be a more corrupt government than the PPP in addition to their propensity to rig elections and govern undemocratically.
1. You have no proof that the PNC is more corrupt than the PPP was. Their current scandals pale in comparison with the PPP. A building to store drugs compared to sheltering narco traffickers, and awarding huge swathes of land to friends of the PPP.
2. The PPP has yet to furnish evidence that there has been any rigging under APNU AFC. In fact the PPP was as happy as a pig in a mud dam after the LGE. Well if APNU AFC were so determined to rig wouldn't they have done so then? Yet the PPP claimed "victory".
Demerara_Guy posted:caribny posted:I can assure you that the electricity subsidy received by the average Lindener has NOT been US$500,000,000!
While individuals residing along the coastland and other areas in Guyana will be bearing the brunt of high electricity costs, averaging at least $48 per kilowatt hour, the people of Linden will continue to pay a nominal $5 per kilowatt hour for electricity.
For instance, currently most residents of Lethem, in Region Nine (Upper Takatu-Upper Essequibo) pay some $80 per kilowatt hour for electricity. The residents there get the first 15 kilowatts of energy free but thereon after, the next 15-50 kilowatts is charged at $60. For over 50 kilowatts, they pay $80 per kilowatt.
Linden gets $3B electricity subsidy, …enjoys 1/10 of rates for rest of country, August 28, 2015 By GuyanaTimes
Linden includes BOSAI. So get back to me when you discuss the subsidy that the average Lindener gets! Most of the electricity used in Linden is by BOSAI.
And in fact the PPP could have transformed Linden into a major industrial center, given its low costs. Value added manufacturing would have moved Guyana from being an exporter of raw commodities, and Guyana as a whole would have benefitted.
But then people who think that opening a roti shop at the airport is major economic development cannot see this. Especially as their attitude is that no project was worthy unless it allowed 20% to seep into the pockets of some PPP official. Which is why the PPP spurned the Brazilians who were willing to build an all weather road from Lethem to Linden. This would also have benefitted Linden.
By the way how much electricity can 20k impoverished people use?
caribny posted:Demerara_Guy posted:caribny posted:I can assure you that the electricity subsidy received by the average Lindener has NOT been US$500,000,000!
Linden includes BOSAI. So get back to me when you discuss the subsidy that the average Lindener gets! Most of the electricity used in Linden is by BOSAI.
And in fact the PPP could have transformed Linden into a major industrial center, given its low costs. Value added manufacturing would have moved Guyana from being an exporter of raw commodities, and Guyana as a whole would have benefitted.
But then people who think that opening a roti shop at the airport is major economic development cannot see this. Especially as their attitude is that no project was worthy unless it allowed 20% to seep into the pockets of some PPP official. Which is why the PPP spurned the Brazilians who were willing to build an all weather road from Lethem to Linden. This would also have benefitted Linden.
Simply take your time to read, understand and then make comments or statements.
[[Quote from article]]
[[Unquote from article]]
caribny posted:ba$eman posted:Linden went into decline due to global dynamics regarding new/original Aluminum. The GoG could not change that. The only country driving growth and demand for new quantities was China and had brought on-line their domestic sources. 90% of today's aluminum is recycled and have been in the supply chain since the 40's.
Sugar in Guyana went into deep decline because our production costs are 3X the price that it can earn. The EU no longer wants our sugar and the rest of the world can buy it more cheaply.
So the same argument that you use to justify the same of Guymine can equally be used to justify the sale/closure of GuySICKO.
Linden remains a town of massive unemployment because not every one is able to be absorbed into gold mining.
Does speculative panning for gold in the marginal sites that small miners can afford, or working as semi slave labor for larger contractors replace the solid income that working in bauxite afforded? Can women work in that industry? Can they bring their children into gold mining areas?
Labor conditions in the forestry industry have been highly exploitative and people complained about this to no avail. So cease going on as if this is a happy alternative.
People have to find ways to survive and the fact that they did doesn't justify the refusal of the PPP to build on the resources of Linden. FACT. the PPP deliberately let Linden die as punishment because this isn't a PPP town.
Look at how differently the PPP deals with Wales. Now Wales lies just across the river from G/T and in Guyana's most dense labor market. Clearly there are more options for some one from Wales to generate income equivalent to what they earn in sugar, when compared to what former bauxite workers have endured.
Yet Jagdeo screams when plans to announce closure of that estate were announced.
Listen banna. Sugar is in decline, yes, but i still has a positive forex contribution. Much of the loss comes from local costs, not imported. Now, to the closure of estates, yes I agree it makes sense. BJ exploiting the dissatiafaction, well is what politicians do.
Now bai, tell us what are the resources in Linden which the PPP refused to build on? I will guess, the biggest resource after the bauxite was the skilled people. their skills were suited to the mining industry where most went anyway. When i was with the AFC, i floated the idea of ship building, starting with trawler size. it will need investment but the labor force is suited. I even mention this to a PNC supporter in 2015. I do agree, the people of Linden will need gainful employment.
Demerara_Guy posted:caribny posted:Demerara_Guy posted:caribny posted:I can assure you that the electricity subsidy received by the average Lindener has NOT been US$500,000,000!
Simply take your time to read, understand and then make comments or statements.
[[Quote from article]]
[[Unquote from article]]
How does that negate what I say?
1. BOSAI benefits. They get cheap electricity and are paid to provide it to Linden as well.
2. BOSAI are the biggest users of electricity.
3. The fact that electricity in Linden is cheap meant that it could have been used as an industrial hub.
ba$eman posted:
Now bai, tell us what are the resources in Linden which the PPP refused to build on? I will guess, the biggest resource after the bauxite was the skilled people. their skills were suited to the mining industry where most went anyway. When i was with the AFC, i floated the idea of ship building, starting with trawler size. it will need investment but the labor force is suited. I even mention this to a PNC supporter in 2015. I do agree, the people of Linden will need gainful employment.
1. In fact the skills that Lindeners had were best suited to working in an industrial environment. Given that they lacked capital most headed to the gold mines would have been more of the low tech old time pork knocker type, maybe with some simple equipment.
2. The PPP blew an opportunity to transform Linden into an industrial hub. Now its likely that the best skilled and most motivated workers have left. Those who have remained have probably fallen into the same malaise as decaying centers usually, former steel mill towns in the USA being an example of this.
Brazil offered by build a highway FREE as they needed it to open up northern Brazil (largely Roraima state) and in those days Brazil saw itself as a hemispheric giant, competing against the USA. Jagdeo didn't make a decision, and in fact the Brazilians jumped ahead and built the bridge over the Takutu. But they couldnt build the road in Guyana. Now they are broke.
The PPP had no big visions beyond stealing and accumulating personal wealth. I see Jagdeo now has a lot of mouth about what the gov't should do to incentivize manufacturing. Now why didn't he have that vision and used Linden as an industrial center?
Jagdeo is a fundamental racist who, like you, disrespects blacks. Had he transformed Linden into an industrial center it would have become a PPP town, as their support for the PNC has always been soft (look at their ongoing conflict with Granger, who they even chased out just before the elections).
But Jagdeo thinks that all blacks are good for is a concert, and a backball, so thought that having Hitz and Jamz would guarantee PPP victory. Well the folks went to the free show, and still remembered how harder their lives became after Guymine was sold.
The fact that Guysuco is NOT paying its suppliers on time has negative impact on the local economy. In addition of course the bail outs represent a misallocation of resources that could be better spent diversifying the economy. Maybe even helping out the rice farmers becoming more efficient and low cost.
Guysuco is a drain on the government, and also on the economy. This is regardless as to whether it contributes to foreign exchange or not.
caribny posted:The fact that Guysuco is NOT paying its suppliers on time has negative impact on the local economy. In addition of course the bail outs represent a misallocation of resources that could be better spent diversifying the economy. Maybe even helping out the rice farmers becoming more efficient and low cost.
Guysuco is a drain on the government, and also on the economy. This is regardless as to whether it contributes to foreign exchange or not.
Wrong!!! How about 50% raises, living in luxury, $5 mil(USD) theft, nepotism, racism, corruption..and the list goes on.
skeldon_man posted:Wrong!!! How about 50% raises, living in luxury, $5 mil(USD) theft, nepotism, racism, corruption..and the list goes on.
The PPP gave themselves 100% raises by stealing. All the rest is also an apt description of the PPP. I bet a large chunk of the Guysuco bailouts went into the PPP cronies who ran that company into the ground.
But when Jagdeo and his buddies were stealing ahbe was in power, and black man would never run Guyana again, so all of that was OK. Paupers in 1992 becoming millionaires (US$) by 2015 when their salaries would never allow for this.
caribny posted:skeldon_man posted:Wrong!!! How about 50% raises, living in luxury, $5 mil(USD) theft, nepotism, racism, corruption..and the list goes on.
The PPP gave themselves 100% raises by stealing. All the rest is also an apt description of the PPP. I bet a large chunk of the Guysuco bailouts went into the PPP cronies who ran that company into the ground.
And your PNC boys are choir boys. Uncle Joe is the Cardinal of the catholic group.
caribny posted:1. In fact the skills that Lindeners had were best suited to working in an industrial environment. Given that they lacked capital most headed to the gold mines would have been more of the low tech old time pork knocker type, maybe with some simple equipment.
2. The PPP blew an opportunity to transform Linden into an industrial hub. Now its likely that the best skilled and most motivated workers have left. Those who have remained have probably fallen into the same malaise as decaying centers usually, former steel mill towns in the USA being an example of this.
1. Guyana was a self-government when the PPP was in the administration.
2. PNC came into power in 1964 and ruled until 1992.
What has the PNC done during the 28 years to improve the situation at MacKenzie, Wismar and Christianburg ??
Burnham nationalised DEMBA around 1972 and installed Haslyn Parris as the executive officer for the business.
Of note also ....
When Burnham nationalised the then DEMBA, among others, the following have occurred;
1. The workers completely lost what they were entitled to under DEMBA -- participation in the decision making plus management of the company.
2. Drastic decreases in workers' income were prominent on a yearly basis.
skeldon_man posted:And your PNC boys are choir boys. Uncle Joe is the Cardinal of the catholic group.
Continue with your hatred of non Indians. As bad as APNU AFC might be the fact that the PPP is the Indo KKK will ensure that they lose elections. Indians are 43% of the voting age, continue to flee the country, and not every Indo is stuck on the PPP plantation.
Demerara_Guy posted:Of note also ....
When Burnham nationalised the then DEMBA, among others, the following have occurred;
1. The workers completely lost what they were entitled to under DEMBA -- participation in the decision making plus management of the company.
2. Drastic decreases in workers' income were prominent on a yearly basis.
Like I said Cheddi applauded it, so he also shares the blame. The Leader of the Opposition is supposed to attempt to prevent the Head of State from making "mistakes". By applauding Burnham, when he sought to dominate the entire economy, to ensure that his dictatorship became entrenched, Cheddi encouraged him.