The country’s Chief Elections Officer (CEO) Keith Lowenfield and his deputy Roxanne Myers who head the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) Secretariat are reportedly absent from the stakeholders meeting with the Chairman Justice (rt’d) Claudette Singh on Saturday.

The Chairman summoned all political parties that contested the March 2, 2020 general and regional elections to a meeting at the Arthur Chung Conference Centre to discuss the recount process for all ballots cast in the ten electoral districts.

Lowenfield and Myers play a crucial part in the recount process given the fact that they head the Secretariat which will be overseeing the entire recount.

The Chairman commenced the meeting without them and those in attendance were informed that the CEO has a “family emergency” while Myers is reportedly in Linden, Region 10.

The News Room understands that representatives from all political parties are at the meeting including five of the six GECOM Commissioners.

Joseph Harmon, David Patterson, Amna Ally and Carol Joseph are at the meeting on behalf of the APNU+AFC while Anil Nandlall and Zulfikar Mustapha are representing the PPP/C.

The three-member CARICOM team which was flown in to scrutinise the recount is not at the meeting.

The News Room understands that the CARICOM team is slated to meet with the Chairman at 12:30h Saturday.

Breaking News ... From the meeting with political parties. 

APNU is against live broadcasting of the recount and the use of cell phones.

APNU want to count 4 Region at a time as oppose to count one region at a time as suggest by PPP and the smaller parties. 

APNU is against cross referencing the new count against the previous count.  

APNU suggestion is for a mass confusion, removing boxes from containers without accountability. 

Who is against Transparency of the recount. 

Tim Jonas would make a good President of Guyana. He is well educated, level headed, and comes from a strong bloodline.

So yuh check out de man pedigree. How about my nephew Balgobin? He said that you were very sweet to him. He said hi and that he misses you. 

Carter Center Guyana Election Observation Mission@CarterGuyanaEOM
Update: The Carter Center is trying to get an observer on a Monday flight to Georgetown to observe the recount but has so far been unsuccessful in getting approval from the government of Guyana. #GuyanaElections

Carter Center says no approval yet from gov’t for observer to fly in

This story is developing and will be updated.

The Carter Center today said that it has so far been unsuccessful in getting permission from the Government of Guyana for an observer to fly into the country on Monday to observe the recount of votes for the March 2nd elections.

In a tweet, the Center said: “The Carter Center is trying to get an observer on a Monday flight to Georgetown to observe the recount but has so far been unsuccessful in getting approval from the government of Guyana”.

The Center is one of five major observer groups which observed the March 2nd elections and had expressed grave concerns over the rectitude of the tabulation for District Four by Returning Officer Clairmont Mingo. It had signalled its interest in returning for the recount.

Please uncle Django, petition PNC for a live broadcast of the recount, we want to see out great leader David Granger winning and start the celebrations, and see them PPPC and small party sour face crying 😢 .

PPPC is afraid of the live streaming and they knows why and the world knows why. 

@Django posted:

Seems Observers ..et al  aren't trusted.

When will there be maturity and the end to dependence on others to settle election issues in Guyana ?

When the shameless PNC stop being crooked.  Nothing wrong with observers, why say they are not trusted, its more like they all conclude that Mingo is as scamp.

AJ
@Abu Jihad posted:

When the shameless PNC stop being crooked.

Nothing wrong with observers, why say they are not trusted, its more like they all conclude that Mingo is as scamp.

The PNC was out of office for 23 yrs .The party got back in office joining with other parties to form the government in 2015 , currently the rest is history.

Regarding your last sentence ,if the observers are trusted ,why the need for live broadcast ? the past mockery of the elections aren't enough.

@Django posted:

The PNC was out of office for 23 yrs .The party got back in office joining with other parties to form the government in 2015 , currently the rest is history.

Regarding your last sentence ,if the observers are trusted ,why the need for live broadcast ? the past mockery of the elections aren't enough.

Are you for transparency of the recount, or do you support a rig recount?

@Django posted:

What more transparency needed with all the people present at the "upcoming " election recount ?

Live stream!  Let the nation see for themselves.  It's not something requiring secrecy.  It's a national event!

@Django posted:

Seems Observers ..et al  aren't trusted.

When will there be maturity and the end to dependence on others to settle election issues in Guyana ?

By the crooks, yes.  Does a criminal favor a police presence?

There will be maturity when the PNC becomes civilized!

@Django posted:

I do not recall that the PPP engaged in anything closely remote to this charade, so educate me about their 23 yrs.  what I do know is that the PNC under both Burnham and Hoyte rigged elections.  I was a young child who accompanied  my father to the polls in 1973 only to be tturned away from voting.  

As per the live broadcast, it is only now required after the show of gross misconduct by your PNC goons at GECOM. 

AJ
@Django posted:

What more transparency needed with all the people present at the "upcoming " election recount ?

Sir,  These very people “ ALL THE PEOPLE “ were there in every election, yet supporters / politicians find a way to discredit them. Where is the democracy? Where is the transparency?
The Guyanese people voted and their democratic rights was denied, in light of the current situation, transparency is the only satisfaction to the voters.. public trust is credible for the final result.. allow everyone to see for themselves the recount was fair. 

What is there to hide Djanjo? 

@Django posted:

In Guyanese parlance ,you talking fraaf.

Yes, me know.  You support the evils who deprived your very own the dignity of a house lot.  And you cuss the people who made it a reality.

Talk about Crab Dwagg!!

You talking shyte!

@Abu Jihad posted:

I do not recall that the PPP engaged in anything closely remote to this charade, so educate me about their 23 yrs.

what I do know is that the PNC under both Burnham and Hoyte rigged elections.  I was a young child who accompanied  my father to the polls in 1973 only to be tturned away from voting.  

As per the live broadcast, it is only now required after the show of gross misconduct by your PNC goons at GECOM. 

Is that so ? brush up on all the Elections from 1992 ,lots of credible information can be accessed free.

Yes, me know.  You support the evils who deprived your very own the dignity of a house lot.  And you cuss the people who made it a reality.

Talk about Crab Dwagg!!

You talking shyte!

More fraaf !!!!

Sir,  These very people “ ALL THE PEOPLE “ were there in every election, yet supporters / politicians find a way to discredit them. Where is the democracy? Where is the transparency?
The Guyanese people voted and their democratic rights was denied, in light of the current situation, transparency is the only satisfaction to the voters.. public trust is credible for the final result.. allow everyone to see for themselves the recount was fair. 

You bother with his shyte.

I find people who align with the PNC become as boldface, arrogant and sell their own conscience to the devil!

Just look at Nagamootoo and Ramjattan, they were with the PPP when the PNC murdered PPP observers to steal the election.  And today the are part and parcel of the same.

Hitler's Jewish prison guards were more brutal to Jewish prisoners than the Nazi Germans.

It never ended well for them either!

There are nothing to hide ,perhaps some are afraid of the revelations .

When i hear the words of "Democracy and Transparency " from some quarters , just laugh it off.

"Fledgling Democracy"  started from 1992.

Yea, that's the depth of your comeback.  Says alot!

Dumb fool!

Listen banna ,i didn't call you any names samjhe . If you can't have a decent conversation stay put.

@Django posted:

Listen banna ,i didn't call you any names samjhe . If you can't have a decent conversation stay put.

There is nothing decent about you conversations.  Just lies and more lies and shameless lies!