March 16, 2016 Source

Massy Stores will open its first supermarket here tomorrow at Providence.

A release from Massy yesterday said that the regional supermarket chain, which currently operates 45 retail locations in Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, St. Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines has now extended its offering here.

Massy Stores Guyana will be located in Amazonia Mall, Providence, East Bank Demerara and the release said that it offers the convenience of one-stop shopping within its 16,000 square feet of retail space, making it the largest supermarket in the country. The Trinidad-based Massy is promising high quality fresh produce, chilled and frozen meat, prepared foods and a wide variety of local and foreign food and general merchandise items. The Massy Stores Supermarket will also offer a number of other services including a deli and bakery, butcher and fresh fish counters, an in-store pharmacy, ATM Machines, MoneyGram and SurePay points of service.

The store’s design incorporates wide aisles to comfortably accommodate shoppers, and automated in-store price checkers. It is also complemented by extensive parking facilities, the release said.

“Massy Stores is truly excited about opening our doors in the Guyana market. We are a Caribbean chain and we believe that being in the Guyana market gives us an opportunity to be more authentically Caribbean, as we bring on board 120 Guyanese associates to create something new for this market. This is about bringing a new shopping experience to Guyanese consumers and sharing our best practises and best models across Caribbean territories,” said Thomas Pantin, Senior Vice President & Executive Chair-man, Retail Line of Business, Massy Group.

He noted that a second store is already in progress at the Turkeyen MovieTowne complex which is scheduled to open in 2017.

Deo Persaud, Country Manager, Massy Guyana, added in the release that “Massy has been operating in Guyana for the past 48 years and our model has been primarily business to business, as we have been operating in the industrial and LPG gases, automotive and industrial equipment, distribution, security services and IT industries locally. Now we are really moving into a new space, operating in retail and serving a wider customer base which is a new and exciting business for us. We also have the opportunity to work closely with local suppliers and local producers so that our consumers can find a wide variety of high-quality, local items in one location.”

Massy Stores Guyana will be open to the public from Monday to Thursday from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., on Fridays and Saturdays from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. and on Sundays from 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.

I remember Massy as an industrial company.

They are also into other areas of business.

This should be a great avenue for cash crop and livestock farmers also fishermen.

The government ought to emphasized that products are sourced from the local areas first then outreach to other areas and countries. It is the best practice. Products stay fresh, can have strict quality control and respond to customer feedback promptly.  We do not need outlet warehouses for foreign products undercutting or ignoring local productive capacities.

Doom and Gloom crew  take note,one on the go.

Second store to open at Turkeyen,coming soon.

Yes bai Django. Employment for a lot of folks...that's security folks getting employment. Just imagine all those guns parading in front of the stores? A prime target for fund raisers.

The government ought to emphasized that products are sourced from the local areas first then outreach to other areas and countries. It is the best practice. Products stay fresh, can have strict quality control and respond to customer feedback promptly.  We do not need outlet warehouses for foreign products undercutting or ignoring local productive capacities.

And you are NOT a Communist?????????

Doesn't he sound like that other guy who said, "Let's feed, clothe, and house ourselves by 1976."

The sugar workers dem can go and sell produce in the supermarket.  That should be a good trade off.  Could this be anotherPPP project coming to fruition??

What PPP project?? Massy is doing business in GY a very long time,they are expanding in other areas.

A release from Massy yesterday said that the regional supermarket chain, which currently operates 45 retail locations in Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, St. Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines has now extended its offering here.

Massy Stores Guyana will be located in Amazonia Mall, Providence, East Bank Demerara and the release said that it offers the convenience of one-stop shopping within its 16,000 square feet of retail space, making it the largest supermarket in the country. The Trinidad-based Massy is promising high quality fresh produce, chilled and frozen meat, prepared foods and a wide variety of local and foreign food and general merchandise items. The Massy Stores Supermarket will also offer a number of other services including a deli and bakery, butcher and fresh fish counters, an in-store pharmacy, ATM Machines, MoneyGram and SurePay points of service.

You are a that what you call others: a jackass. Every good supermarket does exactly that for its meats and produce section.

Doesn't he sound like that other guy who said, "Let's feed, clothe, and house ourselves by 1976."

I see you are a moron like he is despite all your great pretensions to intellect. Every good supermarkets does as I stated, even Wholefoods. Good restaurants also does the same, shop from local farmers,  to maintain freshness and quality.

Mass marketers neglect local markets to keep cost down and often they neglect better quality. Shopping local for the essentials ie dairy, vegetables, and meats foster and support local merchants, ensure quality and freshness and maintain good relations with customers and their community at the same time. Every one wins this way.

You are a that what you call others: a jackass. Every good supermarket does exactly that for its meats and produce section.

Yeah BUT you are a Communist Dumb Jackass!!  Giddeeeeeup!!!!

Stormborn p

Yeah BUT you are a Communist Dumb Jackass!!  Giddeeeeeup!!!!

If only you grasp what that meant I would be worried! As usual you simply rattle off words like a parrot...a complete disconnect with intellect.

Fool< which Supermarket in America get instructions from the Govt as to what to sell??????  Are you really dat STUPID?????????????  Shit I forgat to put question marks!!!!!!!!!

In our small society where there is a dire need for local producers to vend their products, any mega store coming in ought to make a commitment to procure products available locally. It is not communism moron, it is good business. Were it communism, the stores would not exist but government controlled outlets would be there in its place.

Doom and Gloom crew  take note,one on the go.

Second store to open at Turkeyen,coming soon.

Yes bai Django. Employment for a lot of folks...that's security folks getting employment. Just imagine all those guns parading in front of the stores? A prime target for fund raisers.

You worry about them guns just tell your family not to try and rob this store

Massy opens ultra modern Supermarket in Guyana with push to work close with local suppliers and producers

According to the company, the new location in the Amazon Mall building represents 16,000 square feet of retail space and it offers fresh produce, chilled and frozen meat, prepared foods and a wide variety of local and foreign food and general merchandise items. The supermarket also hosts a pharmacy, ATMs and money transfer and bill payment services.

Massy opens ultra modern Supermarket in Guyana with push to work close with local suppliers and producers

The Massy Stores continued their supermarket dominance across the Caribbean on Thursday with the opening of their first Guyana supermarket. The supermarket which is located at New Providence just behind the National Stadium, is the 46th of the company’s retail locations in the Caribbean and it now boasts of having Guyana’s largest supermarket.

According to the company, the new location in the Amazon Mall building represents 16,000 square feet of retail space and it offers fresh produce, chilled and frozen meat, prepared foods and a wide variety of local and foreign food and general merchandise items. The supermarket also hosts a pharmacy, ATMs and money transfer and bill payment services.

“The Store’s international design, which incorporates wide aisles to comfortably accommodate shoppers, and automated in store price checkers, is also complemented by extensive parking facilities to enhance the overall shopping experience”, the company said in a statement.

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 2.06.16 PM

At the opening ceremony this morning, Minister of Business, Dominic Gaskin praised the opening of the supermarket and Massy’s continued investment in Guyana and support for doing business in Guyana.

Mr. Gaskin said the Massy company has a workforce of 1300 persons in Guyana and already contributes handsomely to the local economy. “This investment demonstrates that Guyana is the place to make investment”, Gaskin said.

He said the Government will continue to ensure that a leveled playing field exists for all companies and persons who do business in Guyana and play their role in strengthening the local economy.

The country manager for Massy Guyana, Deo Persaud, noted that the company has been operating in Guyana for 48 years and has always pushed a “business to business” model.  He said “now we are really moving into new space, operating in retail and serving a wider customer base which is a new and exciting business for us”

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 2.06.34 PM

The Country Manager also noted that the opening of the supermarket provides the greater opportunity for the company to work closely with local suppliers and local producers, so that the customers could find the widest variety of quality local items in one location.

Massy Stores Guyana Supermarket will be open from 8:00am to 8:00pm on Monday to Thursday and on Friday and Saturday from 8:00am to 9:00pm. On Sundays, the doors will be open from 9:00am to 3:00pm.   The new supermarket has already hired over 100 persons.

The company has already started construction of another supermarket. The new one will be located at the East Coast Movie Towne Complex and is scheduled to open its doors in 2017.

http://newssourcegy.com/news/m...liers-and-producers/

On Ladd look local produces on display  Great Stormy, you are on to something.   

Supermarket look nice bhai,Guyana going to the moon.

Now the farmers have to give them some produce to retail,you think they will import cassava.

Massey and other T&T companies did state their willingness, both to invest, and to source product from Guyana, instead of from Brazil.

The dumb and corrupt PPP did nothing because the Trinis weren't going to bribe them.

.  Could this be another PPP project coming to fruition??

NO! When Massy and other T&T companies came to Guyana, to invest and source product, the PPP did NOTHING.

So stop ventilating that this is another PPP product.  Many, who tired of Guyana, when a corrupt PPP ran the show, are giving Guyana another look.

Fool< which Supermarket in America get instructions from the Govt as to what to sell??????  Are you really dat STUPID?????????????  Shit I forgat to put question marks!!!!!!!!!

In our small society where there is a dire need for local producers to vend their products, any mega store coming in ought to make a commitment to procure products available locally. It is not communism moron, it is good business. Were it communism, the stores would not exist but government controlled outlets would be there in its place.

Every Caribbean gov't tries to ensure that investors source product locally where ever possible.  They even work with cruise ship lines to source their supplies from within the Region.

Its only the crab dog PPP who thinks that this is a bad move.  No wonder they invited Chinese frauds, who did their best to destroy what ever little manufacturing that remains in Guyana, with their import of cheap/inferior Chinese goods.

Isn't Massey Guyanese, thought they were. I remember meeting a Massey at GCC ground for a cycling meet, they were somehow involved in cycle racing.

They are from T&T. Used to be Neal & Massy, the parent company for Ainlim on the East Bank by Ruimveldt. They built Tapir vehicles.

Isn't Massey Guyanese, thought they were. I remember meeting a Massey at GCC ground for a cycling meet, they were somehow involved in cycle racing.

They are from T&T. Used to be Neal & Massy, the parent company for Ainlim on the East Bank by Ruimveldt. They built Tapir vehicles.

From commercials vans they were modified to be come Taxis,is that true Skelly you are from Tapir Town[Skeldon]

True.

This is what the PNC crew are getting high about? Another foreign retail store that don't produce anything looking to push out the local business people and capitalize on wealth accumulated under the PPP now being slowly siphoned off by the AFC/APNU.  Guyana should be trying to attract businesses that actually make some product rather than those looking to come in like the Chinese and plunder then leave when going gets tough.

When PPP bin in powa every rumshap opening ayuh used to celebrat as progress.

BTW massay been in GY fuh dankey years they jus expanding now

Pointblank
Last edited by Pointblank

On Ladd look local produces on display  Great Stormy, you are on to something.   

This speaks volumes of  investors  confidence in the economy under the APNU+AFC regime.

You should try reading and understanding what you have read before typing nonsense and we have to pull you up on it.

"The Country Manager also noted that the opening of the supermarket provides the greater opportunity for the company to work closely with local suppliers and local producers, so that the customers could find the widest variety of quality local items in one location.

Cain, you're talking about Barry Massey, a Guyanese cyclist. Massy Company is foreign, used to be near Colgate-Palmolive in Ruimveldt, probably still there.

Oh rant Gilly know nuff nuff stuff, hehehe. That's who I was thinking about but I do know there was a company there by the same name just got them all mixed up. I met a Massey coulda been Barry (big fella) at a cycling meet when I last visited.

This project was conceived and planned prior to the elections of the present administration. The same for the company' massiveequipment  showroom and site on the East Coast.

This is an opportunity for local producers to sell their products, but this will depend on the  comparative prices paid to them. Lots of supermarkets in Guyana now, but not necessarily lower prices. More foreign products available. I would say that the prices are still high. Caters more to the people from foreign, the upper classes, and the upper middle class. Most people still prefer and get their vegetables and meat from the market sellers. The vegetables at the supermarket are more expensive (NIgel and Survival) than the markets. 

More jobs for people, though most are low skilled and low paying, but it is better than nothing.

Z

You should try reading and understanding what you have read before typing nonsense and we have to pull you up on it.

"The Country Manager also noted that the opening of the supermarket provides the greater opportunity for the company to work closely with local suppliers and local producers, so that the customers could find the widest variety of quality local items in one location.

Guyana desperately needs exports, not cannibalizing the local businesses by forcing out the small vendors with big box stores. How many local vendors will be forced out of business not that Massey has opened the supermarket? Also from the pictures inside the supermarket, less than 10% of the items appear to be local. Notice all the items on the shelves that are packed, indicating foreign imports.

Minister Khemraj Ramjattan and his lovely wife checking out the fresh produce in the supermarket yesterday.