Mohan Singh, a rice farmer from Rosignol,welcomed his son, Maraj, home. Maraj studied Astrology and obtained a doctorate in it.

Mohansingh: Meh so happy yuh do well. Leh we go in deh bush and camp, son. One day, or two day nuf.

Maraj: Why? But okay.

They setup their tent and fell asleep. In the middle of the night, Mohansingh wakes Maraj.

Mohansingh: Eh, eh? Look up deh in deh sky. Wah yuh see, bye?

Maraj: I see millions of stars, Pawpaw.

Mohansingh: Whah dah tell yuh, bye?

Maraj: It tells me there are millions of galaxies and planets in our Solar System. Don't you understand, Pawpaw?

Lall remains silent for moment and then he says: No stupidy. Somebody teef dej tent.

Originally posted by Chief:
Mohan Singh, a rice farmer from Rosignol,welcomed his son, Maraj, home. Maraj studied Astrology and obtained a doctorate in it.

Mohansingh: Meh so happy yuh do well. Leh we go in deh bush and camp, son. One day, or two day nuf.

They setup their tent and fell asleep. In the middle of the night, Mohansingh wakes Maraj.

Maraj: It tells me there are millions of galaxies and planets in our Solar System. Don't you understand, Pawpaw?

Lall remains silent for moment and then he says: No stupidy. Somebody teef dej tent.
astronomy not astrology. No university on the planet would offer a doctorate in a study of nonsense. BTW stars and galaxies are not in the solar system. The sun is a star! Pops definitely did not need a missing tent to make that clear to him. You mangled the joke. The smart man that wanted to tell us about the making of a fool in this joke needed to be smart first.

How did Lall get into this joke & who is Lall? Smile
Originally posted by D2:
astronomy not astrology. No university on the planet would offer a doctorate in a study of nonsense. BTW stars and galaxies are not in the solar system. The sun is a star! Pops definitely did not need a missing tent to make that clear to him. You mangled the joke. The smart man that wanted to tell us about the making of a fool in this joke needed to be smart first.

Ow D2 leff de joke let it be a joke nah!!
Originally posted by D2:

Come on D2, dis 'are' a Guyana site and dis 'are' a Guyana joke. lol

Me fren Peel-Neck was attracted to dis girl and was walking beside her one day when they came across a strong odour and she asked ' Wha is da obnoxious smell ?'
Not knowing the meaning of obnoxious and not wanting to look dumb to his first love, Neck replied ' It is me darling."
Originally posted by Tola:
Originally posted by D2:

Come on D2, dis 'are' a Guyana site and dis 'are' a Guyana joke. lol

Me fren Peel-Neck was attracted to dis girl and was walking beside her one day when they came across a strong odour and she asked ' Wha is da obnoxious smell ?'
Not knowing the meaning of obnoxious and not wanting to look dumb to his first love, Neck replied ' It is me darling."
You cannot mangle reality in a joke. Jokes get their force in the inversions of reality. The receiver of the joke can only "get" the joke if they can contrast what is said with what is real in the world.

Your joke makes the point the other did not.
D2, this Guyana joke is a make over of this quote : "Elementary, My Dear Watson"

Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson go on a camping trip, set up their tent, and fall asleep. Some hours later, Holmes wakes his faithful friend.

"Watson, look up at the sky and tell me what you see."

Watson replies, "I see millions of stars."

"What does that tell you?"

Watson ponders for a minute. "Astronomically speaking, it tells me that there are millions of galaxies and potentially billions of planets. Astrologically, it tells me that Saturn is in Leo. Timewise, it appears to be approximately a quarter past three. Theologically, it's evident the Lord is all-powerful and we are small and insignificant. Meteorologically, it seems we will have a beautiful day tomorrow. What does it tell you?"

Holmes is silent for a moment, then speaks. "Watson, you idiot, someone has stolen our tent."
Originally posted by Mitwah:
D2, this Guyana joke is a make over of this quote : "Elementary, My Dear Watson"

Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson go on a camping trip, set up their tent, and fall asleep. Some hours later, Holmes wakes his faithful friend.

"Watson, look up at the sky and tell me what you see."

Watson replies, "I see millions of stars."

"What does that tell you?"

Watson ponders for a minute. "Astronomically speaking, it tells me that there are millions of galaxies and potentially billions of planets. Astrologically, it tells me that Saturn is in Leo. Timewise, it appears to be approximately a quarter past three. Theologically, it's evident the Lord is all-powerful and we are small and insignificant. Meteorologically, it seems we will have a beautiful day tomorrow. What does it tell you?"

Holmes is silent for a moment, then speaks. "Watson, you idiot, someone has stolen our tent."
I know the story and it is consistent. Above, they mangled astronomy and astrology, galaxy with the solar system etc and corrupted the line of reasoning the jokes depends on to demonstrate that erudition and intellect sometimes misses common sense; the missing tent.
Originally posted by Sunil:
Once when I was at Uni a professor from Caltech came to give a lecture on astronomy, about 100 mostly girls showed up. When they found out that it was not on astrology only 5 of us were left.
Here, in DC, at Exploring Space Lectures offered at the Smithsonian the attendance is mixed