Well we should close down all the schools and universities and let people teach themselves? 

Listen JB!

It takes tremendous discipline and a tenacious desire to learn for one to attend the SELF UNIVERSITY. Most people lack those qualities. They are pleased with a formal education. Most settle in life for mediocrity.

Well we should close down all the schools and universities and let people teach themselves? 

Listen JB!

It takes tremendous discipline and a tenacious desire to learn for one to attend the SELF UNIVERSITY. Most people lack those qualities. They are pleased with a formal education. Most settle in life for mediocrity.

I'm just not convinced you are above mediocre. 

How come when you divide 0 by 0 you get 1?

Mitts:

I see you are familiar with L'Hopital's rule.

SIMPLE MATH QUESTION:

Even a Howard grad like Danyael would know this.

What is the limit of (ax)/x as a approaches 0 by using

L'Hopital's rule ?

Ans: The limit is "a"

But if you just put x = 0 in this expression, you get 0/0. 

So, according to L'Hopital, 0/0 is equal to a.

Are you following Mitts ?

Did you notice that I didn't say what "a" was ? 

That's because it doesn't matter.

You can pick "a" equal to anything you want. For
instance, you could pick a = 1.  Then you would get

0/0 = 1

How about that Mitwah ji ?

Self education my bwoy.

GO AHEAD---SLANDER!

Mitts:

I see you are familiar with L'Hopital's rule.

SIMPLE MATH QUESTION:

Even a Howard grad like Danyael would know this.

What is the limit of (ax)/x as a approaches 0 by using

L'Hopital's rule ?

Ans: The limit is "a"

But if you just put x = 0 in this expression, you get 0/0. 

So, according to L'Hopital, 0/0 is equal to a.

Are you following Mitts ?

Did you notice that I didn't say what "a" was ? 

That's because it doesn't matter.

You can pick "a" equal to anything you want. For
instance, you could pick a = 1.  Then you would get

0/0 = 1

How about that Mitwah ji ?

Self education my bwoy.

GO AHEAD---SLANDER!

The equation is not ax/x. It is x/x.

you should have stayed in XXX Dildo school a bit longer.... to learn how to change batteries properly.  Or was that Do Dil?

Mitts:

This was the question you asked:

The Rev demonstrated to you above the only way 0/0 =1 is by applying L'Hopital's rule.

But you are towering intellect Mitts---whomever Lord Krishna blesses---and he has blessed Mitwah ji---no ordinary man(like Rev) dares argue with.

Mitts:

This was the question you asked:

The Rev demonstrated to you above the only way 0/0 =1 is by applying L'Hopital's rule.

But you are towering intellect Mitts---whomever Lord Krishna blesses---and he has blessed Mitwah ji---no ordinary man(like Rev) dares argue with.

Hindus discovered 0.  Any number multiplied by 0 is 0; the expression 0/0 has no defined value and is called an indeterminate form. You must have learned that in Calculus...

May Lord Krishna grant his choicest blessings.

Hindus discovered 0.  Any number multiplied by 0 is 0; the expression 0/0 has no defined value and is called an indeterminate form. You must have learned that in Calculus...

Mitts:

The Rev is even more impressed with you----You are actually a man of numbers---you devil youlol---you just play coy on the forum at times.

But while you are 100% correct with your comment above Mitts----this was the question you posed:

And the Rev, a proud graduate of the SELF UNIVERSITY, gave you the answer.

PS. I'll bet you Danyael doesn't show up on this thread---he said he was exempted from Calculus in college---the Rev challenged him---and exposed him as a LIAR---Danyael is now afraid of taking on the Rev

Mitts:

The Rev is even more impressed with you----You are actually a man of numbers---you devil youlol---you just play coy on the forum at times.

But while you are 100% correct with your comment above Mitts----this was the question you posed:

And the Rev, a proud graduate of the SELF UNIVERSITY, gave you the answer.

PS. I'll bet you Danyael doesn't show up on this thread---he said he was exempted from Calculus in college---the Rev challenged him---and exposed him as a LIAR---Danyael is now afraid of taking on the Rev

Why would I have to show up and waste time with you? that is first year calculus and you defining it that way saying 0/0 = 1 is ass backward way to explain indeterminate forms. As mits informed you the equation as stated has no meaning and is the reason one takes limits ie the reason calculus itself exists. The rule is given to "convert"  indeterminate to forms with meaning ie forms from which one can take a derivative.

I don't know Rev. Not my friend or relative. Never met him.

Having declared the above, permit me to join the conversation, friends.

Academic qualification is not the same as education.

I know university graduates in Guyana and Canada whose knowledge base is alarmingly narrow.

I also know some self-taught persons (autodidacts they're called) who accomplished much in life and gave much more to society.

The same applies to some university dropouts, like Microsoft founder Bill Gates, the great Russian writer Leo Tolstoy and the 1962 winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature, John Steinbeck.

The American writer Ernest Hemingway, another winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature, never attended university. Same goes for Maxim Gorky, a well-loved Russian writer.

For decades the books these men wrote have been required reading for high-school and university students around the world.

There are many more examples in varied fields of occupation which I cannot remember at this moment, except one.

The first President of the USA, George Washington, never attended university. Today there are educational establishments named after him.

Summing up, academic qualification is not a full measure of a man's true worth.

Let us accept this principle lest we be accused of academic chauvinism.

I know university graduates in Guyana and Canada whose knowledge base is alarmingly narrow.

I also know some self-taught persons (autodidacts they're called) who accomplished much in life and gave much more to society.

The same applies to some university dropouts, like Microsoft founder Bill Gates, the great Russian writer Leo Tolstoy and the 1962 winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature, John Steinbeck.

The American writer Ernest Hemingway, another winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature, never attended university. Same goes for Maxim Gorky, a well-loved Russian writer.

For decades the books these men wrote have been required reading for high-school and university students around the world.

There are many more examples in varied fields of occupation which I cannot remember at this moment, except one.

The first President of the USA, George Washington, never attended university. Today there are educational establishments named after him.

The rev is a pompous ass plain and simple

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Danyael:

Gilbakka made an excellent post of what real education is really about--it's not about University diplomas. He extolls the virtues of self education.  And your answer to the man is "the rev is a pompous ass plain and simple" ?

Listen Danyael! The Rev knows that you and many others here on GNI have deep animosity and contempt for him---that's OK----but show us you have a functioning brain and mind and respond intelligently to Gilbakka's post.

The Rev will respond to gilbakka later.

Danyael:

Gilbakka made an excellent post of what real education is really about--it's not about University diplomas. He extolls the virtues of self education.  And your answer to the man is "the rev is a pompous ass plain and simple" ?

Listen Danyael! The Rev knows that you and many others here on GNI have deep animosity and contempt for him---that's OK----but show us you have a functioning brain and mind and respond intelligently to Gilbakka's post.

The Rev will respond to gilbakka later.

Do you have a brain on your head? Is this the quintessence of a flip flopper with no core values? Are you not the one who felt that TK Education at Newschool was low classed and now you start on that rant of HU being a high school? You do not know the history of that place and its great success as an educational institution producing many of the non white lawyers doctors and engineers in the US and the third world. But you are a crass low life pig with a head full of air and nary a bit of common sense. Indeed one does not need to go to school to be educated. It is clear that one would be better if one went since it provides the work habit and culture for learning but most innovators of late came from men and women who only went to school part of the way.

Indeed I do not have an affinity for pomposity, airheads and pretense to elegance and bon vivant. I am not poor but I do not live an extravagant life. I live simply because I am comfortable with people who are closer to the earth. This does not mean they are hippies or uneducated subaltern masses but that they are real, know what they want in life and are good at it. These are most of the people in the world so I have lots of company. I would rather hang out with the blue jeans wearing beer drinkers than black tie wine and caviar connoisseurs. It is not that one or the other is bad but I know my comfort zone.

Mr Gilbakka indeed there are just a few exceptions to the rule like Microsoft's Bill Gates. The Google founders were PhD students at Stanford. Mr Bill Gates on TV said that once he founded the company he needed the engineers and professionals from universities. He could not do it by himself because he dropped out of university. he said he did not have the skills to take it to level 2, level 3...etc. One of the things I learned at UG is in life someone with a bachelor's will earn more on average than someone with only high school. Someone with a doctorate will earn more than someone with bachelors. Looking at the overall picture makes this clear. 

=====

Indeed one does not need to go to school to be educated.

Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!

I'm referring to your highlighted comment above Danyael!

And that's part of what Gilbakka was saying when he talked about SELF EDUCATION.

RE: TK and his New School PHD

TK/redux loved to brag on this forum about IQ---the Rev then pointed out this comment from the great physicist Dr. Stephen Hawking:

TK quit GNI shortly after professor hawking exposed him as a LOSER.

By the way, a Phd is just a diploma---an advanced diploma---but having a Phd does not make a man educated.

=====

And that's part of what Gilbakka was saying when he talked about SELF EDUCATION.

TK/redux loved to brag on this forum about IQ---the Rev then pointed out this comment from the great physicist Dr. Stephen Hawking:

By the way, a Phd is just a diploma---an advanced diploma---but having a Phd does not make a man educated.

Envy and bitterness is killing you. Can you get a PhD? 

=====

get over the silly bullshit about calling the man a loser. He is doing things his way and so far he is ahead of the curve. I respect the work people put in to get a phd even if it is in basket weaving from whatsthematter U. It shows commitment to a task.

* Academic qualification is not the same as education.

* I also know some self-taught persons (autodidacts they're called) who accomplished much in life and gave much more to society.

* Summing up, academic qualification is not a full measure of a man's true worth.

Gilbakka:

The Rev wishes to commend you on an excellent post above.

You absolutely nailed it with your comment "academic qualification is not the same as education."

It was Mark Twain who once wrote, "I would not let my schooling interfere with my education."

You see Gilly, a lot of people mistakenly believe that because someone has University credentials---BA, MS, MBA, PHD, MD, whatever--- that person is automatically educated.

That is furthest from the truth, and Gerorge Santayana nailed it when he said, "a person educated only at school is an uneducated person."

BOTTOM LINE:

Education is not what you get in colleges and Universities---what you get there is preparing for life---Education is not preparing for life---Education is life itself.

You will understand what the Rev just wrote Mr. gilbakka---most of the folks here would not.

PS. Don't be surprised to see this thread locked. The comments about what education really is may be deemed offensive to many.

Mr Gilbakka indeed there are just a few exceptions to the rule like Microsoft's Bill Gates. The Google founders were PhD students at Stanford. Mr Bill Gates on TV said that once he founded the company he needed the engineers and professionals from universities. He could not do it by himself because he dropped out of university. he said he did not have the skills to take it to level 2, level 3...etc. One of the things I learned at UG is in life someone with a bachelor's will earn more on average than someone with only high school. Someone with a doctorate will earn more than someone with bachelors. Looking at the overall picture makes this clear. 

JB, you are right.

Employers always desire the most qualified personnel.

University education is splendid. Students acquire good study discipline, receive instruction from lecturers face to face, and develop social skills by interacting daily with their peers.

University graduates, however, must not be snobbish to persons who acquire their education outside campuses, persons who study by themselves or through distance learning programmes like correspondence/online courses.

And, while a higher certificate/diploma/degree guarantees one a better paying job, it does not necessarily mean s/he is more educated or knowledgeable than someone who lacks those papers.

Banks DIH bossman Clifford Reis reportedly said some years ago he was disappointed at the writing/communication skills of UG graduates. I think Mr Reis never attended university, subject to correction, but he has proved himself one of Guyana's best industrial managers.

JB, you are right.

Employers always desire the most qualified personnel.

University education is splendid. Students acquire good study discipline, receive instruction from lecturers face to face, and develop social skills by interacting daily with their peers.

University graduates, however, must not be snobbish to persons who acquire their education outside campuses, persons who study by themselves or through distance learning programmes like correspondence/online courses.

And, while a higher certificate/diploma/degree guarantees one a better paying job, it does not necessarily mean s/he is more educated or knowledgeable than someone who lacks those papers.

Banks DIH bossman Clifford Reis reportedly said some years ago he was disappointed at the writing/communication skills of UG graduates. I think Mr Reis never attended university, subject to correction, but he has proved himself one of Guyana's best industrial managers.

My point is if businesses are going to expand they will need people trained at universities in areas engineering, accounting, science, finance etc. 

Rev has a Phd.

Mitts:

I see you hold the Rev in high esteem. But unfortunately the Rev cannot accept your praise. They are patently false.

May Lord Krishna put you on the path of the truth---and the truth is the Rev is a self educated man---a proud alumni of the SELF UNIVERSITY.