This first song is one that I've been listening to repeatedly over the last few days and one of a few which prompted me to start this thread.

The Fortunes - You've Got Your Troubles

I see that worried look upon your face,
You've got your troubles, I got mine.
She's found somebody else to take your place;
I too have lost my love today,
All of my dreams have flown away.
Now just like you I sit and wonder why;
You need some sympathy, well so do I,
She used to love me, that I know,
And it don't seem so long ago
That we were walking, that we were talking
The way that lovers do.
(music break)
I too have lost my love today,
All of my dreams have flown away.
And so forgive me if I seem unkind,
(Counter: And it must seem to you, my friend
That I ain't got no pity for you,
Well, that ain't true,
You see I lost my lost my lost my little girl too

I'd help another place, another time,
You've got your troubles, I got mine
Any collection of my favorite oldies must include Cliff Richard. I think this guy has such an awesome voice. I particularly like when he performs with The Shadows. This clip has 3 songs, the last two I think in Spanish and French. I only wanted to post the first song but this is the only complete version I can find on YouTube where he performs this song with The Shadows. This song is for someone who is far away and constantly deep in my heart. Smile

Cliff Richard & The Shadows - Constantly

All day I'm walking in a dream
I think about you constantly
Just like an ever flowing stream
Your memory haunts me constantly
Shadows fall and I try to drive you from my mind
So you're no longer near to me
But my heart sees you there with me
Every sunset you share with me
The rain that patters through the tree reminds
me of you constantly
Your name is whispered by the breeze and love birds
bring your song to me
Just as sure as each star keeps burning
in the sky your love will stay a flame in me
A flame that burns so bright
not only through the night
but constantly
Just as sure as each star keeps burning
in the sky your love will stay a flame in me
A flame that burns so bright
not only through the night
but constantly
Though we may be far apart
You're constantly deep in my heart
I saw an oldies concert on PBS recently and these guys were performing. They can still bring it.

The McCoys - Hang On Sloopy

Hang on Sloopy, Sloopy hang on

Sloopy lives in a very bad part of town
And everybody there tries to put my Sloopy down
Sloopy I don't care what your daddy do
'Cause you know Sloopy girl I'm in love with you
And so I'm singing...

CHORUS
Yeah yeah yeah yeah...

LEAD BREAK

Sloopy let your hair down girl, let it run down on me

Come on Sloopy Come on, come on - x 2
Well come on Sloopy Come on, come on - x 2

Well it feels so good Come on, come on
You know it feels so good Come on, come on

Well shake it, shake it, shake it Sloopy Come on, come on
Well shake it, shake it, shake it yeah
Yeah...

CHORUS
This is one from the late Great Buddy Miles who recently passed away on 2/26. Buddy was the drummer for Jimi Hendrix's Band of Gypsys but he was also a great guitarist.

Jimi Hendrix and Buddy Miles

Buddy Miles - Down By The River

Be on my side,
I'll be on your side,
baby
There is no reason
for you to hide
It's so hard for me
staying here all alone
When you could be
taking me for a ride.

Yeah, she could drag me
over the rainbow,
send me away
Down by the river
I shot my baby
Down by the river,
Dead, oh, shot her dead.

You take my hand,
I'll take your hand
Together we may get away
This much madness
is too much sorrow
It's impossible
to make it today.

Yeah, she could drag me
over the rainbow,
send me away
Down by the river
I shot my baby
Down by the river,
Dead, oh, shot her dead.

Be on my side,
I'll be on your side,
baby
There is no reason
for you to hide
It's so hard for me
staying here all alone
When you could be
taking me for a ride.

Yeah, she could drag me
over the rainbow,
send me away
Down by the river
I shot my baby
Down by the river,
Dead, oh, shot her dead.
This is one of those songs you sing when you and your girl break up and you still love her. Smile

The Guess Who - These Eyes

These eyes cry every night for you.
These arms long to hold you again.
The hurtin's on me yeah,
But I will never be free no my baby, no no.
You gave a promise to me yeah and you broke it, you broke it. Oh, no.

These eyes watched you bring my world to an end.
This heart could not accept and pretend.
The hurtin's on me yeah,
But I will never be free no no no.
You took the vow with me yeah.
You spoke it, you spoke it, babe.

These eyes are cryin'
These eyes have seen a lot of loves
But they're never gonna see another one like I had with you.
These eyes are cryin'

These eyes cry every night for you.
These arms, these arms long to hold you, hold you again.
These eyes are cryin'
Baby, baby, baby, baby.
This song is similar to this thread - Reflections of My Life. Smile

The Marmalade - Reflections of My Life

Verse 1
The changing of sunlight to moonlight
Reflections of my life
Oh how they fill my eyes
Verse 2 (Repeat)
The greetings of people in trouble
Reflections of my life
Oh how they fill my eyes

Chorus
Oh my sorrows
Sad tomorrows
Take me back to my own home

Chorus (Repeat)
Oh my crying (Oh my crying)
Feel I'm dying, dying
Take me back
To my own home

Verse 3 (Repeat Verse 1)
I'm changing, arranging,
I'm changing,
I'm changing everything
Everything around me

Verse 4 (Repeat Verse 1)
The world is
A bad place
A bad place
A terrible place to live
Oh but I don't wanna die ...

Chorus (2 x)
I am going to hitch a ride on this thread Big Grin Here I come ..... playing some of mine from listening to songs my parents loved, and the ones I fell in love with. Songs that will forever find a special place in my heart.

Though I was in love before
Then you moved in next door
Pretty blue eyes

All the guys in the neighbourhood
Keep saying that you sure look good
With your blue eyes
Pretty blue eyes

Saw you from my window
My heart skipped a beat
Wanna sit on your doorstep
So now I can meet
Pretty blue eyes

Please come out today
So I can tell you what I have to say
That I love you, love you
Pretty blue eyes

Pretty Blue Eyes
Amber, the singer for Pretty Blue Eyes was Steve Lawrence.

--------

(Still) though you broke my heart
(Still) though we're far apart
I love you still
(Still) after all this time
(Still) you're still on my mind
I love you still

I've lost count of the hours
and I've lost track of the days
In fact, I've lost just about everything
Since you went away
Everything, that is, except the memories you left me
And that's one thing that no one can mar

I don't know who you're with
I don't even know where you've gone
My only hope is that some day you might hear this song
And you'll know that I wrote it especially for you
And I love you, wherever you are

(Still) after all this time
(Still) you're still on my mind
I love you still

This flame in my heart is like an eternal fire
For every day it burns hotter
And every day it burns higher
And I haven't been able to put out one little flicker
Not even with all of these tears

My friends think I'm crazy and maybe I am
But I'll carry this torch just as long as I can
for some day, you might just decide to come home
and I want you to know
I'm still here

(Still) though you broke my heart
(Still) though we're far apart
I love you still

STILL-Bill (Whispering BILL) Anderson

Tommy my sweetheart has gone now
He's up in the heaven somewhere so little star high above
If you see Tommy tell him all my love

'Tell Tommy I love him, tell Tommy I miss him
Tell him thro' I may cry, My love for her will never die'

He drove his car in the stock car race
To win money so we could wed
He wanna so much to make me his wife
Mow my lovely Tom though he lost his life
I'm so lonely without him near
Oh, how I miss his warm embrace
I love no other, I want him to know
Oh little star please tell him so

Although he wanted to give me the world
Why did he do such a reckless thing
Little star he should realize
I was wretched and mean when he looked into my eyes

'Tell Tommy I love him, tell Tommy I miss him
Tell him thro' I may cry, My love for her will never die.

tell tommy i love him- skeeter davis
My all time favorite singer/band .... #1 for all music. The Beatles. I will open a thread dedicated only for Beatles songs in the future.

Jojo was a man who thought he was a loner
But he knew it wouldn't last.
Jojo left his home in tucson, arizona
For some california grass.
Get back, get back.
Get back to where you once belonged
Get back, get back.
Get back to where you once belonged.
Get back jojo. go home
Get back, get back.
Back to where you once belonged
Get back, get back.
Back to where you once belonged.
Get back jo.

Sweet loretta martin thought she was a woman
But she was another man
All the girls around her say she's got it coming
But she gets it while she can
Get back, get back.
Get back loretta. go home
Get back, get back.
Get back loretta
Your mother's waiting for you
Wearing her high-heel shoes
And her low-neck sweater
Get on home loretta
Get back, get back.

The Beatles, Get Back
Originally posted by Pink Panther:
My all time favorite singer/band .... #1 for all music. The Beatles. I will open a thread dedicated only for Beatles songs in the future.
Bannaz... is people like you mek dem rock stations complaining about Beatles music playing on oldies stations more than on rock stations. Big Grin I heard the announcers discussing this one morning.
Originally posted by D2:
Originally posted by AndrÃÂĐ:
I like down by the river by Neil Young also.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vVJYAg2L72w&feature=related

Neil Young wrote the song and is the original performer. I like Neil's version too but I chose Buddy's as it is a little more soulful and also to pay tribute to Buddy who recently died. I saw a Native American band play this song at a pow-wow a few months ago. One of the best renditions I've heard live. Neil Young looks like he has some Native American roots and a lot of his songs bare out those themes even though I don't see any mention of that ancestry in him.
Originally posted by Pink Panther:
Originally posted by Amber:
Mikey.. I am not sure if this is the correct name of this song.. but there was another with the same story..."Leader of the Gang"..play it if u can..thanks..or anyone else.. rc2

not sure if I know this one .. you have any more words for it?

I think she means "Leader of the Pack"

Shangri Las - Leader of the Pack

I met him at the candy store
He turned around and smiled at me - you get the picture
That's when I fell for - the leader of the pack

My folks were always putting him down
They said he came from the wrong side of town
They told me he was bad
But I knew he was sad
That's why I fell for - the leader of the pack.

One day my dad said "find someone new"
I had to tell my Jim we were through
He stood there and asked me why
But all I could do was cry
I'm sorry I hurt you - the leader of the pack.

He sort of smiled and kissed me goodbye
The tears were beginning to show
And as he left me on that rainy night
I begged him to go slow
But whether he heard, I'll never know

I felt so helpless - what could I do?
Remembering all the things we'd been through
At school they all stop and stare
I can't hide the tears, but I don't care
I'll never forget you - the leader of the pack.

The leader of the pack - now he's gone
The leader of the pack - now he's gone.
This was one of my dad's favorites. Everytime I hear this song I think of him.

Ben E. King - Spanish Harlem

There is a rose in Spanish Harlem
A red rose up in Spanish Harlem
It is a special one, it's never seen the sun
It only comes out when the moon is on the run
And all the stars are gleaming
It's growing in the street right up through the concrete
But soft and sweet and dreamin'

There is a rose in Spanish Harlem
A red rose up in Spanish Harlem
With eyes as black as coal that look down in my soul
And starts a fire there and then I lose control
I have to beg your pardon
I'm going to pick that rose and watch her as she grows in my garden

(There is a rose in Spanish Harlem)
La-la-la, la-la-la, la-la-la-la
This reminds me of a couple of friends left in GT who live on the street. Frown

What a great song though. partybanana

Bobby Womack - Harry Hippie

Everybody claims that they want the best things
outta life, (ha) but not everyone, not everyone
wanna got through the toils and strifes.

Like this particular fella, walks around
all day long singin' this song
sha na lah dah dah lah dah dah dah dah

Harry Hippie, lies asleep in the shade,
life don't bug him cause he
thinks he's got it made.
He never worry about nothin' in particular
Oooh he might even sell free press on Sunset.

I'd like to help a man when he's down
but I can't help him much
when he's sleepin' on the ground.

He's like a bottle in water
Harry just floats through life
Walks around all day long singin' this song
Whoa, whoa, whoa, ohhh yeah

Mary Hippie, she's Harry's lady
Panhandles money just to feed Harry's baby.
She can lie down a story so incredible
Man, you wanna help her take the food
home and put it on the table.

I'd like to help a man when he's down,
but I can't help ya Harry
if you wanna sleep on the ground.
Sorry Harry, you're too much weight
to carry around.

But he still walks around all day singin' this song
Sha dah dah dah sha nah nah nah nah nah
nah sha lah lah lah lah dah dah dah

Street child, street child, tell me where
will you be goin'
when old man winter gets his horn
and starts blowin'
Will you hang around LA
or hitch a ride on a freeway
Meet an old familiar face in a new place.

I'd like to help a man when he's down
But how can I help him
if he's somewhere outta town
Sorry Harry, think I'm gonna put you down.
Sha dah dah dah sha dah dah dah dah
sha lah lah lah lah dah dah dah
Everybody help me sing this song, oh yeah,
FADE

Bobby Darin - Beyond the sea

Somewhere beyond the sea
somewhere waiting for me
my lover stands on golden sands
and watches the ships that go sailin

Somewhere beyond the sea
he's there watching for me
If I could fly like birds on high
then straight to his arms
I'd go sailin'

It's far beyond the stars
it's near beyond the moon
I know beyond a doubt
my heart will lead me there soon

We'll meet beyond the shore
we'll kiss just as before
Happy we'll be beyond the sea
and never again I'll go sailin'

I know beyond a doubt
my heart will lead me there soon
We'll meet (I know we'll meet) beyond the shore
We'll kiss just as before
Happy we'll be beyond the sea
and never again I'll go sailin'

no more sailin'
so long sailin'
bye bye sailin'...
move on out captain
This is a nice song to three-step to. The Hollies have a good version too but this one is my favorite.

Doris Troy - Just One Look

JUST ONE LOOK
Doris Troy
- written by G. Carroll and D. Payne
- #10 hit for Doris Troy in 1963
- also recorded by The Hollies and Linda Ronstadt although these
versions didn't make the Billboard Top 40 (USA)
- lyrics as recorded by Doris Troy

Just one look and I fell so hard
In love with you, oh-oh, oh-oh
I found out how good it feels
To have your love, oh-oh, oh-oh
Say you will, will be mine
Forever and always, oh-oh, oh-oh
Just one look and I knew
That you were my only one
Oh oh-oh oh!

I thought I was dreamin' but I was wrong, yeah, yeah, yeah
Oh, but-a, I'm gonna keep on schemin'
Till I can a-make you, make you my own!

So you see, I really care
Without you I'm nothin', oh-oh, oh-oh
Just one look and I know
I'll get you someday, oh-oh, oh-oh

Just one look, that's all it took
Dusty got a nice hairstyle in this video Big Grin

Dusty Springfield - Son of a Preacher Man

Billy Ray was a preacher's son
And when his daddy would visit he'd come along
When they gathered around and started talkin'
That's when Billy would take me walkin'
Out through the back yard we'd go walkin'
Then he'd look into my eyes
Lord knows, to my surprise

The only one who could ever reach me
Was the son of a preacher man
The only boy who could ever teach me
Yes he was, he was, ooh, yes he was

Bein' good isn't always easy
No matter how hard I try
When he started sweet-talkin' to me
He'd come'n tell me "Everything is all right"
He'd kiss and tell me "Everything is all right"
Can I get away again tonight?

Yes he was, he was, ooh, yes he was (yes he was)

How well I remember
The look that was in his eyes
Stealin' kisses from me on the sly
Takin' time to make time
Tellin' me that he's all mine
Learnin' from each other's knowin'
Lookin' to see how much we've grown and

Yes he was, he was, oh yes he was

(The only one who could ever reach me)
He was the sweet-talkin' son of a preacher man
(The only boy who could ever teach me)

(The only one who could ever reach me)
Was the sweet-talkin' son of a preacher man
FADE
Eddy is the guitarist with the shiny sequined shirt and vest in the video.

Eddy Grant & the Equals - Baby Come Back

Come back
Baby, come back

This isn't the first time until today
That you have run away
I'm asking you for the first time
Love me and come back and stay (all right)
Hey (all right)
Hey, yeah

Come back
Baby, come back

There ain't no use in you crying
'Cause I'm more hurt than you
I shoulda not been out flirting
But now my love is true yeah
Ooh yeah (all right)
Ooh yeah (OK!)
Ooh, yeah

Come back
Baby, come back

Come back, don't you leave me
Baby, baby, please don't go
Oh, won't you give me a second chance
Baby, I love you so (all right)
Oh (oh, yeah)
Oh yeah
Oh, yeah

Come back
I said baby, come back
Oh won't you please come back
I said baby, come back
I'm on my knees come back
Oh baby, come back
Karl one nice Stylistics tune. .. well here is another one:
The Stylistics - I'm Stone In Love With You (Covers Slide:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I3RpINklQg4

If I could I'd like to be, a great big movie star.
Overnight sensation, drive a big expensive car.
I would buy you everything your little heart desires.
These things I do, 'cause I'm stone in love with you.
(Stone in love with you)

If I were a business man, I'd sit behind a desk.
I'd be so successful, I would scare wall street to death.
I would hold a meeting for the press to let them know.
I did it all, 'cause I'm stone in love with you.
(Stone in love with you)

I'm just a man, an average man
Doing everything the best I can
But if I could, I'd give the world to you...

I'd like to someday be the owner of the first house on the moon.
There would be no neighbors, and no population boom.
You might say that all I do is dream my life away.
I guess it's true, 'cause I'm stone in love with you.
I guess it's true, 'cause I'm stone in love with you