baseman posted:

My son has a BS in Accounting looking for a Job

Let him take the CPA of CMA asap!!

He is applying to do his Masters in Accounting which also prepare you for the CPA. I heard you need a Masters to take the CPA, is that correct.

My eldest son is a CPA and CIA but never did his Masters.

No, you don't but you have to have completed a certain amount of accounting/finance credits.  The degree program would most likely have ensured he met the requirements.  He should apply asap as it grows stale the longer you wait!

baseman posted:

Let him take the CPA of CMA asap!!

He is applying to do his Masters in Accounting which also prepare you for the CPA. I heard you need a Masters to take the CPA, is that correct.

My eldest son is a CPA and CIA but never did his Masters.

No, you don't but you have to have completed a certain amount of accounting/finance credits.  The degree program would most likely have ensured he met the requirements.  He should apply asap as it grows stale the longer you wait!

Thank you.

you need the Masters to get the CPA license...the requirement is now 150 credits to get the license...but like Base said, you don't need it to actually take the CPA

Also Nehru, your son needs to learn an accounting software program like QUickbooks...everything is software driven, and I notice lots of companies looking for people who know QBooks

RiffRaff posted:

you need the Masters to get the CPA license...the requirement is now 150 credits to get the license...but like Base said, you don't need it to actually take the CPA

Also Nehru, your son needs to learn an accounting software program like QUickbooks...everything is software driven, and I notice lots of companies looking for people who know QBooks

This depends on the State as the exam is uniform but the Lic requirements are state determined.  A Masters not needed in NJ.  I think Florida did that to create a hurdle for retiring CPAs from other states coming there and driving locals out of business.  Not sure about NY.

After passing the exam, you need to gain certain type of professional work experience to get the lic.  Generally 2 years public in Audit but there are other pathways.

RiffRaff posted:

I got no accounting degree,my two sons does,i am using QB for the past 8 yrs for the Business Accounting set up the chart of accounts without their help,my accountant was amazed when i showed  him.I had an accountant caught him stiffing the cash,so i decided to do it my self,I print out the reports and give him to file the taxes,i got a commercial real estate plus the Electronics Service business which are separate so he handles all the nitty gritty.

Bai, you don't need an accounting degree for QB or to balance books.  Look how them lil coolie people balance them books and get rich in Guyana!

baseman posted:
RiffRaff posted:

Bai, you don't need an accounting degree for QB or to balance books.  Look how them lil coolie people balance them books and get rich in Guyana!

Knowing Quick books is good but for fashion companies they have their own software that track their merchandise from order to sales. Blue Cherry is one of them.

true

SOme industries have their own software..QB is more suited for Service industry...although it has the ability for manufacturing firms as well

RiffRaff posted:

Thanks Ray.  Quickbooks was part of the degree requirement.

Job Opening.
Have an immediate opening for an accounts payable clerk. Company is willing to train and the owner said he has had success with Guyanese employees.Starting salary $35k/yr.Kindly forward your resume to ray@admiralstaffinginc.com or call 212-714-3543

What company?

Admiral  Staffing is representing the company and we cannot disclose their  information.

tell dem people who still sending dem pickney to study accounting, economics, political science, sociology, psychology, history, art etc their ears hard....those fields may have had good earning powers in the past but not anymore.

Encourage your children and grandchildren to get into STEM - science, technology, engineering and math. Pay for the extra lessons if needed to give then a leg up. 

In my company even the engineering interns are making 45k per yr. A fresh grad starts at 70k and withing 3 yrs are up to 100k.

politikalamity posted:

tell dem people who still sending dem pickney to study accounting, economics, political science, sociology, psychology, history, art etc their ears hard....those fields may have had good earning powers in the past but not anymore.

Encourage your children and grandchildren to get into STEM - science, technology, engineering and math. Pay for the extra lessons if needed to give then a leg up. 

In my company even the engineering interns are making 45k per yr. A fresh grad starts at 70k and withing 3 yrs are up to 100k.

poli...good call not so easy, them pickney like to chart them own course,for example i encouraged my youngest son to study Mechanical Engineering,which he did after 18 mths he said dad i am switching my major,i ask why, he said i have done some research will switch to BA majoring in Accounts,i was disappointed,any way he graduated with honors.

He is a very smart kid,in his teenage years his hobby was buying older models of cars and fixed them with top of the line suspension etc,he change out a motor on a car all by himself, all his money from part time work went into his car projects some he sold and some he part out and resell the parts,that kept him out of the bad stuff,his hobby was drag racing.

Mr.T posted:
ball posted:
RiffRaff posted:

Ball

yuh apply fuh de wuk

Chief sey I man over qualify fo the wuk an when he get wan pick pocket job open he is goin  let this comrade in on it

You gave up the job as stable boy, or did the horse die?

The hoss run away ah looking fo buy wan dankey now, I already got two goats an wan dagg

ball
ball posted:
Mr.T posted:
ball posted:
RiffRaff posted:

Ball

yuh apply fuh de wuk

Chief sey I man over qualify fo the wuk an when he get wan pick pocket job open he is goin  let this comrade in on it

You gave up the job as stable boy, or did the horse die?

The hoss run away ah looking fo buy wan dankey now, I already got two goats an wan dagg

Bhai, if you need wan daag walka, me deh hey. Gee me wan buzz.