I have never been a citizen of any other country

By Staff Writer On January 8, 2019 In Letters to the Editor|

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...f-any-other-country/

Dear Editor,

I refer to a news item published on page 7 in the Guyana Times Sunday, January 6th, 2019 edition under the caption, “Charrandas citizenship controversy: New MP also has dual citizenship – sources”.

The news item is totally misleading, false as it refers to my having dual citizenship and is clearly intended to discredit me in the context of the present constitutional and Parliamentary controversy.

Let me categorically state that I am a born Guyanese citizen holding a Guyana Passport, that I have never been a citizen of any other country and that I have never held a passport issued by any other country.

I have referred this matter to my lawyers for advice, but now call upon the Guyana Times to make an immediate retraction of the story and offer me an unqualified apology, which should be publicised in the same manner as the news item.

I do not know who is, or who was their, “well-placed sourced’, but no one from the Guyana Times contacted me or made any attempt to do so.

Yours faithfully,
Barbara Pilgrim
APNU+AFC MP

Guyana Times is owned by Bobby Ramroop , a boy friend of jagdeos'...It has become one of the chief culprits pushing fake news for political gain...Bobby was granted a licence to publish by Jagdeo during the latter days of Jagdeo's presidency .

How about the PPP propagandist on GNI, will they retract their statements ?

This "PPP propagandist" didn't question Barbara Pilgrim's dual citizenship. I opened a thread questioning why a PNC member replaced an AFC member (CP) in parliament. After doing due diligence which I should have done in the first place, I conceded that the coalition had no other legitimate choice.

How about the PPP propagandist on GNI, will they retract their statements ?

This "PPP propagandist" didn't question Barbara Pilgrim's dual citizenship. I opened a thread questioning why a PNC member replaced an AFC member (CP) in parliament. After doing due diligence which I should have done in the first place, I conceded that the coalition had no other legitimate choice.

Bhai, is not you, i am aware you didn't mention citizenship.

It's the others .

Why the PNC propagandist making this a big story, everyone of you run in your COCKROACH hole and didn’t address Ramjattan claims of Charandaas selling his rented office and PRADO 4 x 4 

charandass challenge the government to review the records that the Prado is still in his name - no buyer yet, and he can’t sell a rented office , which he share with a magistrate  ... they the government have access to this record in their palm. 

Guyana times on the other hand claimed they received the information from “ sources “ 

Why the PNC propagandist making this a big story,

Lie is a lie , plain and simple. People who believed and practice such are dis- honorable and can't be trusted.

Guyana loaded with them.

Lie is a lie , plain and simple. People who believed and practice such are dis- honorable and can't be trusted.

Guyana loaded with them.

Django, I agree a pardon and retraction is warranted if this is untrue. What happens if at some point and time she is found to be lying?

Guyana loaded with them.

Django, I agree a pardon and retraction is warranted if this is untrue. What happens if at some point and time she is found to be lying?

Why would Barbara Pilgrim  lied ??  letter was also sent to The Clerk of the National Assembly.

Guyana loaded with them.

Why would Barbara Pilgrim  lied ??  letter was also sent to The Clerk of the National Assembly.

Why would Barbara Pilgrim lie? Super Sheeple.

Guyana loaded with them.

She should have provided supporting documents from the US Embassy.

She also claimed to live in US at one point for an extended period... this cast a doubt.. right 

similar to Charandass say “ what happened if I take bribe “ and ayo run way with this as a trump card. 

Guyana loaded with them.

She also claimed to live in US at one point for an extended period... this cast a doubt.. right 

similar to Charandass say “ what happened if I take bribe “ and ayo run way with this as a trump card. 

Huh???? Was she here illegally or on her green card(if she has one)?

Did she live overseas?

Yes she acknowledged living in US for a extended period. 

If the coalition cares about the immigration status of MPs as they claimed then this woman's residential status should be placed under the microscope. We need to know to know how long she lived in the US and if the she is a holder of a green card.  

Bring it on!

Guyana loaded with them.

Ms. Pilgrim provided her Guyana passport number to News Source and said that while she did live legally in the United States for a period, she never applied for and was therefore never granted any American citizenship, as the Guyana Times article implied.

Guyana loaded with them.

Ms. Pilgrim provided her Guyana passport number to News Source and said that while she did live legally in the United States for a period, she never applied for and was therefore never granted any American citizenship, as the Guyana Times article implied.

I have a Guyanese passport that I have not used in 40 years.  That's not a proper answer from Ms. Pilgrim. This lady sounds like she is hiding something.

Guyana loaded with them.

I have a Guyanese passport that I have not used in 40 years.  That's not a proper answer from Ms. Pilgrim. This lady sounds like she is hiding something.

I agree! She is  hiding something.

Asked by News Source if she holds citizenship for any country other than Guyana, the Member of Parliament was clear in her response, and stated that “I am a born Guyanese citizen and the holder of a Guyana passport. I have never been a citizen of any other country and have never held a passport of any other country.”

” Never been “ until ?? but now I am .....  

find it hard, she lives in US and not applying for any status.

We need to know to know how long she lived in the US and if the she is a holder of a green card.  

She is the holder of a "green" PNC card. Don't forget PNC is green color.

We need to know to know how long she lived in the US and if the she is a holder of a green card.  

She is the holder of a "green" PNC card. Don't forget PNC is green color.

Amrika green card now nah deh like lang time wan. Now dem ah gee you hian wan. EE nah green no moe. 

Dave posted:She also claimed to live in US at one point for an extended period... this cast a doubt.. right 

I agree! She is  hiding something.

Asked by News Source if she holds citizenship for any country other than Guyana, the Member of Parliament was clear in her response, and stated that “I am a born Guyanese citizen and the holder of a Guyana passport. I have never been a citizen of any other country and have never held a passport of any other country.”

” Never been “ until ?? but now I am .....  

find it hard, she lives in US and not applying for any status.

Could be she was collecting Public Assistance? I know of a lot of Guyanese who do this crap.

All of this was never an issue prior to the NC vote. First and foremost, a vote was made and APNU needs to abide by that decision THEN follow up the bribery allegations. Questioning majority and all that nonsense is just making them look more desperate and stupid. There is no such thing as half a person. Would they have the same questions if the result had been in their favor?

Let's treat Barbara Pilgrim fairly, folks. She didn't insert herself in the House. That position was thrust upon her. 

Position was thrusted upon her when the dual citizenship was a contentious issue. 

We will give her the benefit of the doubt until proven otherwise. 

I did not see APNU issue a statement in supporting her denial. 

All of this was never an issue prior to the NC vote. First and foremost, a vote was made and APNU needs to abide by that decision THEN follow up the bribery allegations. Questioning majority and all that nonsense is just making them look more desperate and stupid. There is no such thing as half a person.

Would they have the same questions if the result had been in their favor?

Perhaps, they would have been screaming, hollering and jumping-up with joy yelling that they-PNCR/APNU/AFC have WON, WON, WON!!!

I have reasons to believe that she is a US resident

The big question is

Will she be able to serve the people for more than 6 months per year or will she give up her residency

It is likely that she is collecting Social Security so she may be reluctant to forgo this cash flow

Vish M

This is a non news item, irrelevant at this point. The US embassy can verify,  I wonder thought if she is a green card holder in the US?

Get this with the Ugly PNC replacement.

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/g...ugly-pnc-replacement

This was hot news item ??

Dr Django with the NAR degree in politricks, meh nah deh pun dat thread.

This is a non news item, irrelevant at this point. The US embassy can verify,  I wonder thought if she is a green card holder in the US

and what if she is?

If so and she didn't apply for US citizenship then she stand to be deported for the slightest infraction, such as shoplifting. Not a chance that people should take with the current  Trump administration.

Vish M posted:

I have reasons to believe that she is a US resident

The big question is

Will she be able to serve the people for more than 6 months per year or will she give up her residency

It is likely that she is collecting Social Security so she may be reluctant to forgo this cash flow

Mi nah think suh.  As long as she made her 40 quarters contribution into the system, she entitled, residency or not.  That’s what I understand!

Churchill posted:

Guyana Times is owned by Bobby Ramroop , a boy friend of jagdeos'...It has become one of the chief culprits pushing fake news for political gain...Bobby was granted a licence to publish by Jagdeo during the latter days of Jagdeo's presidency .

These folks screamed loudly when Moses Nagamootoo said that he wasn't an Indian, because he was a Guyanese.

I suggest that Bharat Jagdeo be checked to see if he is an Indian citizen.

And yes I do recall that when Jagdeo couldn't stop material spouting out of his lower orifice Bobby accompanied him to Miami. They probably spent the whole flight holding hands.