Should there be executive power-sharing between PNC and PPP?

By Tarron Khemraj On June 1, 2016 In Daily,Features

I was going to write this week about whether the Bank of Guyana should take up the role of the Guyana Gold Board by purchasing gold from local miners. However, after reading Dr Henry Jeffrey’s inspirational column “Jubilee celebration or African fest?” I am motivated to write about power sharing in Guyana and summarize my core position on this topic.

Let us start off by outlining the ethnic logjam in which the country finds itself. The two main ethnic masses – except a relatively small percentage of independent voters – vote for their respective ethnic leaders. The party which wins the election will draw supporters from its ethnic group to form core government positions. The losing group is marginalized. Politicians, past and present, have labelled this marginalization as “ethnic cleansing” when it is clearly not so. The marginalization of the losing group is rooted in pro-ethnic voting, intra-group social networks and the dependency on political patronage for upward career mobility.

Standard economic analyses can be used to illuminate the nature and consequence of pro-ethnic voting and intra-group social networks. The result reminds me of a pernicious Nash equilibrium that comes about because the two main ethnic masses expect to be rewarded with patronage and as such cannot trust how the other side will vote on the day of secret ballot. If East Indians do not trust whether African Guyanese will split their votes (between PNC and an independent party) they will go ahead and vote PPP. The exact uncertainty bothers African Guyanese who cannot trust East Indians to split their votes between PPP and an independent party, thus they vote PNC. However, it is a situation where the masses collectively shoot themselves in the feet by voting for underdevelopment. The ethnic elites, however, whose interests are to preserve pro-ethnic voting will usually reap most of the financial rewards. Indigenous folks tend to split or randomize their votes between PPP and APNU+AFC.

Executive power-sharing (EPS) should be backed by a suitable constitution that provides the institutional foundation. EPS under the present constitution – given Presidential immunity – will likely result in a dictatorship. The PPP does not believe in liberal democracy and the PNC comes with the baggage of electoral rigging. Since neither party desires a complete overhaul of the present constitution, power sharing should proceed in gradual steps. I would like to think about it in terms of short-term and long-term steps towards development; steps, moreover, that disrupt the adverse underdevelopment trap associated with the ethnic calculus.

In the short run there could be cooperation on a few big ticket development projects. This requires both President Granger and the Leader of the Opposition claiming ownership, jointly writing up the plans, and publicly appearing in external negotiations and press conferences. Four big agendas over which they could cooperate are: (i) a comprehensive renewable energy development programme; (ii) a smart electricity grid system, (iii) completion of the high-speed internet network that was started under the PPP, and (iv) diversification of the product mix of GuySuCo. Obviously numbers (i) and (iv) are related since this corporation should be seen not only as a sugar producer, but also as an energy company. Such co-operation could serve as a system for building confidence and trust. However, if both sides cannot claim equal ownership it will not work and the underdevelopment deadlock will continue. Managing this system will require getting help from skilled personnel in conflict resolution.

A second kind of power sharing in the short term could be decentralization of government services. There is no reason why people in Essequibo, Linden and Berbice should travel to Georgetown for government services such as obtaining a passport or birth certificate. There is also scope for decentralizing the policing systems. There are however obvious natural barriers acting against decentralization given the small population and the wide scattering of the people over a large land area. This requires high unit cost for basic government services and burdens the local governance system – a form of power sharing – by restricting the capacity to tax in poor thinly populated far-removed regions.

In the long run – if there is enough confidence and trust after working together – there should be rewriting of the constitution. My PDF copy of the Guyanese constitution is 204 pages long, while a PDF of the American constitution is 19 pages. I find it more straightforward reading the constitution of US$18 trillion GDP America than that of US$3 bill GDP Guyana. The latter has a constitution comprising a hodgepodge of the American presidential and British Parliamentary systems. A choice might have to be made between the two systems. It seems as though the Guyanese constitution was written to give elites with the backing of expensive lawyers an inherent advantage in power relations. The poor masses cannot afford lawyers to decode this document if there is need.

There are some broad concepts that should be enshrined into a new Guyanese constitution. There are others, but I would like to emphasize four. First, there should be post-election alliance instead of the current pre-election alliance. This could possibly minimize the occurrence of race-baiting at election time as we saw from the 2011 election. Second, the list system has to go. The Members of Parliament should be elected directly by constituencies (not the present system where backroom arrangements decide who gets to be the regional MP in a combined list). Third, the President should be a ceremonial head. Fourth, the Prime Minister should be elected by proportional representation.

Finally, over the long run there will need to be an immigration framework to make Guyana a viable country and economy. Presently the small population means the unit cost of delivering public services to the hinterland and far-off rural areas is quite high. It also means existing businesses naturally tend towards oligopoly structure as in the case of the commercial banks and two main beverage producers. Oligopolies will always make supernormal profits, but in the case of Guyana this profit does not justify entry by new competitors because there is business space for only a few producers. The new businesses that have entered the production space often remain small by virtue of the small dispersed marketplace, which is a natural barrier to economic growth and financial development as I had written in my 2008 article (“The Missing Link…”) published in Social and Economic Studies.

While there is much economic merit in setting up an immigration system, preferably starting with the diaspora, the political calculations must not be lost. The essential idea is to engineer a system where no ethnic group could give a bunch of sub-optimal leaders a permanent electoral advantage that incentivizes bad governance, incompetence and off-the-book corruption. As we have seen, this has been extremely destabilizing and costly in the Guyanese context; the project failures and financial cost have been enormous from 1998 to 2015. If the population can be taken to a proportionality that allows for regular democratic turnover under a superior constitution, there is no need for EPS.

This is a top down notion of governance.

So we agree that the PPP and the PNC BOTH squandered the past 50 years, and have reduced Guyana to becoming the laughing stock among its Caribbean peers.

So why not combine them, and have a dictatorship where there will be no curbs on he collective greed and corruption of these political elites?

In addition this Ravi Dev notion that geographic regions can be reduced to ethnic bantustans is far fetched.  Africans are a mere 40% of Region 4.  NOn Indians collectively a sizeable minorities in Regions 2.3.5 and 6.

So we are going to create second class citizens in regions dominated by one ethnic group, among those who do not share their ethnicity.  And in region 4 where no group is dominant, we then see a race to ethnic domination and exclusion as the larger group seeks to ensure dominance.

Guyana needs to strengthen governance at the local level and discourage the national parties from competing at that level.  Let the PPP and the PNC confine their involvement at the level of parliamentary/presidential elections.

Guyana has always had a top down system of governance.  Dictatorships govern from the top with no inclusion of the little man whose vote got them their power.

Power sharing does not exist in dictatorships.  While the concept is a flowery one, TK has wasted his time and thoughts on something that will never be implemented in Guyana. 

The structure of government is the least of their problems though,  they have much bigger issues to worry about.

Guyana has always had a top down system of governance. 

Top down systems are de facto dictatorships, as they preclude input from the electorate.

Guyanese cannot determine who the presidential candidates are, nor can they determine who the MPs are.  They cannot remove a non performing MP by voting him out.

The only input they have is in deciding which of the two top down dictatorial parties they want.

How does putting together two parties which operate as de facto dictatorships help the problem?

And please desist from your normal rant about the PPP being better than the PNC.  They have both been destructive.

I agree that Post-election alliances where smaller parties become the kingmakers and where they can withdraw causing a govt to collapse would seriously weaken the backs of dictatorial tendencies of the major parties.  The current format brings little as the PNC has the AFC trapped in an unholy alliance which they cannot exit regardless what the PNC does.  this was so abvious with the recent triumphalist 50th celebration leaves little doubt of a feeling of Afro victory over Indians. Guyana is two nations in one.

What is needed is not some complex elaborate power sharing deal with the PNC and PPP but a power sharing deal between either major party and  smaller parties to form a Govt where the small parties are truely empowered to make or break a govt and not just entrapped into complying.

Top down systems are de facto dictatorships, as they preclude input from the electorate.

Guyanese cannot determine who the presidential candidates are, nor can they determine who the MPs are.  They cannot remove a non performing MP by voting him out.

The only input they have is in deciding which of the two top down dictatorial parties they want.

How does putting together two parties which operate as de facto dictatorships help the problem?

And please desist from your normal rant about the PPP being better than the PNC.  They have both been destructive.

Point that out in this thread or I take back the Minister of Parties job from you.

A nice thesis on power sharing in Guyana which, of course, is always pie in the sky dreaming of the writer.

At no point has either the PNC nor the PPP been interest in valid consultations.  They merely seek an opposition which is a rubber stamp.

Get these two crooks together and they will collaborate in Grand Theft.

Point that out in this thread or I take back the Minister of Parties job from you.

The coalition doesn't want independent thinking people, plus I am under 60, and was never a soldier, so they don't think that I will be a good fit.

ba$eman posted:

[i] The current format brings little as the PNC has the AFC trapped in an unholy alliance which they cannot exit regardless what the PNC does.

[ii] this was so abvious with the recent triumphalist 50th celebration leaves little doubt of a feeling of Afro victory over Indians.

re [i], . . . your stale vomit is a facile LIE

re [ii], . . . only a lout failed race supremacist like u could elevate a backward Jubilee entertainment program as reason to collapse a coalition and bring the government down

hope springs eternal in cockroachland . . . and all that

i must confess though, watching u half suffocate in your own bile is not altogether unpleasant

Looks like TK got lots of time on his hands as university is over for the summer.  As I told this bottom feeder many times, those who fail in the real world teach. 

You seem to be the one with ample time, peddling your stupidity as usual.

Looks like TK got lots of time on his hands as university is over for the summer.  As I told this bottom feeder many times, those who fail in the real world teach. 

Are you TK's alter ego?  Since it has been revealed that you are an Indian pretending to be Black by another poster. 

and those failures like you who can't "teach" do what?

redux posted:

Who says I am a failure? I survive in the real world while you errrr I mean TK hide behind a university desk, shielded from the realities of the world. 

Are you TK's alter ego?  Since it has been revealed that you are an Indian pretending to be Black by another poster. 

Revealed by who? Pity you are such an idiot that you believe that rumor.

Please post your real identity so we can dispel the revelation, otherwise we have no choice but to consider you being Indian as a fact. 

Meanwhile similar to TK, you hide behind an apartment wall and pretend to know about Guyana, a country you haven't seen in decades. 

redux posted:

Who says I am a failure? I survive in the real world while you errrr I mean TK hide behind a university desk, shielded from the realities of the world. 

Why don't you shut up with your ignorant prattle. Do you think the great economists were making assumptions about a fake world and pontificating on illusions? You are the ultimate of the world of facsimile. You code! What TK deduces and summarizes about reality you codify to mirror it.

When dem run out of things to say they bring in race, the only thing they know about.

The subject of the opening post is about our political dilemma based on our ethnic breakdown. I understand where TK is coming from but do not agree with him. His analysis is fine but the only place where executive powersharing has limited success is Ireland. Their reality is different from us.

He rightly conclude we have a to make our ethnic voting patterns a non zero sum game. I see executive powersharing as elite accommodation. Our problem has always been the elites rather than the common people. The organization of party as elite hegimony based on race is our problem. Executive powersharing is perpetuating the same problem in a different guise and does not solve the problem. It replaces it with a political chimera. These hybrid animals never survive long. 

I always noted you cannot convert a Romanesque cathedral into a Gothic cathedral. You will if you try end up with a monstrosity of plaster and concrete. We cannot gerryrig this constitution to satisfy our need for  accountable rule with checks and balance. We cannot give political voice and exit options  to the people with executive powersharing. In actuality we formalize a dictatorship of the elites with this. We need to scrap this constitution completely and start over with new thinking.

When dem run out of things to say they bring in race, the only thing they know about.

Ahmmm look who ah talk.

Point to one place on this on this BB where I inject race and religion.  Those are two things I do not engage in.

"First, there should be post-election alliance instead of the current pre-election alliance. This could possibly minimize the occurrence of race-baiting at election time."

This should be on the front burner added to it Presidential powers should be cut.

Ahmmm look who ah talk.

Point to one place on this on this BB where I inject race and religion.  Those are two things I do not engage in.

Suh how come you does give cheers to them bhais when they does say,some people can run cake shop.

Power sharing between the two big parties are the last thing Guyana needs.  The nation will evolve from race to class.

Whats needed is a more flexible coalition forming model empowering small parties.  this will dilute the power of the biggies and the pull of race-based politics.

ba$eman posted:

Power sharing between the two big parties are the last thing Guyana needs.  The nation will evolve from race to class.

Whats needed is a more flexible coalition forming model empowering small parties.  this will dilute the power of the biggies and the pull of race-based politics.

There can be merit to it as a stop gap as they rewrite and approve a devolved constitution. This is Hinds version of powersharing. I do not think TK  wants it to be a permanent feature of our democracy. That would be formalizing a one vanguard party state

ba$eman posted:

So now we have elections to see which political elite can steal.

After power sharing we will no longer need this, so they will steal unimpeded.

Clearly if there is a de facto one party state, achieved through power sharing, the new constitution will reflect the need to perpetuate a monopolistic power grab by the elites.

The constitution revision should not be put into the hands of the political elites.  Civil society should have the responsibility for this.  Emphasis should be placed on a ground up form of governance, with a sharply increased role for local government.

ba$eman posted:

So now we have elections to see which political elite can steal.

After power sharing we will no longer need this, so they will steal unimpeded.

Clearly if there is a de facto one party state, achieved through power sharing, the new constitution will reflect the need to perpetuate a monopolistic power grab by the elites.

The constitution revision should not be put into the hands of the political elites.  Civil society should have the responsibility for this.  Emphasis should be placed on a ground up form of governance, with a sharply increased role for local government.

Me Massa, me nah quarrel wid you deh, read wah mi seh.  i agree, power sharing creates a one party state.  We need the tails which really wag the dogs.  under the current model, the AFC has been fully muzzled and now must tow the line.  Nagamootoo big mouth just can foam and fret!

Suh, the Presidents doan have interest in building the country. Juss get de job and side down wid it, robbing de treasury.

Too bad it is not the time of European conquests, otherwise de president head would be rolled.

Guyana is ***ked.

Shut this site down.

Ahyuh write too much tripe.

Those wid hutzpah, get down to where GRanger is in the great USA and see if u all can convince him of anything. 

Once again, Guyana is really really ***ked.

The PNC and their constituency screwed over Guyana big time.  They want to rule but don't have the means or where-with-all to do it.  Look how they all flew in to celebrate their "conquest" and rushed back fearing for their safety.  I read the writings of a PNCite describing their arrival at "Timehri" international airport.  It is pretty obvious they see it as a "liberation" of the nation from an occupying power.  They say it's a "return to dignity"!  Great, PNC give Guyana dignity!  However, they have no capability or means to do what is needed to move the nation forward.  They want power and to control decision-making but the Indians must pay the piper while they call the tunes!  It ain't going to happen.

Venezuela is not the greatest existential threat to Guyana but rather the PNC and their constituency who feel they are the only true and rightful "owners" of Guyana.  If, in 2020, the PNC tries to pull off what they did before to stay in power, it will push the nation to further to extinction.  Guyana, as a nation, is hanging on by the threads.  Exxon will not bring any oil without any unclear internal mandate and with the Venezuelan issue.

ba$eman posted:

The PNC and their constituency screwed over Guyana big time.  They want to rule but don't have the means or where-with-all to do it. 

Last May 15k people visited Guyana.  This May a RECORD 27k did.

The normally empty G/T hotels were FULL.

Now go weep that your prediction that the Jubilee would fail didn't come true.  The plan was for the Jubilee to attract large numbers of visitors, and this is certainly did.

ba$eman posted:

Venezuela is not the greatest existential threat to Guyana

Yes in your hatred of Guyana, you don't see a large nation, which claims most of our land as a threat. 

ba$eman posted:

The PNC and their constituency screwed over Guyana big time.  They want to rule but don't have the means or where-with-all to do it.  Look how they all flew in to celebrate their "conquest" and rushed back fearing for their safety.  I read the writings of a PNCite describing their arrival at "Timehri" international airport.  It is pretty obvious they see it as a "liberation" of the nation from an occupying power.  They say it's a "return to dignity"!  Great, PNC give Guyana dignity!  However, they have no capability or means to do what is needed to move the nation forward.  They want power and to control decision-making but the Indians must pay the piper while they call the tunes!  It ain't going to happen.

Venezuela is not the greatest existential threat to Guyana but rather the PNC and their constituency who feel they are the only true and rightful "owners" of Guyana.  If, in 2020, the PNC tries to pull off what they did before to stay in power, it will push the nation to further to extinction.  Guyana, as a nation, is hanging on by the threads.  Exxon will not bring any oil without any unclear internal mandate and with the Venezuelan issue.

You need to shut your racist clap trap and not speak until you can say something of substance. The above is nothing but a racist lamentation that others are on top and celebrating. Indeed they are but the same was in reverse when the PPP was on top.

That the APNU lacks the wherewithal to govern well is nothing but a verse in the racist anthem. The fact remains the PPP did not leave us with much progresss but to the contrary left a heavily indebted economy with all systems on fail.

The APNU will do exactly what is was available to the PPP; use western benefaction to keep us afloat as they hope traditional industry is resurrected.

Imagine you thinking that someone who want to invade and dispossess the citizens of their birthright is not a grave threat but others not of your racial hue! One cannot get more bigotted than that. For you patriotism is a synonym for ethnic nepotism!

Please post your real identity

Why should I?   Do I know who you are?

Now continue to believe all the lies which your fellow brown KKK peddle to you.

You know who I am, there is even a video of me putting that loudmouth David Blue to shame.