This is the type of action which the AFC should be involved where the GoG in negligent or unaware of the people's suffering.  It is much more worthy than leading/creating mayhem, death and destruction for want of freeness and special privilege.  Now you need to get on that much touted VAT issue which is burdensome to all Guyanese.

Good job.

Nice work in the trenches Gerhard . . . tell Nigel to keep tabs on the waistline deh   . . . you too

We NEED you guys around for a long long long time

Thanks, bro.  I have lost 20 lbs in a little under three months.  I intend to keep at it, and if I manage for a year, I will be fine - once I keep it off too.

Originally Posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:

Nice work in the trenches Gerhard . . . tell Nigel to keep tabs on the waistline deh   . . . you too

Thanks, bro.  I have lost 20 lbs in a little under three months.  I intend to keep at it, and if I manage for a year, I will be fine - once I keep it off too.

I know you guys like to support the rice industry.  Nice work by the AFC. Say hi  to Charandas for me.

Correct, it's great to see the leadership of the AFC focusing on real and substantive issues.  The rice farmers have been the backbone of the nation and the GoG need to focus on their needs also.  They are not asking for anything but the basics.  The GoG need to give back to these communities.

baseman, VAT was on top of the agenda during the tripartite talks.  The PPP asked us to take it off the agenda, claiming they had assembled a high-level tax reform team to review the issue.  Unfortunately, we fell for the ruse.  We will, however, continue to pursue its reduction, along with the rates for the Berbice Bridge and taxes on vehicles, and increases greater than 5% for ALL workers paid from the public purse.

Your other comments as they relate to Linden I will not respond to since I have ad nauseam shown that there is no freeness or special privilege as it relates to electricity rates in Linden.  This is for the simple reason that electricity is supplied by BOSAI, and not GPL, with BOSAI having to primarily generate for itself.  Moreover, BOSAI was given extensive tax breaks by the PPP, including tax holidays for which they are not qualified for and the exemption of property taxes in Linden, and Linden suffered from severe negative externalities that only a few months ago was mitigated to an extent.  But then again, we are talking about black people...

Thanks, Mits - we support all the working people in Guyana.  I will, bro.  Next time I see Charrandass.

Originally Posted by TK:

This rice and roti diet don't cut it for weight loss. Gerhard the 20 lbs shows...good job. 

Thanks, bro!  It gets hard when I am on the road though - had dhal puri and mutton curry today when I would normally have a salad

Bai that is the recipe for weight gain in spite of the Michelle's outstanding cooking skills. Just have the curry with a salad. The only carb you should have is channa 

Correct, it's great to see the leadership of the AFC focusing on real and substantive issues.  The rice farmers have been the backbone of the nation and the GoG need to focus on their needs also.  They are not asking for anything but the basics.  The GoG need to give back to these communities.

No different to what the Lindeners were asking for.  Moreover, the people in Black Bush Polder said they were so fed up that they would soon be burning tyres to draw greater attention to their plight.  I wonder what you would call them should they do that...

baseman, VAT was on top of the agenda during the tripartite talks.  The PPP asked us to take it off the agenda, claiming they had assembled a high-level tax reform team to review the issue.  Unfortunately, we fell for the ruse.  We will, however, continue to pursue its reduction, along with the rates for the Berbice Bridge and taxes on vehicles, and increases greater than 5% for ALL workers paid from the public purse.

Your other comments as they relate to Linden I will not respond to since I have ad nauseam shown that there is no freeness or special privilege as it relates to electricity rates in Linden.  This is for the simple reason that electricity is supplied by BOSAI, and not GPL, with BOSAI having to primarily generate for itself.  Moreover, BOSAI was given extensive tax breaks by the PPP, including tax holidays for which they are not qualified for and the exemption of property taxes in Linden, and Linden suffered from severe negative externalities that only a few months ago was mitigated to an extent.  But then again, we are talking about black people...

You fell for the ruse?  I thought you were above that, anyway it is what it is.

About Linden, why you invoke race?  My comment was on issue.  BTW, I know several Indian fams from the region who benefit from the subsidy and say they still don't understand why they deserve it.  They actually don't care if it goes up to national averages.  But let's leave that alone for now.

I applaud you and the AFC for focusing on the real suffering of the rice farmers of BBP.

Originally Posted by TK:

This rice and roti diet don't cut it for weight loss. Gerhard the 20 lbs shows...good job. 

Thanks, bro!  It gets hard when I am on the road though - had dhal puri and mutton curry today when I would normally have a salad

Bai that is the recipe for weight gain in spite of the Michelle's outstanding cooking skills. Just have the curry with a salad. The only carb you should have is channa 

Thanks!  I will have to be more disciplined when I am on the road and walk with snack bars.  But then again, you don't want people to feel offended too...

No different to what the Lindeners were asking for.  Moreover, the people in Black Bush Polder said they were so fed up that they would soon be burning tyres to draw greater attention to their plight.  I wonder what you would call them should they do that...

Burning tyres to make a point is ok.  Just as long as they don't go off destroying private and public property and attacking innocent people.

Do you believe that elements within the PPP are incapable of planting trouble at these protests? Interestingly do you know who was one of the first persons to make this point to Mr Hoyte way back in 1999? 

Originally Posted by TK:

Thanks!  I will have to be more disciplined when I am on the road and walk with snack bars.  But then again, you don't want people to feel offended too...

Yes...yes...I completely missed that in your earlier post. I thought Michelle was the trouble maker...LOL! 

Originally Posted by TK:

Do you believe that elements within the PPP are incapable of planting trouble at these protests? Interestingly do you know who was one of the first persons to make this point to Mr Hoyte way back in 1999? 

I doubt the GoG will do as you say.  This is pure fantasy and conspiracy theory to justify the unjustifiable.  It is like those who still believe the USG and Israelis flew the planes into the WTC.

Originally Posted by TK:

I doubt the GoG will do as you say.  This is pure fantasy and conspiracy theory to justify the unjustifiable.  It is like those who still believe the USG and Israelis flew the planes into the WTC.

And this is inconceivable coming not only from the most corrupt Gov't in the English speaking Caribbean, but also from a Gov't that hired a known drug lord to kill hundreds for them, and a Gov't that eagerly exploits issues on the basis of race...???

Finally, the KFC woke up and understand their functions. Getting innocent People killed at Linden and getting People (Most East Indians) beaten, robbed and molested at Agricolla is not the way to claim to be working for the People. Anyway, it is never too late and it is nice to see the KFC finally understanding their purpose.

Originally Posted by TK:

And this is inconceivable coming not only from the most corrupt Gov't in the English speaking Caribbean, but also from a Gov't that hired a known drug lord to kill hundreds for them, and a Gov't that eagerly exploits issues on the basis of race...???

The Day you get into POWER, then we gun have to rewrite the meaning of CORRUPTION. Al Yuh just waiting to start THIEF EH? You are ALIVE because of brother Gajraj GREAT Actions. Be Grateful, dont always be UNGRATEFUL!!!

AFC assesses flood situation in Black Bushâ€Ķgov’t belatedly clears outfall

DECEMBER 17, 2012 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

By Leon Suseran

Executive Members of the Alliance for Change (AFC) on Sunday visited the flood- prone farming community of Black Bush Polder in the wake of recent flooding caused by heavy rains over the past weeks. But even though the worst may be over, a lot of the farmers are still counting their losses as a few areas are still under a bit of water.

Politicians Nigel Hughes, Gerhard Ramsaroop and Charrandass Persaud along with regional AFC officials toured Yakusari, the affected polder where they listened to the concerns of cash- crop farmers among others.

According to Hughes, “The treatment meted out to the people of this district, particularly the cash crop and rice farmers, absolutely poor drainage, the flooding—kids cannot get to school and have to walk in a foot, 18 inches of waterâ€Ķeverybody that I have spoken to has lost some money as a result of cash crop damage.” He stated that the residents have complained about a blocked up outfall at Number 43 Village, which they blamed for the excessive flooding.
“And the treatment they received from the governmentâ€Ķ.this is a problem that has been perpetual and has occurred annually and the farmers feel that they have been abandoned and there’s nobody to speak for them, and when they intend to speak for themselves, they are treated with disdain,” Hughes stated.
According to Hughes, other concerns raised include the quality of roads built in the community.

“There is very sad situation where a man has his commercial vehicle under his house and he can’t get it out because the road has been flooded. So for three weeks, he has been unable to conduct any sort of business.”

A farmer talks to AFC’s Nigel Hughes about the flooded main access street into the residential area of Yakusari.

The AFC, Hughes said, will do a couple of things to help the farmers. â€œMaintenance is first of all, one of the major contributors if they maintain the outflows, the drains and if people don’t burst the damns for their own personal useâ€Ķthere have been complaints that a high official burst the dam just so that he can get water into the farms and flood the area—that is what we will do, to advance this agenda in parliament and out of parliament and the farmers that have suffered immense losses, we will be pursuing legal remedies that they have.”

The Number 43 outfall has been cleaned over the past week and the situation has been back to some sort of normalcy. However, there is a bit of water in some parts of the lands in Yakusari.

Regional Chairman of Region 6, David Armogan blamed the accumulation of water on the low density of the land in the two polders. “Over the last three weeks, there was a drought condition at BBP and the farmers were clamouring for water for their rice crops, so we had water pumping for 24 hours at our station in Black Bush. After a while, our system became primed with water so that the farmers can access water—and then the rains came down suddenly â€” and because the system was primed and, with little rainfall, there were overflows into the system,” the Regional Chairman explained.

The Number 43 outfall, the major drainage outfall for the two polders, Yakusari and Johanna, he said, “had silted up greatly over the dry season. In every dry season, you find that there is heavy siltation at these outfalls.” He added that the tender was out for the excavation for all the outfalls, which fall under the purview of the National Drainage & Irrigation Authority (NDIA) and “two days ago, the award was made.”

Armogan said that a contractor in Berbice was given the contract to clean the outfall but could not mobilize his equipment in a timely manner. Consequently, the job was given to another contractor.

Responding to criticisms and questions as to why the government has waited this late to excavate the drainage system, Armogan said, “when you excavate during the dry weather, and you do not open the sluices, then  water doesn’t come through and after three or four  days, the kokers are silted up—as you dig they silt up—and it doesn’t make senseâ€Ķand so that is the explanation why we had to wait for some amount of rain or water to get into the system, so we can flush it.” â€œWe do have an obligation to take it off the ground, so we will get the water off the ground and relief is in site for farmers of Black Bush Polder.”

The Day you get into POWER, then we gun have to rewrite the meaning of CORRUPTION. Al Yuh just waiting to start THIEF EH? You are ALIVE because of brother Gajraj GREAT Actions. Be Grateful, dont always be UNGRATEFUL!!!

owwww . . . look how alyuh done mek Raja a non-person

is who "ungrateful" nah?

It is true as the Chairman indicated. There are no political solutions where flooding is concern. Those who live along the banks of the creeks and rivers know this. It is not a PPP neglect that causes these floods.

However, it must be recognized that during the Colonial period an intensive drainage and irrigation programme was always enforced. Under the PNC regime after independence, such a programme was discarded. Since that time every new administartor fail to realize that the Baccra-man understood the waters of the land and applied to the task of doing battle with it.

Unless the past method is implemented soon to combat floods, I would expect the AFC will be pelted with ganda eggs if they doan perform ritualistic dances to stop the waters from coming down. The place does have the name Guiana-land of many waters. ? u expect.   

Originally Posted by TK:

Gerhard, you spew volumes of hot air, but it cannot change the facts.  But I commend you for exposing the shortcomings in BBP.  Do this more often and you will redeem your character.

Originally Posted by FC:

Look at his fraud passing judgement on GR when it has been proven over and over that he does not have one iota of credibility.    

Long live Gajraj, death to the terrorists.  GR talking pure shyte and most would agree.

Ronald Gajraj did an excellent job using moles to infiltrate the PNC terrorists. No wonder they are pi**ed off at him. The government had a right to use all options available to them to eliminate these terrorist threats. Good job RG.