Originally Posted by Stinger:
De Hindus should be like we fullahs, drink from yuh cyar trunks at weddin houses

Stinger, at an Islamic wedding I attended in 2012, the live tassa and full bar opened up right after the nikkah. Then in 2013, the hosts showed the video of the nikkah at the reception, stopped the speeches for maghrib and all during that time the bar was open No more trunk parties

Seeling of alcohol is regulated according to the laws of Guyana.

In Canje, most of the rum shops were owned by Pundits back in the 70's and 80's.

Are Hindus allowed to drink alcohol, I have never heard of any restrictions.

The Vedic scriptures condemn and restrict the use of Alcohol. 

As with all religions the Vedas speaks to moderation not prohibition. Specifically it speaks to right use vs wrong...as it recognizes its benefits.  Hindus are advised to take certain alcoholic beverages in moderation as it is deemed instrumental to good health! And is is!

In Canje, most of the rum shops were owned by Pundits back in the 70's and 80's.

Guyana is not Saudi Arabia.

Think not? Just saw a woman declare that her full burka anonymized mode is a religious right! That lie is only sold by the Saudis and cling to fervently by the paternalistic an pretentiously pious. There is absolutely no virtue in the thought except as it is a mirror of the evil in men's heart.

The Vedic scriptures condemn and restrict the use of Alcohol. 

Yugi thanks for sharing this information. You are a decent chap.

I see two chammars 

Chief, Yugi22 does not know his scriptures.

The Vedas talk about alcohol and Somras (a type of Alcohal) is used in numerous Ayurvedic Medicines.  

Rig-Veda, contained hymns praising Soma - "This is Soma, who flows wine, who is strength giving..." it said. "The God Soma heals whatever is sick... makes the blind see and the lame walk."

I am challenging him to show: The Vedic scriptures that condemn and restrict the use of Alcohol.

Last edited by Mitwah
Originally Posted by Riya:

Rig-Veda, contained hymns praising Soma - "This is Soma, who flows wine, who is strength giving..." it said. "The God Soma heals whatever is sick... makes the blind see and the lame walk."

This is why I follow the vedic scriptures. I love me a good glass of malbec

Remember those two rum shops at the head of the Canje Turn? One was owned by Pandit Tiwari and the other by Pandit Mahadeo. Ramphair had two sons, Isaac and Jacob, they used to drink like fishes and Ramphair tried to open a rum shop only to have  Cumberland Methodist oppose it.

I remember the shops but don't know who owned them. I just know that one was called "Tayloo"??

Mitts, dem bais like their weed too

~~~~~~~~Much of Hindu belief and practice grew out of the use of Soma, a god, plant, and drink which is the focus of the Rigveda.[1] The continued entheogenic use of drugs such as Cannabis is not uncommon among various Hindu sects. Cannabis is connected with the god Shiva who is said to have rested in the shade of the Cannabis plant on a particularly hot day. In gratitude Shiva gave the plant to mankind. Often the drink Bhang is drunk in Shiva's honor, it is a tea typically cooked with milk, spices, cannabis leaves and flowers. The leaves of the Kratom tree have also been used traditionally as an ingredient in a tea with mild stimulant and opioid properties.~~~~~~~

I remember the shops but don't know who owned them. I just know that one was called "Tayloo"??

Tayloo was on NE corner. Pt Mahadeo was on the SE corner,  Pt Tiwari on the NW Corner.

Originally Posted by TI:

Mitts, dem bais like their weed too

~~~~~~~~Much of Hindu belief and practice grew out of the use of Soma, a god, plant, and drink which is the focus of the Rigveda.[1] The continued entheogenic use of drugs such as Cannabis is not uncommon among various Hindu sects. Cannabis is connected with the god Shiva who is said to have rested in the shade of the Cannabis plant on a particularly hot day. In gratitude Shiva gave the plant to mankind. Often the drink Bhang is drunk in Shiva's honor, it is a tea typically cooked with milk, spices, cannabis leaves and flowers. The leaves of the Kratom tree have also been used traditionally as an ingredient in a tea with mild stimulant and opioid properties.~~~~~~~

In the song, Ranga Barse, the use of Bhang was depicted during Holi celebration.

Originally Posted by TI:

With so much of dem markers around, yu bound to get lost !

I think some people used to willfully get lost.

i here(hear) after 6pm them girls in canje dont wear panty(panties)

You are a real jackass. Do you know the difference betweeen "here" and "hear"?
After 6 PM they hire you to wash their panties and clean up.

Originally Posted by TI:

With so much of dem markers around, yu bound to get lost !

I think some people used to willfully get lost.

i here(hear) after 6pm them girls in canje dont wear panty(panties)

You are a real jackass. Do you know the difference betweeen "here" and "hear"?
After 6 PM they hire you to wash their panties and clean up.

i see your sister was telling you things

Originally Posted by chameli:

i find it offensive that some posters like to make mention of other ppl's mother, sister et al.  That is downright uncouth

what happen, you folks don't have sisters, mothers, daughters or wife?

I tend at times to ignore this uncouth and uncultured waste of a human being. This is the kind of individual who lacks respect for his mother and sister(s). These individuals resort to violence against women. I would not be surprised one day that he is arrested for being a serial rapist.