The Mission and Ministry of Angels

Why did God create these heavenly beings?

Revelation 10:1-3

We see images of angels all around us at Christmastime. In some of these, angels are portrayed as slim Victorian beauties with flowing hair, giant feathered wings, and elegant gowns. Others look like adorable babies carrying tiny harps. But these representations have very little in common with the terrifying angelic messengers found in today’s passage and throughout Scripture. In fact, their first words to the humans they encounter are usually “Do not be afraid.”

In the final book of the New Testament, these heavenly emissaries play a significant role. For one thing, in the first two verses of chapter 1, an angel gives John the revelation from which the book gets its title. Later, angels worship God (Revelation 5:11-12) and provide help and care to His people (Revelation 7:2-3). Then they loudly proclaim the good news of Jesus (Revelation 14:6-7). And they also serve God by heralding His perfect justice to the world (Revelation 14:8; Revelation 14:17-19).

Notice the action-oriented mission and ministry of angels throughout Revelation, and recognize the contrast with the sweet, passive images we usually see. Angels were created by God to glorify Him. And though we are “for a little while lower than angels” (Hebrews 2:7), the same is true of us as well (Romans 15:5-6).

Keith

The Lamb Is Fighting for You

We can face the future with hope because Jesus will overcome every enemy we face.

Revelation 17:14

Toward the end of the book of Revelation, the conflict intensifies between those who have aligned themselves with Jesus and those who oppose Him. Waves of God’s judgment unfold on earth and further harden His opponents’ hearts. But the overall message of Revelation isn’t doom and gloom; it’s hope. The book is meant to bring comfort to God’s people as they face tribulation.

Today’s reading contains a message of encouragement that relates to both the first and second coming of Christ. The prophet Isaiah said the Messiah would be known as “Immanuel,” meaning “God with us” (Isaiah 7:14; Matthew 1:22-23). Jesus, the Lamb of God, gave His life for us, overcoming death. And He promised to be with us always. So, when we find ourselves in the midst of fiery trials and spiritual battles, we can rest in the assurance of today’s passage: “The Lamb will overcome them because He is the Lord of lords and King of kings; and those who are with Him are the called and chosen and faithful.”

Jesus will be with us to the end of time (Matthew 28:20). And Revelation reminds us that He will not only be near but will overcome His foes (and ours) because He is Ruler of all. He will have the final word. Our Savior wants us to know who He says we are: the called, chosen, and faithful. And since He is “Immanuel,” we can forever be with Him.

Keith

Preaching Like Peter

Sharing the gospel doesn’t have to be complicated.

Acts 2:14-36

Have you ever noticed the length of the sermon from today’s passage? It takes less than three minutes to recite. Sharing the gospel doesn’t need to be complicated or lengthy, and Peter’s sermon is an example we can follow for our own testimonies. It contains:

• The Savior’s Credentials and Purpose. Peter cited the “miracles and wonders and signs” that validated Jesus as the promised Messiah (v. 22). Then the apostle communicated that the Lord’s mission was to die for mankind’s sin.

• A Personal Invitation. Peter made sure listeners knew their responsibility in the Messiah’s death but quickly gave the exciting news that Christ was alive (vv. 23-24). Those who believed were invited to repent and be baptized in Jesus’ name. No gospel message is complete without telling people how they, too, can be saved.

• Reliance on the Holy Spirit. Peter referenced many scriptures but knew that it is the Holy Spirit who ultimately makes the case for Christ. No matter how persuasive a man’s message is, only the Spirit can change unbelieving hearts and minds.

Witnessing to others doesn’t have to be complicated. Our part is prayer, preparation, and compassion, but we leave the outcome to God.

Keith

How can you know God?

It all starts with accepting Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior. Jesus Christ provides a relationship with the Father and eternal life through His death on the cross and resurrection, see Romans. 5:10.

Romans. 10:9 promises, "If you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved." If you have not yet begun your personal relationship with God, understand that the One who created you loves you no matter who you are or what you’ve done. He wants you to experience the profound depth of His care.

Therefore, tell God that you are willing to trust Him for salvation. You can tell Him in your own words or use this simple prayer:

Lord Jesus, I ask You to forgive my sins and save me from eternal separation from God. By faith, I accept Your work and death on the cross as sufficient payment for my sins. Thank You for providing the way for me to know You and to have a relationship with my heavenly Father. Through faith in You, I have eternal life. Thank You also for hearing my prayers and loving me unconditionally. Please give me the strength, wisdom, and determination to walk in the center of Your will. In Jesus’ name, amen.

If you have just prayed this prayer, congratulations!

You have received Christ as your Savior and have made the best decision you will ever make—one that will change your life forever!

Keith

A Realistic View of Life

Because of Jesus, we don’t have to fear anything now or in the future.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-11

Our culture desperately tries to postpone death. Vitamins, exercise, and eating well—we try them all to live as long as possible. None of these things are bad. Our motive, however, is the key.

For instance, knowing our body is God’s temple (1 Corinthians 3:16), we should take care of His dwelling. On the other hand, if we are trying to live longer because we’re afraid of dying, then that is not of God—His Word teaches us fear isn’t from Him (2 Timothy 1:7). But more than that, since Jesus died in our place, all who trust in Him as their Savior need not dread death. In fact, the apostle Paul assures us that, far from being a terrifying change, physical death actually leads believers home to be with the Lord forever (2 Corinthians 5:8).

In light of these truths, it’s wise to be prepared. The first step is to make sure you know Jesus as your Lord and Savior. Next, live a surrendered life and strive to walk according to His will. Since it’s an inescapable fact that life on earth is temporary, ask, How can I best live in order to be ready when God decides it is time?

Keith

Ending Well

Life is a gift—ask God to help you spend your time on what matters.

Luke 12:15-21

Today’s passage is about a rich man who made poor use of his days. Assuming a lot of time remained, he left the Lord out of his plans and let materialism guide him.

Paul, on the other hand, knew life was short and made the most of it. He gave to others until his final days. His letters from prison illustrate this—despite knowing he would soon face death, Paul devoted his time and energy to instructing fellow believers and praying for them. He recognized the value of time spent encouraging Christians to do everything as if for the Lord (Colossians 3:23). This is important even when our task seems unrelated to the church. Kingdom work isn’t just for missionaries and pastors; God calls us all to different fields and assignments.

The apostle also knew that the Christian life encompasses struggles. And he was realistic about his own imperfections (Romans 7:5-25). This meant that to make the best use of his time, he needed to persevere, keep faith in God’s promises, and rely on divine power for victory. And indeed, at the end of his life, Paul was able to say, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the course, I have kept the faith” (2 Timothy 4:7).

Life is a gift. Every one of us has a limited number of days on this earth. How will you utilize your time so you can look back and, with Paul, confidently say that you ended well?

Keith

O Come, O Come, Emmanuel

May we never lose our sense of awe at the fact that God chooses to be with us.

Isaiah 7:14; Matthew 1:23

At Christmastime, we sing “O Come, O Come, Emmanuel,” a hymn that includes ancient chants known as the “O Antiphons.”* In 6th-century worship, each “O” was followed by a messianic title: Emmanuel, Root of Jesse, Dayspring, Key of David, Lord of Might, Desire of Nations. These names for the Savior remind us that in Jesus, God fulfilled the hopes of His people. And we can observe His faithfulness both historically and in the present, with hope for the future.

The hymn hinges on the name Emmanuel (or Immanuel), meaning “God with us” (Matthew 1:23). As John says, “The Word became flesh, and dwelt among us” (John 1:14). Jesus is not merely a good teacher or prophet—He is God Incarnate, the wisdom of God in human form. That truth is the foundation of our hope.

As we try to embody Jesus’ teachings, our prayer should be to walk as His wise followers in the world (Ephesians 5:15). That means living faithfully in a kingdom that is both here now and still to come. We also pray that our Emmanuel will draw many people—“from every tribe, language, ... and nation” (Revelation 5:9)—to Himself, until the whole earth is filled with the knowledge of God’s glory (Habakkuk 2:14; Psalm 72:19).

*An antiphon is a phrase or verse from Scripture, often from the Psalms, historically sung during worship. 

Keith

The Root of Jesse’s Tree

Jesus came to bring genuine life to mankind.

Isaiah 11:1

Israel had a long, complicated history with kingship. The people didn’t want a divine ruler and asked for an earthly one (1 Samuel 8:10-22). Just a short while later, Solomon—the nation’s third king—lost his connection with God because of disobedience. And by the time of Isaiah’s prophecy in today’s passage, Israel’s kingly line seemed to be dying. In time, God’s people were conquered and taken into captivity. By Jesus’ day, Herod ruled as Rome’s puppet, and the kingdom seemed dead as a stump.

Isaiah 11:1 says, “A shoot will come up from the stump of Jesse; from his roots a Branch will bear fruit” (NIV). The English translation of the antiphon O Radix Jesse, “O root of Jesse’s tree,” indicates new life can come from that stump. (See page 30 for a definition of antiphon.) That new life was Jesus—“a son … Immanuel” (Isaiah 7:14). In Him, the stump became new life, not just for the people of Israel but also for the whole world (John 1:4; John 14:16).

Jesus did far more than simply bring life back to the withering stump of Jesse’s line. He reached beyond Israel, grafting all believers into a new branch of the tree—a tree branching in every direction from the same shoot.

Keith

Jesus, the Light

Our Savior came to illuminate our lives and enable us to shine for Him in a dark world.

John 1:4-5; John 1:9

In the Bible, God’s first spoken words are “Let there be light” (Genesis 1:3). O Oriens, the next antiphon from “O Come, O Come Emmanuel,” is translated “O Dayspring.” Originally meaning the dawn of a new day, the term refers to the illuminating presence that God’s Word brought to the dark and formless world.

The same language describes the new creation that the Lord brings to us (2 Corinthians 5:7). John says that in Jesus—the eternal Word—is life, which is the “Light of mankind [that] shines in the darkness” (John 1:4-5). The other Gospel writers don’t miss the connection either. When Jesus moves to Capernaum after John the Baptist’s arrest, Matthew recalls Isaiah’s prophecy about the light coming to a dark place. People “sitting in darkness … sitting in the land and shadow of death” were visited by that light (Matthew 4:16).

Though parts of the world remain in shadow, we know that the Light has come—and He shines brighter than any sun. Today, ask God to illuminate every corner of your life “to give the Light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ” (2 Corinthians 4:6). And remember: As we “walk in the light” (1 John 1:7), we receive God’s forgiveness and are reconciled to Him. Then He makes us shine in a dark world.

Keith

The One Who Opens and Shuts

Jesus is the key to freedom and eternal life—and it can begin right now.

Revelation 3:7

Have you ever huddled by your car, stuck in a sudden rainstorm, fumbling around to find your keys? Though soaked and miserable, when you finally stepped inside, you were thankful to have found the correct one, right?

“O Come, O Come, Emmanuel” reminds us that Jesus holds the right key for the kingdom—the Clavis David, or “key of David.” This antiphon uses words from Isaiah to show that the coming Messiah will be the rightful king. He alone will have the authority (symbolized by the key) to open and shut any door, as He wills.

Our Lord applies these words to Himself in Revelation 3:7. The church in Philadelphia had endured persecution, but Jesus placed an open door before them. Though the corresponding verse in the hymn focuses on “our heavenly home,” He has told us the kingdom is nearer—“at hand,” as Matthew 4:17 says. In other words, when we trust in Jesus’ way of abundant life, our eternal freedom from sin and death begins now.

O Clavis David invites us to pray in two ways, the first of which is daily acceptance of the Savior’s invitation to freedom. No matter how difficult our circumstances, the Lord opens the way to abundant life (John 10:7; John 14:6). The second is to pray for the courage to point others toward Jesus, through the door He opened to His kingdom.

Keith

Trinidad pastor to stand trial for money laundering

Vinworth Dayal

(Trinidad Express) Vinworth Dayal, who walked into the Central Bank in December 2019 and tried to exchange more than $28 million in $100 cotton bills for polymer notes, has been committed to stand trial for money laundering.

On Wednesday Chief Magistrate Maria Busby Earle-Caddle found that the State had presented sufficient evidence to have Dayal, head of the Third Exodus Assembly Church in Longdenville, face trial at the High Court.

Dayal, who lives in La Romaine, was granted bail of $10 million after the committal warrant was read to him.

He was accused of being in possession of criminal property in the amount of $28,028,600 on December 31, 2019.

The State contended that the money represented a pecuniary advantage to Dayal as a result of criminal conduct contrary to the Income Tax Act, knowing or having reasonable grounds to suspect that those proceeds were criminal property.

A second charge was laid against Dayal after police officers allegedly found an additional $2,691,338, at his home on January 2, 2020.

Dayal was represented by senior counsel Pamela Elder and Richard Mason, while the State was represented by Wayne Rajbansie and Candace Jacob.

In all, 26 witnesses testified at the preliminary enquiry either in person or with their statements tendered into evidence.

Following the completion of the State’s evidence, Elder made a no-case submission, arguing that the State had failed to have a prima facie case made out.

The magistrate, however, dismissed the submission.

Both charges were laid under Section 45(1)(b) of the Proceeds of Crime Act and were laid 18 months after Dayal tried to exchange the money, which has since been held in an interest-bearing account.

December 31, 2019, was the last day on which the Central Bank said it would accept cotton $100 bills to exchange for new polymer bills.

On the deadline date, Dayal went to the Central Bank with 28 cardboard boxes, each containing approximately $1 million.

Police were called in after he could not provide proper documentation for how he obtained the money.

He said it came from tithes which he had collected over the years.

Source:

Meh tell alyoh. Religion is big buisness.

Dayal went to the Central Bank with 28 cardboard boxes, each containing approximately $1 million.

Brother Keith is gonna tell us, Christ died for his sins. 

@cain posted:

That would also mean we are sinless regardless of our actions.

That's what Brudda Keeth telling them boyz in death row and/or serving life sentences.  I ain't drinking his cool aid.

To See the Glory of God’s Purposes

The light of Christ provides hope, love, and power to overcome any darkness.

Ephesians 1:18-19

If you’ve ever stumbled through your house in the dark, then you know that even perfect vision is useless without light. But flip a switch, and everything suddenly becomes much clearer.

That’s what Paul’s getting at when he prays “that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened” (Eph. 1:18). It’s not a prayer for some kind of spiritual X-ray vision; rather, he’s asking that God enable the Ephesians to view everything they experience in the best light of all—His light.

What did they need to see? The scope and richness of salvation in Christ. First, it’s grounded in hope, something the Ephesians didn’t have before their encounter with Jesus. They’d been outside God’s kingdom, but as a result of His calling, they became His people. That reality transformed not only their future but also their present.

Now, as God’s treasured people, they were no longer to rely on their own strength. With the King and kingdom resources at hand, believers had “boundless” divine power working for, in, and through them (v. 19). It’s also a good reminder for us. Despite the world’s apparent darkness, we can live in the light, hope, and power of God’s good news. So let’s confidently join Paul in praying for a perspective illuminated by the gospel.

Keith

Spiritual Strength

When our struggles seem overwhelming, we can call on God, who promises strength to endure.

Ephesians 3:14-16

Paul wrote his letter to the Ephesians while he was imprisoned in Rome. It wasn’t his first time suffering for the gospel, and they knew this because they’d heard his story and had even seen some of the persecution firsthand.

After reminding his friends of who they were in Christ, Paul picked up his prayer where he left off in chapter 1. He knew well that living as a subject of the one true King isn’t always smooth sailing. But he didn’t want his persecution to discourage them, so he prayed for their spiritual strength.

Paul reinforced the truth of who God is and who believers are in Him. But the Ephesians aren’t the only ones who are the Lord’s—we also belong to Him. And God, who has lavished upon all Christians the riches of His glory, promises to provide for our every need (Philippians 4:19). As was true for the believers in Ephesus, we need to be reminded of this often, and that is a key work of the Holy Spirit (John 14:26).

Spiritual strength helps us to endure whether we are suffering or seeing others struggle. It is also what enables us to carry Christ into the world—as we’ll see tomorrow.

Keith

To Be a Dwelling Place for Christ

If we become like Jesus and act as He would, we can transform our world.

Ephesians 3:17

Yesterday we saw that Paul prayed for the Ephesians to have inner strength. That strength helped them endure suffering, but it also transformed them so that “Christ may dwell in [their] hearts through faith” (3:17). Notice that Paul isn’t praying for Christ to come into believers’ hearts, as He does at salvation. Instead, he prays that Christ would be at home in the core of their being.

Put another way, Paul is saying that the more the Spirit empowers people’s lives, the more they will “grow up in all aspects into Him who is the head, that is, Christ” (Ephesians 4:15). Jesus’ lordship will be established more and more in their lives. And with Christ enthroned as King in their hearts, God’s kingdom grows, too. The Lord’s loving, righteous rule can extend through their lives to their families and communities.

Our prayers for others, then, are not just for personal transformation, although that’s crucial. As we become like Jesus, we increasingly act as He would, transforming our relationships and communities. That very thing happened as the early Christians amazed their neighbors by showing love not only for their own, but for all. And that’s where Paul’s prayer goes next, which we’ll explore over the next two days.

Keith

To Be Established in Love

Jesus made it possible for us to understand how precious we are to our heavenly Father.

Ephesians 3:17-19

When it comes to stability, everything depends on the supporting substructure. Most trees extend their roots two or three times as wide as their foliage. And the tallest skyscraper in the world has a foundation that goes down over 160 feet.

The root—or foundation—of the Christian life is God’s love. His love is what makes our love possible, and it became knowable in Jesus Christ.

In today’s passage, this is what Paul has in mind as he brings his prayer to a close. He asks that the Ephesians—empowered by the Spirit and encouraged by Christ’s indwelling presence—would base themselves in love. He also prays that their understanding of God’s love would grow together “with all the saints” who have believed and entrusted themselves to Jesus (v. 18).

This love of Christ is a boundless ocean deep enough to drown all our sins (Micah 7:19). Though it is “too great to understand fully,” Paul wants the Christians at Ephesus—and us—to have the power to grasp “the width and length and height and depth” of this great foundation (Eph. 3:18-19 NLT) so we can rest secure. Then we can pray without ceasing that countless more believers be added to our number.

Keith

Yet Will I Hope in Him

Even when our situation is bleak, we can trust God.

Job 13:1-15

Satan came before the Lord and requested permission to unleash a series of tests on Job. The barrage of hardships was meant to crush the faithful believer’s soul and reveal he wasn’t the righteous person God claimed. After Job lost his possessions, family, and health, his friends came to comfort him. They didn’t know the real reason behind his suffering—but that didn’t stop the would-be comforters from assuming Job was receiving punishment he deserved. As the old saying goes, “With friends like that, who needs enemies?”

Have you ever received the kind of advice Job’s unhelpful friends offered? At times when we’re experiencing hardship, we too may find ourselves on the receiving end of judgmental “consolation.” Early in the discussion with his misguided comforters, faithful Job responded in a way that put their counsel in the proper perspective. Despite having no idea why he’d lost so much, Job declared, “Though he slay me, yet will I hope in him” (13:15 NIV).

Job’s bold pronouncement is both a realistic take on his current circumstances and an expression of confidence in God’s character. His hope was not some pie-in-the-sky spiritual cliché that diminished his suffering but a conscious decision to trust God in the midst of it.

Bible in One Year: Genesis 26-28

Keith

Choose Hope

God welcomes and promises to help those who bring their pain to Him.

Psalm 42:1-11; Psalm 43:1-5

A lament is an expression of sorrow or complaint. About one-third of the psalms fall into this category, which tells us that God welcomes these kinds of prayers from His children. In fact, they’re an essential component of communication with the Lord, just like praise, worship, confession, and intercession. Our cries may be full of ache, anger, and confusion, but the One who made us isn’t surprised or offended by our messy, unfiltered words and emotions.

Many scholars believe that Psalms 42 and 43 were at one time a single song. In these two chapters, we find lament interspersed with a refrain that occurs three times: “Why are you in despair, my soul? And why are you restless within me? Wait for God, for I will again praise Him for the help of His presence, my God” (Ps. 42:5; Ps. 42:11; Ps. 43:5).

After a painful, real recounting of his circumstances, the psalmist includes a repeated chorus that preaches His truths to our heart and encourages us to hope in God. It’s a reminder that we can honestly tell the Lord about our circumstances—and that trusting Him is a choice we can make, even during our darkest days.

Keith

Hope Fuels Perseverance

Look beyond today’s hardship and trust the Lord, who is working for your good.

Isaiah 40:28-31

Pain can serve as a warning that something in the body is wrong. After a physical injury or surgery, however, discomfort is often part of the journey toward recovery. At such times, many people might be tempted to let pain keep them from working through the rehabilitation process to regain strength and mobility. For that reason, physical therapists will frequently challenge their patients to push just past their comfort zone. They know that a good outcome depends on more than enduring pain once or twice and then quitting before recovery is complete.

Successful rehab is dependent on the patient’s hope in a better future—in other words, they must look beyond their uncomfortable or painful present circumstances.

Isaiah recognized that even strong young people have limitations (40:30). They run out of energy. They stumble. In contrast, the prophet noted that God never grows tired, nor are there limits to His insight (v. 28). Understanding our weariness, He calls us to wait for Him (v. 31). At the same time, our Father realizes waiting can be even more spiritually and emotionally uncomfortable than trying to push through exhaustion in our own strength. But hope and trust in Him can help us to persevere and, over time, grow in ways we never imagined.

Keith

When God Says “Go”

Our faith in God grows when we choose to obey even when it’s hard.

Genesis 12:1-4

In verse 1 of today’s passage, the English translation “go” doesn’t capture the emphasis suggested by the verb in Hebrew, the original language of the Old Testament. This word is not a suggestion, a statement, or a request; it’s a command—”Go! Now! Get up and move!”

The rest of verse 1 underscores precisely what God’s “Go!” would look like for the aging Abram. The Lord was calling him to leave everything he knew—his land, his family, and his home—to head into the unknown without a map. God had a destination in mind for him and his future descendants. And He promised to show the way and let Abram know when he arrived.

Verse 4 tells us Abram went. Though it’s possible he may have had second thoughts, Scripture doesn’t record them. Instead, the account tells us God commanded and Abram, in faith, obeyed.  

Are there things God has commanded us to do that we treat as mere suggestions, statements, or requests? We sometimes look for loopholes or choose a semi-committed “maybe” in response to something God has instructed us to do. Abram understood there was only one righteous response to God’s imperative “Go!” That was a “Yes, Lord”—which he promptly demonstrated with his full obedience.

Keith

There is no historic record of Abraham and anything "known" about him is mythic at best. If he did exist he would be diagnosed with  schizophrenia  or as someone actually having psychotic episodes.

Living Abundantly

Our best life is found when we trust God completely and live surrendered to His will.

Proverbs 3:5-12

God created us with a longing to know that we matter. He also designed us to find the fulfillment of that desire through His Son.

Dependence on God is central to an abundant life. Trusting Him with all our heart means giving Him control over everything—our family, finances, emotions, and thoughts. Today’s passage emphasizes how essential trust is to a fruitful life: It cautions against being wise in our own eyes and warns not to lean on our own understanding (vv. 5, 7). When faced with decisions, it’s tempting to choose the answer we think is right. But we can’t know all the facts or predict with certainty how others will respond. The Lord, however, does know. He reads our heart and perceives every thought (1 Chronicles 28:9). No aspect of our situation escapes His notice (Psalm 11:4), and He cares about everyone. That’s why He alone is certain which decision will be best.

The abundant life also involves acknowledging God in all we do. Speaking about Him is just part of what it means to give Him recognition. As His children, we’re to have a marked resemblance to our heavenly Father—in thoughts, attitudes, and actions.

Life becomes fruitful as we surrender ourselves to God and carry out His will. When His Spirit lives through us (Galatians 2:20), our life will be characterized by significance and satisfaction.

Keith

Looking Forward

Because God promises a glorious future, Christians can find the strength to wait—even when it’s difficult.

Joel 1:1-20; Joel 2:1-32; Joel 3:1-21

More often than not, waiting involves a lot of stress—especially when we don’t know how long it will be until the holding pattern ends. During the wait, we sometimes turn away from God and yearn for a time when things felt easier. But what if we turned towards God and looked forward instead?

The prophet Joel spoke to God’s people during a challenging time when their land had been invaded by locusts. Livelihoods were destroyed by drought and pestilence, and people were starving. Those were days full of destruction, darkness, and utter gloom.

Yet God did not point them back to the good old days. Instead, He pointed them to the future, to Himself. He called them to return to Him and reminded them that a day of vindication and redemption would ultimately come. And while it’s true that “ultimately” could be generations away, there is comfort in knowing His promise of restoration is certain. On that day there will be tremendous rejoicing—vats will overflow and “everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved” (2:32).

By turning our eyes forward towards that certain-yet-far-off day, we too may find the strength to keep waiting.

Keith

Who Is Greatest?

Christ’s followers find purpose and joy when they trade their earthly mindset for an eternal one.

Matthew 18:1-6

If you’ve spent time around little children, you can attest to the innate human desire to be best, fastest, strongest. “Watch me run! I’m the fastest in the world!” sounds adorable coming from a little boy—but those same words from a grown man would be unsettling. For better or worse, most of us learn to hide our hubris from the world.

Yet when Jesus’ disciples asked, “Who then is greatest in the kingdom of heaven?” (Matt.18:1), it seems they were trying to one-up each other, thinking as a child would. Am I the greatest? Or is he? Why is he better than me? How could I surpass him?

Jesus responded to the juvenile question with a necessary rebuke: None of them were greatest. Yes, as adult men, they held legal and social status that women and children couldn’t attain. Yet in God’s kingdom, this sort of privilege would not only fail to gain them power; it would also be a roadblock to true greatness. However, there is a childlike quality God values: To be “great” in His eyes and in the kingdom, we’re to divest ourselves of power and status and become low, as Jesus Himself did (Philippians 2:5-8). In this way, believers are meant to become like little children.

As followers of Jesus, we too are invited to set aside any earthly status we’ve achieved and become humble and childlike. In so doing, we just may find the kingdom of God in our midst.

Keith

These Little Ones

Every life is precious in God’s sight—and should be in our sight as well.

Matthew 18:10-14

“What do you think?” Jesus asks His disciples in Matthew 18. “If any man has a hundred sheep, and one of them goes astray, will he not leave the ninety-nine on the mountains, and go and search for the one that is lost?” (v. 12).

Well, what do we think? If we had a hundred sheep and one of them wandered away, I’m not sure any of us would leave the rest to go searching. It’s likely that the single missing animal would feel like a reasonable loss—a small impact on the bottom line, something already factored into the budget.

But in this passage, Jesus makes it clear just how precious “these littles ones” are to Him. He is driving home a point about the person who seems worthless—the one we tend to overlook or don’t care much about: That’s the one God is looking out for.

In other words, God’s spreadsheet doesn’t look like ours. In His budget, there are no calculations for loss with regard to His “little ones.” No one is considered collateral damage. That’s good news, because the One who watches over lost lambs and tiny sparrows is watching out for us as well. But these are also challenging words, for God asks us to live with compassion, too. Thankfully, His grace is sufficient to equip us for this good work.

Keith

When Loneliness Overwhelms

What should you do when you feel alone?

Hebrews 13:5-8

Solitude can be nice—relaxing, even—especially after a busy day or a long shift at work. Spending time alone can leave you feeling recharged and rested. But loneliness is different.

So, what should you do if you feel lonely? First, ask yourself if you’ve accepted Jesus’ invitation to have a personal relationship with Him. He is the nearest, dearest friend you can ever have. Second, remember that God repeatedly promises that He will never leave or abandon you. (See Deuteronomy 31:6; Joshua 1:5; Joshua 1:9; Psalm 27:10; John 14:18.) You can also ...

Pray. Ask the Lord to help you have a right understanding of who you are as His child. Scripture tells us that God loves us with an everlasting love (Jeremiah 31:3) and that He is a friend who sticks closer than a brother (Proverbs 18:24). Ask Him to help you to feel His love and friendship.

Memorize the Lord’s promises. We mentioned a few up above, but are there any you want to add?

Prayerfully examine Scripture to find a few that encourage you.

Pray about godly friendships. Ask God to bring the right people into your life—particularly those with whom you can laugh and pray. Friendship is an extension of the Lord’s love and goodness in your life.

Keith

The God Who Comforts

When pain seems unbearable, ask God to teach you how to rely on His strength.

2 Corinthians 1:1-11

When life gets difficult, how do you respond? Do you begin to doubt God, wondering why He’d let adversity happen? Or do you turn to Him, seeking to better understand His ways and grow stronger in faith?

While in Asia, Paul and Timothy faced hardship and persecution. Today’s passage says they “were burdened excessively, beyond [their] strength” (v. 8). But they chose to put their hope in the Lord and trusted that He would comfort them in their affliction.

Paul writes, “For just as the sufferings of Christ are ours in abundance, so also our comfort is abundant through Christ” (v. 5). The apostle explained to the Corinthian believers that the trials he and Timothy endured taught them to rely on God’s strength, not their own. Bolstered by God’s faithfulness in the past and the prayers of other believers, they held on to hope.

We will all face difficulty at one point or another. And when that happens, we should try to respond like Paul and Timothy—trusting in the Lord, even though our pain may seem unbearable. Ask the Lord to comfort you. His power is unparalleled and available to every believer.

Keith

The Power of Love

We can show others the heart of God by caring for them as He does.

Luke 15:11-32

In today’s well-known passage, Jesus tells a parable about a man with two sons. The younger son made an untimely request for his share of the inheritance and then left for a faraway place. After spending all he had, the young man decided to return home and beg for his father’s forgiveness. When he was still a long way off, his father ran to welcome him—no apologies necessary.

Jesus’ parable about the prodigal son never mentions the word love directly, but it’s there in every one of the father’s actions. Putting yourself in the father’s place and then the younger son’s,  reread today’s passage with an eye toward expressions of love. What examples can you find? Notice that godly love enables us to:

• Respond graciously in trying circumstances.

• Sacrifice without complaining.

• Wait patiently for others instead of pushing them to change.

• Encourage others.

• Forgive those who have wronged us.

• Give generously and serve joyfully at all times.

• Assist people who are struggling.

• Show kindness to those who misjudge or misunderstand us.

Keeping this parable in mind, how can you begin to love others more fully, as the Lord does?

Keith

The Gift of Second Chances

God’s desire to forgive and restore is always greater than our capacity to fail.

John 21:15-17

Before we discuss today’s verses, let’s look at one other passage. Take the time to read Matthew 26:69-75 and consider Peter’s emotions in that moment. The more people asked about his relationship to Jesus, the more emphatic his denials became. At first he said, “I do not know what you are talking about” (v. 70). Then he denied Jesus with an oath, and finally “began to curse and swear” (vv. 72-74).

But when the rooster crowed, he remembered his words from the night before: “I will never fall away!” He had even gone so far as to declare he’d never deny Jesus, even if it meant dying with Him (Matthew 26:31-35). For all that false bravado, the apostle failed exactly as Jesus said he would. No wonder he sobbed bitterly.

A few days later, when he saw Jesus on the shore, Peter hurled himself into the sea and hurried to his Savior. Imagine how it must have felt to stand there, dripping wet, staring at the One you loved and had betrayed. After the meal, Jesus allowed Peter to rewrite his answers that had been given in a haze of panic and fear. And with each affirmation, the disciple knew he was both forgiven and profoundly loved. Jesus offers that same experience to us, now and always. He never stops seeking, never stops offering forgiveness to all who call Him Lord and Savior.

Keith

Feasting As Worship

Gathering to celebrate God’s goodness honors Him and blesses us.

Leviticus 23:4-8

When the Israelites entered the Promised Land after years of wandering in the desert, God issued a strange command: Feast.

Feasting and enjoying the bounty of the land were meant to tie the Israelites to different rhythms throughout the year—such as harvesting the first and last of the year’s crops. Festivals were also a way of commemorating the mighty acts of God on the people’s behalf, like the night of the Passover when God spared all who’d painted their doors with the blood of a lamb. Ultimately, these celebrations were an act of worship that reoriented God’s people to right relationship with Him. God was their provider and sustainer, so they feasted with gratitude. He was their rescuer and redeemer, so they feasted in holy remembrance.

Today we can learn healthy spiritual habits from these observances prescribed by God for the ancient Israelites. When we pause to give thanks for our blessings, we worship God with our time and attention. When we gather to simply enjoy His good gifts, we remember that “every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above” (James 1:17)—not from our own striving.

When was the last time you paused to savor God’s goodness, remember His faithfulness, and worship Him? Consider taking time to taste and see the goodness of God today.

Keith

Feasting As Warfare

The habit of gratitude protects us from the trap of discontentment and endless striving.

Psalm 23:4-6

Psalm 23 portrays feasting as a form of trust amid adversity. Imagine the courage it would take to sit down at a banquet with a horde of angry enemies surrounding you. Yet this is God’s invitation to us in every struggle and trial: Come. Sit at My table and rest. I’ve prepared a place for you in the presence of your enemies.

What keeps us from sitting at God’s table and rejoicing in the story of God’s faithfulness in our own life? Three obstacles come to mind: striving, discontentment, and deception. Striving is the internalized sense that we must always keep moving forward in pursuit of success, money, and acclaim. We think, More is always better, and rest is for the weak. This inability to slow down and appreciate God’s gifts breeds a profound sense of unfulfillment, making joy and peace elusive. The world’s competitive striving and restless dissatisfaction are fueled by the enemy’s most ancient and insidious deception: My way is better than God’s way.

But when we feast, we declare that God’s way of gratitude, rest, and simplicity is better than the world’s deceived way of striving and discontentment. We feast to challenge the enemy’s lies. In this way, feasting—slowing down to savor God’s gifts and remember His faithfulness—is an act of spiritual warfare. To feast is to trust in the Lord.

Keith

Feasting as Wedding Preparation

Communion reminds us that one day we will gather with other believers at a table with Jesus.

1 Corinthians 11:23-26

On the night he was betrayed, Jesus celebrated the feast of Passover with His disciples. During their shared meal, the Lord gave His followers a new interpretation of the Passover meal.

By associating the bread and wine with His body and blood, Jesus revealed Himself to be the true Passover lamb who takes away the sins of the world. Communion, also called the Lord’s Supper, has been observed by believers ever since that evening, when Jesus said, “Do this in remembrance of Me” (1 Cor. 11:24).

As we take communion together, we remember Christ’s body and blood, given for us at the cross. But by partaking in this feast, we also think of the future, when sin and death will have been defeated once and for all. Then, at the wedding feast of the Lamb (Revelation 19:9), we’ll celebrate God’s presence and provision in our daily life while also preparing for eternity with Him.

Whether you feel close to or far from God today, know this: Your Creator loves you and invites you to sit at His table in this life and the life to come. His body and blood are the bread and wine that sustain us each day. His feasting table is a place of welcome, remembrance, and celebration. Will you accept His invitation?

Keith

Friendships That Last

For authentic connection, quality matters more than quantity.

Proverbs 18:24

Imagine a busy coffee shop. The aroma of freshly brewed beverages fills the air, and conversations echo off the walls. People come and go, exchanging pleasantries with each other, but not connecting on a deeper level. It’s a familiar scene in our fast-paced world, where many of our relationships remain shallow and transient. But God designed us for more.

Today’s scripture says, “A person of too many friends comes to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.” The verse reminds us that true joy is not about the quantity of friends—rather, it has to do with the quality of our relationships.

When we encounter someone who stands by us through thick and thin, who lends a listening ear without judgment, who offers support and encouragement, we glimpse the reflection of Christ’s love. Just as Jesus said, “Greater love has no one than this, that a person will lay down his life for his friends” (John 15:13). True friendship echoes this sacrificial love.

In a world that often seems too busy for genuine connections, let us cherish and cultivate the friendships that draw us closer to God’s heart. May we be the kind of friend who sticks closer than a brother, reflecting the love of our Savior in every word, action, and embrace we offer to others.

Keith