Demerara Waves - Saturday December 19. 2015

Wakenaam

The usually quiet Essequibo island of Wakenaam was Saturday plunged into mourning with two suicides- one by a sick and elderly man and the other by a young man with domestic problems.

Dead are 80-year old Sydney “Badri” Ramphal and the Soma Bhryo, said to be in his 40s. They resided at Belle Plaine village on that agriculture-dependent island of about 17.5 square miles and a population of an estimated 9,000 persons.

Demerara Waves Online News was told that Ramphal, the owner of Anil Rum Shop, had previously attempted to commit suicide because he was fed up with his very poor health.

One week ago, Bhyro's wife packed up all her belongings and left, resulting in serious depression and continually. 

They both committed suicide by hanging themselves at their homes.

Guyana recorded the highest rate of suicide in the world in 2012, according to the World Health Organisation (WHO). 

Most Guyanese who commit suicide are of East Indian descent and they prefer to end their lives by consuming chemicals used in the agricultural sector.

Guyanese authorities are considering outlawing poor storage and easy access to items such as pesticides and weedicides.

• Wakenaam

The sick man should be able to get medical attention so he didn't had to take his own life. The younger person should able to receive family counseling so that his life didn't had to end tragically. We have a government whos main focus is to release criminals and make life harder for the working class to get adequate help in the area of needs. The lack of these basic services are contributing to more and more suicides. Again, this is an Indian problem so they will have to deal with. 

Tola must be going around Guyana and bad mouth Jagdeo all day long. That man couldn't get off a topic without mentioning Jagdeo name as though the man had done him an unforgettable crime. I don't know if his political demeanor help to prevent suicide or increases it.

Gilbakka I am in agreement with you.  However, during the PPP administration everytime some commit suicide people would say, including here on GNI, that Jagdeo kill them.  The only question I have now, "Is he the one still killing them?  Or do we have a new killer on the loose?  Just saying!!!!

how would u know?

Something to share with family and friends in Guyana. It will help remove suicidal thoughts.

<tt>Desiderata</tt>

Go placidly amid the noise and haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence.
As far as possible without surrender be on good terms with all persons.
Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and ignorant; they too have their story.
Avoid loud and aggressive persons, they are vexations to the spirit.
If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain and bitter;
for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.

Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans.
Keep interested in your career, however humble; it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time.
Exercise caution in your business affairs; for the world is full of trickery.
But let this not blind you to what virtue there is; many persons strive for high ideals;
and everywhere life is full of heroism.

Be yourself.
Especially, do not feign affection.
Neither be critical about love; for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment it is as perennial as the grass.

Take kindly the counsel of the years, gracefully surrendering the things of youth.
Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune. But do not distress yourself with imaginings.
Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness. Beyond a wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself.

You are a child of the universe, no less than the trees and the stars;
you have a right to be here.
And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.

Therefore be at peace with God, whatever you conceive Him to be,
and whatever your labors and aspirations, in the noisy confusion of life keep peace with your soul.
With all its sham, drudgery and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. Be careful. Strive to be happy.

I would start by investigating you.  You have a certain killer instinct that results from people hating the world and hating themselves!!!!

oh my, u cut me to the quick

i'm a lover not a hater . . . what was your old handle bai?

Something to share with family and friends in Guyana. It will help remove suicidal thoughts.

<tt>Desiderata</tt>

Go placidly amid the noise and haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence.
As far as possible without surrender be on good terms with all persons.
Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and ignorant; they too have their story.
Avoid loud and aggressive persons, they are vexations to the spirit.
If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain and bitter;
for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.

Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans.
Keep interested in your career, however humble; it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time.
Exercise caution in your business affairs; for the world is full of trickery.
But let this not blind you to what virtue there is; many persons strive for high ideals;
and everywhere life is full of heroism.

Be yourself.
Especially, do not feign affection.
Neither be critical about love; for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment it is as perennial as the grass.

Take kindly the counsel of the years, gracefully surrendering the things of youth.
Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune. But do not distress yourself with imaginings.
Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness. Beyond a wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself.

You are a child of the universe, no less than the trees and the stars;
you have a right to be here.
And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.

Therefore be at peace with God, whatever you conceive Him to be,
and whatever your labors and aspirations, in the noisy confusion of life keep peace with your soul.
With all its sham, drudgery and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. Be careful. Strive to be happy.

Nice words of inspiration.  Sometimes a little hands on support and love can help.  Like those PPP supporters who landed in Guyana two days ago with over 700 gifts of toys, books, clothing, etc. to give out to orphanages throughout Guyana.  They have events at places like Linden and New Amsterdam Multilateral school to give out gift wrapped boxes.

. . . Like those PPP supporters who landed in Guyana two days ago with over 700 gifts of toys, books, clothing, etc. to give out to orphanages throughout Guyana.  They have events at places like Linden and New Amsterdam Multilateral school to give out gift wrapped boxes.

translating bibibigotspeak:

look how abee Indians gaffa help dem poor black people

Demerara Waves - Saturday December 19. 2015

Guyanese authorities are considering outlawing poor storage and easy access to items such as pesticides and weedicides.

This is a very good idea. Hopefully it helps as more effective methods are developed to combat the high suicide rate in Guyana.

That is correct. Some would say when people look at Jagdeo face, they wouldn't think twice to commit suicide. We learn from the same people that teaches us. 

Cobra posted:

Tola must be going around Guyana and bad mouth Jagdeo all day long. That man couldn't get off a topic without mentioning Jagdeo name as though the man had done him an unforgettable crime. I don't know if his political demeanor help to prevent suicide or increases it.

Tola probably got the VP position he was working for. We need him to address this and tell us how his government is prepared to address this epidemic.

Cobra posted:

Tola probably got the VP position he was working for. We need him to address this and tell us how his government is prepared to address this epidemic.

Yes Skelly,

Tola is in hiding now. These are the Indos who will lay down their lives for the clueless and racist PNC.

Cobra posted:

Bro, Granger already give us a hint that suicide is a coolie problem and he can't help. I fully understand that he don't give a shit. He has more important things to do like releasing criminals, and ordering police NOT to shoot them. Black lives matter.

What's holding him back is the three million dollars to retrieve the body.

Yes, that's another thing for them hi-tech jumpers who want to go in grand style.  

baseman posted:

Indian suicide is an ally to the PNC.  It translates to less voters come 2020.  Why should Granger care?

well, i suppose this constitutes high-level thinking for the below-average IQ cohort

baseman posted:

PNC to blame.  Too much suffering.  Where has Tola been all these years!

Tola is in hiding. He used to blame the PPP and now that the rate has escalated under the PNC, he decided to duck for cover.

redux posted:
baseman posted:

Indian suicide is an ally to the PNC.  It translates to less voters come 2020.  Why should Granger care?

well, i suppose this constitutes high-level thinking for the below-average IQ cohort

Deciphering the PNC is not a tall order.  Any reasonable person with an IQ of 80 can do it, but then again, notable professors, economists, lawyers, all jump on-board the gravy train just to left with white mouth!  Seems they missed the boat!

redux posted:
baseman posted:

Why don't you shut you skvnt for a change, you coolie wannabe vinegar. What intelligence is without discipline and good bringing up? You is a bright lump of shit on a hot sunny day. 

Cobra posted:
redux posted:
baseman posted:

Why don't you shut you skvnt for a change, you coolie wannabe vinegar. What intelligence is without discipline and good bringing up? You is a bright lump of shit on a hot sunny day. 

doan buss a blood vessel on my account deh antiman

har de har har har harrr!

Cobra posted:

We have a government whos main focus is to release criminals and make life harder for the working class to get adequate help in the area of needs. The lack of these basic services are contributing to more and more suicides. Again, this is an Indian problem so they will have to deal with. 

So I can deduce from your rant that Guyana only became the most suicide prone nation in the world after May 11, 2015.

Yet we see Guyana ranked high when Guyana was led by the PPP.

So why don't you blame the PPP?

baseman posted:

PNC to blame.  Too much suffering.  Where has Tola been all these years!

Tola is in hiding. He used to blame the PPP and now that the rate has escalated under the PNC, he decided to duck for cover.

Y'all can double-bank and triple-bank Tola behind his back to your hearts' content. That will not reduce the suicide epidemic in Guyana.

Tola or no Tola, the self-killing will go on. Let's focus on helping to save people from themselves in Guyana.

Is he not the self proclaimed suicide prevention ambassador of Guyana??? Get thee to work then Mr. Tola.  Stand up for who you said you are.  And the PPP is not there to stand in your way this time around.  He blamed the PPP and Jagdeo for every problem in Guyana.  So yes!!!  Let him do what he claims to do.  Get out there and save some lives you son of a gun!!!!!

baseman posted:

Bibi, thanks for saving me some keystrokes!

Baap ray baap!! The poor guy doesn't deserve this, base, after volunteering his time and personal resources to help Berbicians deal with the suicide scourge. Anyway, I'll leave it at that.

baseman posted:

Bibi, thanks for saving me some keystrokes!

Baap ray baap!! The poor guy doesn't deserve this, base, after volunteering his time and personal resources to help Berbicians deal with the suicide scourge. Anyway, I'll leave it at that.

He volunteered his time to bad mouth the PPP and score political points.  This was the source of his downfall.  Baseman don't reward effort, baseman reward results.  Tola and his cohorts fail to make an impact, so move on and move out.