Chairman of GECOM, Justice (Ret’d) Claudette Singh

March 25 2020

…says PPP application misplaced; can only come by way of elections petition

By Svetlana Marshall
CHAIRMAN of the Guyana Elections Commission, Justice (Ret’d) Claudette Singh, through her attorney Kim Kyte-Thomas, objected to the Application for Discovery filed by the Leader of the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) List of Candidates, Bharrat Jagdeo, on the grounds that the application, which seeks to have the Elections Commission lay over the Region 4 Statements of Poll, could only be brought by way of an Election Petition.
“It is submitted that the production of the SOPs is not for an application such as this. These matters would better be canvassed in an elections petition,” Kyte-Thomas told High Court Judge, Franklin Holder in her written submission on behalf of the GECOM Chair.
Jagdeo’s application stems from Fixed Date Application (FDA) filed by Ulita Grace Moore against GECOM, the Chairman of GECOM, and the Chief Elections Officer.

PPP General Secretary, Bharrat Jagdeo

However, it was noted that Jagdeo, by filing the application, intends to introduce the SOPs to challenge the results stated on the declaration of the Region 4 Returning Officer, Clairmont Mingo. “There is a narrow distinction but one nonetheless between this issue and whether there has been compliance of the Returning Officer with his statutory functions relevant to the electoral process pursuant to the elections laws in this jurisdiction,” the Attorney reasoned. Referencing to Article 163 (1) and (4) of the Constitution of Guyana, and the National Assembly (Validity of Elections) Act, Chapter 1:04, Kyte-Thomas iterated that the application must be presented by an Elections Petition. According to the National Assembly (Validity of Elections) Act, an Elections Petition must be brought within 28 days of the declaration of the results of an Election.

In support of her arguments, Kyte-Thomas referenced the case of Gladys Petrie and Others v The Attorney General and Others (1968), in which it was stated that any challenge to the “election process can only be conducted pursuant to an election petition and before an election court.” She argued that, that position was affirmed in the case of George Rick James (In person and as Secretary of the Free and Fair Election League Inc.) v Nathaniel James (Chairman of the Electoral Commission) and others. A similar finding, she further pointed out, was made in N.P. Ponnuswami v Returning Officer, Namakkal Constituency.

“The word “election” within the meaning of Article 232(1) of the Constitution of the Co-operative Republic of Guyana, Laws of Guyana is used and interpreted to mean the whole process of an election which commences with the issue of a proclamation of the election up to the issue of the result of that election. In Seecomar Singh v Butler [1973] 21 WIR the Court held that the elections commenced with the issue of the proclamation by the President,” Kyte-Thomas submitted.

She further submitted that such a challenge cannot be entertained at this time on the basis that it is premature.

“Any challenge to the validity of an election and any dispute or claim of any irregularities or illegalities in relation to an election can only lawfully form the basis of an election petition after the result of the election has been made known,” the Attorney told the High Court.
On that note, she reminded that an election petition can only lawfully be presented after the result of the elections is known.

Referencing again the case of N.P. Ponnuswami, Kyte-Thomas said it was authoritatively stated that: “any matter which has the effect of vitiating an election should be brought up only at the appropriate stage in an appropriate manner before a special tribunal and should not be brought up at an intermediate stage before any court.”

She said the rationale behind this was explained by Court in N.P. Ponnuswami. It was stated that:

Attorney-at-Law Kim Kyte-Thomas

“Having regard to the important functions which the legislatures have to perform in democratic countries, it has always been recognised to be a matter of first importance that elections should be concluded as early as possible according to time schedule and all controversial matters and all disputes arising out of elections should be postponed till after the elections are over, so that the election proceedings may not be unduly retarded or protracted.”

On those grounds, Kyte-Thomas, on behalf of the GECOM Chair, told the High Court that in an effort to prevent the election proceedings from being unduly “retarded or protracted” any challenge to the validity of an election and any dispute or claim of any irregularities or illegalities in relation to an election must be brought by way of an election petition after the result of the election has been made known.

The instant application, Kyte-Thomas submitted, must therefore be refused.
The hearing of the Application for Discovery has been referred. The High Court has taken a decision to first establish whether it has jurisdiction to hear FDA filed by Moore before reviewing any other elections relation matter. Moore has asked the Court to set aside a decision by the Elections Commission to facilitate a National Recount of all the votes cast at the March 2 General and Regional Elections while Jagdeo and a private citizen, Reeaz Holladar, have asked the court to set aside the declaration made by the Region 4 Returning Officer, Clairmont Mingo on March 13, 2020.

Why do you have to produce SOPs in court? Count them and declare the results. It’s been three weeks already.

Region 4 ,SOPS already counted and declared. Jagdeo wanted GECOM to lay over ,the Region 4 SOPS.

Why do you have to produce SOPs in court? Count them and declare the results. It’s been three weeks already.

Region 4 ,SOPS already counted and declared. Jagdeo wanted GECOM to lay over ,the Region 4 SOPS.

Django bai, since your business is in the service industry are you suggesting that your customers can expect the level of service from your business similar to the service that Mingo performed on March 5, 2020 and again on March 13, 2020?

Region 4 SOPs were not counted.  Mingo ran away from the building when he got caught rigging the election. Less than half of the SOPs were counted when he dashed out on High Street.

I guess you are not up to date.

Django bai, since your business is in the service industry are you suggesting that your customers can expect the level of service from your business similar to the service that Mingo performed on March 5, 2020 and again on March 13, 2020?

Was the second counting of Region 4 ,SOPS done under the LAWS of the electoral system ?

Lets just say that Mingo's performance on March 13, 2020 is akin to if you had an autobody repair shop and all you did was sprayed a coat of paint on your customer's car without repairing the body under it but still feeling comfortable that your customer will not be able to tell as the paint is covering the unrepaired body. You can now place your own business in the place of that autobody repair shop tell us if your customer should expect that level of service as Mingo's performance on March 13, 2020.

We are not talking about law. We are talking about performance of one's duties. I began working at 7AM and signed off at 9PM. No doubt I was also peeping GNI all day but if I were Mingo and have started working at 7AM and still peeping GNI, I would have signed off no later than 4PM.

@Django @Totaram - If APNU/AFC is so certain that they won the 2020 elections, why have they not sworn in their president ? The democratic parties in Guyana and the world know who won the elections. It is just a matter of time, Democracy will reign in Guyana. This is not Venezuela, the forces for democracy will enter Guyana and bring an end to this attempt to steal an election. If they are looking for a fight, they will get it.

Long Live Democracy.

B
BGMAN posted:

@Django @Totaram - If APNU/AFC is so certain that they won the 2020 elections, why have they not sworn in their president ? The democratic parties in Guyana and the world know who won the elections. It is just a matter of time, Democracy will reign in Guyana. This is not Venezuela, the forces for democracy will enter Guyana and bring an end to this attempt to steal an election. If they are looking for a fight, they will get it.

Long Live Democracy.

Hold on tight , and keep hoping.

The news breaking out in Guyana about the interference in the elections ,also the the bogus declarations from the PPP.

Kaz,

your long winding analogy need brushing up. Region 4 SOPS was displayed for all who was there to  view ,the votes was counted ,after that the declaration was made.

There was huge turnout in Georgetown,that flimsy suppression of votes the PPP presented are bogus.

BGMAN posted:

@Django - Mr. Granger will have to decide which country he will be exiled to. He still have time to bring this madness to an end and live a peaceful life in Guyana.

Long Live Democracy.

I told you already hold tight ,keep hope .

Volda signature ,doesn't affect the declared results.

The rigging mantra started by the PPP, they know they can't win the elections. All who donated money to hire MERCURY ,hold wood. More information coming out in the open.

Kaz,

your long winding analogy need brushing up. Region 4 SOPS was displayed for all who was there to  view ,the votes was counted ,after that the declaration was made.

There was huge turnout in Georgetown,that flimsy suppression of votes the PPP presented are bogus.

Provide the SOPs or STFU.  Me fed up saying the same thing over and over.

AJ
BGMAN posted:

@Django - Mr. Granger will have to decide which country he will be exiled to. He still have time to bring this madness to an end and live a peaceful life in Guyana.

Long Live Democracy.

Not only Granger, but some of his cabals right hay on GNI will have to find new homes for their families.. the s1hit will hit the fan soon. 

Abu Jihad posted:

Kaz,

Get some gramax ,handy.

BGMAN posted:

Long Live Democracy.

Not only Granger, but some of his cabals right hay on GNI will have to find new homes for their families.. the s1hit will hit the fan soon. 

You ,the RAT and all his minions, can't touch no one in USA.

Django said so !!!!

Kaz,

Thanks bai. I feel fortunate I was never one of your business' customers. 

The rigging mantra started by the PPP, they know they can't win the elections. All who donated money to hire MERCURY ,hold wood. More information coming out in the open.

Let me see ... I believe you said the same thing two weeks ago, but the fourth Russians hack your software. Whe it deh. 

Its been 16 days and still waiting for APNU SOPs side by side PPPC SOPs that you promise. 

Why should anyone still believe you?

Kaz,

Thanks bai. I feel fortunate I was never one of your business' customers. 

Actually 99.9%  of my customers are white Americans ,they are forwarded by white  owned companies , also my tenant are white.

BGMAN posted:

Long Live Democracy.

You ,the RAT and all his minions, can't touch no one in USA.

Django said so !!!!

lol

Abu Jihad posted:

Kaz,

Get some gramax ,handy.

You should be ashamed of yourself, especially as a senior admin.

@Django - I am a cool guy. I believe in the TRUTH and only the TRUTH. Let me remind you, this is 2020, the world is watching. The ABCE nations are going to rectify this issue. Never again, any party in Guyana is going to attempt to steal an election. The coalition is playing with fire and you know what the consequences could be. 

Long Live Democracy.

B

Let me see ... I believe you said the same thing two weeks ago, but the fourth Russians hack your software. Whe it deh. 

Its been 16 days and still waiting for APNU SOPs side by side PPPC SOPs that you promise. 

Why should anyone still believe you?

Did i promise APNU SOPS ?  or i said will post the fake ones PPP posted on the website .Refresh my memory or dig the archives ,i do remember what i write here.

If there are any promise ,it will be the detailed tabulation from GECOM, which can be cross matched with the ones from PPP . Hope fully GECOM do the same that was done in 2015.

Abu Jihad posted:

Kaz,

Get some gramax ,handy.

You should be ashamed of yourself, especially as a senior admin.

Please ,sometimes stay out.  Have you noticed the language.

BGMAN posted:

@Django - I am a cool guy. I believe in the TRUTH and only the TRUTH. Let me remind you, this is 2020, the world is watching. The ABCE nations are going to rectify this issue. Never again, any party in Guyana is going to attempt to steal an election. The coalition is playing with fire and you know what the consequences could be. 

Long Live Democracy.

BGMAN ,

Great you believe the truth ,take a look what happened in Bolivia and the players involved.

Succinctly, all information stated in the media ....

--- Mingo prepared a spreadsheet to compile the votes for each political party for Region 4.

--- This method is explicitly different for the other regions for which SOPs were used to present each party's votes.

Succinctly, all information stated in the media ....

--- Mingo prepared a spreadsheet to compile the votes for each political party for Region 4.

--- This method is explicitly different for the other regions for which SOPs were used to present each party's votes.

Most of the Regions use spreadsheet for tabulation ,using information from the SOPS.

Check Region 10 at GECOM website .Spread sheet is attached ,which i am not sure is a requirement. I haven't seen such on other declarations.

Django ...

Results for Region 4 will not go away until it is resolved in a transparent manner..

Due to this specific issue, international organizations, countries and their representatives have expressed through various media outlets their views should this matter not resolved in an open and transparent manner.

Django ...

Results for Region 4 will not go away until it is resolved in a transparent manner..

Due to this specific issue, international organizations, countries and their representatives have expressed through various media outlets their views should this matter not resolved in an open and transparent manner.

Agreed ,hopefully it will be sorted out.

Kaz,

Brother, you need to quit associating this huge turnout with a win for the PNC. Common sense will tell you not because of region 4 is a PNC stronghold, means most of the people will vote for PNC. You must realize that some of the unfortunate sugar workers moved to the city to find jobs, most of the AFC 2015 voters and dissatisfied PNC folks saw the light and bolted through the tunnel. It SHOCKED the PNC who cannot accept that the PPP blindsided them. Ramjattan ass is in trouble. Even some blacks do not see and agree with the PNC.
COUNT ALL THE VOTES TO ELIMINATE ANY DOUBT.

Kaz,

Brother, you need to quit associating this huge turnout with a win for the PNC. Common sense will tell you not because of region 4 is a PNC stronghold, means most of the people will vote for PNC. You must realize that some of the unfortunate sugar workers moved to the city to find jobs, most of the AFC 2015 voters and dissatisfied PNC folks saw the light and bolted through the tunnel. It SHOCKED the PNC who cannot accept that the PPP blindsided them. Ramjattan ass is in trouble. Even some blacks do not see and agree with the PNC.

How does he know PPPC display are bogus if GECOM and APNU haven't shown theirs. 

Kaz,

How does he know PPPC display are bogus if GECOM and APNU haven't shown theirs. 

Good point. What does he have to compare to prove it was bogus? The spreadsheet was bogus as was exposed by the International Observers.