Pakistani vendor Gul Rehman cuts wood logs in Islamabad, Pakistan on Monday, July 1, 2013. Wood is in great demand used as fuel for cooking.

In the 1950s-'60s a strong burly Leonora man named TIGER used to sell wallaba wood to Uitvlugt residents on a dray cart. My mother bought four or five evenly cut pieces at 25 cents each and my father and I used an axe to chop the wallaba into smaller strips that could fit into our fireside.

The old man in this picture reminds me of those bygone days in Guyana.

Pakistani vendor Gul Rehman cuts wood logs in Islamabad, Pakistan on Monday, July 1, 2013. Wood is in great demand used as fuel for cooking. [B.K. Bangash/AP)

[AP Photo]

Originally Posted by chameli:
Originally Posted by antabanta:

I never see people cook with wallaba wood, only turnwood (sp).

anta u mk me call me mumma and ask she if ppl does cook wid wallaba wood

dis is what shw said

"me cyant talk fo allbady but me used to cook wid wallaba  dat abee buy from de haas cyaat"

Gyal Chameli, yuh mumma and me mumma gat someting in camman. Me wanda if is Tigaman haas cyaat she buy da wallaba fram?

Meh mumma and everyone in the street from Zeeburg also used to buy hood fram Tiger, later he used to sell kero He used to shout out "de man wid the wood and the oil"  and dem ladies does get wan good laugh from this. he also will supply the wallaba wood for weddings and for boiling white belly shrimps. There was a rumour that tigah used to employ a labourer at his house to split back dem big pieces of wallaba in two. It's business.