Reminds me of trips from my village to Dad's backdam vegetable garden and his Abary River cattle ranch. He took us on his tractor, parked it on the river bank, untied his small boat parked nearby, then rowed us across. Those were the sweetest days of my life and I would give a fortune to recapture them.  

My grandfather's family had rice land in Abary River

Send me the name. Dad knew everyone. He and and his Indian ancestors spent their lives there.

I just remembered something. Near the river bank I found chiseled stone slabs 4" x 8" and 1" thick. Dad called them thunder teeth; could they have been stone tools used by ancient people?  

Riff posted:

Inspiring...and adventurous...but it also shows how primitive Guyana is as a society...this is 2018 and nothing seems to have changed...while the world is moving ahead.

bannas...just enjoy the video...yuh think those kids are thinking how primitive they are

Most of us who had those days would not trade it in for video games 

Riff posted:

Inspiring...and adventurous...but it also shows how primitive Guyana is as a society...this is 2018 and nothing seems to have changed...while the world is moving ahead.

Why do you have to put a negative spin of everything.  This innocent lifestyle exist alongside the modern in many societies.  It’s a simple life.  What is important is access to education, healthcare and food. You should go visit inner America!

Riff posted:

Why do you have to put a negative spin of everything.  This innocent lifestyle exist alongside the modern in many societies.  It’s a simple life.  What is important is access to education, healthcare and food. You should go visit inner America!

Vish want two stick lash,most of the traveling by boat are in the hinterland and  some riverain areas on the coastland.

Riff posted:

Why would you call that primitive? it's a motorized boat being used to transport kids to school, I am sure you had to walk to school. In North America owning a boat is a luxury.

True deh, some of us left such simple life in Guyana, come to America and become doctors, engineers, computer engineers, financial professionals and then turn around and give back to these very communities.

On the other hand, some top-out early, throw darts, spending most of their adult life bouncing around with every Tom, Dick and Harry freely spreading “it” for free vacations!

Base, those experiences and adventures make one a much better person than a Town Boy stuck Up ignar.

Well said Nehru. I consider myself very lucky and fortunate that I grew up in the "country" ( Essequibo, Better Hope and Success) and went to school in Georgetown. I had the best of both worlds.

Last edited by GTAngler

Base, those experiences and adventures make one a much better person than a Town Boy stuck Up ignar.

I still remember playing around on those boats, racing in teams, then nabbing fresh water lobsters and roasting them for lunch. My mother would call us home for a proper lunch then we go back till sun down. 

Time cannot erase boyhood days!!

Well said Nehru. I consider myself very lucky and fortunate that I grew up in the "country" ( Essequibo, Better Hope and Success) and went to school in Georgetown. I had the best of both worlds.

You from better hope?  Do you know the Khadans?

Riff posted:

Were you born in Guyana? Perhaps you are from the GT uppity class. You are too negative.

Think about this for a minute...its adventurous to do this once in a while, but think of the time wasted and the stress of doing this on a regular basis. Arent there regular transportation means to get these kids on time to school...especially if they, and their parents were living like this in the riverian areas for so many years (according to Django? 

From afar, you can glamorize this because it reminds you of the good ole country... but put yourself in the shoes of these people...is this the good life when this type of activity is done on a regular basis?

All of you knuckleheads are in la la land right now because you do not endure this type of lifestyle everyday. You will go to Guyana and do it for vacation, but will not let it become part of your daily lives. 

So, knuckleheads, drop the pretensious (i believe that is a word) behavior and stop making me look like a spoiler.

You from better hope?  Do you know the Khadans?

Name doesn't ring a bell. I was born in Better Hope South, moved to Essequibo for a few years, moved back to Better Hope North for a few years and then to Success from 80-83.

Riff posted:

Were you born in Guyana? Perhaps you are from the GT uppity class. You are too negative.

Think about this for a minute...its adventurous to do this once in a while, but think of the time wasted and the stress of doing this on a regular basis. Arent there regular transportation means to get these kids on time to school...especially if they, and their parents were living like this in the riverian areas for so many years (according to Django? 

From afar, you can glamorize this because it reminds you of the good ole country... but put yourself in the shoes of these people...is this the good life when this type of activity is done on a regular basis?

All of you knuckleheads are in la la land right now because you do not endure this type of lifestyle everyday. You will go to Guyana and do it for vacation, but will not let it become part of your daily lives. 

So, knuckleheads, drop the pretensious (i believe that is a word) behavior and stop making me look like a spoiler.

Vish, in some places there are no roads to get around and the only way for those kids to go to school is by boat.

Riff posted:

Vish, in some places there are no roads to get around and the only way for those kids to go to school is by boat.

No government sponsored boats? That sucks.

Vish,  like you didn't have boyhood days in Guyana. You think we had swimming pools and instructors. Dem big boys would catch us and throw us  in the canals and you rass learn fuh paddle swim just  like daag first.  You ever ride wild donkeys with black sage rope in the savannahs? You  are coming across like you didn't have playdays in Guyana.

Last edited by Mitwah
Riff posted:

The Boats, Buses, and Bicycles program is only for dem boys pickneys.

Riff posted:

No, the government officials have bigger and better things to do, like getting themselves rich and building big rass property!

Riff posted:

The Boats, Buses, and Bicycles program is only for dem boys pickneys.

How come your unboyfriend never did znyooftbe sort in his days?   The need had always been there!

While it is inspiring to see the living spirit in those kids, it is also sad as kids should not have to do all of that to get to school or anywhere else. There is also no adult on that boat and two of the kids seem very little. Nonetheless, their attitudes are admirable.

I think the current government was trying to launch a school boat program.  One of my relatives connected with granger was advising him to do some local contracting to get kids to and fro school.  He is looking into it!